Back - List of Pavilions

Carved wood kiosk -

Carved wood kiosk at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

It was the Chinese who first applied cut wood to the decoration of buildings. They were imitated by the Russians, and without knowing the work of either of them, the Swiss peasants have innovated in this kind of decoration. In France, where it has been imported for some years, it has produced remarkable works; but nothing, we believe, more elegant than the kiosk of which we give a faithful reproduction.

This kiosk is octagonal, of Moorish architecture, raised on a platform to which one ascends by a staircase of several steps, and surrounded by a covered portico, 1 metre 20 centimetres wide, supported by slender columns. It looks like one of those pavilions which abound in oriental landscapes, and of which Arab tales speak so much.

The roof, made of stamped zinc, was supplied by M. Gugnon. The blinds and chains are of iron. The rest of the kiosk, which has a diameter of 6 metres 50 centimetres, or 42 square metres of surface area, is built entirely of oak, fir and poplar wood. It is a work of artistic carpentry and has the advantage that it can be dismantled, reassembled, moved and replaced without any difficulty. Using special procedures, the author cuts the wood, hollows it out, traces arabesques on it, and decorates it with the most varied designs and the most delicate serrations. The kiosks he creates are eminently suitable for parks, in perspective at the end of an alley, especially if vases of flowers are placed on the balustrade of the verandah.

Placed at a short distance from the great waterfall, whose rustle can be heard, surrounded by rare plants and shade, the kiosk we are dealing with produces the most graceful effect.

The vases, bowls, and pots, which contribute to embellish it, come from the house of E. The vases, bowls, and pots which help to embellish it, come from the firm of E. Paris, medallist at the exhibitions of 1849, 1852 and 1855; they are made of enamelled and decorated sheet metal and cast iron. Some of them have gold or platinum backgrounds applied on enamel.

Mr. Paris' speciality is to enamel metals, to coat them with an adherent and well glazed flux, to preserve them from oxidation. He then applies colours to them by a process of his own, and thus obtains solid, durable, inexpensive imitation earthenware, on which the sun, humidity and frost have no effect.

On display in the kiosk is a red lined bowl with a foot and two handles welded to it. What goes into the composition of this object of art? A certain combination of colours, and rice paste combined with transparent glass.

Nearby is a suspension made of green rice paste, lined with enamel on the inside, with a cut glass knob.

We also notice a lighting ball of a particular opaline composition, intended to replace the frosted glass globes. The light that passes through this ball is subdued, so to speak, and is distributed over the entire surface. The central focus disappears, which will make the globes that Mr. E. Paris has described as enamel globes valuable for electric lighting. They have already been adopted for the squares and squares of the capital on the recommendation of Mr. Alphand.

Next to the perron of the kiosk are the duplicates of the mosaics and enamels that Mr. Paris executed, on Visconti's cartoons, for the tomb of Napoleon I.

It was M. Paris, père, who, in 1844, first exhibited enamels on sheet metal; he had fashioned them into jewels, but since that time, his son has found innumerable and curious applications for them; street signs and house numbers, pipes, lining plates for battleships, etc. The main chimney of the Mazas prison is made of enamelled sheet metal. The factory of Mr. Paris supplied the enamel for 180,000 metres of riveted sheet metal pipes, laid in Lisbon in 1850 for the gas company. The pipes of the Louvre Palace, the reflectors of the Châtelet and Gaîté theatres, are made of enamelled sheet metal.

A third industry still occupies the Millet kiosk. Messrs Langenbagen and Hepp of Strasbourg have installed a miniature factory of panamas, whale hats and palm bark inside. This small salon is 3 metres by 3 metres, entered through two doors, and lit by six cross windows decorated with coloured stained glass, engraved or muslin, executed by Mr. Grados.

It should be noted that these charming constructions, although having all the desirable luxury and comfort, could be delivered at a relatively modest price.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Kiosque à bois découpé

Kiosque à bois découpé à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Ce sont les Chinois qui ont les premiers appliqué le bois découpé à l’ornementation des édifices. Ils ont été imités par les Russes, et sans connaître les travaux des uns ni des autres, les paysans suisses ont innové dans ce genre de décoration. En France, où il a été importé depuis quelques années, il a produit des œuvres remarquables; mais rien, nous le croyons, de plus élégant que le kiosque dont nous donnons la fidèle reproduction.

Ce kiosque est octogone, d’architecture mauresque, exhaussé sur une plate-forme à laquelle on monte par un perron de plusieurs marches, et entouré d’un portique couvert, d’une largeur de 1 mètre 20 centimètres, soutenu par de sveltes colonnettes. On croirait voir un de ces pavillons qui abondent dans les paysages orientaux, et dont parlent tant les contes arabes.

La couverture, en zinc estampé, a été fournie par M. Gugnon. Les jalousies et les chaînettes sont en fer. Le reste du kiosque, qui a 6 mètres 50 centimètres de diamètre, soit 42 mètres carrés de superficie, est entièrement construit en bois de chêne, sapin et peuplier. C’est une œuvre de menuiserie artistique, et il offre l’avantage de pouvoir être démonté, remonté, déplacé, replacé sans difficulté aucune. Par des procédés particuliers, l’auteur découpe le bois, le creuse, y trace des arabesques, l’agrémente des dessins les plus variés, des dentelures les plus délicates. Les kiosques qu’il exécute sont éminemment propres à figurer dans les parcs, en perspective à l’extrémité d’une allée, surtout si des vases de fleurs sont disposés sur la balustrade de la vérandah.

Placé à peu de distance de la grande cascade, dont on entend le bruissement, entouré de plantes rares et d’ombrages, le kiosque dont nous nous occupons produit le plus gracieux effet.

Les vases, coupes, potiches, qui contribuent à l’embellir, sortent de la maison E. Paris, médaillée des expositions de 1849, 1852 et 1855; ils sont en tôle et fonte de fer émaillées et décorées. Quelques-uns ont des fonds d’or ou de platine appliqués sur émail.

La spécialité de M. Paris est d’émailler les métaux, de les revêtir d’un fondant adhérent et bien glacé, de les préserver de l’oxydation. Il y applique ensuite des couleurs, par un procédé qui lui appartient, et obtient ainsi des imitations de faïences solides, durables, d’un prix peu élevé, sur lesquels le soleil, l’humidité, la gelée n’ont aucune espèce d’action.

A son exposition du kiosque figure une coupe en doublé rouge, à laquelle sont soudés un pied et deux anses. Qu’entre-t-il dans la composition de cet objet d’art? Un certain assemblage de couleurs, et de la pâte de riz associée à un verre transparent.

Tout auprès est une suspension en pâte de riz verte, doublée d’émail à l’intérieur, avec un bouton en verre taillé.

Nous remarquons encore une boule d’éclairage d’une composition opaline particulière, destinée à remplacer les globes en verre dépoli. La lumière qui passe à travers cette boule est pour ainsi dire tamisée, et se répartit sur toute la surface. Le foyer central disparaît, ce qui rendra précieux, pour l’éclairage électrique, les globes que M. E. Paris a qualifiés de globes en émail Ils sont déjà, par la recommandation de M. Alphand, adoptés pour les places et squares de la capitale.

A côté du perron du kiosque sont les doubles des mosaïques et émaux qu’a exécutés M. Paris, sur les cartons de Visconti, pour le tombeau de Napoléon Ier.

Ce fut M. Paris, père, qui, en 1844, exposa le premier des émaux sur tôle ; il les avait façonnés en bijoux, mais depuis cette époque, son fils en a trouvé d’innombrables et curieuses applications ; plaques de rues et numéros de maisons, tuyaux, plaques de doublage pour navires cuirassés, etc. La principale cheminée de la prison Mazas est en tôle émaillée. La fabrique de M. Paris a fourni l’émail de 180000 mètres de tuyaux en tôle rivée, posés à Lisbonne, en 1850, pour la compagnie du gaz. Les tuyaux du palais du Louvre, les réflecteurs des théâtres du Châtelet et de la Gaîté, sont en tôle émaillée.

Une troisième industrie occupe encore le kiosque Millet. MM. Langenbagen et Hepp de Strasbourg ont installé à l’intérieur une fabrique en miniature de panamas, de chapeaux de baleine et d’écorce de palmier. Ce petit salon a 3 mètres sur 3, on y entre par deux portes, il est éclairé par six croisées garnies de vitraux de couleur, gravés ou mousseline, exécutés par M. Grados.

Il est à noter que ces charmantes constructions, quoique ayant tout le luxe et le confort désirables, pourraient être livrées à un prix relativement modique.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée