International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Cellars of Roquefort

Cellars of Roquefort at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Monteil, who was from the Aveyron, had one of his characters in the History of the French say: "The best cheeses are those," not of Brie, as the saying goes, "but of Roquefort, as the "truth" goes. "

Is Roquefort really the best cheese, as the truth demands, according to Monteil? Not being charged with pronouncing as a juror of the class, I do not wish to expose myself to make the Stilton or the Hollande blush inwardly or outwardly, to make the Brie shed tears of spite, or to force the Gruyère to make big eyes at me, by invoking the opinion of Monteil's character. But it is not a question of knowing whether Roquefort is the best cheese: it is only a question of knowing how it is made.

And why is it a question of knowing how it is made, and what is made of it? It's because the owners of Roquefort probably didn't spend a lot of money to set up a facility on the Champ de Mars, so that no one would ask about their production.

Strange thing though! It seems that the exhibitors who have spent so much money to make people talk about them, want to evade information: they are never there to answer. The same ones who, when you meet them, grant you the right to talk about them as a favour, even though they have made huge sacrifices to make themselves visible. This reluctance of some exhibitors to give information is due, I believe, to the article of the General Regulations which allows them to refuse their consent to the reproduction of their exhibits.

In any case, this disdain for publicity on the part of people who should be eager for notoriety is a curious and strange feature of morality to note.

So, in order to have useful information on the cellars of Roquefort, we had to take it from somewhere other than the place where these cellars are exhibited at the Champ de Mars, the German quarter.

We found two cabanieres, dressed in the local costume, busy preparing their cheeses.

In the cellar on display, as shown in our drawing, the main emphasis was on showing the interior layout of a functioning cheese factory. An adjoining sheepfold contains four dairy ewes and a ram of the finest type in the country, the Larzao breed.

In order to render the external aspect of the Roquefort cellars adequately, it would have been necessary to depict an immense rock 100 metres high and to push back the fissure which serves as a cellar into its sides. We had to limit ourselves to representing a facade which, through its stratification, recalled the colour, the general aspect and the layout of the rocks of Aveyron.

In fact, the Roquefort cellars, unique in the world, are the bizarre result of one of those great whims of nature which, in ancient times, took pleasure in upsetting the globe. Geological research has shown that in one of these cataclysms a portion of the mountain broke away from the main mass and collapsed onto the surrounding ground, breaking into several blocks whose cracks or crevices formed the caves we are talking about.

It is at the foot of this portion of the mountain, which has been broken and cut off at a height of more than 100 metres, that the village of Roquefort has been established. This is the mountain of Combalou.

The blocks, by settling down and becoming cluttered in their displaced position, have left numerous cracks between them which extend far into the rocky mass and sometimes cross it from side to side. The voids form so many natural air vents, whose air currents cool and saturate with humidity, by passing over the clusters of water collected in certain cracks. Under the action of these fresh air currents, the temperature of the cellars drops to 3 degrees centigrade in summer; and, by a physical effect of evaporation on the humid mass of the rocks, the rise in the outside temperature further contributes to cooling the inside temperature.

It is these particular temperature conditions, necessary for the preparation of Roquefort cheese, which give it its qualities.

Pliny speaks of a certain cheese from Luzara (Lozère) which could well have the same origin as Roquefort. In the Middle Ages, it is especially mentioned in the dues of the serfs to their lords or their feudal abbots. We know the opinion of the character that Monteil portrays.

At first quite limited, the manufacture of Roquefort cheese has taken on immense proportions in the last half century. From 250,000 kilograms in 1800, production had reached 1,400,000 kilograms in 1850; it was 325,000 kilograms in 1866. Roquefort is shipped to all four parts of the world, and even China is fond of it.

The number of cellars is limited. A company of merchants was formed in 1851 to run the main ones; the others belong to individuals. The ownership of one of these cellars is worth a rich farm.

The milk of a particular kind of sheep is used to make Roquefort cheese. The Larzac ewe is not remarkable for its proportions and its yield in flesh and wool: but it is an excellent milk producer.

250,000 ewes, divided into flocks of 200 at most, either on the slopes and summits of the plateau, or at the bottom of the valleys where they find more abundant pasture, are sufficient to produce the quantities of cheese we have mentioned. Each ewe produces about 80 kilograms of milk per year, or ^kilograms of cheese.

The milk is poured into large vats, heated slightly and skimmed. The curd, with the whey removed as completely as possible, is then placed in clay moulds with holes in them, where it is left to drain. Two or three layers of mouldy bread are spread in the curd, thus prepared, which helps the formation of those blue and greenish sporules so sought after by gourmets.

All of the above preparations having been made in the farmhouse, the cheeses are taken to the cellars. There, they are salted and stacked on shelves set up for this purpose. Two or three days later, a layer of sticky material forms on the surface of the cheese, which is removed by scraping. The cheeses are then stacked again for eight days, and then folded, i.e. laid on the field, making sure that they do not touch each other.

About 400 women, called cabanieres, are employed for this work. After thirty or forty days, the cheeses are delivered for consumption: but, at this degree of maturity, they are not likely to be preserved. Those, on the other hand, which spend the rest of the season in the cellars, can be kept all winter, and have more firmness and an exquisite taste.

Imitations of Roquefort cheese have been sought, especially in neighbouring areas where the same breed of sheep and similar climatic conditions were found: none of these imitations have been able to deceive true cheese lovers.

In the Champ de Mars model, one enters directly, from the outside, into a vaulted corridor that leads to the cellar, built as in the country, where the cheeses in various stages of preparation are kept. From there, a staircase leads to the first floor, which is a showroom.

Did I need, I ask you, the information of the exhibitors to speak properly about the manufacture of Roquefort cheese? Will they forgive me, at least, for claiming the gold medal for them?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Caves de Roquefort

Caves de Roquefort à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Monteil, qui était Aveyronnais, fait dire à un de ses personnages de l'Histoire des Français: « Les meilleurs fromages sont ceux, « non de Brie, comme le veut le proverbe, « mais ceux de Roquefort, comme le veut la « vérité. »

Le Roquefort est-il vraiment le meilleur des fromages, comme le veut la vérité, d’après Monteil? N’étant pas chargé de prononcer comme juré de la classe, je ne Veux pas m’exposer à faire rougir intérieurement ou extérieurement le Stilton ou lé Hollande, à faire verser des larmes de dépit au Brie, ou à forcer le Gruyère à me faire les gros yeux, en invoquant l’opinion du personnage de Monteil. Mais ce n’est pas de savoir si le Roquefort est le meilleur des fromages qu’il s’agit ici : c’est seulement de savoir comment il se fabrique.

Et pourquoi s agit-il de savoir comment il se fabrique, et ce qu’on en fabrique? C’est que les propriétaires de Roquefort n’ont probablement pas fait de grosses dépenses d’installation au Champ de Mars, pour qu’on ne s’informe pas de leur fabrication.

Chose étrange pourtant ! Il semblé que les exposants qui ont dépensé tant d’argent pour faire parler d eux, veuillent se dérober aux informations : ils ne se trouvent jamais là pour répondre. Ceux-là même qu’en rencontre, vous octroient comme une faveur le droit de parler d’eux, quoiqu'ils aient fait d'normes sacrifices pour se mettre en évidence. Cette mauvaise grâce de certains exposants à donner les renseignements qu’on leur demande tient, je crois, à l’article du Règlement général qui les autorise à refuser leur consentement à la reproduction de leurs objets exposés.

Quoi qu’il en soit, ce dédain de la publicité de la part de gens qui devraient être avides de notoriété, est un trait de mœurs curieux et étrange à noter.

Donc, pour avoir des renseignements utiles sur les caves de Roquefort, il nous a fallu les prendre ailleurs que sur les lieux où ces caves sjnt exposées au Champ de Mars, quart allemand.

Nous avons trouvé deux cabanieres, revêtues du costume du pays, tout occupées delà préparation de leurs fromages.

Dans la cave exposée, telle qu’on la voit dans notre dessin, on s’est surtout attaché à montrer les dispositions intérieures d’une fromagerie aménagée et fonctionnant. Une bergerie attenante contient quatre brebis laitières et un bélier du plus beau type du pays, race Larzao.

Pour rendre convenablement l’aspect extérieur des caves de Roquefort, il eût fallu figurer un immense rocher haut de 100 mètres et refouiller dans ses flancs la fissure qui sert de cave. On a dû se borner à représenter une façade qui rappelât par sa stratification la teinte, l’aspect général et la disposition des rochers aveyronnais.

En effet, les caves de Roquefort, uniques au monde, sont le bizarre résultat d’un de ces grands caprices de la nature qui se plaisait, dans les temps reculés, à bouleverser le globe. Des recherches géologiques ont démontré que dans un de ces cataclysmes une portion de montagne s’est détachée de la masse principale et s’est effondrée sur le sol environnant en se cassant en plusieurs blocs dont les fentes ou crevasses ont formé les caves dont nous parlons.

C’est au pied de cette portion de montagne crevassée et coupée à pic sur une hauteur de plus de 100 mètres, que s’est établi le village de Roquefort. C’est la montagne de Combalou.

Les blocs, en se tassant et s’encombrant dans leur assiette déplacée,, ont laissé entre eux de nombreuses fentes qui se prolongent très-avant dans la masse rocheuse et la traversent parfois de part- en part. Les vides forment autant de soupiraux naturels, dont les Courants d’air se rafraîchissent et se saturent d’humidité, en passant sur les amas d’eau recueillis dans certaines fissures. Sous l'action de ces courants d’air frais, la température des caves descend jusqu’à 3 degrés centigrades en été; et, par un effet physique d’évaporation sur la masse humide des rochers, l’élévation de la température extérieure contribue encore à refroidir celle de l’intérieur.

Ce sont ces conditions particulières de température, nécessaires à la préparation du fromage de Roquefort, qui lui donnent précisément ses qualités.

Pline parle d’un certain fromage de Luzara (Lozère) qui pourrait bien avoir la même origine que celui de Roquefort. Au moyen p, il en est spécialement fait mention dans /es redevances des serfs à leurs seigneurs ou à leurs abbés. feudataires. Nous connaissons l’opinion du personnage que Monteil met en scène.

D’abord assez restreinte, la fabrication du fromage de Roquefort a pris d’immenses croisements, depuis un demi-siècle. De 250000 kilogrammes en 1800, la production avait atteint 1 400 000 kilogrammes en 1850; elle a été de 3250000 kilogrammes en 1866. On expédie du Roquefort dans les quatre parties du monde; et la Chine elle-même en est friande.

Le nombre des caves est limité. Une société de négociants s’est formée en 1851 pour exploiter le» principales; les autres appartiennent à des particuliers isolés. La propriété d’une de ces caves vaut une riche métairie.

Le lait de brebis d’une espèce particulière sert à faire le fromage de Roquefort. La brebis de Larzac ne présente rien de remarquable, quant aux proportions et à son rendement en chair et en laine : mais elle est excellente laitière.

250 000 brebis, réparties par troupeaux de 200 tout au plus, soit sur les versants et les sommets du plateau, soit au fond des vallées où elles trouvent des pâturages plus abondants, suffisent à la production des quantités de fromage que nous avons mentionnées. Chaque brebis produit environ par an80 kilogrammes de lait, soit ^kilogrammes en fromage.

Le lait, versé dans de larges vases, est chauffé légèrement et écrémé. Le caillé, débarrassé du petit lait aussi complètement que possible, est alors placé dans des moules en terre cuite percés de trous, où il achève de s’égoutter. On répand dans le caillé, ainsi préparé, deux ou trois couches de pain moisi qui aide à la formation de ces sporules bleues et verdâtres si recherchées des gourmets.

Toutes les préparations qui précèdent ayant été faites à la fermé, les fromages sont portés aux caves. Là, on les sale et on les empile sur des tablettes disposées à cet effet. Deux ou trois jours après, il se forme à leur surface une couche de matière gluante qu’on enlève par le raclage. Ensuite, les fromages sont remis en pile pendant huit jours; puis, en plies., c’est-à-dire posés sur le champ et en évitant bien qu’ils ne se touchent.

Environ 400 femmes, dites cabanieres, sont employées à ce travail. Après trente ou quarante jours, les fromages sont livrés à la consommation: mais, à ce degré de maturité, ils sont peu susceptibles de conservation. Ceux, au contraire, qui passent l’arrière-saison dans les caves, peuvent se conserver tout l’hiver, et ont plus de fermeté et un goût exquis.

On a cherché à imiter le Roquefort, surtout dans les localités avoisinantes, où l’on trouvait la même race de brebis et des conditions climatériques analogues: aucune de ces imitations n’a pu tromper les véritables amateurs.

Dans le modèle du Champ de Mars, on entre directement, de l’extérieur, dans un couloir voûté qui conduit à la cave ménagée, comme dans le pays, où se trouvent les fromages à divers degrés de préparation. De là, un escalier conduit au premier étage, disposé en salle d’exposition.

Ai-je eu besoin, je vous le demande, des renseignements de MM. les exposants pour parler comme il convient de la fabrication du fromage de Roquefort? Me pardonneront-ils, au moins, de prétendre pour eux à la médaille d’or?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée