International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Group V-II

Group V-II at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Chemical and pharmaceutical products.

As we entered this room, a visitor, a worker who had preceded us, said to his wife: "This is the box of tricks, you see; you have to know it, but for a connoisseur there is nothing more beautiful in the Exhibition. "

This visitor was right.

Small cupboards of a uniform style run all around the gallery; a double row of cupboards leaning against each other and in all respects similar to the previous ones occupy the axis in its entire length. Jars, flasks, cups and samples of varying sizes fill them. If one approaches, one reads on the labels names that are difficult to spell, hard to pronounce, and which an unexercised memory retains poorly and even does not connect at all. It is not that there is a lack of objects here which by the brightness of their colours or the purity of their forms make a pleasant impression on the eye. It is nevertheless true that at first sight this does not say much to the layman. Each of these substances is an enigma, and the key that explains it is a whole science. But if the initiated are rare, the believers are numerous, and there is no one who, on crossing the threshold of this gallery, does not know that he is entering the domain of a science which takes an incomparable part in the work of progress and whose benefits are such that among its most vulgar gifts there are some which could not be lacking without almost all industry coming to a halt.

Such is, for example, sulphur, or rather the product of one of its combinations with oxygen, i.e. :


Sulphuric acid.

Without it, there would be no soaps, no crystals, no candles. All we would have left to light us is an impure, smoky, nauseating oil. We would have to look for new ways to bleach cotton fabrics. A large number of colours and mordants used to dye them and make the dye indissoluble, would also be lacking. We would no longer have the alcohol extracted from grains and potatoes, nor the chemical matches, nor the many mineral and organic acids used to prepare medicinal substances. And this is only a part of the services we derive from it. So important is it that the degree of industrial development of a people can be measured by the amount of sulphuric acid they consume.

It is therefore not surprising to see the number of French exhibitors who are dedicated to the manufacture of this precious product.

Among the number, we should mention MM. Kuhlmann et Cie, owners of chemical product factories in Loos, la Magdeleine, Saint-André (Nord), Corbehem (Pas-de-Calais) and Saint Roch lès-Asnières (Somme), which deliver to the trade more than 5 million kilograms of sulphuric acid per year; the Compagnie des salines et des produits chimiques de Dièuze, whose production reaches 8 million kilograms; and the Compagnie de Chauny (Aisne), from which 18 million kilograms are produced each year.

To give an idea of the importance of these large establishments, we will add that the latter Company also produces: 13 million kilograms of hydrochloric acid, 11 million 500,000 kilograms of sodium sulphate, 13 million kilograms of soda ash, 4 million 500,000 kilograms of soda crystals, 3 million 500,000 kilograms of soda ash and 3 million kilograms of chloride of lime!

Finally, one will get an idea of the business movement to which this production gives rise, when one knows that the Compagnie de Chauny consumes annually: 23 million kilograms of earth coal; salt, 10 million; chalk, 9 million; sulphur, 5 million; manganese, 3 million; lime, 1 million 700,000 kilograms; nitrate of soda, 250,000 kilograms


Nitric acid.

All that has just been said about the importance of sulphuric acid should be repeated with regard to nitric acid. I will limit myself to noting a considerable progress in the manufacture of the latter. The enormous quantity of sodium bisulphate produced by this process is now almost completely utilised. This residue, which was an embarrassment, has become a treasure; when it is involved, chemistry goes beyond the kitchen, it leads in the art of using leftovers.


Thallium.

Among the samples of chemically pure metals shown at the Exhibition, samples of incomparable beauty, our attention is drawn to the thallium ingots that M. Lamy, professor at the Lille Faculty of Sciences, places before our eyes.

Thallium is one of the metals whose existence has been revealed by that marvellous and recent method of chemical investigation which has received the name of spectral analysis. The discovery of caesium and rubinium have the same origin.

It is known that a large number of metals introduced into a flame in the form of volatile compounds, cause lines of various colours to appear in the spectrum of this flame, each of which always occupies a specific position. An English chemist, Mr. W. Crookes, studying with a spectroscope a flame into which had been introduced a small portion of the deposits which are formed in sulphuric acid factories, found in it a green line, which did not belong to any known body, and after many trials he became convinced that this line was due to a new body, to which the name of thallium was given.

The study of thallium was the object of the persevering studies of M. Lamy, and it is to him especially that we owe the knowledge of the properties of the new metal.

As can be seen, thallium is similar to lead and silver in its properties. It is very soft, very malleable, can be scratched by the nail and easily cut with a knife. Its density is a little higher than that of lead; it melts at 290 degrees. The discovery of this body somewhat disturbs the classifications of metallic bodies. Thallium, in fact, does not naturally belong to any of these, and the combination of the apparently paradoxical characteristics that it presents has led M. Dumas to give it the picturesque name of "platypus of metals". So far it has no use in the arts; but how many bodies of unparalleled importance today have, like this one, begun by being good for nothing!


The products of coal tar.

Where the powers of chemistry shine forth above all is in the incomparable products it has been able to extract from coal.

The sludge distilled in closed vessels gives gases, ammoniacal salts and a crude oil known as coal tar or coaltar.

This tar is a very complex compound. How from reaction to reaction picric acid and nitro-benzine are obtained from it; this would take us too far. Picric acid is used in dyeing; a skein of silk immersed in a small quantity of this acid takes on a very beautiful yellow colour without any preparation. A small apparatus, exhibited by Mr. J. Casthelaz, enables the purity of this product to be checked in a few minutes. As for nitro-benzine, it is the starting point of these brilliant colours which have so rightly excited general admiration. Nitro-benzine, suitably treated, gives rise to Y aniline, and it is from this that the colouring principles known as mauve, magenta, roseine, azuline, azaleine, fuchsine, Paris blue, etc. are derived. This beautiful industry allows us to note a progress similar to that which we noted in the manufacture of nitric acid; one knows today how to benefit from the considerable residues left by the successive transformations of benzine into nitro-benzine and aniline.

M.Eusèbe, of Paris, has grouped together in his showcase some beautiful samples of silk dyed with aniline green, a green whose discovery is due to a very singular chance. It is said that Mr. Eusèbe's foreman, wishing to fix a certain shade of blue on silk, had the strange idea of immersing the fabric in a bath of hyposulphite of soda; believing that he was fixing blue, it turns out that he had produced green.

Among the products derived from coal essences, let us mention a certain oil with a penetrating odour, discovered by M. Marignac, called formene binitré bicliloré, by M. Berlhelot, and of which we have a bottle before us. This oil irritates the eyes and respiratory tract to an inexpressible degree; the contents of this bottle, spread throughout the Palace, would be enough to make all the visitors who fill its immense galleries burst into tears.

Paraffin, of which we have such beautiful samples, is one of the products of the distillation of coal, of certain coals at least, of boghead among others.
When this boghead is distilled very slowly, an oil called o'éinc is obtained. This oil dissolves a substance which first appeared in the form of candles at the 1855 Exhibition: this is paraffin, which is in reality only solid olefying gas, and the beautiful white light given by the magnificent candles formed from it is the light of the olefying gas itself.

We will stop here, not without regret, this preliminary glance at the chemical industry, an industry which is always progressing and which today produces 1200 million per year, 53 of which are exported. In these showcases there are substances of admirable purity, of immense value; a small cup containing only a few grams of material contains a marvel. We would have liked to stop in front of all these things, but we lack space. Let us therefore confine ourselves for the moment to noting with the jury, among the progress made since the Exhibition of 1862, firstly the improvements made to aniline colours and the appreciable reduction in their price, then the acquisition of new colouring materials derived from toluidine and metylaniline, then the transformation of naphthaline into benzoic acid, and finally the industrial production of magnesium. And let's go to the next room where we will find ourselves in the middle of :


Products of Mining and Metallurgy.

And first of all, as a natural introduction to the history of this class, a showcase containing the collection of rocks, minerals and ores extracted from our soil is displayed. It is on display by the Ministry of Agriculture, Trade and Public Works. Above the cabinet, on the left, is a large map of France, showing the coal basins, the earth ore mines, the deposits of the main metals other than iron, the iron factories and the forest massifs within the supply radius of these factories. To the right and matching this map, another map of France, drawn to the same scale as the previous one, indicates the deposits of fossil lime phosphates, discovered by M. de Molon, the banks of tangue, merls, tress and shell sands, the deposits of felds-paths, potassic deposits, kaolin and the limestone deposits of the coast of the Channel and the Ocean. The part of the above-mentioned showcase which is below this map, contains a superb collection of lime phosphates, classified by department.

Completely neglected some twenty years ago, this amendment has become the object of important exploitations in France and especially in England.

In France, phosphate is used in its natural state and simply pulverised. In England, it is usually only used after being converted by the action of sulphuric acid into double acid phosphate, known as superphosphate. In the factories where this operation is carried out, at Deptford near Greenwich, for example, the mineral phosphate before being treated with acid is first mixed with a certain quantity of bone phosphate, and sometimes with earthy guano. There is still some doubt today as to the best method of preparing mineral lime phosphate, but everyone agrees on the value of this substance as an amendment.

Opposite the geological exhibition of the Ministry is, as it should be, the practical exhibition of our mining companies. Monte-bras brings its tin ores; Alais, its antimony ores; Monistrol (Allier) and Pontgihaud (Puy-de-Dôme), their silver lead ores; Villemagne (Hérault), its copper and lead ores; Servas (Gard), its asphalt; Saint-Nicolas (Meurthe), its salts; Brittany, its kaolins, etc.; and then the coals of Graissessac, Lens, Courrières, Portes. ...; the cokes, agglomerates and coals of the Aniche company; the petroleum extracted from the sands of the Bas-Rhin and the shales of the Ailier. The Société des Pétroles Français de Schwabwiller was the first company in France to extract natural oil.

In the showcase which contains the riches of which only the smallest part has just been enumerated, a narrow compartment occupied by MM. Baudouin frères, exhibits the means and products of the process of M. de Rostaing for the division of molten metals and particularly of cast iron. The cast iron arriving liquid on a disc animated by a speed of 2000 revolutions per minute, is divided into very fine globules of an excessively easy oxidation, which by suitable dosages can be usefully employed to produce steel materials, or to manufacture by the complete oxidation and by the calcination of the red oxides which find their use in painting. This process of division also applies to lead, zinc and finally to copper mattes which are partially desulphurised during granulation.
Pangibaud shows us a magnificent silver ingot worth 135,000 fr. MM. OEschger, Mesdach et Cie exhibit one of a lesser value; it is a cake of gold-bearing silver obtained by coupellation of silver-bearing lead, which weighs 212 k 200 and which is quoted at the price of 51,000 fr.; but their beautiful exhibition is recommended in many other respects. From the foundries and rolling mills of Blache-Saint-Vaast, which they direct, millions of kilograms are produced annually to be delivered to the trade and to the arsenals of the State: sheets of rolled red copper for boiler making, the lining of ships, the manufacture of war and hunting capsules; copper ingots for the melting of art bronzes and machine parts; sheets of zinc for the roofing of buildings; lead in brine, especially suitable for the manufacture of ceruse, minium, etc. One of the specialities of this great house is the manufacture of copper coin blanks for foreign countries, which are then minted in the mints, and we have here a coin bronze 9 metres long from which thousands have been cut.

Not far from there, MM. Cubain et Cie, of Verneuil (Eure) and M. Manche, of l'Aigle, exhibit very fine samples of rolled and drawn metals; in the display of the former, attention is mainly drawn to a sheet of copper 5 m. 40 c. long and 1 m. wide. 40 c. long and 1 m. 20 c. wide, and which weighs 32 kilograms; on a piece of rosette wire, clear, hard, which is 22 millimetres in diameter, 23 metres long and which weighs 75 kilograms, and finally, on a piece of clear, hard brass, which is 16 millimetres in diameter, 84 metres long, and which weighs 132 kilograms. Mr. Mouchel, next to objects of boilermaking made by repoussé, by means of the lathe, placed a fancy piece of brass wire of the size of 3 hundredths of a millimetre, which is finer than the hair. If it were not for the colour, these brass wires would be mistaken for real hair; even so, in the present day of hairpieces, this colour could become fashionable.

To a higher art is devoted the beautiful window of M. Godard, supplier of the war depots. We have here admirable copper, steel and zinc plates intended for engraving; a plate in extra-fine red copper, flattened and polished for intaglio engraving, is 1 metre by 1 metre 35 cents, and weighs 75 kilograms.

M. Dupré, inventor of metal caps for bottles and flasks; M. Massière, who manufactures tin foil; M. Guérin, tin beater; and M. M. M. M., who makes tin foil. Guérin, a gold beater, exhibit their interesting products in this first room, and we gradually move from industry to Fart, into which we are introduced to Vieille-Montagne, which shows us all that can be done with zinc, and the Sommevoire factory (Haute-Marne), which teaches us to what degree of relative perfection iron casting can be raised. These are interesting subjects of study on which we hope to expand in a future issue.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Groupe V-II

Groupe V-II à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Produits chimiques et pharmaceutiques.

Au moment où nous pénétrions dans cette salle, un visiteur, un ouvrier qui nous y avait précédé disait à sa femme : « C’est ici la boîte à malice, vois-tu; il faut s’y connaître, mais pour un connaisseur il n’y a rien déplus beau dans l’Exposition. »

Ce visiteur avait raison.

De petites armoires d’un style uniforme font tout le tour de la galerie ; un double rang d’armoires adossées l’une à l’autre et en tout semblables aux précédentes en occupent l’axe dans toute sa longueur. Des bocaux, des flacons, des coupes, des échantillons plus ou moins volumineux les remplissent. Si on s’approche, on lit sur les étiquettes des noms difficiles à épeler, durs à prononcer, et qu’une mémoire non exercée retient mal et même ne relient pas du tout. Ce n’est pas qu’il manque ici d’objets qui par l’éclat de leurs couleurs ou la pureté de leurs formes, fassent sur l’œil une impression agréable. Il n’en est pas moins vrai qu’à première vue cela ne dit pas grand chose aux profanes. Chacune de ces substances est une énigme et la clef qui l’explique est toute une science. Mais si les initiés sont rares, les croyants sont nombreux, et il n’est personne qui en franchissant le seuil de cette galerie ne sache qu’il entre dans les domaines d'une science qui prend à l’œuvre du progrès une part incomparable et dont les bienfaits sont tels que parmi ses dons les plus vulgaires il en est qui ne pourraient nous manquer sans qu’aussitôt presque toute l’industrie s’arrêtât.

Tel est par exemple le soufre, ou plutôt le produit d’une de ses combinaisons avec l’oxygène, c’est-à-dire :


L’acide sulfurique.

Sans lui, ni savons, ni cristaux, ni bougies. Nous n’aurons plus pour nous éclairer qu’une huile impure, fumeuse, nauséabonde. Il nous faudrait chercher des moyens nouveaux de blanchir les tissus de coton. Un grand nombre de couleurs et de mordants qui servent à les teindre et à en rendre la teinture indissoluble, nous feraient également défaut. Nous n’aurions plus ni cet alcool, extrait des grains et des pommes de terre, ni les allumettes chimiques, ni cette foule d’acides minéraux et d’acides organiques qui servent à préparer les substances médicamenteuses. Et ce n’est là qu’une partie des services que nous en tirons. Telle est son importance que le degré de développement industriel d’un peuple peut se mesurer par la quantité d’acide sulfurique que ce peuple consomme.

Il n’y a donc pas à s’étonner du nombre des exposants français qui se consacrent à la fabrication de ce précieux produit.

Dans le nombre il faut citer MM. Kuhlmann et Cie, propriétaires d’usines de produits chimiques à Loos, la Magdeleine, Saint-André (Nord), à Corbehem (Pas-de-Calais) et à Saint Roch lès-Asnières (Somme), qui livrent au commerce plus de 5 millions de kilogrammes d’acide sulfurique par an; la Compagnie des salines et des produits chimiques de Dièuze, dont la fabrication atteint 8 millions de kilogrammes ; et la Compagnie de Chauny (Aisne),d’où sortent chaque année 18 millions de kilogrammes.

Pour donner une idée de l’importance de ces grands établissements, nous ajouterons que la dernière Compagnie produit en outre : 13 millions de kilogrammes d’acide chlorhydrique, 11 millions 500 000 kilogrammes de sulfate de soude, 13 millions de kilogrammes de soude, 4 millions 500 000 kilogrammes de cristaux de soude, 3 millions 500 000 kilogrammes de soude et 3 millions de kilogrammes de chlorure de chaux !

Enfin on se fera une idée du mouvement d’affaires auquel donne lieu cette production, quand on saura que la Compagnie de Chauny consomme annuellement : charbon de terre 23 millions de kilogrammes ; sel, 10 millions; craie, 9 millions; soufre, 5 millions; manganèse, 3 millions; chaux, 1 million700000 kilogrammes; nitrate de soude, 250 000 kilogrammes.


Acide nitrique.

Tout ce qui vient d’être dit de l’importance de l’acide sulfurique, il faudrait le répéter à propos de l’acide nitrique. Je me borne à noter un progrès considérable dans la fabrication de ce dernier. On utilise aujourd’hui à peu près complètement l’énorme quantité de bisulfate de soude que donne cette fabrication. Ce résidu qui était un embarras est devenu une richesse; quand elle s’en mêle la chimie dépasse la cuisine, elle mène dans l’art d’utiliser les restes.


Le Thallium.

Parmi les échantillons de métaux chimiquement purs que nous montre l’Exposition, échantillons d’une beauté incomparable, l'attention se porte de préférence sur les lingots de thallium que M. Lamy, professeur à la faculté des sciences de Lille, place sous nos yeux.

Le thallium est un des métaux dont l’existence a été révélée par cette merveilleuse et récente méthode d’investigation chimique qui a reçu le nom d’analyse spectrale. La découverte du cæsium et celle du rubinium ont la même origine.

On sait qu’un grand nombre de métaux introduits dans une flamme sous forme de composés volatiles, font apparaître dans le spectre de cette flamme des raies de couleurs variées, dont chacune occupe toujours une position déterminée. Étudiant au spectroscope une flamme dans laquelle avait été introduite une petite portion des dépôts qui se forment dans les fabriques d’acide sulfurique, un chimiste anglais, M. W. Crookes, y constata l’existence d’une raie verte, qui n’appartenait à aucun corps connu, et après de nombreux essais, il acquit la conviction que cette raie était due à un corps nouveau, auquel fut donné le nom de thallium.

L’étude du thallium a été l’objet des études persévérantes de M. Lamy, et c’est à ce dernier surtout que nous devons la connaissance des propriétés du nouveau métal.

Par ces propriétés, le thallium, ainsi qu'on peut le voir, se rapproche du plomb et de l’argent. Il est très-mou, très-malléable, peut être rayé par l’ongle et facilement coupé au couteau. Sa densité est un peu supérieure à celle du plomb; il fond à 290 degrés. La découverte de ce corps dérange quelque peu les classifications des corps métalliques. Le thallium, en effet, ne se place naturellement auprès d'aucun de ceux-ci, et la réunion des caractères en apparence paradoxaux qu’il présente, lui a fait donner par M. Dumas le nom pittoresque à'ornithorynque des métaux. Jusqu’ici il n’a pas d’emploi dans les arts; mais combien de corps d’une importance aujourd’hui sans égale, ont, comme celui-ci, commencé par n’être bons à rien !


Les produits du goudron de houille.

Où éclatent surtout les pouvoirs de la chimie , c’est dans les produits incomparables qu’elle a su tirer de la houille.

La bouille distillée en vases clos, donne des gaz, des sels ammoniacaux, une huile brute connue sous le nom de goudron de houille ou coaltar.

Ce goudron est un composé très-complexe. Comment de réaction en réaction on en tire l’acide picrique et la nitro-benzine; cela nous entraînerait trop loin. L’acide picrique est employé en teinture ; un écheveau de soie plongé dans une petite quantité de cet acide, prend sans préparation aucune une très-belle couleur jaune. Un petit appareil, exposé par M. J. Casthelaz, permet de vérifier en quelques minutes la pureté de ce produit. Quant à la nitro-benzine, elle est le point de départ de ces brillantes couleurs qui ont si justement excité l’admiration générale. La nitro-benzine, convenablement traitée, donne en effet naissance à Y aniline, et c’est de celle-ci que dérivent les principes colorants désignés sous les noms de mauve, magenta, roséine, azuline, azaléine, fuchsine , bleu de Paris, etc. Cette belle industrie nous permet de constater un progrès semblable à celui que nous avons noté dans la fabrication de l’acide nitrique; on sait aujourd'hui tirer parti des résidus considérables laissés par les transformations successives de la benzine en nitro-benzine et en aniline.

M.Eusèbe, de Paris, a groupé dans sa vitrine de beaux échantillons de soie teinte en vert d’aniline, vert dont la découverte est due à un hasard bien singulier. On raconte que le contre-maître de M. Eusèbe, voulant fixer sur soie une certaine nuance bleue, eut l’idée étrange de plonger l’étoffe dans un bain d’hyposulfite de soude; croyant fixer du bleu, il se trouve qu’il avait engendré du vert.

Citons encore parmi les produits dérivés des essences de houille, une certaine huile à odeur pénétrante, découverte par M. Marignac, nommée formène binitré bicliloré, par M.Berlhelot, et dont nous avons un flacon devant nous. Cette huile irrite les yeux et les voies respiratoires à un degré inexprimable; le contenu de ce flacon, répandu dans le Palais, suffirait pour faire fondre en larmes tous les visiteurs qui en remplissent es immenses galeries.

La paraffine, dont nous avons de si beaux échantillons, est un des produits de la distillation des houilles, de certaines houilles du moins, du boghead entre autres.
Lorsqu’on distille ce boghead très-lentement, on obtient une huile dite o'éinc. Cette huile tient en dissolution une substance qui apparut pour la première fois, sous forme de bougies, à l’Exposition de 1855 : c’est la paraffine, laquelle n’est en réalité que du gaz oléfiant solide, et la belle lumière blanche que donnent les magnifiques bougies qui en sont formées, est la lumière même du gaz oléfiant.

Nous arrêterons là, non sans regret, ce coup d’œil préliminaire sur l’industrie chimique, industrie toujours en progrès qui produit aujourd’hui 1200 millions par an, dont 53 sont exportés. Il y a dans ces vitrines des substances d’une pureté admirable, d’une valeur immense ; telle petite coupe qui ne contient que quelques grammes de matière renferme une merveille. Nous aurions voulu nous arrêter devant toutes ces choses, mais l’espace nous manque. Bornons-nous donc pour le moment à constater avec le jury, parmi les progrès réalisés depuis l’Exposition de 1862, d’abord les perfectionnements apportés aux couleurs d’aniline et l’abaissement sensible que leur prix a éprouvé, ensuite l’acquisition de nouvelles matières colorantes dérivées de la toluidine et de la metylaniline, puisja transformation de la naphtaline en acide benzoïque, enfin la production industrielle du magnésium. Et passons dans la salle suivante où nous nous trouverons au milieu des :


Produits de l’exploitation des Mines et de la Métallurgie.

Et d’abord se dresse devant nous comme introduction naturelle à l’histoire de cette classe une vitrine contenant la collection des roches, minéraux et minerais extraits de notre sol. C’est le Ministère de l’agriculture, du commerce et des travaux publics qui l’expose. Au-dessus de l’armoire s’étale à gauche une grande carte de France, indiquant les bassins houillère, les exploitations de minerais de Ter, les gisements des principaux métaux autres que le fer, les usines à fer et les massifs forestiers, placés dans le rayon d’approvisionnement de ces usines. A droite et faisant pendant à celte carte, une autre carte de France, dressée à la même échelle que la précédente, indique les gisements de phosphates de chaux fossile , découverts par M. de Molon, les bancs de tangue, merls, tress et sables coquilliers, les gîtes de felds-paths, dérochés potassiques, de kaolin et les dépôts calcaires du littoral de la Manche et de l’Océan. La partie de la susdite vitrine qui est au-dessous de cette carte, contient une superbe collection de phosphates de chaux, classés par départements.

Complètement négligé, il y a une vingtaine d’années, cet amendement est devenu l’objet d’exploitations importantes en France et surtout en Angleterre.

En France, le phosphate est employé à l’état naturel et simplement pulvérisé. En Angleterre, il ne sertie plus ordinairement qu’après avoir été converti par l’action de l’acide sulfurique en phosphate acide double dit superphosphate. Dans les fabriques où se fait cette opération, à Deptford près Greenwich, par exemple, le phosphate minéral avant d’être traité par l’acide est préalablement mélangé dune certaine quantité de phosphate des os, et quelquefois de guano terreux. Il y a doute encore aujourd'hui sur le meilleur mode de préparation à faire subir au phosphate de chaux minéral, mais sur la valeur de cette substance comme amendement, tout le monde s’accorde.

En face de l’exposition géologique du ministère est, comme il convient, l’exposition pratique de nos compagnies minières. Monte-bras apporte ses minerais d’étain ; Alais, ses minerais d'antimoine; Monistrol (Allier) et Pontgihaud (Puy-de-Dôme), leurs minerais de plomb argentifère ; Villemagne (Hérault), ses minerais de cuivre et de plomb; Servas (Gard), son asphalte ; Saint-Nicolas (Meurthe), ses sels; la Bretagne, ses kaolins, etc— Puis les charbons de Graissessac, de Lens, de Courrières, de Portes... ; les cokes, les agglomérés et les houilles de la compagnie d’Aniche; les pétroles extraits des sables du Bas-Rhin et des schistes de l’Ailier. La société des pétroles français de Schwabwiller est la première qui, chez nous, se soit livrée à l’extraction des pétroles naturels.

Dans la vitrine qui contient les richesses dont la plus petite partie seulement vient d’être énumérée, un étroit compartiment occupe par MM. Baudouin frères, expose les moyens et les produits du procédé de M. de Rostaing pour la division des métaux en fusion et particulièrement de la fonte de fer. La fonte arrivant liquide sur un disque animé d’une vitesse de 2000 tours par minute, se divise en globules très-fins d’une oxydation excessivement facile, qui par des dosages convenables peuvent être employés utilement à produire des matières aciéreuses, ou à fabriquer par l’oxydation complète et par la calcination des oxydes rouges qui trouvent leur emploi dans la peinture. Ce procédé de division s’applique également au plomb, au zinc et enfin aux mattes cuivreuses qui se trouvent partiellement désulfurées pendant la granulation.
Pangibaud nous montre un magnifique lingot d’argent d’une valeur de 135 000 fr. MM. OEschger, Mesdach et Cie en exposent un d’une valeur moindre; c’est un gâteau d’argent aurifère obtenu par coupellation de plombs argentifères, qui pèse 212 k. 200 et et qui est coté au prix de 51000 fr.; mais leur belle exposition se recommande à bien d’autres titres. Des fonderies et laminoirs de Blache-Saint-Vaast, qu’ils dirigent, sortent annuellement par millions de kilogrammes pour être livrés au commerce et aux arsenaux de l’État: feuilles de cuivre rouge laminé pour la chaudronnerie, le doublage des navires, la fabrication des capsules de guerre et de chasse; lingots de cuivre pour la fonte des bronzes d’art et des pièces de machines; feuilles de zinc pour la couverture des bâtiments; plomb en saumons spécialement propre à la fabrication de la céruse, du minium, etc. Une des spécialités de cette grande maison c’est la fabrication des flans des monnaies de cuivre pour les pays étrangers, flans qui sont ensuite frappés dans les hôtels des monnaies, et nous avons ici une pièce de bronze monétaire de 9 mètres de long dans laquelle on en a découpé des milliers.

Non loin de là, MM. Cubain et Cie, de Verneuil (Eure) et M. Manche!, de l’Aigle, exposent de très-beaux échantillons de métaux laminés et tréfilés; dans l’étalage des premiers l’attention se porte principalement sur une feuille de cuivre de 5 m. 40 c. de long sur 1 m. 20 c. de large, et qui pèse 32 kilogrammes; sur une pièce de fil rosette, clair, dur, qui a 22 millimètres de diamètre, 23 mètres de long et qui pèse 75 kilos, et enfin, sur une pièce de laiton clair, dur, qui a 16 millimètres de diamètre, 84 m. de long, et qui pèse 132 kilogrammes. M. Mouchel, à côté d’objets de chaudronnerie fabriqués par le repoussé, au moyen du tour, a placé une pièce de fantaisie en fil de laiton de la grosseur de 3 centièmes de millimètre, ce qui est plus fin que les cheveux. N’était la couleur, on prendrait ces fils de laiton pour de vrais cheveux; encore, par le temps de postiches qui court, cette couleur pourrait-elle devenir à la mode.

A un art plus relevé est consacrée la belle vitrine de M. Godard, fournisseur des dépôts de la guerre. Nous avons ici d’admirables planches en cuivre, en acier, en zinc destinées à la gravure ; une planche en cuivre rouge extra-fin, planée et polie pour la gravure en taille-douce, a 1 mètre sur 1 mètre 35 cent, et pèse 75 kilogrammes.

M. Dupré, inventeur des capsules métalliques pour bouchage des bouteilles et des flacons; M. Massière, qui fabrique l’étain en feuilles; M. Guérin, batteur d’or, exposent dans cette première salle leurs intéressants produits et, insensiblement, nous passons de l’industrie à Fart, au sein duquel nous introduisent la Vieille-Montagne, qui nous montre tout ce qu’on peut faire du zinc, et l’usine de Sommevoire (Haute-Marne), qui nous apprend à quel degré de perfection relative peut s’élever la fonte de fer. Ce sont d’intéressants sujets d’étude sur lesquels nous espérons pouvoir nous étendre davantage dans un prochain numéro.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée