International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Conference room

Conference room at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

The architect who built the Conference Hall had to leave plenty of room for the unexpected in his general design. - Science has reached such a point nowadays that one must expect all kinds of wonders from him.

The overall layout of the building is understood in a simple and severe style; the great axis which dominates every door through which our great sovereign of the nineteenth century, science, must gain access, makes it clear that this is the asylum of great conceptions and great prodigies. Two closed rotundas protrude from the façade, like two arms stretched out towards the passer-by to invite him to enter the temple of human genius.

The interior of the hall is tastefully decorated, and symbolises the various glories of France. The terraces are gently sloped and skilfully arranged so as not to obstruct anyone's view.

The acoustics have also been carefully studied.

The lighting, which will borrow, according to the time of day, from the stained glass windows their shimmering colour and their effect so soft to the eye, from gas, magnesium, and electricity, their devices and their raw materials, will complete by its novelties the character of this monument, true and last expression of the progress of our time.

The lecturer's chair will be placed in such a way as to favour the demonstrations made on the projected image, and whose place is all foreseen in this large panel which spreads out in front of the public, and which separates it from the laboratory destined to prepare the mechanism of the wonders which will be explained to it.

There are enough clearances, ventilation is very well understood, and we can only finish this description by congratulating the architect, Mr. Allard, for the talent he has displayed in this construction, both from the architectural and scientific points of view.

Now to the work, gentlemen lecturers, a broad program is traced out for you: the historical point of view and the technical point of view open a very beautiful career to you.

To know how these inventions which astonish our imagination came into being, to know their authors, to learn what obstacles were piled up, and how perseverance aided by genius was able to overcome them; to then appreciate the usefulness of these same discoveries and to see their sparkling deductions spring up before our eyes; this is the noble task which has been entrusted to you, and we are assured in advance that you will be equal to your mission.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salle des conférences

Salle des conférences à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’architecte qui a construit la Salle des conférences a dû laisser dans sa conception générale une large place à l’imprévu. — La science en est à ce point arrivée de nos jours qu’il faut de sa part s’attendre à tous les prodiges.

La disposition d’ensemble de l’édifice est comprise dans un style simple et sévère; le grand axe qui domine toute porte par laquelle doit avoir accès notre grande souveraine du dix-neuvième siècle, la science, laisse comprendre que là est l’asile des grandes conceptions et des grands prodiges. Deux rotondes fermées s’avancent sur la façade, semblables à deux bras tendus vers le passant pour l’inviter à pénétrer dans le temple du génie humain.

L’intérieur de la salle est orné avec goût, et symbolise les diverses gloires de la France. Des gradins sont disposés en pente douce et ménagée habilement de façon à ne gêner la vue de personne.

L’acoustique est également étudiée avec conscience.

L’éclairage qui empruntera, selon les heures, aux vitraux leur couleur chatoyante et leur effet si doux à l’œil, au gaz, au magnésium, à l’électricité, leurs engins et leurs matières premières, complétera par ses nouveautés le caractère de ce monument, véritable et dernière expression du progrès de notre époque.

La chaire du conférencier sera placée de façon à pouvoir favoriser les démonstrations faites, sur l’image projetée, et dont la place est toute prévue dans ce grand panneau qui s'étale en face du public, et qui le sépare du laboratoire destiné à préparer le mécanisme des merveilles qu’on lui expliquera.

Des dégagements sont ménagés en nombre suffisant, l’aération est très-bien comprise, et nous ne pouvons même achever cette description qu’en félicitant l’architecte, M. Allard, du talent qu’il a déployé dans cette construction, tant au point de vue architectural qu’au point de vue scientifique.

Maintenant à l’œuvre, messieurs les conférenciers, un large programme vous est tracé : le point de vue historique et le point de vue technique vous ouvrent une carrière bien belle à parcourir.

Savoir comment sont sorties du néant ces inventions qui étonnent notre imagination, connaître leurs auteurs, apprendre quels obstacles étaient amoncelés, et comment la persévérance aidée du génie a pu les renverser; apprécier ensuite l’utilité de ces mêmes découvertes et en voir jaillir sous les yeux les étincelantes déductions; voilà la noble tâche qui vous est confiée, et nous sommes assuré d’avance que vous serez à la hauteur de votre mission.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée