Back - List of Pavilions

Mobile chalet - Expo Paris 1867

Mobile chalet at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Thanks to Mr. Waaser, one will be able, like the turtle or like Bias, to carry everything with him, even his house.

This is, in fact, the aim of the ingenious exhibitor who has placed before our eyes this pretty mobile chalet built entirely of wood.

In the northern regions, where the temperature allows and even commands wooden dwellings, Mr. Waaser's mobile chalet will be admirably at home. The landlords will have to be careful; the sale of land will become a myth, everyone will rent the site of their home and, at the slightest increase in rent, they will pack up and move a few miles away.

Can you see a whole town of Waaser cottages fleeing from the border to the interior to avoid the ravages of war?

This application is undoubtedly unforeseen for our exhibitor, who has aimed at an infinitely simpler and more pleasant goal in terms of perspective.

The countryside, the seaside, such is the objective of the type of construction of which our engraving faithfully traces the general aspect. The silhouette is very graceful, and if, with the simple expenses of our imagination, advantageously substituting for those of the railway, weak as they are, we transport this charming dwelling to Étretat or Trouville, and immediately make use of the belvedere intelligently placed at its summit, we shall enjoy a splendid view; The ocean with its swells, the beaches with their picturesque sinuosities, the hillsides with their greenery will form an enchanting landscape which will call forth the concentration of our desires towards the sweetness of the holiday. But let us open our eyes; placed on the Champ de Mars, this belvedere allows us to embrace the general view of the Park and the Palace, and as this spectacle is quite rare, we will be satisfied with it, please, for the moment.

The house is as complete for use as it is pleasing to the eye. The basement and the pantry, whose inexpensive materials can be found in all countries, are alone immovable; above, a ground floor raised on mechanically sawn slabs and sliding in grooves, contains a living room, a dining room, a pantry, a flower room and an anteroom serving all the rooms. On the first floor there are four bedrooms. Under the roof, a guest room and four servants' rooms, then the terrace and the belvedere.

Voids in the outer walls stop the heat, humidity or cold; and as there is very little pleasure in this construction, one does not have to wait, before living in it, for the effect of the air usually necessary to dry the walls.

What follows is the business of the architects: but as everyone today is somewhat possessed of the mania for the trowel, I trust that few readers will skip this little paragraph.

The frame of the chalet is made of wood; rabbets and grooves skilfully arranged receive the slabs, exterior and interior, of varying thickness.
The iron bolts and pegs which make up the whole fitting system are carefully concealed; finally, the slate roof is laid according to a system of hooks owned by Messrs Monduit and Béchet.

Allow me to point out a detail of execution to end this short description:
During the time it takes to build the different parts of the chalet in the workshop, the foundations are dug and finished, so that the assembly can be carried out very quickly. Time is money", say the Americans, who invented the first mobile homes: Mr. Waaser found they were right.

It pleased our draughtsman to complete the view of Mr. Waaser's cottage by giving us a faithful reproduction of one of the prettiest rooms on the ground floor.

Now, in this room there is chocolate - if only there was still chocolate! But there are wines, beer, all the modern nectars that have invaded the lounges adjoining the chocolate one, as well as the basement conceded to Mr. Brizard for the tasting of excellent Vienna beer; our drawing represents the entrance to this cellar - such is its name - installed in a part of the Exhibition that was totally deprived of refreshments.

It must be admitted, however, that the exhibition of drinks would have very little charm if one were content to place a cup of chocolate or a bottle of Chateau-Laffitte in a toasted display case! How can one judge the merit of a drink by the shape of the bottle or the envelope of the chocolate? A moralist once said that labels are often deceptive, but tasters could not decently be admitted to the galleries of the Palais. Mr Waaser, who was freer in the Park and in his country house, therefore gave shelter to Mr Chambrault, the author and publisher of the chocolates in question.

If I say publisher, it is not to add an idle epithet to Mr. Chambrault's titles. There is a whole system in the way this exhibitor understands his industry.

In addition to conscientious manufacture, such as we desire for those delicate foods which are the most valued supports of weak stomachs, in addition to a very special choice of machines and capable workmen, our exhibitor, who has strong ideas on matters of public education, has inaugurated a combination of useful and ingenious premiums.

Purchases of a certain value entitle the holder to volumes from a collection of works on culture, economics, science, art and literature, so that those who wish to feed their stomachs also feed their libraries: some agricultural communities have eagerly seized this opportunity to acquire free of charge works that they need.

There is in this way of proceeding a germ of the combination which gave birth to the Magasins Réunis: economy through expenditure; in fact, a purchase from Mr. Chambrault dispenses with another equally useful purchase which should have been made anyway.

The agricultural survey which the Ministers of Agriculture and Public Education undertook, and according to which they expressed to His Majesty the Emperor the desire to see agriculture taught in all the communal schools, has produced an unexpected result in the case before us.

It was, in fact, this idea that suggested it to M. Chambrault; so, restoring its true character, we thought we should record this result, which in a publication such as ours, an echo of an Exhibition where everything is on display, even ideas, is by no means out of place.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chalet mobile

Chalet mobile à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Grâce à M. Waaser, on pourra, comme la tortue ou comme Bias, porter tout avec soi, et même sa maison.

Tel est, au reste, le but que s’est proposé l’ingénieux exposant qui a placé sous nos yeux ce joli chalet mobile entièrement construit en bois.

Dans les régions du Nord, où la température permet et commande même les habitations en bois, le chalet mobile de M. Waaser sera admirablement à sa place. Les propriétaires n’ont qu’à bien se tenir; la vente des terrains y deviendra un mythe, chacun louera l’emplacement de sa demeure et, à la moindre augmentation de loyer, on pliera maison et bagages pour s’installer quelques lieues plus loin.

Voyez-vous d’ici tout une ville composée de chalets Waaser s’enfuyant de la frontière pour s’établir à l’intérieur, afin d'éviter les atteintes de la guerre?

Cette application est sans doute imprévue pour notre exposant qui a visé un but infiniment plus simple et plus agréable en fait de perspective.

La campagne, le bord de la mer, tel est l’objectif du type de construction dont notre gravure retrace fidèlement l’aspect général. La silhouette en est fort gracieuse , et si, avec les simples frais de notre imagination, suppléant avantageusement à ceux du chemin de fer quelque faibles qu’ils soient, nous transportons cette charmante habitation à Étretat ou a Trouville, et que nous usions immédiatement du belvédère intelligemment placé à son sommet, nous jouirons d’un coup d’œil splendide; l’Océan avec ses houles, les plages avec leurs pittoresques sinuosités, les coteaux avec leur verdure formeront un paysage enchanteur qui appellera la concentration de nos désirs vers les douceurs de la villégiature. Mais ouvrons les yeux; placé au Champ de Mars, ce belvédère nous permet d’embrasser la vue générale du Parc et du Palais, et comme ce spectacle est assez rare, nous nous en contenterons, s’il vous plaît, pour le moment.

Or, l’habitation est aussi complète pour l’usage qu’elle est agréable pour le regard. Le sous-sol et l’office, dont les matériaux peu coûteux se trouvent en tous pays, sont seuls immobiles; au-dessus , un rez-de-chaussée élevé sur des dalles sciées mécaniquement et glissant dans des rainures, contient un salon, une salle à manger, un office, un salon de fleurs et une antichambre desservant toutes les pièces. Au premier étage, quatre chambres à coucher. Sous les combles, une chambre d’ami et quatre de domestiques, puis la terrasse et le belvédère.

Des vides ménagés dans les cloisons extérieures arrêtent la chaleur, l’humidité ou le froid; et comme il entre très-peu de plaire dans cette construction, on n’a pas à attendre, avant de l’habiter, l’effet de l’air ordinairement nécessaire pour sécher les murailles.

Ce qui va suivre regarde MM. les architectes: mais comme aujourd’hui tout le monde est quelque peu possédé de la manie de la truelle, j’ai la confiance que peu de lecteurs passeront ce petit paragraphe.

L’ossature du chalet est en bois ; des feuillures et des rainures habilement disposées reçoivent les dalles, extérieures et intérieures, d’une épaisseur variable.
Les boulons et les chevilles en fer qui composent tout le système d’ajustage sont soigneusement dissimulés; enfin, la couverture en ardoise est posée suivant un système de crochets dont MM. Monduit et Béchet sont les propriétaires.

Qu’on me permette de signaler un détail d’exécution pour terminer cette courte description :
Pendant le temps que l’on met à construire dans l’atelier les différentes pièces du chalet, on creuse et on termine les fondations, de sorte que le montage peut s’effectuer d’une manière très-rapide. Times is money disent les Américains, qui ont inventé les premières maisons roulantes: M. Waaser a trouvé qu’ils avaient raison.

Il a plu à notre dessinateur de compléter la vue du chalet de M. Waaser en nous donnant la reproduction fidèle d’un des plus jolis salons du rez-de-chaussée.

Or, dans ce salon il y a du chocolat.— S’il n’y avait que du chocolat encore ! Mais il y a des vins, de la bière, tout l’attirail des nectars modernes qui ont envahi les salons.contigus à celui du chocolat ainsi que le sous-sol concédé à M. Brizard pour y faire déguster de l’excellente bière de Vienne; notre dessin représente justement l’entrée de ce caveau, — tel est son nom, — installé dans une partie de l’Exposition qui était totalement privée de rafraîchissements.

Il faut bien avouer cependant que l’exhibition des boissons aurait fort peu de charmes si l’on se contentait de placer dans une vitrine grillée une tasse de chocolat ou une bouteille de chateau-laffitte ! Comment juger du mérite? par la forme de la bouteille ou l’enveloppe du chocolat? Trompeuse est souvent l’étiquette, a dit un moraliste; or l’on ne pouvait décemment admettre les dégustateurs dans les galeries du Palais. M. Waaser, plus libre dans le Parc et dans sa maison de campagne, a donc donné asile à M. Chambrault, l’auteur et l’éditeur responsable des chocolats en question.

Si je dis éditeur, ce n’est point pour ajouter aux titres de M. Chambrault une épithète oiseuse. Il y a tout un système dans la manière dont cet exposant entend son industrie.

Outre une fabrication consciencieuse, telle que nous la souhaitons pour ces aliments délicats qui sont les soutiens les plus estimés des estomacs débiles, outre un choix tout spécial de machines et d’ouvriers capables, notre exposant, qui a des idées arrêtées sur les questions d’instruction publique, a inauguré une combinaison de primes utiles et ingénieuses.

Des acquisitions d’une certaine valeur donnent droit à des volumes extraits d’une collection d’ouvrages de culture, d’économie, de science, d’art et de littérature, de sorte que tel qui veut nourrir son estomac, alimente du même coup sa bibliothèque : aussi certaines communes agricoles ont-elles saisi avec empressement cette occasion d’acquérir gratuitement des ouvrages qui leur étaient nécessaires.

Il y a dans cette manière de procéder un germe de la combinaison qui a donné naissance aux Magasins Réunis : l’économie par la dépense; en effet, un achat chez M. Chambrault dispense d’un autre achat aussi utile et qu’on aurait dû faire de toute façon.

L’enquête agricole que MM. les ministres de l’agriculture et de l’instruction publique ont entreprise, et d’après laquelle ils exprimaient à Sa Majesté l’Empereur le désir de voir l’agriculture enseignée dans toutes les écoles communales, a produit dans le cas qui nous occupe un résultat inattendu.

C’est elle, en effet, qui a suggéré cette idée à M. Chambrault; aussi lui restituant son véritable caractère, nous avons pensé devoir consigner ce résultat, qui dans une publication comme la nôtre, écho d’une Exposition où tout s’expose, jusqu’aux idées, n’est nullement déplacée.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée