International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Japanese Warrior

Japanese Warrior at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Why did you place this immobile and terrible-looking sentry in the gallery of machines?

Is it spring-loaded? Does it move? Will it draw from its arsenal of winged arrows and aim its bow at the indiscreet visitor?

I find it hard to believe that the warrior in the flesh, whose physiognomy this mannequin, which is very well done by the way, represents, can himself move at ease under his heavy armour and his innumerable embroideries. Obviously, it is not with these soldiers that the Taïcoum would rout our Zouaves and our chasseurs of Vincennes.

Nevertheless, this specimen of the Japanese army is as curious to study as its presence is unexpected in these peaceful parts of the Universal Exhibition.

We have been shown here a soldier of the higher ranks. The rider and his foot soldier sidekick belong to the aristocracy of the army if I am to believe the cuirass, the chain mail, the helmet decorated with the crescent surmounted by a small symbolic animal which seems to want to rush before its master on the enemy.

This ornament reminds me involuntarily of the famous cat of the Zouave who never abandoned him in the middle of the fighting and meowed in concert with the terrible rifle of his master.

Japanese soldiers have no uniforms; the officers dress according to their fortune and taste.

Every Japanese wears a three-foot sword on his belt, slightly curved and with a very wide back. This is understandable among a people who are accustomed to open their bellies for a yes or a no.

The distinctive sign of the noble classes and the military is to have two swords which they arrange on the same side of the belt. The Japanese, who seem to me to be somewhat like the Gascons of Asia, claim that with a blade of choice one could split a man in two from head to foot.

The warriors we see, one armed with a bow and the other with a long, broad-bladed pike, have their faces covered with a black mask, grimacing in a terrible manner.

The place of the mouth has a gaping hole armed with a black moustache, very nicely bristling. Doesn't the hair stand up in fear as well as in anger! It seems that the ancients were accustomed to inspire fear in their enemies rather by the horror of the warlike apparatus than by the use of their own courage.

The Roman infantry," says Machiavelli, "were adorned with plumes which gave them both a more imposing and more terrible appearance. "
The hole representing the mouth of the Japanese is contracted as if to utter a war cry.

The organisation of the Japanese army is more or less the same as that of all known armies: five soldiers have one man in command, which makes the famous distinction of four men and a corporal in Japan inaccurate.

This commander is called the rice commissioner, because it is he who fetches the rations from the public shops. As for the pay, it is almost always paid in kind.

The profession of arms has always been honoured in all nations. The Japanese hold it in special esteem. When a common man speaks to a soldier, he calls him sama (lord or gentleman), and shows him great respect.

These courtesies and the gold embroidery of the costumes often contributed to mislead travellers into the most singular misunderstandings, and they willingly recommended themselves to the soldiers in charge of their guard as to imperial dignitaries, - which must have flattered them infinitely.

Such is the influence of costume, an influence as true in Japan as in France, and which inspired these lovely verses of Sedaine:
O my suit, how I thank you:
How much I was worth yesterday, thanks to your value!

But the Japanese are not obliged to know Sedaine.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Guerrier Japonais

Guerrier Japonais à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Pourquoi avoir posé cette sentinelle immobile et si terrible d’aspect dans la galerie des machines?

Serait-elle à ressort? Se meut-elle? Va-t-elle puiser dans son arsenal de flèches ailées et diriger à l’improviste son arc contre le visiteur indiscret?

J’ai peine à croire que le guerrier en chair et en os, dont ce mannequin, fort bien réussi d’ailleurs, représente la physionomie, puisse lui-même se mouvoir bien à l’aise sous sa lourde armure et sous ses innombrables broderies. Évidemment, ce n’est pas avec ces soldats-là que le Taïcoum mettrait en déroute nos zouaves et nos chasseurs do Vincennes.

N’importe , ce spécimnen de l’armée japonaise est aussi curieux à étudier que sa présence est inattendue dans ces parages pacifiques de l’Exposition universelle.

On nous a exhibé ici un militaire des grades supérieurs. Le cavalier et son acolyte fantassin appartiennent à l’aristocratie de l’armée si j’en crois la cuirasse, la cotte de mailles, le casque orné du croissant surmonté d’un petit animal symbolique qui •semble vouloir se précipiter avant son maître sur l’ennemi.

Cet ornement me rappelle involontairement le célèbre chat du zouave qui ne l’abandonnait jamais au milieu des combats et miaulait de concert avec la terrible carabine de son maître.

Les soldats japonais n’ont pas d’uniformes; les officiers se mettent suivant leur fortune et leur goût.

Tout Japonais porte à sa ceinture un sabre d’environ trois pieds, un peu courbé et à dos très-large. Cela est compréhensible chez un peuple qui a coutume de s’ouvrir le ventre pour un oui ou pour un non.

Le signe distinctif des classes nobles et des militaires est d'avoir deux sabres qu'ils arrangent du même côté de la ceinture. La trempe en est excellente ; vieux, ils sont, dit-on, préférables aux meilleurs damas; les Japonais qui m’ont l’air d’être quelque peu les Gascons de l’Asie, prétendent qu’avec une lame de choix on fendrait un homme en deux de la tête aux pieds.

Les guerriers qu’on offre à nos yeux, l’un armé de l’arc, et l’autre d’une longue pique à large lame, ont la figure couverte d’un masque noir grimaçant d’une façon terrible.

La place de la bouche présente un trou béant armé d’une moustache noire, très-belliqueusement hérissée. Les cheveux ne se hérissent-ils pas aussi bien de peur que de colère! Il paraît que les anciens avaient coutume d’inspirer la crainte à leurs ennemis plutôt par l’horreur de l’appareil guerrier que par l’usage de leur propre courage.

« L’infanterie romaine, dit Machiavel, était ornée de panaches qui lui donnaient à la fois un aspect plus imposant et plus terrible. »
Le trou qui représente la bouche du Japonais est contracté comme pour lancer un cri de guerre.

L’organisation de l’armée japonaise répond à peu près à celle de toutes les armées connues : cinq soldats ont un homme qui les commande, ce qui rend inexacte au Japon la fameuse distinction de : quatre hommes et un caporal.

Ce commandant se nomme le commissaire au riz, parce que c’est lui qui va chercher les rations dans les magasins publics. Quant à la solde, elle est presque toujours payée en nature.

La profession des armes a toujours été honorée chez toutes les nations. Les Japonais l’entourent d’une estime particulière. Lorsqu’un homme du peuple adresse la parole à un soldat, il l’appelle sama (seigneur ou monsieur), et lui témoigne une déférence fort respectueuse.

Ces égards et les broderies en or des costumes ont souvent contribué à induire les voyageurs dans les plus singulières méprises, et ils se recommandaient volontiers aux soldats préposés à leur garde comme à des dignitaires impériaux, — ce qui devait les flatter infiniment.

Telle est l’influence du costume, influence aussi vraie au Japon qu’en France et qui a inspiré ces jolis vers de Sedaine :
O mon habit, que je vous remercie :
Combien je valus hier, grâce à votre valeur !

Mais les Japonais ne sont pas tenus de connaître Sedaine.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée