International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Statue of Charlemagne

Statue of Charlemagne at the Exhibition Paris 1867

If you enter the Palais de l'Exposition Universelle through the Porte La Bourdonnaye or the Porte Rapp, two equestrian statues, truly monumental and grandiose, immediately catch your eye.
On the left is Don Pedro I, Emperor of Brazil; on the right is the Emperor and King Charlemagne.

These two beautiful statues are the work of M. Louis Rochet.

We will speak here only of Charlemagne, who is represented with the diadem on his forehead, the sceptre in his hand and in all the splendour of the imperial costume. This is how he must have appeared to the ambassadors of the Eastern emperor Nicephorus, when, dazzled by so much splendour and seized with fear, they prostrated themselves before him.

With hair like a Merovingian, with a long and venerable beard and serene and deep eyes, Charlemagne mixes to his male and warlike expression I don't know; what pensive majesty, which still ennobles it and enhances it. One guesses the man who, having founded a great Empire, is preoccupied, however confidently in the present, with the events of the future.

The steed, magnificently embarnished, stands up and advances with a proud gait. It is an illustrious beast worthy of the rider. At the two sides of the monarch and with their hands resting on one of the straps of the bridle, two warriors, two paladins, Roland, it is said, and Ogier the Dane, accompany the powerful monarch on foot.

One carries the double Frankish axe and the long sword; the other is armed with the Gallic pike and dagger. In their different and very well marked types, the attentive observer believes to recognize the double race from which the French people came: this one comes from the north, it is the German; that one, of a less martial aspect and finer, comes from the south, it is the Gaul. Already, as early as Charlemagne, they came together and melted in the mysterious melting pot from which our precious and indestructible national unity sprang.

I leave the reader with this comment.

The effect of this colossal group is most impressive. Something so large and so complete was needed, and the sculptor felt it marvellously, to meet the idea we have of this sovereign glory of Charlemagne, of Him who, after defeating or destroying the Saxons and the Lombards, the Saracens of Spain and the Avars, had established his vast dominion from the Baltic to the Ebro and from the Atlantic Ocean to the Krapak Mountains.

Since the Roman world, the sun has not shone on anything greater.

That is why Charlemagne lacks nothing, he is the epic hero par excellence. He embraces reality and illusion, history and legend. All geniuses and all languages have acclaimed him. He lives on in the poems of Germany and England, Italy and Spain. He has been celebrated in Flemish and Basque. He has thus collected the first flower of all our modern poems, and in our French history he appears from afar as an Orient, as the luminous portal from which the whole monarchy will emerge, that long succession through the ages of various masters and kings. He remains the true patriarch of the power of royalty.

His work and his genius astonish; but, beautiful and rare adventure! the glory of Charlemagne has nothing threatening or fierce. It seems that it was imposed as a right and a duty and that the immense conquest was a benefit for all. It was the shining sword of civilisation, which only subdues the masses in order to enlighten them and only groups them into armies in order to leave them united as peoples.

Charlemagne was therefore a true king, in the highest meaning of the word. The conqueror in him doubled as a legislator, and, in a half-barbaric century, he encouraged the arts and protected the sciences. He willingly surrounded himself with scholars and great minds, and did not think that he would fall into the trap of applying himself to the works of intelligence and taste.

He was a good man, as great men almost always are, and if he was sober and very tidy in the management of his household affairs and in his personal expenses, he knew, when necessary, how to display all the brilliance necessary for a sovereign and not to haggle over his support for serious and modest merit.
But, as it is difficult to touch Charlemagne without touching at the same time the romances of chivalry or the naïve traditions which his reign sowed in a way in the minds and which he made flourish there, let me remind you of the graceful story of Emma, the natural daughter of the great emperor, and of Eginhard his secretary.

Emma was very beautiful, and Eginhard also fell in love with her. After months of cruel silence for the two lovers, the girl agreed to hear the young man's confession and admitted him one evening to the turret she lived in, at one of the corners of the castle.

Eginhard's passion was ardent. But while he was expressing it effusively, the snow was falling outside.

At last he wanted to withdraw. How could he do so? He had to cross a large courtyard, and the tracks of his feet, marked in the snow, would not fail to reveal the sweet secret to Charlemagne's discerning eyes. Emma offered to carry her lover on her shoulders, and fear made Éginhard consent.

The emperor, who, by a peculiar effect of Providence," says the chronicle, "had spent the whole night without sleep, rose early in the morning and, looking out of the window, saw his daughter weighed down by her dear burden. He was touched with admiration and, at the same time, moved with grief; but he took the decision not to show it. "

He was somewhat worried about the consequences of his intrigue and later wanted to withdraw. The king then summoned him before his Council and told the story himself. Some of the councillors were in favour of an exemplary punishment, others for a milder one. In short, the king's wisdom was deferred to.

I give you for a wife," said the good King Charlemagne to Eginhard, "that kindly carrier who loaded you so benignly on her back. "

And taking the blushing young woman by the hand, he himself handed her over to his happy secretary.

Emma was richly endowed - she was both a tender and a strong woman, the bad jokers will say. As for me, I find this story or tale, as one may call it, which Jacob Cats, the great Dutch pensioner, once adorned with beautiful Flemish verses, as touching as it is ingenious, and that it will never harm that immortal reputation of justice and goodness which accompanies, down the centuries, the glorious memory of Charlemagne.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Statue de Charlemagne

Statue de Charlemagne à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Si vous entrez au Palais de l'Exposition universelle par la porte La Bourdonnaye ou la porte Rapp, deux statues équestres, vraiment monumentales et grandioses, appellent aussitôt vos regards.
A gauche, c’est don Pedro Ier, empereur du Brésil ; à droite, c'est l’empereur et roi Charlemagne.

Ces deux belles statues sont l’œuvre de M. Louis Rochet.

Nous ne parlerons ici que Charlemagne, qui est représenté le diadème au front, le sceptre à la main et dans tout l’éclat du costume impérial. Tel il dut se montrer aux ambassadeurs de empereur d’Orient Nicéphoore, quand, éblouis de tant de splendeur et saisis le crainte, ils se prosternèrent devant lui.

Chevelu comme un Mérovingien, avec une barbe longue et vénérable et des yeux sereins et profonds, Charlemagne mêle à a expression mâle et guerrière je ne sais ; quelle majesté pensive, qui l’ennoblit encore et la rehausse. On devine l'homme qui, ayant fondé un grand Empire, se préoccupe, quelle que soit sa confiance dans le présent, des événements que recèle l'avenir.

Le coursier, magnifiquement enharnaché, se redresse et s’avance d'une allure fière. C’est une bête illustre et digne du cavalier. Aux deux côtés du monarque et la main posée sur une des courroies de la bride, deux guerriers, deux paladins, Roland, dit-on, et Ogier le Danois, accompagnent à pied le puissant monarque.

L’un porte la double hache franque et la longue épée; l’autre est armé de la pique et de la dague gauloise. A leurs types différents et très-bien marqués, l’observateur attentif croit reconnaître la double race d’où est sorti le peuple français: celui-ci vient du nordi c’est le Germain; celui-là, d’un aspect moins martial et plus fin, vient du midi, c’est le Gaulois. Déjà, dès Charlemagne, ils se sont rapprochés et comme fondus dans le creuset mystérieux d'où a jailli notre précieuse et indestructible unité nationale.

Je livre au lecteur ce commentaire.

L’effet de ce groupe colossal est des plus imposants. Il fallait quelque chose d’aussi large et d’aussi complet, le statuaire l’a senti à merveille, pour répondre à l’idée que nous nous faisons de cette souveraine gloire de Charlemagne, de Celui qui, après avoir vaincu ou détruit les Saxons et les Lombards, les Sarrasins d’Espagne et les Avares, avait assis sa vaste domination de la Baltique à l’Èbre et de l’océan Atlantique aux monts Krapaks.

Depuis le monde romain, le soleil n’a brillé sur rien de plus grand.

C'est pourquoi rien ne manque à Charlemagne, il est le héros épique par excellence. Il embrasse la réalité et l’illusion, l’histoire et la légende. Tous les génies et toutes les langues l’ont acclamé. Il vit dans les poèmes de l’Allemagne et de l’Angleterre, de l’Italie et de l’Espagne. On l’a célébré en flamand et en basque. Il a ainsi recueilli la première fleur de toutes nos poésies modernes, et, dans notre histoire de France, il apparaît de loin comme un Orient, comme le portail lumineux d’où sortira toute la monarchie, cette longue succession à travers les âges de maîtres divers et de rois. Lui, il reste le véritable patriarche du pouvoir de la royauté.

Son œuvre et son génie étonnent ; mais, belle et rare aventure ! la gloire de Charlemagne n’a rien de menaçant ou de farouche. Il semble qu'elle se soit imposée comme un droit et un devoir et que la conquête immense ait été un bienfait pour tous. C’était le glaive rayonnant de la civilisation, qui ne soumet les foules que, pour les éclairer et ne les groupe en corps d’armées que pour les laisser unies en corps de peuples.

Charlemagne fut donc un vrai roi, dans toute la haute signification de ce mot. Le conquérant en lui se doublait du législateur, et, dans un siècle à demi barbare, il encouragea les arts et protégea les sciences. Il s’entourait volontiers de savants et de grands esprits et ne pensait pas déchoir en s’appliquant lui-même aux travaux de l’intelligence et du goût.

Bon homme d’ailleurs, comme le sont presque toujours les grands hommes, s’il se montrait sobre et très-rangé dans la gestion des affaires de sa maison et dans ses dépenses personnelles, il savait, au besoin, déployer tout l’éclat nécessaire à un souverain et ne pas marchander son appui au mérite sérieux et modeste.
Mais, comme il est difficile de toucher à Charlemagne sans toucher du même coup aux romans de chevalerie ou aux naïves traditions que son règne a semées en quelque sorte dans les esprits et qu’il y a fait fleurir, laissez-moi vous rappeler la gracieuse histoire d’Emma, la fille naturelle du grand empereur, et d’Éginhard son secrétaire.

Emma était fort belle, et, tout bellement aussi, Éginhard se prit à l’aimer. Après des mois d’un silence cruel pour les deux amants, la jeune fille consentit à entendre les aveux du jeune homme, et l’admit, un soir, dans la tourelle qu’elle habitait, à l’un des angles du château.

La passion d’Éginhard était ardente. Or, pendant qu’il l’exprimait avec effusion, la neige tombait au dehors.

Il voulut enfin se retirer. Comment faire ? Il fallait traverser une grande cour, et la trace de ses pieds, marqués dans la neige, ne laisserait pas de révéler le doux secret aux yeux clairvoyants de Charlemagne. Emma s’offrit à porter son amant sur ses épaules, et la peur fit consentir Éginhard.

« L’empereur qui, par un effet tout particulier de la Providence, dit la chronique, avait passé toute la nuit sans dormir, se leva de grand matin et, regardant par la fenêtre, il vit sa fille tout accablée sous son cher fardeau. Il fut touché d’admiration et, en même temps, ému de douleur; mais il prit le parti de n’en rien laisser paraître. »

Éginhard, quelque peu inquiet des suites de son intrigue, voulut plus tard se retirer. Le roi le manda alors devant son Conseil et raconta lui-même l’aventure. Tels conseillers opinaient pour une punition exemplaire, tels autres pour un châtiment plus doux. Bref, on s’en rapporta à la sagesse du roi.

« Je vous donne pour femme, dit à Éginhard le bon roi Charlemagne, cette gentille porteuse qui vous chargea si bénignement sur son dos. »

Et prenant par la main la jeune femme toute rougissante, il la remit lui-même à son heureux secrétaire.

Emma fut richement dotée.— C’était à la fois une femme tendre et une forte femme, diront les mauvais plaisants. Quant à moi, je trouve que cette historiette ou ce conte, comme on voudra l’appeler, et que Jacob Cats, le grand pensionnaire de Hollande, a orné jadis de beaux vers flamands, est aussi touchant qu’ingénieux, et qu’il ne nuira jamais à cet immortel renom de justice et de bonté qui accompagne, le long des siècles, la glorieuse mémoire de Charlemagne.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée