International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Mulready's tomb

Mulready's tomb at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

The memory of the illustrious dead cannot be honoured enough. Their fame is, for the country which saw them born, a whole heritage of glory, which is added to that moral heritage which one generation must bequeath to the next only after having enriched and increased it.

This is why the cult of the dead has created among all peoples a variety of architecture and art that deserves to be studied, or rather there is no resource of art or talent, in their various manifestations, that has not been called upon to adorn the tombs of great men.

The cemeteries of our cities are thus strewn with monuments which are often very remarkable, and I do not mention those which have been erected in profusion in churches, in cloisters and in monasteries.

The originality of each people is marked and imprinted in these monuments. Thus the tombs of Westminster, especially the most recent ones, which have been built since the Reformation, bear no resemblance to the tombs of Catholic Spain, those which can be admired in the cathedrals of Burgos and Toledo, and especially in the Cartuja de Miraflores. Other beliefs, other ideas, other customs have invented and imposed another style.

The tomb of William Mulready, of which a reproduction in terracotta has been exhibited, is distinguished by its extreme simplicity and the greatest sobriety of accessory ornaments. This is very Protestant.

Mulready, draped in his coat, is lying on a cot covered with a mat. This mat is raised and folded into a cushion under the head of the dead man, who smiles and seems to be still alive, perhaps a little too much so, and lies between two laurel wreaths.

This face, framed in sideburns cut at the bottom of the cheeks, has all the signs of English types, as we know them, that is to say, a certain bonhomie which does not exclude, however, a certain stiffness and that native finesse of the well-born islander and gentleman.

The artist's hand holds a brush, the weapon he has used in this world and which has won him his reputation and his fortune.

Six columns rise above the statue and support the entablature of the small building. Branches of laurel, bundles of brushes, pencils and feathers, a palette, etc., are sculpted at the bottom of each of these small columns. But the bas-reliefs are not more significant, but more personal, and they do not allow one to hesitate in looking for the name of the dead. They are Mulready's most famous paintings, marked and drawn with a line, and arranged side by side around the monument.

In short, this unpretentious tomb is touching, and in this absence of any kind of luxury, there is a superior eloquence that will be felt by hearts worthy of understanding.

And now a word about Mulready.
He was of an Irish family and was born in 1786. He was admitted, at about the age of fourteen, to the Royal Academy; then he knew Banks, whose advice and friendship directed his first steps in his chosen path. For a long time, however, he produced only mediocre and little noticed works. He was looking for his way. He finally found it, and, taking his models from the Dutch painters, he excelled, like them, in painting episodes of common life. The Carpenter's Shop, The Rolling Inn, The Wolf and the Lamb (a real gem!), The Choice of a Wedding Dress, etc., attracted attention to him, and the attention never left him. Mulready's compositions at the French Exhibition of 1855 were received by the public with special attention. He was popular among us from the first days, and surely nothing is more legitimate than the fame he enjoys in England.
William Mulready died in July 1863.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tombeau de Mulready

Tombeau de Mulready à l'exposition de Paris 1867

On ne saurait trop honorer la mémoire des morts illustres. Leur renommée est, pour le pays qui les a vus naître, tout un héritage de gloire, qui s’ajoute à ce patrimoine moral qu’une génération ne doit léguer à l’autre qu’après l’avoir enrichi encore et accru.

C’est pourquoi le culte des morts a créé chez tous les peuples une variété d’architecture et d’art qui mérite d’être étudiée, ou plutôt il n’est aucune ressource de l’art ou du talent, dans leurs diverses manifestations, qui n’ait été appelée à orner les sépultures des grands hommes.

Les cimetières de nos villes sont ainsi semés de monuments souvent très-remarquables, et je ne mentionne pas ceux qu’on a élevés à profusion dans les églises, dans les cloîtres et dans les monastères.

L’originalité de chaque peuple se marque et s’empreint dans ces monuments. Ainsi les tombeaux de Westminster, les plus récents surtout et qui ont été bâtis depuis la Réforme, ne rappellent en rien les tombeaux de l’Espagne catholique, ceux qu’on admire dans les cathédrales de Burgos et de Tolède et particulièrement à la Cartuja de Miraflores. D’autres croyances, d’autres idées, d’autres mœurs y ont inventé et imposé un autre style.

Le tombeau de William Mulready, dont on a exposé une reproduction en terre cuite, se distingue par une simplicité extrême et la plus grande sobriété d’ornements accessoires. Cela est on ne peut plus protestant.

Mulready, drapé dans son manteau, est couché sur un lit de camp recouvert d’une natte. Cette natte est relevée et ployée en coussin sous la tête du mort qui sourit et semble vivre encore, un peu trop peut-être, et repose entre deux couronnes de laurier.

Ce visage, encadré dans des favoris coupés au bas des joues, a tous les signes des types anglais, tels que nous les connaissons, c’est-à-dire une certaine bonhomie qui n’exclut pas pourtant quelque raideur et cette finesse native de l’insulaire bien né et gentleman.

La main de l’artiste tient un pinceau, Y arme dont il s’est servi en ce monde et qui a conquis sa réputation et sa fortune.

Six colonnettes s’élèvent au-dessus de la statue et soutiennent l’entablement du petit édifice. Des branches de laurier, des faisceaux de brosses, de crayons et de plumes, une palette, etc., sont sculptés au bas de chacune de ces petites colonnes. Mais les bas-reliefs sont, non point plus significatifs, mais plus personnels, et ils ne permettent point d’hésiter en cherchant le nom du mort. Ce sont les plus célèbres tableaux de Mulready, indiqués et dessinés au trait, et rangés côte à côte autour du monument.

Bref, ce tombeau sans prétention est touchant, et dans cette absence de toute espèce de luxe, il y a comme une éloquence supérieure et que sentiront les cœurs dignes delà comprendre.

Et maintenant, un mot sur Mulready.
Il était d’une famille irlandaise et naquit en 1786. Il fut admis, vers l’âge de quatorze ans, à l’Académie royale; puis il connut Banks, dont les conseils et l’amitié dirigèrent ses premiers pas dans la voie qu’il avait choisie. Toutefois il ne produisit pendant longtemps que des œuvres médiocres et peu remarquées. Il cherchait sa voie. Il la trouva enfin, et, prenant des modèles chez les peintres hollandais, il excella, comme eux, à peindre des épisodes de la vie commune. La Boutique d'un charpentier, Y Auberge de la roule, le Loup et l'agneau (une vraie perle!), le Choix d’une robe de noce, etc., attirèrent sur lui l’attention, et l’attention ne le quitta plus. Les compositions de Mulready, à l’Exposition française de 1855, furent accueillies du public avec une attention tout à fait particulière. Il fut populaire parmi nous dès les premiers jours, et rien assurément n’est plus légitime que la renommée dont il jouit en Angleterre.
William Mulready est mort au mois de juillet 1863.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée