International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Exhibition of the Austrian War Ministry

Exhibition of the Austrian War Ministry at the Exhibition Paris 1867

When you leave Switzerland, and on your way to Southern Germany you cross Austria, your eyes discover from the top of the platform', which allows it to lower itself on the marvels of industry in its infancy, guns and war wagons, machines of singular form, posts charged with signals, models of a thousand different shapes and devices, which seem called to direct electricity and to make it the docile instrument of human will.

In the midst of the noisy activity of the great gallery, the very silence of the enclosure which stretches out at your feet, astonishes you, and, before these pictures representing strange operations accomplished in the depths of the sea, mixed with instruments of combat, photographs of fortifications, maps hung on the walls and objects to which no name can be given, you stop surprised at this singular spectacle and ask yourself what are these mysterious devices. Some of them belong to the Artillery, others to the Engineers, but almost all of them deserve special attention, for, of all the warlike exhibitions that crowd the Peaceful Palace of the Champ de Mars, the Austrian Exhibition is unquestionably the most interesting. In no other exhibition has the application of the new sciences to the art of war been pushed so far; it testifies both to the great education of these learned bodies, and to the essentially practical spirit which directs their work.

The eminent officer, president of the military commission for the Universal Exhibition, Baron d'Ebner, Colonel of the Engineers, whose name enjoys legitimate authority in Europe, has brought together and classified, with great order and in a most picturesque manner, all these products of war, some of which are destined, in peaceful times, to become the powerful auxiliaries of industry. The instinct of the curious and attentive gazing crowd does not deceive it into understanding that the science and the will which have been able to make electricity obedient, and to direct it either in isolation or by multiple effects, so as to ignite gunpowder in the depths of the sea or to raise by a simultaneous effort the walls of the ramparts, must be able to change the aim of its action and to tame matter with the same power, in order to carry out the work which the activity of modern societies constantly demands.

Let us do as the visitors of the great gallery do, and after having thrown a quick glance at the artillery, let us stop at the Engineering Exhibition, in front of the apparatus which it contains. - The Artillery Exhibition is certainly worthy of the Vienna Arsenal, that great establishment begun in 1849 and completed in 1356, which contains the artillery museum, the gun foundry, the drilling workshop, the weapons factory, the machine shop, the workshops for carriages and caissons, saddles and carriages and employs three thousand workers. The mountain gun, the four-gun field gun, the eight-gun bronze gun, the ammunition gun, the harnesses, the ingenious model of the casemate mountings, by General Baron de Leuk, allowing the fire to be directed in all directions, while reducing the opening of the embrasure, the machines for measuring the ballistic force and the breaking force of explosive materials, the tension of gases in the cannons, the one that tests the sabre blades, or the machine tools of the master of the first class, Borofka, all have undeniable merit: But the progress, the side by which the Austrian Military Exhibition distinguishes itself from all other exhibitions, is to be found in the engineering installation, and in particular in the reasoned application of electricity to various necessities of war, and in the various very ingenious and very practical procedures which Colonel d'Ebner has found to ensure its effective use.

An elegant carriage contains the mobile telegraph station: it is reproached for being too heavy; and most often the apparatus is placed in the first shelter that comes along, transformed into an office. But the instruments for establishing the telegraph line itself, which are simple and convenient, and the mechanical cart for manoeuvring the wire, present great facilities. - The magneto-electric telegraph, used to link the centre of the great places of war with the detached forts, and the much more modest apparatus of optical war telegraphy, remarkable for the modesty of its price and the simplicity of its operation, deserve attention. Three elementary signals, given during the day by three discs, and during the night by three lamps of varying strength, according to the range to be obtained, form the alphabet of this telegraph which a cart, harnessed to four horses, easily transports to all places. - Nearby is the electrical apparatus for igniting ordinary mines or submarine mines: three pictures, assembled like the leaves of a screen, represent, in the different moments of immersion, the submarine mines or torpedoes, floating cylinders filled with powder, maintained at a certain distance from the surface by an iron chain fixed to a fastener of a particular model and lowered to the bottom of the sea. These torpedoes are far more formidable to the ship than a reef or shoal. At the slightest touch of one of the pads surrounding the cylinder, the shock will bring the primer into communication with the electric current, and by sparking, ignite the gunpowder enclosed in the inner cylinder, which, on bursting, will shatter the walls of the vessel.

Two different devices are exhibited; one was used in 1859 by Colonel d'Ebner for the defence of Venice, the second, a model perfected and made more manageable by this learned officer, was immersed by his care during the war of 1866. Both systems are based on the communication of the bait with the electric battery established on the coast; but they differ essentially in the manner of operation, if one can use this expression. - The 1859 system consisted of a submarine mine acting at will, but consequently entailing, since it was ignited directly by means of the electric spark, the obligation on the part of the observer, charged with transmitting it, to know the precise moment of the vessel's arrival in the torpedo's sphere of action; And although this problem had been solved with the help of the toposcope of the Archduke Leopold of Austria, Inspector General of Engineering, and other very ingenious electrical instruments, this system nevertheless required observatories built in advance and very experienced observers. It therefore presented serious disadvantages for the protection of a very extensive coastline that had to be quickly put in a state of defence. This was overcome by the use of spontaneously-acting submarine mines or torpedoes, in which the very impact of the ship produces the ignition without the observer having to determine whether the vessel is exactly within the sphere of action of the mine. He has only to recognise in advance whether the vessels in sight are friendly or enemy, in order to put his torpedoes in communication with the current, and to keep them ready to receive the spark which the mechanism, set in motion by the impulse of the vessel, will cause to burst, while remaining master of igniting it at will, if any circumstance should render it expedient. In this system, indeed, the torpedo can always be rendered harmless, or be kept ready to act under an external effort, or burst by the will of the observer himself: but for it to be maintained in these conditions, it is necessary to have an electrical apparatus of constant strength, ready day and night to give fire. The use of a special battery fitted with a coil makes this action constant and certain, and the arrangements of the apparatus, which ensures the arrival of the electric current to all the torpedoes of the line, and makes it possible to recognise whether the insulation of each one is sufficient and which are those which have exploded, in order to cut the communication wire immediately, which would otherwise weaken the energy of the electric current in an appreciable way, must be studied in a very particular way by the special men.

But in this body of work, the most interesting point and the very basis of the whole system, are the electric primers invented by Colonel d'Ebner. They are, in fact, so sensitive that they catch fire even with currents of an extremely low voltage. This sensitivity depends on: 1° the degree of flammability and conductivity of the charge; 2° the smallness of the gap through which the electric current must pass in the form of a spark. - A mixture composed of equal parts of antimony sulphide and potassium chlorate, to which is added a little lead, gives the first result, and simple and ingenious mechanical means, which photographs show in all the phases of the operation, make it possible to ensure the invariability, so important, of the distance between the two wires between which the spark emerges, and to regulate the conductivity of the charge in such a way as to obtain a very high degree of flammability.

With these primers, and it is especially in this that Colonel Ebner's preparations are called upon to render great service to industry, the regular and simultaneous ignition of the mines, whatever the quantity, is completely assured, whether one employs the electric friction machines which permit, thanks to the high voltage of their current, the ignition of a large number of mines placed in the same electric circuit, but which require skilful operators if their greatest effects are to be obtained, or if recourse is had to the magneto-electric machines of a new model, of the mechanic Markus, which can set fire simultaneously to fifteen primers placed in the same circuit, and which, not being accessible to dampness and requiring little care, are better suited to the needs of war or to certain railway or earthworks.

However, with that eminently practical spirit which distinguishes him, and this is a rare merit in a man of war, Colonel d'Ebner, wishing to obviate the disadvantages that friction machines could present, due to humidity, and the need to constantly maintain the various parts of the apparatus in perfect condition, while using the advantages presented by this type of machine, was able to develop a new method of working, while making use of the advantages of this kind of apparatus, has constructed, in addition to the machine of a very small model which is carried on the back like a bag and forms part of the armament of the Austrian engineers, an apparatus in which electricity is produced by the friction of a hardened rubber cylinder against fur cushions. The condenser is made of rubber and the whole unit is hermetically sealed in a sheet metal cylinder, which protects it from any humidity.

The restricted framework imposed on us obliges us to omit many curious things, many almost indispensable explanations: however, I would like to mention the apparatus for graphically solving the equators with an unknown of any degree, built by Captain Lill of the Engineers, and the pantographic apparatus of the same officer. Nearby are the beautiful maps sent as specimens by the Military Geographical Institute of Vienna, and a model of the battleship Archduke Ferdinand Maximilian. Our drawing reproduces this ship, which carried the pavilion of Rear Admiral Teghetoff at the battle of Lissa, where he sank the ship the King of Italy with a spur in the side. Two minutes were enough to swallow this magnificent ship, which disappeared as if it had been struck by one of Colonel Ebner's torpedoes. - And who knows, with all these new inventions, whether in the next war, and this is a prediction which every people, or at least those who act in their name, seem to have at the World's Fair of 1867, we shall not see torpedo-boats launching themselves during the night against the strongest ships, and making them disappear in a few seconds? - The future indeed belongs to electricity, and, in ten years perhaps, this still unknown force, completely tamed by man, will leave far behind the steam which now reigns supreme. Man alone does not change, if his forces remain the same to suffice for the ceaseless toil to which civilisation condemns his body and his mind. It is high time that our scientists made themselves masters of the mysterious fluid which fills the universe, to come to the aid of their fellow men, and to give them some infusion of the almighty combiner, which at the end of the day will restore elasticity to their spirit exhausted by daily toil.

This happy moment is far from us - let us seek consolation in the marvels that one encounters at every step in this feast of intelligence and matter, which is given every day at the Champ de Mars; and, among the beautiful and curious things that you must visit in this unrivalled palace, do not forget the Austrian Military Exhibition.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition du ministère de la guerre d’Autriche

Exposition du ministère de la guerre d’Autriche à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Lorsque vous quittez la Suisse, et qu’en vous dirigeant vers l’Allemagne du Sud vous traversez l’Autriche, votre regard découvre du haut de la plate-forme’, qui lui permet de s’abaisser sur les merveilles de l’industrie en ses enfantements,, des canons et des chariots de guerre, des machines de forme singulière, des poteaux chargés de signaux, des modèles de mille formes diverses et des appareils, qui semblent appelés à diriger l’électricité et à la rendre l’instrument docile de la volonté humaine.

Au milieu de l’activité bruyante de la grande galerie, le silence même de l’enceinte qui s’étend à vos pieds, vous étonne et, devant ces tableaux représentant des opérations étranges accomplies dans les profondeurs de la mer, mêlés à des instruments de combat, à des photographies de fortifications, à des cartes suspendues aux parois et à des objets auxquels on ne peut donner un nom, vous vous arrêtez surpris de ce spectacle singulier et vous vous demandez quels sont ces engins mystérieux.—Ils appartiennent à l’Exposition du ministère de la Guerre de l’Autriche. Les uns relèvent de l’Artillerie, les autres du Génie, mais presque tous méritent une attention particulière, car, entre toutes les expositions guerrières qui se pressent 'au Palais pacifique du Champ de Mars, l’Exposition autrichienne est sans contredit la plus intéressante. Dans aucune autre, l’application des sciences nouvelles à l’art de la guerre n’a été poussée aussi loin; elle témoigne à la fois de la grande instruction de ces corps savants, et de l’esprit essentiellement pratique qui dirige leurs travaux.

L’éminent officier, président de la commission militaire pour l’Exposition universelle, le baron d'Ebner, colonel du génie, dont le nom jouit en Europe d’une légitime autorité; a réuni et classé, avec beaucoup d’ordre et d’une manière des plus pittoresques, tous ces produits de la guerre, dont quelques-uns sont destinés, aux heures pacifiques, à devenir les puissants auxiliaires de l’industrie. L’instinct de la foule qui regarde curieuse et attentive, ne la trompe pas en lui faisant comprendre que la science et la volonté qui ont su rendre obéissante l’électricité, et la diriger soit isolément, soit par des effets multiples, de façon à enflammer la poudre dans le fond de la mer ou à soulever par un effort simultané les murailles des remparts,— doivent pouvoir changer le but de son action et dompter la matière avec la même puissance, pour réaliser les travaux que réclame sans cesse l’activité des sociétés modernes.

Faisons comme les visiteurs de la grande galerie, et après avoir jeté un coup d’œil rapide sur l’artillerie, arrêtons-nous à l'Exposition du génie, devant les appareils qu’elle renferme. — L’Exposition de l’artillerie est digne à coup sûr de l’arsenal de Vienne, ce grand établissement commencé en 1849 et achevé en 1356, qui renferme le musée d'artillerie, la fonderie des canons, l’atelier de forage, la manufacture d’armes, l’atelier des constructions des machines, les ateliers des affûts et des caissons, des selles et des attelages et, emploie trois mille ouvriers. Le canon de montagne, le canon de campagne de quatre, le canon en bronze de huit, le canon de munitions, les harnais d'attelage, le modèle si ingénieux des affûts de casemate, du général baron de Leuk, permettant de diriger le tir en tous sens, tout en réduisant l’ouverture de l’embrasure, les machines pour mesurer la force balistique et la force brisante des matières explosives, la tension des gaz dans les canons, celle qui éprouve les lames de sabre, ou les machines-outils du maître de première classe, Borofka, tous ont un mérite incontestable : mais le progrès, le côté par lequel l’Exposition militaire autrichienne se distingue de toutes les autres expositions, se trouve dans l’installation du génie, et en particulier dans l’application raisonnée de l’électricité à différentes nécessités de la guerre, et dans les procédés divers très-ingénieux et très-pratiques que le colonel d'Ebner a su trouver pour assurer son emploi efficace.

Une élégante voiture renferme la station ambulante de la télégraphie : on lui reproche d’être trop lourde ; et le plus souvent les appareils sont placés dans le premier abri venu, transformé en bureau. Mais les instruments pour établir la ligne télégraphique elle-même, simples et commodes, et la charrette mécanique pour manœuvrer le fil présentent de grandes facilités. — Le télégraphe magnéto-électrique, employé pour unir le centre des’ grandes places de guerre avec les forts détachés, et l’appareil beaucoup plus modeste de la télégraphie-optique de guerre, remarqua-* le par la modicité de son prix et la simplicité de sa manœuvre, méritent l’attention. Trois signaux élémentaires, donnés pendant e jour par trois disques, et pendant la nuit par trois lampes plus ou moins puissantes, selon la portée que l’on veut obtenir, forment l’alphabet de ce télégraphe qu’un chariot, attelé de quatre chevaux, transporte facilement tous lieux. — Tout auprès se trouve l’appareil électrique pour enflammer les mines ordinaires ou les mines sous-marines : trois tableaux, assemblés comme les feuilles d’un paravent, représentent, dans les différents moments de l’immersion les mines sous-marines ou torpilles, cylindres flottants remplis de poudre, maintenus à une certaine distance de la surface par une chaîne de fer fixée à une attache d’un modèle particulier et descendue au fond de la mer. Ces torpilles sont bien plus redoutables qu’un écueil ou un bas-fond pour le navire. Au moindre contact de l’un des tampons entourant le cylindre, le choc mettra l’amorce en communication avec le courant électrique, et en faisant jaillir l’étincelle, enflammera la poudre enfermée dans le cylindre intérieur, qui, en éclatant, brisera les murailles du bâtiment.

Deux appareils différents sont exposés; l’un fut employé en 1859 par le colonel d’Ebner pour la défense de Venise, le second, modèle perfectionné et rendu plus maniable par ce savant officier, fut immergé par ses soins pendant la guerre de 1866. Les deux systèmes reposent sur la communication de l’amorce avec la batterie électrique établie sur la côte; mais, ils diffèrent essentiellement dans la manière d’opérer, si l’on peut employer cette expression. — Le système de 1859 consistait dans une mine sous-marine agissant à volonté, mais entraînant par conséquent, puisqu’on l’enflammait directement au moyen de l’étincelle électrique, de la part de l’observateur, chargé de la transmettre, l’obligation de connaître le moment précis de l’arrivée du vaisseau dans la sphère d’action de la torpille; et bien que ce problème ait été résolu à l’aide du toposcope de l’archiduc Léopold d’Autriche, inspecteur général du génie et d’autres instruments électriques fort ingénieux, ce système exigeait cependant des observatoires construits à l’avance et des observateurs très-exercés. Il présentait donc des inconvénients sérieux pour la protection d’une côte très-étendue que l’on devait mettre rapidement en état de défense. On y a obvié par des mines sous-marines ou torpilles à action spontanée, dans lesquelles le choc même du navire produit l’inflammation sans que l’observateur ait à déterminer si le bâtiment est exactement dans la sphère d’action de la mine. Il n’a qu’à reconnaître d'avance si les bâtiments en vue sont amis ou ennemis pour mettre ses torpilles en communication avec le courant, et les tenir prêtes à recevoir l’étincelle que le mécanisme, mis en mouvement par l’impulsion du vaisseau, fera éclater tout en restant maître de l’enflammer à volonté, si une circonstance quelconque le rendait opportun. Dans ce système, en effet, la torpille peut toujours être rendue inoffensive, ou être tenue prête à agir sous un effort extérieur ou éclater par la volonté même de l’observateur: mais pour qu’elle soit maintenue dans ces conditions, il faut nécessairement un appareil électrique d’une force constante, prêt jour et nuit à donner le feu. L’emploi d’une pile spéciale munie d’une bobine, rend cette action constante, certaine, et les dispositions de l’appareil, qui assure l'arrivée du courant électrique à toutes les torpilles de la ligne, et permet de reconnaître si l’isolement de chacune d’elles est suffisant et quelles sont celles qui ont fait explosion, afin de couper immédiatement le fil de communication qui sans cela affaiblirait d’une manière sensible l’énergie du courant électrique, doivent être étudiées d’une manière toute particulière par les hommes spéciaux.

Mais dans cet ensemble de travaux, le point le plus digne d’intérêt et la base même de tout le système, ce sont les amorces électriques inventées par le colonel d’Ebner. Elles sont, en effet, d’une sensibilité telle, qu’elles prennent feu même au moyen de courants d’une tension extrêmement faible. Cette sensibilité dépend : 1° du degré d’inflammabilité et de conductibilité delà charge; 2° de la petitesse de la fente que le courant électrique doit traverser sous forme d’étincelle. — Un mélange composé de parties égales de sulfure d’antimoine et de chlorate de potasse auxquelles on ajoute un peu de plombagine, donne le premier résultat, et des moyens mécaniques simples et ingénieux que des photographies font suivre dans toutes les phases de l’opération, permettent d’assurer l’invariabilité si importante de la distance des deux fils entre lesquels jaillit l’étincelle, et de régler la conductibilité de la charge de manière à obtenir une inflammabilité très-grande.

Avec ces amorces, èt, c’est en cela surtout que les préparations du colonel d’Ebner sont appelées à rendre de grands services à l’industrie, l’inflammation régulière et simultanée des mines, quelle qu’en soit la quantité, est complètement assurée, soit que l’on emploie les machines électriques à frottement qui permettent, grâce à la haute tension de leur courant, de mettre le feu à un grand nombre de mines placées dans le même circuit électrique, mais qui exigent des opérateurs habiles quand on veut obtenir leurs plus grands effets, soit que l’on ait recours aux machines magnéto-électriques d’un nouveau modèle, du mécanicien Markus, qui peuvent mettre le feu simultanément à quinze amorces disposées dans le même circuit, et qui, n’étant pas accessibles à l’humidité et n’exigeant que peu de soins, sont mieux appropriées aux besoins de la guerre on à certains travaux de chemins de fer ou de terrassements.

Toutefois avec cet esprit éminemment pratique qui le distingue, et c’est là un rare mérite dans un homme de guerre, le colonel d'Ebner, voulant obvier aux inconvénients que pouvaient présenter, par l’humidité, les machines à frottement, et à la nécessite de maintenir constamment les différentes parties de l’appareil en parfait état, tout en utilisant les avantages que présente cette sorte d’appareil, a construit en outre de la machine d’un très-petit modèle qui se porte sur le dos comme un sac et fait partie de l’armement du génie autrichien, un appareil où l’électricité est produite par le frottement d’un cylindre en caoutchouc durci contré des coussins en fourrure. Le condensateur est en caoutchouc et l’ensemble est fermé hermétiquement dans un cylindre de tôle, qui le met à l’abri de toute humidité.

Le cadre trop restreint qui nous est imposé, oblige à omettre bien des choses curieuses, bien des explications presque indispensables : cependant je tiens à mentionner l’appareil pour résoudre graphiquement les équateurs à une inconnue d’un degré quelconque, construit par le capitaine du génie Lill, et l’appareil pantographique du même officier. Tout auprès se trouvent les belles cartes envoyées comme spécimens par l’Institut géographique militaire de Vienne, et un modèle de la frégate cuirassée Archiduc Ferdinand Maximilien. Notre dessin reproduit ce bâtiment qui portait le pavillon du contre amiral Teghetoff à la bataille de Lissa, où il a coulé, d’un coup d’éperon dans le flanc, le vaisseau le Roi d'Italie. Deux minutes ont suffi pour engloutir ce magnifique navire, qui a disparu, comme s’il eût été foudroyé par une des torpilles du colonel Ebner. — Et qui sait, avec toutes ces inventions nouvelles, si pendant la prochaine guerre, et c’es; une prévision que chaque peuple ou du moins ceux qui agissent en leur nom semblent avoir à l’Exposition universelle de 1867, nous ne verrons pas des canots-torpilles se lance: durant la nuit contre les bâtiments les plus robustes, et les faire disparaître en quelques secondes ? — L’avenir en effet appartient a l’électricité, et, dans dix ans peut-être, cette force encore inconnue, complètement dompté par l’homme, laissera bien loin derrière elle la vapeur qui règne maintenant en souveraine maîtresse. L’homme seul ne change pas, si ses forces restent les mêmes pour suffire au labeur incessant auquel la civilisation condamne son corps et sa pensée. Il est grand temps que nos savants se rendent maîtres du fluide mystérieux qui remplit l’univers, pour venir en aide à leur semblable, et lui donner je ne sais quelle infusion du tout-puissant combinateur, qui rende à la fin du jour l’élasticité à son esprit épuisé par le labeur quotidien.

Ce moment heureux est loin de nous -cherchons à nous consoler par les merveilles que l’on rencontre à chaque pas dans cette fête de l’intelligence et de la matière, qui se donne chaque jour au Champ de Mars ; et, parmi les belles et curieuses choses que vous devez visiter dans ce palais sans rival, n’oubliez pas l’Exposition militaire autrichienne.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée