Back - List of Pavilions

Furniture - Expo Paris 1867

Furniture at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Beurdeley furniture.
Alongside the artists who question their own genius and ask it for a new form, a new style, which are the characterisation of their time, we must place those other artists whose taste and knowledge of ancient styles constitute their main merit, and who know admirably how to reproduce in all its purity the spirit of the conceptions of the great extinct centuries.

The cult of beauty recruits its priests everywhere, and if the first are the poets of art, the others are its historians. These two branches of human work, far from excluding each other, complement each other; before creating, one must know; has not history always been the fertile inspiration of our most admired masterpieces?

Following this logical progression, we must begin our review of the works exhibited in this iron palace, which takes us back to the golden age, by examining the conscientious workers who are willing to become art historians in the field of cabinetmaking.

Among them, the one who is entitled to the first rank is without doubt Mr. Beurdeley.

Gifted with an exquisite taste, penetrated with the science of styles to an extremely remarkable degree, M. Beurdeley offers us today, among several masterpieces, an oak bookcase composed in the Louis XVI style; a table inlaid with mother-of-pearl and silver, Louis XVI style, and finally a group cast in bronze after an original terracotta by Pigalle; these three main pieces of M. Beurdeley's exhibition are interpreted in our engravings in a very refined way by our skilful draughtsman M. Fellmann.

It would seem, from the list of salient objects whose drawings we reproduce, that M. Beurdeley has a special cult for the Louis XVI style.
This remark does not in any way imply a reproach; but it leads us quite naturally to direct our attention to the way in which the artists of that century understood ornamentation.

The majestic splendours of the century of Louis XIV had already been influenced by the refinement and lightness that characterised the century of Louis XV. The rocaille had reigned supreme; degenerate Italian art had provided all that it contained of mannered and refined in its creations. Finally, the last years of the reign of Louis XV arrived and were soon marked by a very energetic movement of reaction against the taste for rocailles.

At this time of transition, a double current seemed to draw artists, sometimes towards the study of the old French masters, sometimes, according to the degree of patience which animated the workers, towards a kind of new interpretation of the monuments of antiquity.

It is from this twofold movement that what is known as the Louis XVI style emerged.

The abuse of rocaille had thus brought interior decoration back to simpler and at the same time more rational data. The straight line was once again given pride of place. The sobriety of the ornamentation inaugurated a calmer and at the same time softer style. Instead of these bristling and tormented silhouettes, the furniture presented a more serious and purer design; but luxury, which never loses its rights, combined with the trend we have mentioned towards the imitation of the old artists, Boule among others, brought back the taste for inlays and ornaments of bronze, gold and silver applied to the panels of the furniture of this period.

As the years rushed by towards the cataclysm of 1989, artists seemed to obey the impression that events engraved in their minds; so sobriety degenerated imperceptibly into nudity and prepared the styles of the Republic, of which it is best not to speak.

But we can feel very well, from the last years of the reign of Louis XVI, a coldness emerging in the artistic inspirations, and we are perfectly capable today of distinguishing a piece of furniture from the ascending period from one from the period of decadence of the style we are dealing with.

Let us leave aside the last period. The furniture that Mr. Beurdeley exhibits belongs to the great movement of the last century, and offers us in all its purity the genius of the style at its best moment.

A defect which was common enough to the artists of this period was to treat the details of their composition as vignettes for book illustrations.

In his large library, M. Beurdeley has avoided this monotonous drawback.

Divided into three ebony veneered bodies, this bookcase is surmounted by a pediment which completes its general appearance with perfect harmony. The bronzes of the panels whose waxes we have seen are of marvellous finesse. None of the four panels are alike, the symmetry does not suffer and the decoration gains in unexpectedness and richness.

The lower body is decorated with fine arabesques of a very firm design. The chiselling is admirable, the gilded bronzes with their badly worn finish highlight the browned matte of the gilding by a happy opposition of tones. Here and there we also notice inlays of precious materials such as jasper and lapis; Finally, we must note that we have never seen since the piece of furniture in the Musée des Souverains (in the Louvre), which belonged to Queen Marie-Antoinette, a work of such importance, and whose style was more reminiscent of that charming period when Riesner set the tone for the marquetry, and Goutière for the chasing, but all of which bore witness to an opulence that was about to disappear and was casting its last ray into space.

Next to this remarkable bookcase, M. Beurdeley offers us a table, the top of which is shown here.

This piece of furniture is more especially the triumph of marquetry and inlay in the same Louis XVI style.

The composition of the top consists of arabesque friezes mixed with burgot, mother of pearl and silver.

In the middle are panels in old Japanese lacquer; all the friezes on the belt are in old lacquer. The legs, in the form of quivers, are inlaid with mother-of-pearl tigettes, decorated with very delicate bronzes and chiselled with infinite art. Beurdeley is the favourite of the crowned heads; for what other than kings and princes of finance could have the means of satisfying the delicate inclinations of their refined taste when they address themselves to a man such as M. Beurdeley, who buries truly frightening sums in the conscientious execution of his works.

It remains for us to study one last subject of engraving which completes the most salient objects of the exhibition of the erudite artist with whom we are concerned: it is the chiselled bronze group representing three children fighting for a hen. The execution is irreproachable; it is from an original terracotta by the sculptor Pigalle and which is the property of M. Beurdeley, that this group has been cast and chased. The subject takes us back to the heyday of Watteau's sheepfolds. Pigalle, who lived at the end of the reign of Louis XV, had preserved the gentle and graceful tendencies which a long peace had given rise to and which the spirit of gallantry helped to perpetuate.

These are the main subjects of Mr. Beurdeley's work. We will also mention some vases in red oriental porphyry mounted in the Louis XVI style, which are rare and precious objects; a small showcase recently brought in which contains real chiselled jewels executed by M. Duron on the basis of data from M. Beurdeley. But we will have the opportunity to come back to this subject for Mr. Duron, whose merit we have known for a long time.

Let us content ourselves with concluding this study by congratulating ourselves on having in France a man of such pure and enlightened taste as M. Beurdeley; his in-depth knowledge protects amateurs and collectors from those errors so regrettable in archaeology and which result in fabulous sums being wrongly spent on an object that is not at all what it seems to be. What our learned collector gives us is conscientiously designated, and his word is worth a civil status record.

It is unfortunate to be obliged to praise in our time a quality which should be general; but how can we not excuse our poor century when we see, as Phaedrus reveals in one of his apologues, that the ancients manufactured false antiquities, and that the artists of his time had no qualms about adding to their marble statues the name of Praxiteles, and to those of silver that of Myron!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mobilier

Mobilier à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Meubles Beurdeley.
A côté des artistes chercheurs qui interrogent leur propre génie et lui demandent une forme neuve, un style nouveau, qui soient la caractérisation de leur époque, nous devons placer ces autres artistes dont le goût et la science des styles anciens constituent le principal mérite, et qui savent admirablement reproduire dans toute sa pureté l’esprit des conceptions des grands siècles éteints.

Le culte du beau recrute partout ses prêtres, et si les premiers sont les poètes de l’art, les autres en sont les historiens. Ces deux branches du travail, humain, loin de s’exclure, se complètent mutuellement; avant de créer, il faut connaître; l’histoire ne fut-elle pas toujours l’inspiratrice féconde de nos chefs-d’œuvre les plus admirés ?

En suivant cette progression toute logique nous devons commencer notre revue des œuvres exposées dans l’enceinte de ce palais de fer qui nous reporte à l’âge d’or, par l’examen des travailleurs consciencieux qui veulent bien se faire les historiens de l’art dans les applications à l’ébénisterie.

Parmi eux, celui qui a droit au premier rang est sans contredit M. Beurdeley.

Doué d’un goût exquis, pénétré de la science de styles à un degré extrêmement remarquable, M. Beurdeley nous offre aujourd’hui, parmi plusieurs chefs-d’œuvre, une bibliothèque en chêne composée dans le style Louis XVI ; une table incrustée de nacre et d’argent, style Louis XVI, enfin un groupe coulé en bronze d’après une terre cuite originale de Pigalle; ces trois pièces principales de l’exposition de M. Beurdeley sont interprétées très-finement dans nos gravures par notre habile dessinateur M. Fellmann.

Il semblerait, d’après la nomenclature des objets saillants dont nous reproduisons le dessin, que M. Beurdeley a un culte tout spécial pour le style Louis XVI.
Cette remarque ne comporte dans aucun cas un reproche; mais elle nous conduit tout naturellement à diriger notre attention sur la manière dont les artistes de ce siècle comprenaient l’ornementation.

Les splendeurs majestueuses du siècle de Louis XIV avaient déjà subi l’influence de l’afféterie et de la légèreté qui caractérisèrent le siècle de Louis XV. Les rocailles avaient régné en maîtresses ; l’art italien dégénéré avait fourni tout ce qu’il contenait de maniéré et de raffiné dans ses créations. Enfin les dernières années du règne de Louis XV arrivèrent et se signalèrent bientôt par un mouvement très-énergique de réaction contre le goût des rocailles.

A cette époque de transition, un double courant sembla entraîner les artistes, tantôt vers l’étude des vieux maîtres français, tantôt, selon le degré de patience qui animait les travailleurs, vers une sorte d'interprétation nouvelle des monuments de l’antiquité.

C’est de ce double mouvement que sortit ce que l’on est convenu d’appeler le style Louis XVI.

L’abus des rocailles avait donc ramené la décoration intérieure à des données plus simples et en même temps plus rationnelles. La ligne droite fut remise en honneur. La sobriété des ornementations inaugura dès ce moment une manière plus calme et, en même temps, plus douce. Au lieu de ces silhouettes hérissées et tourmentées, les meubles présentèrent un dessin plus sérieux et plus pur; mais le luxe, qui ne perd jamais ses droits, joint à ce courant que nous avons signalé vers l’imitation des anciens artistes, Boule entre autres, ramena le goût des incrustations et des ornements de bronze, d’or et d’argent appliqués sur les panneaux des meubles de cette époque.

A mesure que les années se précipitaient vers le cataclysme de 89, les artistes semblèrent obéir à l’impression que les événements gravaient dans leur esprit; aussi la sobriété dégénéra insensiblement en nudité et prépara les styles de la République, dont le mieux est de ne pas parler.

Mais, on sent très-bien, dès les dernières années du règne de Louis XVI, une froideur naître dans les inspirations artistiques, et on est parfaitement à même de distinguer aujourd’hui un meuble de l’époque ascendante d’un meuble de la période de décadence du style dont nous nous occupons.

Laissons de côté la dernière période. Les meubles que M. Beurdeley expose appartiennent au grand mouvement du dernier siècle, et nous offrent dans toute sa pureté le génie du style à son meilleur moment.

Un défaut qui était assez commun aux artistes de cette période était de traiter les détails de leur composition comme des vignettes d’illustration de livres.

Dans sa grande bibliothèque, M. Beurdeley a évité cet inconvénient qui apporte la monotonie.

Divisée en trois corps plaqués d’ébène, cette bibliothèque est surmontée d'un fronton qui complète avec une harmonie parfaite son aspect général. Les bronzes des panneaux dont nous avons vu les cires sont d’une finesse merveilleuse'. Aucun des quatre panneaux ne se ressemble la symétrie n’en souffre pas et la décoration y gagne en imprévu et en richesse.

Le corps du bas est orné de fines arabesques dont le dessin est d’une grande fermeté. La ciselure y est admirable, les bronzes dorés au mal usé font valoir par une heureuse opposition de tons les mats brunis de la dorure. Çà et là on remarque également des incrustations de matières précieuses telles que le jaspe et le lapis; enfin, nous devons le constater, nous n’avons jamais vu depuis le meuble qui est au musée des Souverains (au Louvre) et qui a appartenu à la reine Marie-Antoinette, une œuvre aussi importante, et dont le style rappelât mieux celui de cette époque charmante où Riesner donnait le ton pour la marqueterie, et Goutière pour la ciselure, mais qui toutes témoignaient d’une opulence qui allait disparaître et jetait au loin son dernier rayon.

A côté de cette bibliothèque si remarquable, M. Beurdeley offre à nos regards une table dont nous représentons le dessus et la vue d’ensemble.

Ce meuble est plus spécialement le triomphe de la marqueterie et de l’incrustation dans le même style Louis XVI.

La composition du dessus consiste en des frises arabesques mélangées de burgot, de nacre et d’argent.

Dans le milieu s’étalent des panneaux en vieux laque du Japon ; toutes les frises de la ceinture sont en vieux laque. Les pieds en forme à carquois sont incrustés de tigettes en nacre de perle, ornementés de bronzes très-délicats et ciselés avec un art infini ; tout cet assemblage est d’une richesse inouïe, et indique bien que M. Beurdeley est le préféré des têtes couronnées; car quels autres que les rois et les princes de la finance pourraient avoir les moyens de satisfaire les penchants délicats de leur goût épuré quand ils s’adressent à un homme tel que M. Beurdeley, qui enfouit dans l’exécution consciencieuse de ses œuvres des sommes vraiment effrayantes.

Il nous reste à étudier un dernier sujet de gravure qui complète les objets les plus saillants de l’exposition de l’artiste érudit qui nous occupe : c’est le groupe ciselé en bronze représentant trois enfants se battant pour avoir une poule. L’exécution en est irréprochable ; c’est d’après une terre cuite originale du sculpteur Pigalle et qui est la propriété de M. Beurdeley, que ce groupe a été coulé et ciselé. Le sujet nous rejette au beau temps des bergeries de Watteau. Pigalle, qui vivait à la fin du règne de Louis XV, avait conservé les douces et gracieuses tendances qu’une longue paix avait fait naître et que l’esprit de galanterie contribuait à perpétuer.

Tels sont les principaux sujets de l’œuvre de M. Beurdeley. Nous mentionnerons encore des vases en porphyre rouge oriental montés dans le style Louis XVI qui sont des objets rares et précieux ; une petite vitrine récemment apportée qui contient de vrais bijoux de ciselure exécutés par M. Duron sur les données de M. Beurdeley. Mais nous aurons l’occasion de revenir sur ce sujet pour M. Duron dont le mérite nous est connu de longue date.

Contentons-nous de terminer cette étude en nous félicitant de posséder en France un homme d’un goût aussi pur et aussi éclairé que celui de M. Beurdeley; ses connaissances approfondies mettent auprès de lui les amateurs et les collectionneurs à l’abri de ces erreurs si regrettables dans l’archéologie et qui se traduisent par des sommes fabuleuses dépensées à tort pour un objet qui n’est nullement ce que l’on croit être. Ce que notre savant collectionneur nous donne est consciencieusement désigné, et sa parole vaut un acte de l’état civil.

Il est fâcheux d’être obligé de faire à notre époque l’éloge d’une qualité qui devrait être générale; mais comment ne pas excuser notre pauvre siècle quand nous voyons, ainsi que le révèle Phèdre dans un de ses apologues, que les anciens fabriquaient de fausses antiquités, et que les artistes de son temps ne se faisaient pas scrupule d’ajouter à leurs statues de marbre le nom de Praxitèle, et à celles d’argent celui de Myron!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée