International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Group V-III

Group V-III at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Products of mining and metallurgy.


CAST IRON WITHOUT RETOUCHING.

A cast iron gantry from the Tusey (Meuse) factory, run by Mr. Zégut, a former associate of Mr. Durenne, in Sommevoire, introduces us to the second of the rooms occupied by the metallurgical industry. A little further on, the same factory exhibits a whole collection of ornamental cast iron, equally remarkable as works of art and works of industry, by the beauty of the models and by the masterly difficulties overcome in their execution. Once reserved for the crudest uses, cast iron today shares with bronze the privilege of taking on the sacred form of goddesses; it is the bronze of the people, reserved for an immense future.


Bessemer and other steels.

After the portico of Tusey, we find on the right the steelworks of Imphy-Saint-Seurin, whose skilful director, Mr. Jackson, introduced and naturalized in France the Bessemer process for the manufacture of steel.

It is well known that the aim of this metallurgical method is to obtain molten steel directly by passing a current of air through the liquid iron. Bessemer's most important discovery was his recognition that the air current, far from cooling the molten metal as one might have thought, actually heats it up by burning the bodies in the cast iron that are more oxidizable than iron.

This new refining process therefore requires no consumption of coal; the metalloids contained in the cast iron are the real fuels which, by oxidising, produce the temperature useful for the operation.

When a cast iron contains the elements of steel, and when, in addition, the harmful bodies in it can be removed by the current of air without destroying the acieration, Bessemer steel is obtained immediately, by stopping the refining at the moment when the useless bodies have been oxidised.

However, in most cases, in order to produce pure steel and especially steel of a certain quality, it is in the interest of the company to completely eliminate all the metalloids that exist in the cast iron, to produce iron and even nitrogenous or burnt iron; the steel is then reconstituted by mixing the nitrogenous iron with a steel-bearing cast iron. In these circumstances, the manufacture of steel by the Bessemer method is marvellously simple: it all boils down to introducing into molten and completely refined iron, variable quantities of steel-bearing materials, which are found in a suitably chosen cast iron.

Such is the process in its entirety: a description of the apparatus cannot take place here; as for the products, Mr. Jackson's exhibition is almost exclusively composed of them.

Colonel Treuille de Beaulieu, reporting as a member of the international jury on the artillery pieces which appeared in London in 1862, said in his report: "If Mr. Bessemer succeeds in being able to melt large masses with regularity and without blowing, it is indisputable that he will have settled the question of steel as a cannon metal, for it is the increase in the cost price which is the difficulty to be overcome today. "

Judging by the steel ingot of 7295 kilograms that Mr. Jackson exhibited, and by the beautiful steel breaks that he showed us, it seems that the problem posed five years ago by the French jury's rapporteur has now been resolved. The exhibition of the Imphy-Saint-Seurin steelworks also has a very bellicose character. The steel cannons occupy the best places. One of them, an 8-piece, was tested at Ruelle. Next to it are cylindrical cannonballs, log-shaped projectiles, intended to act as pellets on the walls of ships; then, artillery axles. But war is not Mr. Jackson's only preoccupation; evidence of this are the straight and cranked locomotive axles, the beautiful planed grooved track crossings (Eastern Railway Company type), and.... and the cast steel rifle barrels.

Opposite this flashy crew is that of the steelworks and forges of Firminy (Loire), from which molten steel, refined steel and natural steel only come out in the form of springs, axle tyres, wheels, assemblies and forging parts. May the time come soon when steel will be used only for such purposes.

Alas! we have hardly taken a step forward, when in the middle of an admirable assortment of scythes and sickles, molten steel for taps, tools and dies, and cast steel parts worked by the Unieux steelworks, stands the inevitable molten steel cannon, and in the most apparent place, a whole collection of sabre blades arranged in the shape of a fan.

Let's move on. Here are the blast furnaces of Maubeuge (Nord). Thirty million kilograms of refining and casting iron, cast and wrought iron, merchant and special irons are produced every year. But what do we see there, right in the middle, on this shelf?... cylindrical-conical balls.

The blast furnaces and forges of Allevard (Isère) were not content to send us their products and, by means of relief models made to a suitable scale and pieces in various stages of completion, they wanted to introduce us to their method of manufacture. This is a happy thought that deserves public recognition. And may it find many imitators at the next exhibition! These models show us : 1° the production of cast iron by wood treatment of the spathic carbonate ores of Allevard; 2° the puddling for steel of spathic cast iron by means of wood gases; 3° the wrought ironing of raw steel done exclusively with a pestle hammer; 4° the setting to the profile and to the round by reheating of the wrought bars (these are the ordinary processes of rolling and bending); 5° the welding of the circles by means of three sets; 6° finally the setting to the diameter by means of circular rolling mills.

The Société des Haut Fourneaux et Forges de Denain et d'Anzin obviously could not send to the Champ de Mars the three-roller equipment by means of which it finishes profiled irons, rails and T-irons; but in the absence of the object itself, it shows us a huge drawing which represents it and whose view leaves nothing to be desired.

In the middle of the room, the Marquise factories have erected in the form of a monument some of those enormous cast-iron columns which, sunk into the bed of a river and filled with concrete, are used in a system now in favour to form the piers of bridges.

This process, proposed in 1845 by an inventive engineer, Mr. Trigier, was applied with great success, as no one is unaware, to the construction of the Kehl bridge on the Rhine, and more recently to the Argenteuil bridge on the Seine.

From this exhibition, we can bring together that of the Société des houillères de Commentry et de Montvicq and the foundries, forges and construction workshops of Fourchambault, Montluçon, Torteron and La Pique, which shows us the whole series of pipes supplied by it to the city of Paris, and deposited concentrically in order of size in a single column, and a section which only concerns the lower part of this column, shows the pipes which make it up, their diameter and their thickness. All have the same height: 4m100 and the same thickness: 25 millimetres; the diameter of the one which contains all the others is 1m,100.

On the latter are inscribed in white letters the names of the cities to which the company has supplied these pipes; the number is great. They go as far as Madrid, Reunion, and Guadeloupe.

This is not the only thing on display at the company's exhibition, the long description of which has been transcribed above. There is a specimen of the columns of the Palace whose wonders we detail; anchors, track changes, wheels and axles of wagons; even an artillery axle for a battery mount. A pair of wagon wheels bears the production number 79740. A double label, placed under a fishplate pad and under an angle pad, tells us that the factory has delivered 2143,000 pairs of the first model, for a track length of 6,500 kilometres, and only 32,400 pairs of the second model; the length of the track laid is still only 100 kilometres.


Coal.

A word about the Commentry and Montvicq coal mines. The concession which they exploit is of 2180 hectares. The average thickness of the layer is, in Commentry, of 14 meters. The extraction followed the following progression: 1840, 14000 tons; 1850, 90000; 1855-56, 240,000; 1860-61, 370,000; 1865-66, 480,000 tons!

Everywhere the progression is the same, if not even faster. Coal consumption in England was 83 million tons in 1862; in 1864 it had risen to 93 million.

Assuming an annual increase of only 2,775,000 tonnes, Sir William Armstrong concludes that in a little over two centuries England will have exhausted all its known coal resources.

Some will be found elsewhere; so be it. The coal deposits of North America alone are eight times larger than those of the whole of Europe; I grant that. But the needs of industry grow with its progress, which is incessant; but industry takes root every day in regions where it was unknown. However large the deposits of coal, anthracite, lignite, etc. may be, the day will come when the last shovelful will be drawn from them. What will be done? I don't know, but I don't care. Not that I am indifferent to the fate of those who will come after us, but I have faith in the indefectibility of the general plan by virtue of which, an unknown number of millions of centuries ago, the supplies which constitute one of our present riches were formed. I believe that the power which, from the coal age, was preparing the progress which human industry was to make towards the end of the eighteenth century of the Christian era, I believe that Providence-to call it by the name which mankind gives it-has foreseen the case before us; That new resources, man helping himself, which is a necessary and sufficient condition for heaven to grant him, will reveal themselves in due course, and that at last mankind, which is only beginning to sort itself out, will not stop for the bourgeois reason that it has exhausted its supply of fuel.


More cannonballs!

The company of the foundries and forges of Terre noire, La Voulte and Besseges, produces annually: coal, 150,000 tons; iron ore, 160,000 tons; pig iron, 94,000 tons; cast iron, 7,500 tons; cast iron in pipes, 12,000 tons; iron, rails, sheets, etc., 50,000 tons; Bessemer steel, 50,000 tons. But what a poor figure the smelter and blacksmith would make at a World's Fair in 1867, who would have only rails, axles and gears to show! Also the company of the foundries and forges of Terre noire, etc., joined to these prosaic products a sufficient assortment of balls and cylindrical-conical bombs.

Montataire has magnificent sheets: a sheet 11 meters long, 1m, 10 wide, weighs 1197 kilograms; another, 8 meters long, 1 ",60 wide, weighs 1375JU1. A good example of their use is a roof of this kind with a span of 18",60 established in the Park itself in the middle of the avenue from the Palace to the Military School. Seamless wagon and locomotive tyres deserve a mention. One of them is 1.755 m in diameter. The same company has put under glass beautiful crystals of iron sulphate (green couperose), entirely free of alum.

The Audincourt forges also have beautiful sheets and, in addition, cylinders for sheet rolling mills, fluted cylinders for round and square irons and...solid ogival balls made of tempered cast iron.


Electroplating.

Electroplating, as we all know, is the art of depositing on a metallic or metallized object, in coherent layers and moulded exactly on it, a metal extracted from the dissolution in which the object is immersed.

Depending on the conditions of the experiment, the precipitated metal either adheres intimately to the body on which it is applied, or is easily detached from it.

In the second case, the operation gives an exact mould of the part immersed in the bath; this is electroplating proper. In the first case, the product of the operation is the part itself coated with a more or less thick envelope of precipitated metal.

To this last category belong the:

Metal coatings on iron, cast iron and steel

Exhibited by the Company which exploits the processes recently invented by Mr. F. Weil. These processes allow the direct application of an adherent copper plating without the use of any of those coatings (minium paints, lead paints, etc.) which alter the details of the original execution.

Mr. F. Weil's processes have been described in the Annals of Chemistry and Physics. Let us limit ourselves to saying that the inventor uses baths formed of salts or metallic oxides held in alkaline, sodium or potassium dissolution, either (which is the most frequent case) by means of certain proportions of
of organic matter (tartaric acid, glycerine, albumin, etc.); or by the excess of the fixed alkali itself.

Metallic coatings are made with the help of these baths with or without the assistance and contact of zinc or metallic lead, sometimes at the ordinary temperature and sometimes at a higher temperature.

Not only are iron, cast iron and steel solidly copper-plated, but also, as visitors will see, the colours and tones of the metal coatings can be varied at will.

The products exhibited in this room by the Christofle et Cie factory belong to electroplating proper.

These are beautiful statues and admirable bas-reliefs, one of which is a large one representing the Assumption of the Virgin. It is well known that the factory in question applies electroplating especially to the reproduction of objets d'art and fine chiselling to the decoration of furniture, large statuary, engraving and the ornamentation of goldsmiths' objects. It is also well known that electroplating is only one of the branches of reproduction at the Christofle factory.

It employs 1500 people. The average wage for male and female workers is 4.50 francs a day, for women 2.50 francs. Seventy-five employees share 195,400 francs in wages. Every male and female worker, having worked ten years in the establishment, receives an endowment of 500 francs in non-transferable and unseizable savings bank notes. This endowment dates from 1851. Several beds were maintained by the factory in the asylums of Vincennes and Vézinet. They were intended for convalescent workers. They are helped during illness by a fund to which the establishment contributes the sum of 1500 francs, and which is fed by a contribution of 50 centimes per fortnight for men, 25 centimes for women, and by fines. This fund gives in case of illness: to married workers 3 francs per day, to unmarried workers 2 francs, to women workers 1.50 franc. It is with pleasure that we conclude this first glance at the products of mining and metallurgy with information of such a good example.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Groupe V-III

Groupe V-III à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Produits de l’exploitation des mines et de la métallurgie.


FONTES MOULÉES SANS RETOUCHES.

Un portique en fonte sortant de l’usine de Tusey (Meuse), que dirige M. Zégut, ancien associé de M. Durenne, à Sommevoire, nous introduit dans la seconde des salles qu’occupe l’industrie métallurgique. Un peu plus loin, la même usine expose toute une collection de fontes d’ornement également remarquables comme œuvres d’art et comme œuvres d’industrie, par la beauté des modèles et par les difficultés magistralement vaincues de leur exécution. Naguère réservée aux plus grossiers usages, la fonte partage aujourd’hui avec le bronze le privilège de revêtir la forme sacrée des déesses ; c’est le bronze du peuple, réservé à un immense avenir.


Aciers Bessemer et autres.

Après le portique de Tusey, nous trouvons à droite les aciéries d'Imphy-Saint-Seurin, dont l’habile directeur, M. Jackson, a introduit et naturalisé en France le procédé de Bessemer pour la fabrication de l’acier.

On sait que cette méthode métallurgique a pour but d’obtenir directement de l’acier fondu en faisant passer un courant d air dans la fonte liquide. La découverte capitale de M. Bessemer est d’avoir reconnu que le courant d’air, loin de refroidir le métal en fusion comme on aurait pu le croire, l’échauffe au contraire en brûlant les corps plus oxydables que le fer qui se trouvent dans la fonte.

Ce nouveau procédé d’affinage n’exige donc aucune consommation de charbon ; les métalloïdes contenus dans la fonte sont les véritables combustibles qui en s’oxydant produisent la température utile à l'opération.

Lorsqu’une fonte contient les éléments de l’acier, et quand en outre les corps nuisibles qui s’y trouvent peuvent être enlevés par le courant d’air sans détruire l’aciération, l’acier Bessemer est obtenu immédiatement, en arrêtant l’affinage au moment où les corps inutiles ont été oxydés.

Mais, dans la plupart des cas, pour produire un acier pur et surtout un acier d une qualité déterminée, on a intérêt à éliminer complètement tous les métalloïdes qui existent dans la fonte, à produire du fer et même du fer azoté ou brûlé; on reconstitue ensuite l’acier en mélangeant le fer azoté avec une fonte aciéreuse. Dans ces circonstances, la fabrication de l’acier par la méthode Bessemer est d’une simplicité merveilleuse : tout se réduit en effet à introduire dans du fer fondu et complètement affiné, des quantités variables de matières aciéreuses, lesquelles se trouvent dans une fonte convenablement choisie.

Tel est le procédé dans son ensemble : la description des appareils ne saurait prendre place ici; quant aux produits, l’exposition de M. Jackson en est presque exclusivement composée.

M. le colonel Treuille de Beaulieu, rendant compte en qualité de membre du jury international des pièces d’artillerie qui figuraient à Londres en 1862, di-ait dans son rapport : « Si M. Bessemer parvient à pouvoir fondre de grandes masses avec régularité et sans soufflure, il est incontestable qu’il aura tranché la question de l’acier comme métal à canon, car c’est l’élévation du prix de revient qui est aujourd’hui la difficulté à vaincre. »

Si l’on en juge par le lingot d’acier de 7295 kilogrammes qu’expose M. Jackson, et par les belles cassures d’acier qu’il nous montre, il parait bien que le problème posé il y a cinq années par le rapporteur du jury français est aujourd’hui résolu. Aussi l’exposition des aciéries d’Imphy-Saint-Seurin a-t-elle un caractère des plus belliqueux. Les canons en acier y occupent les belles places. L’un deux, une pièce de 8, a été éprouvé à Ruelle. A côté sont des boulets cylindriques, projectiles en forme de bûche, destinés à agir comme emporte-pièces sur les murailles des navires; puis, des essieux d’artillerie. Mais la guerre n’est pas la seule préoccupation de M. Jackson; preuve ces essieux droits et ces essieux coudés de locomotive, ces beaux croisements de voie, avec rainures rabotées (type de la Compagnie des chemins de l’Est), et.... et ces canons de fusil en acier fondu.

En face de cet équipage tapageur est celui des aciéries et forges de Firminy (Loire) d’où l’acier fondu, l’acier raffiné et l’acier naturel ne sortent que sous forme de ressorts, de bandages d’essieux, de roues, de pièces montées et de pièces de forge. Puisse venir bientôt le temps où l’acier ne recevra que des emplois de ce genre.

Hélas ! à peine avons-nous fait un pas en avant, qu’au milieu d’un admirable assortiment de faux et de faucilles, d’aciers fondus pour tarauds, pour outils et pour matrices et des pièces d’acier moulé ouvragées par les aciéries d’Unieux, se dresse l’inévitable canon en acier fondu, et dans l’endroit le plus apparent, tout une collection de lames de sabres disposées en forme d’éventail.

Passons. Voici les hauts fourneaux de Maubeuge (Nord). Trente millions de kilogrammes de fonte d’affinage et de moulage, de fontes moulées et ouvrées, de fers marchands et de fers spéciaux en sortent chaque année. Mais que voyons-nous donc là, au beau milieu, sur cette tablette?... des boulets cylindro-coniques.

Les hauts fourneaux et forges d’Allevard (Isère) ne se sont pas contentés d’envoyer leurs produits et, au moyen de modèles en relief exécutés à une échelle convenable et de pièces à différents degrés d’achèvement, ils ont voulu nous initier à leur mode de fabrication. Heureuse pensée qui mérite la reconnaissance du public. Et puisse-t-elle trouver beaucoup d’imitateurs à l’exposition prochaine! Ces modèles nous montrent donc : 10 la production de la fonte par le traitement au bois des minerais carbonatés spathiques d’Allevard; 2° le puddlage pour acier de fontes spathiques au moyen des gaz du bois; 3° le corroyage des aciers bruts fait exclusivement au marteau pilon ; 4° la mise au profil et au rond par réchauffage des barres corroyées (ce sont les procédés ordinaires de laminage et de cintrage); 5° la soudure des cercles au moyen de trois mises; 6° enfin la mise, au diamètre par le moyen de laminoirs circulaires.

La société des hauts fourneaux et forges de Denain et d’Anzin ne pouvait évidemment envoyer au Champ de Mars l'équipage à trois cylindres au moyen desquels elle termine les fers profilés, les rails et les fers en T; mais à défaut de l’objet lui-même, elle nous montre un immense dessin qui le représente et dont la vue ne laisse rien à désirer.

Au milieu de la salle, le» usines de Marquise ont dressé en forme de monument quelques-unes de ces énormes colonnes en fonte qui, enfoncées dans le lit d’un fleuve et remplies de béton, servent dans un système aujourd’hui en faveur à former les piles des ponts.

Ce procédé, proposé en 1845 par un ingénieur inventif, M. Trigier, a été appliqué avec éclat, personne ne l'ignore, à la construction du pont de Kehl sur le Rhin, et plus récemment à celle du pont d’Argenteuil sur la Seine.

De cette exposition, nous pouvons rapprocher celle de la société des houillères de Commentry et de Montvicq et des fonderies, forges et ateliers de construction de Fourchambault, Montluçon, Torteron et la Pique qui nous montre toute la série des tuyaux de conduite fournis par elle à la ville de Paris, et déposés concentriquement par ordre de grosseur en une seule colonne et une coupe qui n’intéresse que la partie inférieure de cette colonne, laisse voir les tuyaux qui la composent, leur diamètre et leur épaisseur. Tous ont la même hauteur: 4m100 et la même épaisseur: 25 millimètres; le diamètre de celui qui renferme tous les autres est de 1m,100.

Sur ce dernier sont inscrits en lettres blanches les noms des villes auxquelles la compagnie a fourni de ces tuyaux; le nombre en est grand. Ils vont jusqu’à Madrid, jusqu’à la Réunion, jusqu’à la Guadeloupe.

A cela ne se borne pas, on le pense bien, l’exposition de la société dont la longue désignation a été transcrite ci-dessus. On y trouve un spécimen des colonnes du Palais dont nous détaillons les merveilles; des ancres, des changements de voie, des roues et des essieux de wagons; voire même un essieu d’artillerie pour affût de batterie. Une paire de roues de wagons porte le numéro de fabrication 79740. Une double étiquette, placée sous un coussinet éclisses et sous un coussinet cornière, nous apprend que l’usine a livré, du premier modèle, 2143 000 paires, pour une longueur de voie de 6500 kilomètres, et du second, 32 400 paires seulement; la longueur de la voie posée n’est encore que de 100 kilomètres.


La houille.

Un mot sur les houillères de Commentry et de Montvicq. La concession qu’elles exploitent est de 2180 hectares. L’épaisseur moyenne de la couche est, à Commentry, de 14 mètres. L’extraction a suivi la progression suivante: 1840,14000 tonnes; 1850, 90000; 1855-56, 240000; 1860-61, 370 000; 1865-66, 480 000 tonnes!

Partout la progression est la même, sinon plus rapide encore. La consommation de la houille était en Angleterre de 83 millions de tonnes en 1862, elle s’y est élevée en 1864 à 93 millions.

En tablant sur une augmentation annuelle de 2 775 000 tonnes seulement, sir William Armstrong arrive à conclure que dans un peu plus de deux siècles, l’Angleterre aura épuisé toutes les ressources en houille qu’on lui connaît.

On en découvrira ailleurs; soit. Les dépôts houillers de la seule Amérique du Nord sont huit fois plus considérables que ceux de l’Europe entière; je l’accorde. Mais les besoins de l’industrie croissent avec ses progrès, qui sont incessants; mais l’industrie prend chaque jour racine dans des contrées où elle était inconnue. Si considérables que puissent être les dépôts de houille, d’anthracite, de lignite, etc., un jour viendra qu’on en aura tiré la dernière pelletée. Que fera-t-on? Je n’en sais rien, mais je ne m’en inquiète pas. Non que le sort de ceux qui viendront après nous me trouve indifférent! mais j’ai foi dans l’indéfectibilité du plan général en vertu duquel ont été formés, il y a un nombre ignoré de millions de siècles, les approvisionnements qui constituent une de nos richesses présentes. Je crois que la puissance qui, dès l’époque houillère, préparait les progrès que l’industrie humaine devait réaliser vers la fin du dix huitième siècle de l’ère chrétienne, je crois que la Providence—pour l’appeler du nom que le genre humain lui donne — a prévu le cas qui nous occupe; que des ressources nouvelles, l’homme s’aidant, condition nécessaire et suffisante pour que le ciel lui aile, se révéleront en temps utile, et qu’enfin l’humanité, qui commence seulement à se débrouiller, n’enrayera pas pour cette raison bourgeoise qu’elle aura épuisé sa provision de combustible.


Encore des boulets!

La compagnie des fonderies et forges de Terre noire, La Voulte et Besseges, produit annuellement : houille, 150 000 tonnes; minerais de fer, 160 000 tonnes; fontes brutes, 94 000 tonnes; fontes moulées, 7500 tonnes; fontes moulées en tuyaux, 12 000 tonnes; fers, rails, tôles, etc., 50 000 tonnes; acier Bessemer, 50 000 tonnes. Mais quelle pauvre figure ferait en 1867 à une exposition universelle, le fondeur et le forgeron, qui n’aurait à montrer que des rails, des essieux et des engrenages ! Aussi la compagnie des fonderies et forges de Terre noire, etc., a-t-elle joint à ces prosaïques produits un assortiment suffisant de boulets et de bombes cylindro-coniques.

Montataire a des tôles magnifiques : une feuille longue de 11 mètres, large de 1m, 10, pèse 1197 kilogrammes; une autre, longue de 8 mètres, large de 1 “,60, pèse 1375JU1.A côté sont de ces tôles ondulées et à nervures qui servent pour couvertures sans avoir besoin de charpentes. On a un bel exemple de leur emploi dans une toiture de ce genre de 18"“,60 de portée établie dans le Parc même au milieu de l’avenue du palais à l’École militaire. Des bandages de wagons et de locomotives sans soudures méritent une mention. Un de ces bandages a 1m,755 de diamètre. La même compagnie a mis sous verre de beaux cristaux de sulfate de fer (couperose verte), entièrement exempte d’alun.

Les forges d’Audincourt ont également de belles tôles et de plus des cylindres de laminoirs à tôle, des cylindres cannelés pour fers ronds et carrés et...des boulets pleins ogivaux en fonte trempée.


Galvanoplastie.

La galvanoplastie, personne ne l’ignore, est l’art de déposer sur un objet métallique ou métallisé, en couches cohérentes et moulées exactement sur lui, un métal extrait de la dissolution dans laquelle cet objet est plongé.

Suivant les conditions de l’expérience, le métal précipité adhère intimement au corps sur lequel on opère, ou s’en laisse aisément détacher.

Dans le second cas, l’opération donne un moule exact de la pièce plongée dans le bain; c’est la galvanoplastie proprement dite. Dans le premier cas, l’opération a pour produit la pièce elle-même revêtue d’une enveloppe plus ou moins épaisse du métal précipité.

A cette dernière catégorie appartiennent les:

Revêtements métalliques sur fer, fonte et acier

Exposés par la Société qui exploite les procédés récemment inventés par M. F. Weil. Ces procédés permettent l’application directe d’un cuivrage adhérent sans l'emploi d’aucun de ces enduits (peintures au minium, de plombagine, etc ) qui altèrent les détails de l’exécution première.

Les procédés de M. F. Weil ont été décrits dans les Annales de chimie et de physique. Bornons-nous à dire que l’inventeur emploi des bains formés de sels ou d’oxydes métalliques tenus en dissolution alcaline, sodique ou potassique, soit (ce qui est le cas le plus fréquent) au moyen de certaines proportions
de matières organiques (acide tartrique, glycérine, albumine, etc.); soit encore par l’excès de l’alcali fixé lui-même.

Les revêtements métalliques s’opèrent à l’aide de ces bains avec ou sans le concours et le contact du zinc ou du plomb métallique, tantôt à la température ordinaire et tantôt à une température plus élevée.

Non-seulement le fer, la fonte et l’acier sont cuivrés avec solidité, mais en outre, ainsi que les visiteurs s’en assureront, on peut varier à volonté les couleurs et les tons des revêtements métalliques.

A la galvanoplastie proprement dite appartiennent les produits exposés dans cette salle par l’usine Christofle et Cie.

Ce sont de belles statues et d’admirables bas-reliefs, dont un de grande dimension représente une assomption de la Vierge. On sait en effet que l’usine qui nous occupe applique spécialement la galvanoplastie à la reproduction des objets d’art et des fines ciselures à la décoration des meubles, à la grande statuaire, à la gravure et à l’ornementation des objets d’orfèvrerie. Personne n’ignore non plus que la galvanoplastie n’est qu’une des branches de la reproduction de l’usine Christofle.

Elle emploie 1500 personnes. La moyenne des salaires des ouvriers et ouvrières est pour les hommes de 4 fr. 50 par jour, pour les femmes de 2 fr. 50. Soixante-quinze employés se partagent 195400 francs d’appointements. Tout ouvrier et ouvrière, ayant dix années de travail dans l’établissement, reçoit une dotation de 500 francs en livrets de la caisse d’épargne, incessibles et insaisissables. Cette dotation date de 1851. Plusieurs lits sont entretenus par l’usine aux asiles de Vincennes et du Vézinet. Ils sont destinés aux ouvriers et aux ouvrières convalescents. Ceux-ci sont secourus pendant la maladie par une caisse à la dotation de laquelle l’établissement contribue pour une somme de 1500 francs, et qui est alimentée par une cotisation de 50 centimes par quinzaine pour les hommes, de 25 centimes pour les femmes, et par les amendes. Celle caisse donne en cas de maladie : aux ouvriers mariés 3 francs par jour, aux ouvriers non mariés 2 francs, aux ouvrières 1 fr. 50. C’est avec plaisir que nous terminons par des renseignements d'un si bon exemple ce premier coup d’œil jeté sur les produits de l’exploitation des mines et de la métallurgie.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée