International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Wrought metal trophies

Wrought metal trophies at the Exhibition Paris 1867

They have the charm of strength combined with grace. On the right, iron, on the left red copper and brass.

On the latter side are two monuments erected by the houses of Laveissière and Letrange.

The latter built the building closest to the staircase. It is a temple with four columns, a dome and a base.

The columns are welded copper pipes connected in a bundle. The pediment is a large piece of copper boilerwork. In the middle of the base, copper nails, placed in a field, draw an eagle with spread wings, and up to the lightning which it holds in its claws. Here and there, as ornaments, are nails of different substances distributed on this base: slate nails, lining nails, boarding nails, rivet nails, melted nails and mechanically made nails. Between the columns lies a red copper vat, which is 2.750 metres in diameter, 1.250 metres deep, 7 millimetres thick and weighs 670 kilograms. Ribbons of steel, copper and zinc adorn the pediment with their festoons. Finally, in front of the building lies a roll of rolled lead, made up of a sheet 2.90 m wide, 20.20 m long and weighing 3,125 kilograms.

The building of Messrs Laveissière is a sort of pyramid with a square base formed by the superposition of parallelepipeds of increasingly smaller width, which, surmounted by the pavilions of all the countries which use the products of this house, almost touch the vault of this gallery.

These parallelepipeds are, like Mr. Letrange's columns, made up of an assembly of copper pipes, but here the pipes are seamless; they have been stretched.

Around this main building, various samples, artfully grouped, allow us to appreciate the qualities of this type of pipe. One of them, which weighs 120 kilograms, is 4™,55 long, 307 millimetres wide and 2 millimetres thick. We see some that have been, this one flattened, this one bent, this other split, all cold and by the hydraulic press; the effort required to deform or break them is considerable. To split one, a pressure of 250,000 kilograms was required; 50,000 kilograms more were needed to bend the other. There are some of considerable diameter and thickness that have been knotted like a rope, without causing any cracks. There are also lead pipes with five inner pipes and magnificent reinforced tube plates for locomotives.

Behind this double exhibition is that of MM. Estivant frères, mainly composed of hammered tubes without soldering, and which, in all respects, compares favourably with those which have just occupied us.

To the right of the staircase, and forming a counterpart to the temple and pyramid of Messrs Estivant and Laveissière, is a sort of triumphal arch, built by the forges of Ars-sur-Moselle, and made entirely of special irons. Behind this door, along the wall of the gallery, stands the exhibition of the Compagnie des forges de la Franche-Comté, which is quite an altar; in the middle stands a sheet metal plate 6.55 metres high, 2 metres wide and weighing 1200 kilograms. On each side, special irons are placed upright. In front of these, bundles of steel wire and coils of windchest springs simulate chandeliers. Porcelain telegraph wire holders, broken cast iron samples to show their shiny grain; pretty twisted and tinned irons, intended to provide pendulums for clocks; galvanised wires, a huge assortment of nails of all kinds decorate the construction, flanked by large blocks of ore and over which run garlands of wire and iron chains.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Trophées de métaux ouvrés

Trophées de métaux ouvrés à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Ils ont le charme de la force unie à la grâce. A droite, le fer, à gauche le cuivre rouge et le laiton.

De ce dernier côté sont deux monuments élevés par les maisons Laveissière et Letrange.

Cette dernière a construit l’édifice le plus rapproché de l’escalier. C'est un temple à quatre colonnes avec dôme et soubassement.

Les colonnes sont des tuyaux de cuivre soudés reliés en faisceau. Le fronton est une grande pièce de chaudronnerie en cuivre. Au milieu de la base, des clous en cuivre, placés de champ, dessinent un aigle aux ailes déployées, et jusqu’à la foudre qu’il tient dans ses serres. Çà et là sont distribués sur ce socle, en manière d’ornements, des clous en différentes substances: clous à ardoises, clous à doublages, clous abordages, clous à river, clous fondus, clous faits à la mécanique. Entre les colonnes repose une cuve en cuivre rouge, qui a 2m,750 de diamètre 1m,250 de profondeur, 7 millimètres d’épaisseur et qui pèse 670 kilogrammes. Des rubans d’acier, de cuivre et de zinc ornent le fronton de leurs festons. Enfin, devant l’édifice est couché un rouleau de plomb laminé, formé d’une feuille large de 2m,90, longue de 20,m20 et qui pèse 3 125 kilogrammes.

L’édifice de MM. Laveissière est une sorte de pyramide à base carrée formée par la superposition de parallélépipèdes de moins en moins larges et qui, surmontée des pavillons de tous les pays qui emploient les produits de celte maison, va presque toucher à la voûte de cette galerie.

Ces parallélépipèdes sont, comme les colonnes de M. Letrange, formés d’un assemblage de tuyaux en cuivre, mais ici les tuyaux sont sans soudure ; ils ont été étirés.

Autour de cet édifice principal, divers échantillons, groupés avec art, permettent d’apprécier les qualités propres à ce genre de tuyaux. L’un d’eux, qui pèse 120 kilogrammes, est long de 4™,55, large de 307 millimètres et épais de 2 millimètres. On en voit qui ont été, celui-ci aplati, celui-là ployé, cet autre fendu, tous à froid et par la presse hydraulique ; l’effort nécessaire pour les déformer ou pour les rompre est considérable. Pour fendre l’un, il a fallu une pression de 250 000 kilogrammes; 50 000 kilogrammes de plus ont été nécessaires pour ployer l’autre. Il y en a d’un diamètre et d’une épaisseur considérables qu’on a noués comme on noue une corde, sans y déterminer de gerçures. Notons encore des tuyaux en plomb à cinq conduites intérieures, et de magnifiques plaques tubulaires renforcées pour locomotives.

Derrière cette double exposition est celle de de MM. Estivant frères, principalement composée de tubes martelés sans soudure, et qui, à tous égards, soutient la comparaison avec celles qui viennent de nous occuper.

A droite de l’escalier, et faisant pendant au temple et à la pyramide de MM. Estivant et Laveissière, est une sorte d’arc de triomphe, édifié par les forges d’Ars-sur-Moselle. et entièrement formé de fers spéciaux. Derrière cette porte, s’appuie, le long du mur de la galerie, l’exposition de la Compagnie des forges de la Franche-Comté qui figure assez bien un autel; au milieu se dresse une plaque de tôle haute de 6m,55, large de 2 mètres et pesant 1200 kilogrammes. De chaque côté, des fers spéciaux sont placés debout. Devant ceux-ci, des paquets de fils d’acier et des spirales de ressorts à sommiers simulent des lustres. Des supports en porcelaine pour fils télégraphiques, des échantillons de fonte brisés, pour en montrer le grain brillant ; de jolis fers tordus et étamés, destinés à fournir des balanciers de pendules; des fils galvanisés, un immense assortiment de clous de toutes sortes agrémentent la construction, flanquée de gros blocs de minerais et sur laquelle courent des guirlandes de fils métalliques et de chaînes en fer.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée