International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Fine Arts Switzerland

Fine Arts Switzerland at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Reality sometimes gives such cruel denials to theories and systems that it would be imprudent to accept them absolutely, without control and without reserve, as it would be foolhardy to deny them completely. Some philosophers and economists have tried to establish a direct relationship between the political state of a people and the rise of the artistic level. Making rather cheap use of history, they have seen in democracy the government most favourable to the development of all the arts. The theory is certainly attractive, and "Liberty protecting the Arts," an allegorical subject, would be an appropriate theme for an academic competition. But is it really true that the influence of liberty is manifested in such a favourable way? Is it really true that the great artistic eras correspond to eras of freedom, of independence, drawn? Alas, that is not what history says. And without wishing to enter into too many considerations, which peoples should lead the modern artistic movement? Is it not the Americans, the English, the Swiss? But it must be admitted that far from being in the lead, these three nations are far behind France, Sweden, Italy, etc... And let no one object that the great superiority of the Italian sculpture exhibition contradicts what I am saying. If Italy is free today, was it not under the Austrian protectorate, under the government of the dukes of Modena, Parma, etc., under that of the king of Naples, that the sculptors who exhibited this year's Dying Napoleon, or The Sleep of Innocence, were trained? No, it must be acknowledged that the arts only find the broad, effective protection that is necessary for their development, for their very existence, under absolute governments. Democracy perhaps sets too high a value on certain interests, on industry, commerce, and finance, to give painting, music, literature, and statuary the place and rank they should occupy. What are the memorable periods of art? Those in which a powerful, absolute sovereign, a Francis I, a Leo X, honoured art and artists and gave them the first place in the State.

The customs, more than the political principles, mark their imprint on the productions of art. Thus, while the elegant corruption of the regency, of the reign of Louis XV, had given birth to the terracottas of Clodion, to the shepherds of Watteau, Lancret, and Boucher, to the rhyming mignardises of Dorât and Gentil-Bernard, the imitation of the republican mores of Rome inspired the severe canvases of David and of his school. And, to conclude, shall I remind you that in the organisation of his republic, Plato rejected artists, men of imagination? Wasn't he saying that art, a source of intellectual pleasure and enjoyment, has no place in a society preoccupied with material interests?

The Swiss Fine Arts Exhibition proves my point. In this classical land of freedom, should not all manifestations and productions of art reflect the feeling of greatness, strength and power that should animate the independent man and that he carries in all the acts of his life? And if this is so, will we find in the works of Switzerland this feeling which is expressed in art by the choice of subjects, the vigour of the execution, the expression of physiognomies?

Sculpture is represented at the Champ de Mars by Messrs Caroni, Imhoff, Menn, Soma-jini, Ch. Topfer.

M. Emmanuel Caroni has given three marbles, the first, Love conquering Force, reveals in its author the study and assimilation of the procedures of the eighteenth century school, grace and delicacy of form replacing anatomy and truth. L'Amour is modelled with great finesse. Although the drawing is not always correct, although the proportions are not always exact - the left leg, for example, is disproportionately long - the whole is graceful, the attitude is good. Love is sitting on a lion that is licking his feet. The pose is natural and effortless. As for the lion, despite the libretto's claim that it is made of marble, it seemed to me to be a cardboard lion. - I prefer Ophelia, a natural size marble. She is standing with her head bowed, and her whole attitude and the languidness of her body indicate a deep reverie. Here the drawing is more correct. The lines are still graceful, and I will only reproach this marble for the complete absence of expression in the figure. While the body speaks, the face is mute. - The Slave at the Market combines the same qualities, the same defects. Gracefully crouching, her arms chained, she waits for the one on whom her fate will depend. But the face does not reflect any of the feelings that should animate her. What does she feel? Is it the worry, the anxiety that such an expectation must give rise to? Is it the joy of leaving an abhorred master? Is it the carefree attitude of a slave to whom everything is indifferent? The face expresses nothing. Here again, one must admire the plasticity, the physical grace, the elegance of the forms and contours. But where is the life, the intelligence, the divine radiance? I do not see it. Mr. Caroni is a sculptor, not a poet. I would add that in this exhibition he represents the materialist school.

Mr. Imhoff, from Uri, is exhibiting a marble statue of Rebekah, which was commissioned by the museum in Raas. Will this statue fit well in a gallery which enjoys a fair amount of fame? The attitude, the pose of Rebekah is cold, without grace, without naturalness. Her left arm, bent at mid-body, lets her hand hang down. Her right hand holds the traditional urn. There is an awkwardness in all these movements that is not redeemed by the expression of the head or the elegance of the draperies. - The Jesus Christ Teaching in the Temple, by the same artist, is no better. Too large for the age of the figure, he seems to be prey to that malaise, that half-suffering of children who have grown up too quickly.

I don't like the Surprise Bathers by Mr. Somajini from Ticino either. One is kneeling in an attitude of terror. The other is bent over and leaning on her companion. Both seem to see in the distance a frightful danger approaching. I complained earlier about the lack of expression that the sculptors had given to their statues. Here I find an exaggeration in the sentiment expressed. It is not, in fact, an indiscreet person that the bathers have seen. For their faces and gestures express more terror than frightened modesty. Finally, the bather who leans on her companion seems at least her grandmother. Has she suddenly aged from fright? The libretto unfortunately says nothing about this.

M. Menn offers us a bust of Émile Chevé which, without reaching perfection, has the great merit of recalling very accurately the features of the eminent innovator.
To these works should be added a few bronze or plaster medallions of little importance.

The oil paintings are represented by 1 12 canvases, most of them rather mediocre and generally belonging to the landscape.

History and what is called the great painting (religion, antiquity), etc., number barely seven or eight paintings. The Duchess Glocester, by Mr. Weckesser, whose composition is awkward and whose colour is weak. - Romeo and Julie in the village, by M. Stuckelberg; the two children (twelve and thirteen years old) walk down a path holding hands. There is nothing prettier, more graceful, sweeter than the young girl's head; Romeo's eyes have a liveliness, an animation well in keeping with his attitude. The charm that Mr. Stuckelberg has managed to put into these two characters reveals a remarkable painter of portraits. But why should the two children be stuck to the rock, to the path they are following? This lack of perspective, which we will find in many Swiss landscape painters, spoils the effect of this painting, which contains some delightful details.

The genre paintings are hardly superior to them. Mr. Landerer, from Basel, exhibits the Wedding of the Last of the Ramsteins, which at first glance, and even at second glance, can be taken for a good coloured lithograph. The religious assembly in a forest in the Swiss Alps, by the late Adrien Kuukler, aims at the effect without achieving it. The setting sun taking the figures in slings scatters rays, glitter, on the faces and on the shiny parts of the costumes. This search for a momentary effect tires the eye more than it charms it. I do not mention the Departure of the procession of a Wallachian wedding by M. Jacot, who has found it appropriate to have his characters travel on painted wooden horses. - The newborn of Mr. Anker, from A-net, is one of the successes of the Swiss exhibition. Is it much better? No, but it is one of those good bourgeois paintings, clean, decent, conscientiously painted, where nothing is too bright or too bold to offend public taste. I repeat, it is one of the successes of this exhibition. And this is not a praise. - Mr. Bachelin's Swiss wrestlers are more vigorous. There is a certain movement in this painting. The peasants who surround the wrestlers are not badly grouped, but, always the same defect, no perspective. The background falls on the foreground. - The painting by M. Vantier: Courtier and peasants, reminds us of the manner of Téniers. The drawing is easy, the composition intelligent, the colour sober. All in all, it is a fairly good painting. I notice the same qualities in another painting by the same artist: The Crossing. A family is carrying the coffin of a child who has just died across Lake Brienz. The attitudes, which are inevitably somewhat similar, are simple, the figures are expressive, and the painting leaves a melancholy impression. I don't like the lake, whose slats are a little too reminiscent of the regularity of parquet floor joists. - M. Zuber-Buhler has borrowed the subject of his painting, the Bacchanalian Queen, from The Wandering Jew. He has rendered the scene of the procession with great spirit and verve. I do not want to forget the Women of Peggli, by M. Ma-riani. A woman hangs out washing, while her companion leans on a barrel. Chickens, roosters, etc. come and go in the carriage. - The subject is rather bizarre. But the woman leaning is drawn with great talent. The various planes are well layered, the colour is good; in short, this singular painting is one of the best of the Swiss Salon.

Portraits are rare at the Salon Suisse. When I have cited that of Émile Chevé, by M. Poggi, of Geneva, a portrait whose drawing is a little soft, but which recalls the bust of M. Menn, - that of Mme B. . by M. Henri Berthoud, a painting quite inferior to the other works of this artist, it will only remain for me to review the landscape.

In this genre, Switzerland makes us forget the mediocrities that I have mentioned above, not that its landscapes are masterpieces. But among the sixty or eighty canvases it exhibits, there are several remarkable ones in which a very lively love of nature, a clear and sure feeling for effects, that intelligence, that understanding of great spectacles, which the tourist meets at every step in the Swiss Alps. The very conformation of this picturesque region develops early on in artists a penchant for natural beauty. Every site is a painting, every escape is a landscape. A gorge, a plateau, a waterfall, a forest dominating a valley, a stream meandering down a hill, green hillsides succeeding arid and majestic mountains, this is what strikes the child's gaze at any time. And what a variety of aspects, sunrise, sunset, and seasons, do they not give to these sites, which seem to await only the painter's brush! - Does this mean that all the landscapes in the Swiss Salon are good? No, they are not. But, first of all, they are very numerous, and moreover, the proportion of good ones to bad ones is relatively considerable. So I can only mention the best ones.

At the head of the list I would place the Bergamasques guarding their herds on the banks of the Bernina, by M. Albert de Meuron. The cattle graze scattered, while, gathered in the shade, the shepherds are grouped together, waiting for the evening. Around them stretches a landscape that rises to the horizon. In the background, and far away, in a bluish cloud, we can see the hillsides that the hill will join. The planes are naturally tiered, the well-distributed light allows one to follow the sinuosities of the terrain; the air circulates at leisure and it seems as if one is breathing deeply in this landscape. M. de Meuron has exhibited six landscapes, and in all of them I find a quality that is too rare among landscape artists, the sense of perspective. A morning on the top of the Alps, by M. Veillon, is distinguished by that breadth of horizon which I have just noted in M. de Meuron. M. Jacottet's La chute du Beichenbach is very striking.
An immense black rock, which bathes its feet in a bubbling foam, all painted with great width. In the background, the sky, on which the mountain is cut out, brings out, with light tones, this great black mass which pours torrents of foam. I like the Cascade du Giessbach, by M. François Diday. The colour is very vivid, without being violent, the drawing is firm, vigorous; one feels a skilful hand, sure of its effects, obeying a lively and enthusiastic imagination. U Interior of a forest, by M. Duval, is a bit of a showpiece. But there are some charming details. A little too much crudity in the colour is redeemed by an easy and graceful drawing. The Entrance to the Lauterbrunnen Valley, by Mr Karl Girardet, belongs to Mr Emile Péreire. I can only compliment the famous financier for having placed this beautiful painting in his gallery. The emperor gave to the museum of Lille a painting by M. Castan, entitled: An October evening. This landscape is not without merit. The colour, though moderate, is not without brilliance, and the foreground is very good, but the horizon is impasto, and the background is skilfully concealed by a forest whose position I cannot quite explain.

Let us quote again, the Approach of Evening, by M.Baudit, A la mort, by M. Berthoud. The hunter holds one of the victims of the chair and shows it to the dogs* who rush towards it barking. A setting sun illuminates the scene and produces a happy effect. - But how, next to this landscape, which is not without merit, does M. Berthoud exhibit the Morning Effect and the Jungfrau summit, which do not even suggest that their author could ever be a landscape artist? I end this list of landscape artists with the First Autumn Snow in the Mountains, by M. Humbert, of Geneva. Humbert, of Geneva. This painting can compete without fear with that of Messrs Jacottet, Diday and de Meuron, which I mentioned earlier. The science of effects is not given to everyone, and M. Humbert, who possesses it, uses it with great skill. A beautiful autumn sun illuminates this first snow of October which announces winter, and gives its note in this great harmony of colours which gives such a striking character to autumn landscapes.

It remains for me to speak of pastels, watercolours and engravings.

There are, in these various genres, some successful works. I will mention the portrait of the Bishop of Hebron, a pastel, by Miss Louise Revon, the Little Beggar, by Miss Anna Collignon, which recalls a pretty statuette from the Italian exhibition, the Reichenbach Waterfall, a pretty watercolour by the late Juillerat. But I will stop in front of the engravings of Messrs Paul and Édouard Girardet, which reproduce various paintings by Knauss, Vernet and Dela-roche (among others the Virgin in contemplation before the crown of thorns), and also those of Messrs Mertz and Weder, from Basel.

From my journey through this exhibition, which includes no less than 211 works, I take away the impression that Switzerland has only been influenced by nature itself, by physical nature, by its glaciers and valleys. If the democratic state had had the slightest effect on the movement of the arts, would the Exhibition not provide some historical pictures? Without comparing it to the great nations, this republic has a glorious past. Directly or indirectly, it has long taken an active part in the events that have shaken Europe. Well, Switzerland only brings a historical picture, it is a scene borrowed from Shakespeare, a quasi-historical statue, it is a character from Shakespeare. Do we see here this liberal breath, which, animating all souls, directing all minds, manifests itself in all acts, in all productions, in all works? And would we not be led to conclude that if democracy fecundates and develops strength, energy, generous feelings, patriotism, it is without influence on art and imagination?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Beaux-arts de Suisse

Beaux-arts de Suisse à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La réalité donne parfois de si cruels démentis aux théories et aux systèmes, qu’il y aurait quelque imprudence à les accepter absolument, sans contrôle et sans réserve, comme il y aurait témérité à les nier complètement. Certains philosophes et économistes ont voulu établir une relation directe entre l’état politique d’un peuple et l’élévation du niveau artistique. Faisant assez bon marché de l’histoire, ils ont vu dans la démocratie le gouvernement le plus favorable au développement de tous les arts. Certes, la théorie est séduisante, et « la Liberté protégeant les Arts, » sujet allégorique, serait un thème tout indiqué pour un concours académique. Mais est-il bien vrai que l’influence de la liberté se manifeste d’une façon aussi favorable? Est-il bien vrai que les grandes époques artistiques correspondent aux époques de liberté, d’indépendance, dégainé? Hélas ! ce n’est pas ce que dit l’histoire. Et sans vouloir entrer dans de trop longues considérations, quels peuples devraient marcher à la tête du mouvement artistique moderne? N’est-ce pas les Américains, les Anglais, les Suisses? Or il faut avouer que loin de tenir le premier rang, ces trois nations marchent bien loin derrière la France, la Suède, l'Italie, etc... Et qu’on ne m’objecte pas que la grande supériorité de l’exposition de sculpture italienne vient contredire ce que j’avance. Si l’Italie est libre aujourd'hui, n’est ce pas sous le protectorat autrichien, sous le gouvernement des ducs de Modène, de Parme, etc., sous celui du roi de Naples que se sont formés les sculpteurs qui ont exposé cette année le Napoléon mourant, ou le Sommeil de l'Innocence? Non, il faut reconnaître que les arts ne trouvent la protection large, efficace qui est nécessaire à leur développement, à leur existence même, que sous les gouvernements absolus. La démocratie met peut-être trop haut certains intérêts, l’industrie, le commerce, les finances pour donner à la peinture, à la musique, aux lettres, à la statuaire la place et le rang qu’elles doivent occuper. Quelles sont les époques mémorables de l’art? Celles où un souverain puissant, absolu, un François Ier, un Léon X, honorant l’art et les artistes, leur accordait dans l’État la première place.

Les mœuis, plus que les. principes politiques, marquent leur empreinte sur les productions de l’art. Ainsi, tandis que la corruption élégante de la régence, du règne de Louis XV, avait donné naissance aux terres cuites de Clodion, aux bergers de Watteau, de Lancret, de Boucher, aux mignardises rimées de Dorât et de Gentil-Bernard, l’imitation des mœurs républicaines de Rome inspirait les toiles sévères de David et de son école. Et, pour terminer, rappellerai-je que dans l’organisation de sa république, Platon rejetait les artistes, les hommes d’imagination ? N’était-ce pas affirmer que l’art, source de plaisirs et de jouissances intellectue les, n’a pas droit de cité dans une société toute préoccupée d’intérêts matériels?

L’exposition des beaux-arts de Suisse donne raison à ce que j’avançais plus haut. Sur cette terre classique de la liberté, toutes les manifestations, toutes ces productions de l’art ne devraient-elles pas refléter ce sentiment de grandeur, de force, de puissance qui doit animer l’homme indépendant et qu’il porte dans tous les actes de sa vie? Et s’il en doit être ainsi, retrouverons-nous dans les œuvres de la Suisse ce sentiment qui se traduit en art par le choix des sujets, la vigueur de l’exécution, l’expression des physionomies?

La sculpture est représentée au Champ de Mars par MM. Caroni, Imhoff, Menn, Soma-jini, Ch. Topfer.

M. Emmanuel Caroni a donné trois marbres, le premier, l'Amour vainqueur de la Force révèle chez son auteur l’étude et l’assimilation des procédés de l’École du dix-huitième siècle, la grâce et la délicatesse des formes remplaçant l’anatomie et la vérité. L’Amour est modelé avec une grande finesse. Bien que le dessin ne soit pas toujours correct, bien que les proportions ne soient pas toujours exactes, — la jambe gauche, par exemple, est d’une longueur démesurée, — l’ensemble est gracieux, l’attitude est bonne. L’Amour est assis.sur un lion qui lui lèche les pieds. La pose est naturelle, sans efforts. Quant au lion, malgré le livret qui m’affirme qu’il est en marbre, il m’a fait tout l’effet d’un lion en carton. — Je préfère Ophélie, un marbre de grandeur naturelle. Elle est debout, la tête inclinée, et toute son attitude, l’alanguissement du corps indiquent une profonde rêverie. Ici, le dessin est plus correct. Les lignes restent toujours gracieuses, et je ne ferai qu’un reproche à ce marbre, c’est l’absence complète d’expression dans la figure. Alors que le corps est parlant, le visage' est muet. — L'Esclave au marché réunit les mêmes qualités, les mêmes défauts. Gracieusement accroupie, les bras enchaînés, elle attend celui dont va dépendre sa destinée. Mais le visage ne reflète aucun des sentiments qui doivent l’animer. Qu’éprouve-t-elle? Est-ce l’inquiétude, l’anxiété que doit faire naître une telle attente? Est-ce la joie de quitter un maître abhorré? Est-ce l’insouciance de l’esclave à qui tout est indifférent? Le visage n’exprime rien. Ici encore, il faut admirer le côté plastique, la grâce physique, l’élégance des formes et des contours. Mais où est la vie, l’intelligence, le rayonnement divin? Je ne le vois pas. M. Caroni est un sculpteur, ce n’est pas un poète. J’ajouterai qu’il représente dans cette exposition l’École matérialiste.

M. Imhoff, d’Uri, expose une Rébecca, en marbre, qui lui a été commandée par le musée de Râle. Cette statue sera-t-elle bien à sa place dans une galerie qui jouit d’une juste célébrité? L’attitude, la pose de Rébecca sont froides, sans grâces, sans naturel. Son bras gauche, replié à mi-corps, laisse pendre la main dans le vide. La main droite soutient l’urne traditionnelle. II y a dans tous ces mouvements une gêne que ne rachètent ni l’expression de la tête, ni l’élégance des draperies. — Le Jésus-Christ enseignant au Temple, du même artiste, n’est pas meilleur. Trop grand pour l'âge de la figure, il semble en proie à ce malaise, à cette demi-souffrance des enfants qui ont grandi trop rapidement.

Je n’aime pas non plus les Baigneuses surprises de M. Somajini du Tessin. L’une est agenouillée dans l’attitude de la terreur. L’autre courbée s’appuie sur sa compagne. Toutes deux semblent voir dans le lointain un effroyable danger qui s’approche. Je me plaignais tout à l’heure du peu d’expression que les sculpteurs avaient donné à leurs statues. Ici je trouve une exagération dans le sentiment exprimé. Ce n’est pas, en effet, un indiscret que les baigneuses ont aperçu. Car leur visage et leurs gestes expriment plus de terreur que de pudeur effarouchée. Enfin, la baigneuse qui s’appuie sur sa compagne semble au moins sa grand’mère. Est-ce l’épouvante qui l’a vieillie subitement ? Le livret n’en dit malheureusement rien.

M. Menn nous offre un buste d’Émile Chevé qui, sans atteindre à la perfection, a le très-grand mérite de rappeler très-exactement les traits de l’éminent novateur.
Il faut joindre à ces œuvres, quelques médaillons en bronze ou en plâtre de peu d’importance.

La peinture à l’huile est représentée par 1 12 toiles, assez médiocres pour la plupart . et qui appartiennent en général au Paysage.

L’histoire et ce qu’on nomme la grande peinture religion, antiquité), etc., comptent à peine sept ou huit tableaux. La Duchesse Glocester, de M. Weckesser, dont la composition est embarrassée et dont la couleur est faible. — Roméo et Julie au village, de M. Stuckelberg; les deux enfants'(douze et treize ans) descendent un sentier en se tenant la main. Rien de plus joli, de plus gracieux, de plus doux que la tête de la jeune fille ; Roméo a dans le regard une vivacité, une animation bien en rapport avec son attitude. Le charme que M. Stuckelberg a su mettre dans ces deux personnages révèle un remarquable peintre de portraits. Mais pourquoi faut-il que les deux enfants soient collés au rocher, au chemin qu’ils suivent? Ce défaut de perspective que nous retrouverons chez beaucoup de paysagistes suissés, gâte l’effet de ce tableau qui renferme de ravissants détails.

Les tableaux de genre ne leur sont guère supérieurs. M. Landerer, de Bâle, expose la Noce du dernier des Ramstein qu’on peut prendre au premier coup d’œil, et même au second, pour une bonne lithographie coloriée. L'assemblée religieuse dans une forêt des Alpes Suisses, de feu Adrien Kuukler, vise à l’effet sans y arriver. Le soleil couchant prenant les personnages en écharpe éparpille des rayons, des paillettes, sur les visages et sur les parties brillantes des costumes. Cette recherche d’un effet momentané fatigue le regard plus qu’elle ne le charme. Je passe sous silence le Départ du cortège d’une noce Valaque de M. Jacot, qui a trouvé bon de faire voyager ses personnages sur des chevaux de bois peint. — Le nouveau-né de M. Anker, d’A-net, est un des succès du salon Suisse. En vaut-il beaucoup mieux ? Non, mais c’est un de ces braves tableaux bourgeois, propres, convenables, consciencieusement peints, où rien ne vient heurter par trop d’éclat ou trop d’audace le goût du public. Je le répète, c’est un des succès de ce salon. Et ce n’est pas un éloge. — Les lutteurs Suisses de M. Bachelin sont plus vigoureux. Il y a un certain mouvement dans cette toile. Les paysans qui entourent les lutteurs ne sont pas mal groupés, mais, toujours le même défaut, pas de perspective. Le fond tombe sur les premiers plans. — Le tableau de M. Vantier : Courtier et paysans, rappelle la manière de Téniers. Le dessin est facile, la composition intelligente, la couleur sobre. C est en somme une assez bonne toile. Je remarque les mêmes qualités dans un autre tableau du même artiste : La Traversée. Une famille transporte à travers le lac de Brienz le cercueil d’un enfant qui vient de mourir. Les attitudes, forcément un peu semblables, sont simples, les figures sont expressives, et ce tableau laisse une impression de mélancolie. Je n’aime pas le lac dont les lames rappellent un peu trop, parleur régularité, les solives d’un parquet. — M. Zuber-Buhler a emprunté au Juif-Errant le sujet de sa toile, la reine Bacchanale. Il a rendu avec beaucoup d’entrain et de verve la scène du cortège. Je ne veux pas oublier les Femmes de Peggli, de M. Ma-riani. Une femme étend du linge, tandis que sa compagne s’appuie sur un canon. Dans l’affût, vont et viennent des poules, des coqs, etc. — Le sujet est assez bizarre. Mais la femme appuyée est dessinée avec beaucoup de talent. Les divers plans sont bien étagés, la couleur est bonne ; en résumé, cette singulière toile est une des meilleures du salon Suisse.

Les portraits sont rares au salon Suisse. Quand j’aurai cité celui d’Émile Chevé, par M. Poggi, de Genève, portrait dont le dessin est un peu mou, mais qui rappelle le buste de M. Menn, — celui de Mme B.. . par M. Henri Berthoud, toile tout à fait inférieure aux autres œuvres de cet artiste, il ne me restera qu’à passer en revue le paysage.

Dans ce genre, la Suisse fait oublier les médiocrités que j’ai signalées plus haut, non pas que ses paysages soient des chefs-d’œuvre. Mais parmi les 60 ou 80 toiles qu'elle expose, il en est plusieurs remarquables et où se trouvent un amour très-vif de la nature, un sentiment net et sûr des effets, cette intelligence, cette compréhension des grands spectacles, que le touriste rencontre à chaque pas dans les Alpes Suisses. La conformation même de cette pittoresque contrée développe de bonne heure chez les artistes un penchant pour les beautés naturelles. Tout site est un tableau, toute échappée est un paysage. Une gorge, un plateau, une cascade, une forêt dominant un vallon, un ruisseau serpentant au bas d’une colline, des coteaux verts succédant à d’arides et majestueuses montagnes, voilà ce qui frappe à toute heure les regards de l’enfant. Et quelle variété d’aspect, le lever, le coucher du soleil, les saisons ne donnent-ils pas à ces sites tout posés et qui semblent n’attendre que le pinceau du peintre ! — Est ce à dire que tous les paysages du salon Suisse sont bons ? Non pas. Mais, d’abord,' ils sont fort nombreux, de plus, la proportion des bons sur les mauvais est relativement considérable. Aussi ne puis-je citer que les meilleurs.

En tête je placerai les Bergamasques gardant leurs troupeaux au bord de la Bernina, de M. Albert de Meuron. Les bestiaux paissent épars, tandis que, réunis à l’ombre, les bergers sont groupés, attendant le soir. Autour d’eux s’étend un paysage qui s’élève jusqu’à l’horizon. Au fond, et bien loin, dans un nuage bleuâtre, on aperçoit les coteaux que va rejoindre la colline. Les plans sont naturellement étagés, la lumière bien distribuée permet de suivre les sinuosités du terrain ; l’air circule à loisir et il semble que l’on respire à pleins poumons dans ce paysage. M. de Meuron a exposé six paysages, et dans tous, je retrouve une qualité trop rare chez les paysagistes, le sentiment de la perspective. Un matin sur le haut des Alpes, de M. Veillon, se distingue par cette largeur des horizons que je viens de constater chez M. de Meuron. La chute du Beichenbach, de M. Jacottet est d’un aspect très-saisissant.
Une immense roche noire, qui baigne ses pieds dans une écume bouillonnante, le tout peint avec beaucoup de largeur. Au fond, le ciel, sur lequel se découpe la montagne, fait ressortir par des tons clairs, cette grande masse noire qui verse des torrents d’écume. J’aime la Cascade du Giessbach, de M. François Diday. La couleur est très-vive, sans être violente, le dessin est ferme, vigoureux ; on sent une main habile, sure de ses effets, obéissant à une imagination vive et enthousiaste. U Intérieur de forêt, de M. Duval, vise un peu à l’effet. Mais il y a des détails charmants. Un peu trop de crudité dans la couleur est racheté par un dessin facile et gracieux. L'Entrée de la vallée de Lauterbrunnen, de M. Karl Girardet, appartient à M. Émile Péreire. Je ne saurais que faire compliment au célèbre financier d’avoir placé cette jolie toile dans sa galerie. L’empereur a donné au musée de Lille une toile de M. Castan, intitulée: Une soirée d'octobre. Ce paysage n’est pas sans mérite. La couleur bien que modérée, n’est pas sans éclat, et les premiers plans sont très-réussis, mais l’horizon est empâté, et le fond est habilement escamoté par une forêt dont je ne m’explique pas très-bien la position.

Citons encore, l'Approche du soir, de M.Baudit, A la mort, deM. Berthoud. Le chasseur tient une des victimes de la chaise et la montre aux chiens* qui s’élancent vers elle en aboyant. Un soleil couchant éclaire la scène et produit un heureux effet. — Mais comment, à côté de ce paysage qui n’est pas sans mérite, M. Berthoud expose-t-il l'Effet du matin et le sommet de la Jungfrau qui ne laissent même pas soupçonner que leur auteur puisse être jamais un paysagiste ? Je termine cette nomenclature des paysagistes parla Première neige d automne dans la montagne, deM. Humbert, de Genève. Cette toile peut lutter sans crainte avec celle de MM. Jacottet, Diday et de Meuron dont j’ai parlé tout à l’heure. La science des effets n’est pas donnée à tout le monde, et M. Humbert qui la possède, s’en sert avec beaucoup d’habileté. Un beau soleil d’automne éclaire cette première neige d’octobre qui vient annoncer l’hiver, et donner sa note dans cette grande harmonie des couleurs qui donne un caractère si saisissant aux paysages d’automne.

Il me reste à parler des pastels, des aquarelles et des gravures.

Il y a, dans ces genres divers, quelques œuvres réussies. Je citerai le portrait de l'Evêque d'Hébron, pastel, par Mlle Louise Revon, la Petite mendiante, de Mlle Anna Collignon, qui rappelle une jolie statuette de l’exposition italienne, la Cascade de Reichenbach, une jolie aquarelle de feu Juillerat. Mais je m’arrêterai devant les gravures de MM. Paul et Édouard Girardet, qui reproduisent divers tableaux de Knauss, de Vernet et de Dela-roche (entre autres la Vierge en contemplation devant la couronne d'épines), devant celles aussi de MM. Mertz et Weder, de Bâle.

De mon voyage à travers cette exposition qui ne compte pas moins de 211 œuvres, j’emporte cette impression, que la Suisse n’a subi qu’une influence, celle de la nature même, de la nature physique, de ses glaciers, de ses vallons. Si l’état démocratique, en effet, avait eu la moindre action sur le mouvement des arts, l’Exposition ne donnerait-elle pas quelques tableaux d’histoire? Sans la comparer aux grandes nations, cette république a un glorieux passé. Directement, ou indirectement, elle a pris- longtemps une part active aux événements qui ont agité l’Europe. Eh bien, la Suisse n’apporte qu’un tableau d’histoire, c’est une scène empruntée àShakespeare, qu’une statue quasi- historique, c’est un personnage de Shakespeare. Voit-on là ce souffle libéral, qui, animant toutes les âmes, dirigeant, tous les esprits, se manifeste dans tous les actes, dans toutes les productions, dans toutes les œuvres? Et ne serait-on pas amené à conclure que si la démocratie féconde et développe la force, l’énergie, les sentiments généreux, le patriotisme, elle est, sans influence sur l’art et sur l’imagination?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée