International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Fine Arts in Belgium (continued)

manque image

FLORENT WILLEMS.
The education of Charles V, by M. Ham-man, has, as we have said, the value of an excellent page of history.

These characters, chosen and grouped with skilful art, show, to those who know how to see and recognise them, the secret springs of their character and conduct, of their present and future ambitions.

But the observer hesitates by one or two years as to the precise date when Charles V as a child received the lessons of Erasmus, and, on learning that the action takes place, as they say in the theatre, around the year 1511, in Brussels, we remembered that it was not Joanna the madwoman who presided over the education of young Charles, but rather Margaret of Austria, who was then governor of the Netherlands.

Joan had long been separated from her son.

After this necessary rectification, we shall resume our walk through the double gallery of paintings that Belgium has sent us.

In Belgium, among the painters of the new school, there is a determined taste for what I will call Parisian painting. Parisian painting, in the sense in which I understand it here, seeks out small interiors, elegant boudoirs, coquettishly decorated and furnished rooms, in order to place there pretty little mothers who smile at pretty little girls, or who gently abandon themselves to the caresses of mischievous and pink marmots, who are full of spirit for their age. It is always Venus and the Lovers. An old motif, but one that is constantly rejuvenated and never wearies us!

This, well painted and with a brush that knows the harmony of tones and shades, is therefore far from displeasing a public that feels flattered in its wishes and whims. This is why the paintings of Mr. Baugniet, of Mr. Jonghe, of Mr. Stallaert, of Mr. Alfred Stevens especially, excite, and in a way, pique a thousand highly enviable sympathies.

Sometimes these niceties lack a little firmness in execution, and it is not a very high thought that inspired them, but do we not all live, more or less, in an order of average feelings and average ideas too, where this bourgeois poetry, both distinguished and bourgeois (I maintain that the two epithets can go together very well), is more than sufficient for our appetites and our needs?

Now, M. Florent Willems, who is nonetheless of the same school, seems to me to have brought this cute painting of the little events of life to the last degree of perfection, and to have drawn from it all that it contains of delicacy and grace. On this terrain, where, all in all, the first comers will never set foot, he is truly master and lord.

Mr. Willems excels in painting women, and everything that is closely or remotely related to women, that is to say, in the first place, their lovers; then their lace and satins, then the greyhounds or spaniels that sleep near them and under their chairs; then, to a certain extent, their feeling and tenderness.

I said to a certain extent, because in Mr. Florent Willems' work the feeling and even the passion seem to be regulated in advance and remain contained, in a range where nothing stands out. No sparkle! One thinks, in front of the paintings of Mr. Willems, of the best novels of Octave Feuillet and Jules Sandeau. Literarily and morally, these three men of such fine and pure talent are alike. They understand and conduct the things of the soul and the heart in the same way.

In spite of that archaism of fantasy which shows itself in pretty details, either of the costume of his characters or of the flats in which he has placed them, in spite of such old tapestries and such Gothic woodwork, captured elsewhere and rendered with the good colour of the Flemish masters, M. Willems is entirely of our nineteenth century. The charming people of our time recognise each other and greet each other with a smile on these marvellous canvases, which remind them of the magic mirrors of fairy tales. What shall I say? There is there not only the ray and the flower of their youth, the brightness and the transparency of their beautiful flesh, there is also the white or pink satin of their skirts, and a satin so natural that it seems to undulate to the eye and bray to the ear.

- The triumph of Mr. Willems," a kind lady told me, "is the white satin.

I know that it has other qualities as well, and I think that this satin, with a truth that is almost palpable, is, in short, only the richest case for the most delicious and finest creatures that one can desire or dream of.

Look at them, blond or brunette, melancholic or laughing, and tell me if you don't agree with me!

Finally, the connoisseurs will object that this painting, so rich and at the same time so fresh, does not have the firmness of Terburg's paintings; I half agree with this, but grant me, in your turn, that it is, - in its French grace and in its meticulous Dutch perfection, - as pretty as Terburg. Nothing is missing, and the artist's brush has foreseen everything, has provided for even the smallest details, even the most imperceptible folds of the white or blue dress, even the nails of the armchair arranged with a desperate symmetry; and in the furniture, not a trifle is not chosen with an unimpeachable taste!

Such care is undoubtedly a defect, and it is not in this way, with the eye fixed on these infinitely small things, that the great Italian and Spanish masters proceeded; but the defect is redeemed by many rare qualities, and a great talent, which bends to everything with incredible fecundity, makes the most of its very weaknesses and its exaggerations.

At least Mr. Willems will not be accused of leaving gaps in his work.

Can you think of anything that is truer and purer in feeling than this young widow in great mourning, who, with her eyes sadly fixed on the portrait of her husband, and the shadow of faded happiness on her forehead, regrets and remembers? A love letter is unfolded under her hand, and there is also a thought, a poor withered flower, a poor relic of days gone by. The faithful greyhound, Y friend of both, is also there, sleeping at the feet of the young widow and perhaps sharing her dream and her memory. One could not better express this silent and, to a certain extent, sweet pain.
There is no better way of expressing the silent and, to a certain extent, sweet pain that lives in us with the memory of those we have loved. A little joy is hidden in the depths of an affliction that is dear to us.

In my opinion, L'Accoucheée by Florent Willems is quite simply a small masterpiece. It is not a question here of the Caquets de l'accoucheée, as our clever Gallic fathers used to say. There is only one of the most common events in life before us, but one that art has touched and transfigured on all sides and in which poetry shines. - The woman who has given birth is a blonde child, who appears to be no more than eighteen years old. She is lying down, sleeping. Her face is still so fresh and pink that one can tell that she has come through this first ordeal without suffering too much. The beautiful ruddy infant is one of those that one can boldly exclaim:

It has hardly cost its mother any complaints!

Two friends appear, a young man and a young woman, elegant, graceful, dressed and dressed as Mr. Willems knows how to dress all his characters. They were undoubtedly anxious and concerned about the patient, but they were also curious, and this was evident from their slightly smiling and malicious faces, which were not without interest and kindness.

The mother of the woman in labour, still a young woman (one never deals with Mr. Willems except with flowers of youth and beauty), stops them at the threshold with a finger over her mouth: "Silence! "

However, the nurse, near the cradle - a real little chapel decorated with pious images - is also looking on, and is feeding the baby, while a familiar cat is happily rubbing its back against one of the bars of the chair.

The whole thing is charming, and the audience is unanimous in its approval.

It has been remarked, not without reason, that visits to Mr. Willems' house are quite ceremonial. But at least such visitors as this amiable little person with the grey hat topped with a peacock eaglet and the pretty grey embroidered mantelet, and this other lady or damsel in soft white satin, and this cavalier, who seems at once so courteously submissive and so bound, at least, I say, such visitors deserve, even if they are a little stiff and stodgy, all the mitigating circumstances.

M. Willems has, in the painting of the Intimates, placed a pink dress and a green dress in the presence of each other, and the two colours, which would clash under the brush of another artist, blend together under his own and form a true harmony, so real are the ingenious resources of his palette.

Farewell! - The door is ajar. The lover is about to leave. This is the moment when Romeo leaves Juliet for good. Here it is not a question of Shakespeare's scene, but simply of any lovers, of you or of me, at such times in life as we have all known. The dishevelled girl is in the arms of the young man. A last kiss, intermingled with tears, and both of them will be alone. That is all! Do not say that the subject is thin and common. I could name none higher, more human, more eloquent. There is a whole world of delicate and passionate thoughts and feelings in this group of two people.

Love has crept everywhere in the various compositions of Mr. Willems, and with him have come the three Graces and the nine Muses. Happy artist! Certainly, he stands more than once on the path of the precious and the cute: only a hair separates him from it. But it is quite a barrier, and the author of these admirable paintings, the author also of Y Armurier and Les Fiançailles, will not cross it. Trust in the taste of which he has given us so much proof.
I can only, within the narrow confines of my observations and criticisms, point to other works that deserve the most serious attention: the beautiful landscapes of M. Lamorinière, for example, and the Flowers and Fruits of M. Robbe, and the fruits, so transparent and so delicious to the eye, of M. Jean Robie. It is cruel not to be able to praise the Spanish, Italian or Portuguese studies of Messrs. Bossuet and Van Moër, who marvellously render the original and picturesque aspect of the cities or monuments they wanted to paint, and who have captured the very sky and the various hues of that sky, - the idea, as it were, and the soul of the buildings. I would like to recommend to you two portraits of Mrs. Frederique O'Connell, whom her stay among us and her relations have naturalized completely French, and who honors this second homeland. Belgian sculptures, though less striking and less indigenous, if one may so speak, than paintings, are not without their right to esteem and success. In short, when one leaves the French Fine Arts Exhibition, one does not go straight down to the Belgian annex. It would be difficult to say and think the same of other art exhibitions of such larger nations and more vocal peoples on earth.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Beaux-arts en Belgique (Suite)

manque image

FLORENT WILLEMS.
L'éducation de Charles-Quint, de M. Ham-man, a, nous l'avons dit, la valeur d’une excellente page d’histoire.

Ces personnages choisis et groupés avec un art savant montrent, à qui sait les voir et les reconnaître, jusqu’aux secrets ressorts de leur caractère et de leur conduite, de leurs ambitions présentes et futures.

Mais, à un ou deux ans près, l’observateur hésite sur la date précise où Charles-Quint enfant a reçu les leçons d’Érasme, et, en apprenant que l'action se passe, comme on dit au théâtre, vers l’an 1511, à Bruxelles, nous nous sommes souvenu que ce n’est point Jeanne la folle, qui présidait à l'éducation du jeune Charles, mais bien Marguerite d’Autriche, qui était alors gouvernante des Pays-Bas.

Jeanne , depuis longtemps , était séparée de son fils.

Après cette rectification nécessaire, nous allons reprendre notre promenade à travers la double galerie des tableaux que la Belgique nous a envoyés.

Il y a, en Belgique, chez les peintres de la nouvelle école, un goût déterminé pour ce que j’appellerai la peinture parisienne. La peinture parisienne, au sens où je l’entends ici, recherche les petits intérieurs, les boudoirs élégants, les chambres coquettement parées et meublées, pour y placer de jolies petites mamans qui sourient à de jolies petites fillettes, ou qui S’abandonnent doucement aux caresses de marmots espiègles et roses, et tout pleins d’esprit pour leur âge. C’est toujours Vénus et les Amours. Vieux motif, mais qui se rajeunit sans cesse et ne nous lasse jamais!

Cela, bien peint et d'un pinceau qui sait l’harmonie des tons et des nuances, est donc loin de déplaire à un public qui se sent flatté ainsi dans ses vœux et dans ses caprices. C’est pourquoi les tableaux de M. Baugniet, de M. Jonghe, de M. Stallaert, de M. Alfred Stevens surtout, excitent, et en quelque sorte, piquent au jeu mille sympathies fort enviables.

Parfois ces gentillesses manquent un peu de fermeté dans l’exécution, et ce n’est pas une pensée très-élevée qui les inspira, mais ne vivons-nous pas tous, plus ou moins : dans un ordre de sentiments moyens et d’idées moyennes aussi, où cette poésie bourgeoise à la fois et distinguée (je maintiens que les deux épithètes peuvent très-bien marcher ensemble) est plus que suffisante à nos appétits et à nos besoins?

Or, M. Florent Willems, qui est pourtant de la même école, me paraît avoir porté au dernier degré de la perfection cette peinture mignonne des petits événements de la vie, et en avoir tiré tout ce qu'elle contient de délicatesse et de grâce. Sur ce terrain où, somme tonte, les premiers venus ne poseront jamais le pied, il est véritablement maître et seigneur.

M. Willems excelle à peindre les femmes, et tout ce qui, de près ou de loin, tient aux femmes, c’est-à-dire et en première ligne, leurs amoureux; puis leurs dentelles et leurs satins, puis les lévriers ou les épagneuls qui dorment près d’elles et sous leurs chaises ; puis, dans une certaine mesure, leur sentiment et leur tendresse.

J’ai dit dans une certaine mesure , car, chez M. Florent Willems le sentiment et même la passion paraissent réglés d’avance et restent contenus, dans une gamme où rien ne détonne. Pas d’éclat ! On pense, devant les toiles de M. Willems, aux meilleurs romans d’Octave Feuillet et de Jules Sandeau. Littérairement et moralement, ces trois hommes d’un talent si fin et si pur se ressemblent. Ils comprennent et conduisent de la même façon les choses de l’âme et du cœur.

Malgré cet archaïsme de fantaisie qui se montre dans de jolis détails, soit du costume de ses personnages, soit des appartements où il les a placés, malgré telles vieilles tapisseries et telles boiseries gothiques, saisies d’ailleurs et rendues avec la bonne couleur des maîtres flamands, M. Willems est tout entier de notre dix-neuvième siècle. Les charmantes personnes de notre temps se reconnaissent et se saluent d’un sourire sur ces toiles merveilleuses et qui leur rappellent les miroirs magiques des contes de fées. Que dis-je? il y a là non-seulement le rayon et la fleur de leur jeunesse, l’éclat et la transparence de leurs belles chairs, on y trouve encore le satin blanc ou rose de leurs jupes, et un satin si naturel qu’il semble ondoyer au regard et braire à l’oreille.

— Le triomphe de M. Willems, me disait une aimable dame, c’est le satin blanc.

Moi, je lui sais d’autres qualités encore, et j’estime que ce satin, d’une vérité qui est presque palpable, n’est, en résumé, que le riche étui des plus délicieuses et des plus fines créatures qu’on puisse désirer ou rêver.

Regardez-les, blondes ou brunes, mélancoliques ou rieuses, et dites-moi si vous n’êtes point de mon avis !

Enfin les connaisseurs objecteront que cette peinture si riche et tout ensemble si fraîche n’a point la fermeté des peintures de Terburg ; j’en conviens à demi, mais accordez moi, à votre tour, que cela est, — dans sa grâce française et dans sa minutieuse perfection hollandaise,— aussi joli que du Terburg. Rien n’ v manque, et le pinceau de l’artiste a tout prévu, a pourvu jusqu’aux moindres détails, jusqu’aux plus imperceptibles plis de la robe blanche ou bleue, jusqu’aux clous du fauteuil rangés avec une symétrie désespérante; et dans le mobilier, pas une bagatelle qui ne soit choisie avec un goût sans reproche!

Un pareil soin est sans doute un défaut, et ce n est pas de cette façon, l’œil fixé sur ces infiniment petits, que procédaient les grands maîtres italiens et espagnols; mais le défaut est racheté par maintes qualités rares, et un grand talent, qui se ploie à tout avec une incroyable fécondité, fait valoir ses faiblesses mêmes et ses exagérations.

Au moins on n’accusera pas M. Willems de laisser des lacunes dans son œuvre.

Savez-vous quelque chose qui soit d’un sentiment plus vrai et plus pur que cette jeune Veuve en grand deuil, qui, les yeux tristement attachés sur le portrait de son mari, et l’ombre des bonheurs évanouis sur son front, regrette et se souvient? Une lettre d’amour est dépliée sous sa main, et l’on y voit aussi une pensée, pauvre fleur flétrie, pauvre relique des jours d’autrefois. Le lévrier fidèle, Y ami de tous les deux, est aussi là qui dort aux pieds de la jeune veuve et partage peut-être son rêve et son souvenir. On ne saurait mieux exprimer cette douleur muette et jus-
qu’à un certain point douce, qui vit en nous avec la mémoire de ceux que nous avons aimés. Un peu de joie sé cache au fond d’une affliction qui nous est chère.

L'Accouchée de M. Florent Willems est tout bonnement, à mon avis, un petit chef-d’œuvre. Il ne s’agit pas ici des Caquets de l'accouchée, comme disaient nos pères malins et gaulois. Il n’y a devant nous qu’un des plus communs événements de la vie, mais que l’art a touché et transfiguré de toutes parts et où la poésie rayonne. — L’accouchée est une blonde enfant, qui paraît avoir dix-huit ans au plus. Elle est couchée, elle dort. Son visage est si frais encore et si rose qu’on devine bien qu'elle a traversé, sans trop souffrir, cette première épreuve. Le beau nourrisson vermeil est de ceux dont on peut s’écrier hardiment:

A peine a-t-il coûté quelque plainte à sa mère !

Deux amis se présentent, un jeune homme et une jeune femme, élégants, gracieux, vêtus et accoutrés comme M. Willems sait revêtir tous ses personnages. Ils sont empressés sans doute et inquiets de la malade, mais ils sont curieux aussi, et cela se voit de reste à leur mine, légèrement souriante et maligne à travers l’intérêt même et la bonté.

La mère de l’accouchée, une jeune femme encore (on n’a jamais affaire avec M. Willems qu’à des fleurs de’ jeunesse et de beauté), les arrête au seuil, un doigt sur la bouche : « Silence ! elle repose ! »

Cependant la nourrice, près du berceau, — une véritable petite chapelle ornée d’images pieuses, — regarde, elle aussi, et donne à téter au poupon, tandis qu’un chat familier se frotte allègrement le dos à l’un des barreaux de la chaise.

Tout l’ensemble est charmant, et les spectateurs sont unanimes dans leurs suffrages.

On a remarqué, non sans raison, que les visites sont bien cérémonieuses chez M. Willems. Mais au moins des visiteurs, comme cette aimable petite personne au chapeau gris surmonté d’une aigrette de paon et au joli mantelet gris brodé, et cette autre dame ou demoiselle en satin moelleux et blanc, et ce cavalier, qui paraît à la fois si courtoisement soumis et si lier, au moins, dis-je, de pareils visiteurs méritent, fussent-ils un peu raides et empesés, toutes les circonstances atténuantes.

M. Willems a, dans le tableau des Intimes, mis en présence une robe rose et une robe verte, et les deux couleurs, qui se choqueraient sous le pinceau d’un autre artiste que lui, se marient sous le sien et forment une véritable harmonie, tant sont réelles les ingénieuses ressources de sa palette.

L'Adieu! — La porte est entrouverte. L’amoureux va partir. C’est le moment où Roméo quitte décidément Juliette. Ici il n’est pas question de la scène de Shakespeare, mais simplement d’amants quelconques, de vous ou de moi, à telles heures de la vie que tous nous avons connues. La jeune fille échevelée est aux bras du jeune homme. Un dernier baiser, entremêlé de larmes, et l’un et l’autre ils seront seuls. Voilà tout! Ne dites pas que le sujet est mince et commun. Je n’en pourrais citer aucun de plus élevé, de plus humain, de plus éloquent. Il y a là, dans ce groupe de deux personnes, tout un monde de pensées et de sentiments délicats et passionnés.

L’Amour s’est glissé partout dans les diverses compositions de M, Willems, et, avec lui sont accourues les trois Grâces et les neuf Muses. Heureux artiste! Certes, il se tient plus d’une fois sur le chemin du précieux et du mignard : un cheveu seulement l’en sépare. Mais c’est toute une barrière, et l’auteur de ces admirables peintures, l’auteur aussi de Y Armurier et des Fiançailles, ne la franchira pas. Fiez-vous au goût dont il nous a donné tant de preuves.
Je ne peux, dans le cadre étroit où se renferment mes observations et mes critiques, qu’indiquer en courant d’autres œuvres qui mériteraient la plus sérieuse attention : les beaux paysages de M. Lamorinière, par exemple, et les Fleurs et Fruits de M. Robbe, et les fruits, si transparents et si savoureux à l’œil, de M. Jean Robie. Il est cruel de ne pouvoir à peine que marquer d’un éloge les études espagnoles, italiennes ou portugaises de MM. Bossuet et Van Moër, qui nous rendent à merveille l’aspect original et pittoresque des villes ou des monuments qu’ils ont voulu peindre et qui en ont saisi le ciel même et les teintes diverses de ce ciel,— l’idée, en quelque sorte, et l’âme des édifices. Je voudrais vous recommander deux portraits de Mme Frédérique O’Connell, que son séjour parmi nous et ses relations ont naturalisée tout à fait Française, et qui honore cette seconde patrie. Les sculptures belges, quoique d’un effet moins saisissant et moins indigène, si l’on peut ainsi parler, que les peintures, ne laissent pas de même d’avoir droit à l’estime et au succès. Bref, au sortir de l’exposition française des beaux-arts, on ne descend nullement en allant tout droit à l’annexe de la Belgique. Il serait difficile d’en dire et d’en penser autant d’autres expositions artistiques de telles nations plus considérables et de peuples plus bruyants sur la terre.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée