International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Russia

Russia at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Mosaics. Goldsmithing.

In the hot days of summer, when the hunter goes in search of the lark, you see him set off with a thousand-faceted mirror which, constantly shaken, will reflect the sun's rays into the air and bring down to him the bird lost in the great spaces of the sky. Let it cease for a moment to shatter the light, and at once the poor panic-stricken beast will take to the air again and, all joyful, will begin its songs again and, with a stroke of the wing, will return to calm and rest.

At the Universal Exhibition, in the midst of this immense and inexhaustible spectacle, the visitor, overwhelmed by the marvels of industry, attracted in a thousand different places by these ingenious inventions, and tormented by the need to see everything, also ends up, like the lark, by remaining dazzled and fascinated. Lost in these thousand searches for well-being which tempt his body and provoke, by showing him the means of satisfying them, desires which will soon become new necessities, he most often thinks only of the easy life and the satisfactions demanded by the flesh; but if, on his way But if, on his way, he meets one of those works of the spirit and the soul which awaken that mysterious fluid, the food of our thought, and remind him that beyond the sensations of the body noble emotions exist, he will stop suddenly, surprised and astonished to find again those elevated aspirations and that ideal which he perhaps thought he despised. Works capable of accomplishing such a miracle are rare and must be doubly powerful to overcome the confusion, the rumours, the inattention and the dazzle of the crowd. When their action is thus felt, one can, without fear of being mistaken, assign them the first place in the field of art, and look upon them as an honour and a glory for the country which sends them.

The great mosaic exhibited by Russia is among those productions before which the most indifferent person stops. The calmness and majesty stamped on these large figures of saints, clothed in their priestly ornaments and destined to guard the entrance to the sanctuary in the cathedral church of St. Isaac in Petersburg, and to form the partition called in Russian churches Iconostases, imposes itself and penetrates you. The active faith of Russia shines through in this mosaic, in front of which one forgets the difficulty overcome and thinks only of the greatness of Professor Neff's conception and the masterly way in which it is rendered. For four years, the master mosaicists Kmelewski, Bourou-kine, Agafonoff and Mouravieff worked tirelessly, playing with the thousand nuances of the enamelled glass, which serves as both colours and brushes, and which was penetrated by the skill of the learned Leopold Bonafede. Everyone knows how a mosaic is made and how difficult it is to place in the paste, which must seal and hold them, the glass sheets which, with their multiple tints and colours, will allow all the gradations to be achieved and give the contours shape and life. The material must first be created and, in this respect, the collection of enamels from the Imperial Manufactory of St. Petersburg, exhibited in the same room, deserves a special study, as it contains tones that have not been obtained until now.

Leopold Bonafede, a Roman brought to St. Petersburg by Emperor Nicholas to direct the mosaic factory that this prince wanted to establish as an annex to the Academy of Fine Arts, is the author of these remarkable products, and since his death two years ago, his brother has replaced him in the direction of these immense and magnificent works, of which the mosaic exhibited was a part, and which are destined to decorate St. Isaac's.

On both sides of the great mosaic, and as if to honour it and illuminate it when necessary, are the gigantic candelabras in pink rhodonite, which in the beauty of the material and the finish of the workmanship do not yield to any of the magnificence that the princely palaces can contain.

The imperial factory of Ekaterinburg, on the slopes of the Urals, which uses the rare stones of these mountains, has sent these enormous pieces made in three pieces from a material of which only fragments can be obtained by the trade; that of Kolivansk, in Siberia, the jasper and porphyry vases, and their products are not the least astonishment that this part of the Russian exhibition reserves for us, where richness is united with the most delicate and often the most original taste.

Further on, the goldsmiths justify their old reputation. It is impossible to pass by the showcases of Basil Semonoff, Ovt-chinikoff and Ignace Sasikoff without admiring the beauty and the imaginative variety of the work. Semonoff shows us silver objets d'art and remarkable pieces of religious silverware; Ovtchinikoff a chalice in vermeil and oxidised silver with a very characterful design and very fine chasing. The group commemorating the abolition of serfdom by the emperor Alexander, and the book of the Gospels, bound with plates of chased vermeil, are also very beautiful, and deserve the attention and praise of people of taste. But Sasikoff's exhibition, the richest and most complete, contains the most curious objects from all points of view and includes some pieces that are out of the ordinary. The most beautiful, without question, both for the beauty of the composition and for the remarkable manner in which the work was executed in repoussé, according to the drawing of Professor Vitali, by the chiseller Loskoutnikoff, is a bas-relief forty-four inches high, representing the Adoration of the Magi and offering, by the size of the figures, almost insurmountable difficulties of execution.

The pieces of silverware intended for our daily use are no less interesting. The style is full of movement and life. Each object has its own particular stamp, perfectly adapted to the purpose it is intended to serve and marked by a graceful originality. A tea service, in which the goldsmith's work equals the elegance of the architect Monighetti's design, was bought by the Marquis of Hartford, and deserved this flattering choice. - Nothing is more graceful than those broad dark ribbons which intertwine in a charming manner with the gold ribbons.

On the lid, imitating a white cloth tied with a gold cord, peasants are ingeniously grouped. There is a series of small wonders here, and one admires the finish and the research of the work, the variety of subjects from the gourd destined to be given as a prize by a society of hunters and wrestlers, to the head of the horse which bends the water and seems to swim so vigorously towards the shore. Nothing is as charming as the large silver milk jug with the peasant girl, her cow and her gold-coloured fir trees, and the small Byzantine-style water glass that all our elegant ladies will want to have. Silver niello also has a large place in Sasikoff's work, marked by this double current which comes from both Europe and the East. At the last London exhibition, this great company, which employs no less than four hundred workers in Moscow and St. Petersburg, obtained a first class medal, and, by pointing out to the attentive examination of our masters the various models sent to the Russian exhibition, we pay tribute to an undeniable merit, and we hope that our workers, so quick to take advantage of the slightest instruction, will make use of these riches which their taste and skill will know how to modify, to open up a new way which will soon ensure them important outlets.

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Russie

Russie à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La mosaïque. L’orfèvrerie.

Dans les chaudes journées de l’été, lorsque le chasseur se met en quête de l’alouette, vous le voyez partir avec un miroir aux mille facettes qui, constamment agité, renverra dans les airs les rayonnements du soleil et fera descendre jusqu’à lui l’oiseau perdu dans les grands espaces du ciel. Qu’il cesse un instant de briser la lumière, et, aussitôt, la pauvre bête affolée reprendra son essor et, toute joyeuse, recommencera ses chants et regagnera d’un coup d’aile le calme et le repos.

A l’Exposition universelle, au milieu de ce spectacle immense et inépuisable, le visiteur accablé par les merveilles de l’industrie, attiré en mille endroits différents par ces inventions ingénieuses, et tourmenté du besoin de tout voir, finit aussi, comme l’alouette, par rester ébloui et fasciné. Perdu à travers ces mille recherches du bien-être qui tentent son corps et provoquent, en lui montrant les moyens de les satisfaire, des désirs qui deviendront bientôt des nécessités nouvelles, il ne songe le plus souvent qu'à la vie facile et aux satisfactions réclamées par la chair ; mais si, sur son chemin., se rencontre une de ces œuvres de l’esprit et de l’âme qui réveille ce fluide mystérieux, aliment de notre pensée, et lui rappelle qu’au delà des sensations du corps de nobles émotions existent, il s’arrêtera tout à coup, surpris et étonné de retrouver ces aspirations élevées et cet idéal qu’il croyait peut-être dédaigner. Les œuvres capables d’accomplir un semblable miracle sont rares et doivent être doublement puissantes pour dominer la confusion, les rumeurs, l’inattention et l’éblouissement de la foule. Quand leur action se fait ainsi sentir, on peut, sans crainte de se tromper, leur assigner la première place dans le domaine de l’art, et les regarder comme un honneur et une gloire pour le pays qui les envoie.

La grande mosaïque exposée par la Russie est au nombre de ces productions devant lesquelles le plus indifférent s’arrête. Le calme et la majesté empreinte sur ces grandes figures de saints, revêtus de leurs ornements sacerdotaux et destinés à garder dans l’église cathédrale de Saint-Isaac à Pétersbourg l’entrée du sanctuaire, et à former la séparation nommée dans les églises russes Iconostases, s’impose et vous pénètre. La foi active de la Russie resplendit dans cette mosaïque devant laquelle on oublie la difficulté vaincue pour ne songer qu’à la grandeur de la conception du professeur Neff, et à la façon magistrale avec laquelle elle est rendue. Durant quatre années, les maîtres mosaïstes Kmelewski, Bourou-kine, Agafonoff, Mouravieff ont travaillé sans relâche, se jouant sous leurs doigts agiles des mille nuances dont le verre émaillé, qui leur sert à la fois de couleurs et de pinceaux, a été pénétré par l’habileté du savant Léopold Bonafede. Tout le monde sait comment se fait une mosaïque et la difficulté de placer dans la pâte, qui doit les sceller et les maintenir, les fiches de verre qui, par leurs teintes et leurs colorations multiples, permettront d’atteindre toutes les gradations et de donner aux contours le modelé et la vie. Il faut d’abord créer la matière et, à ce titre, la collection des émaux de la manufacture impériale de Saint-Pétersbourg exposée dans la même salle, mérite une étude particulière, car elle renferme des tons que l’on n’avait pas pu obtenir jusqu’ici.

Léopold Bonafede, Romain amené à Saint-Pétersbourg par l’empereur Nicolas, pour diriger la fabrique de mosaïques que ce prince voulait établir comme une annexe de l’Académie des beaux-arts, est Fauteur de ces produits remarquables et, depuis sa mort, arrivée il y a deux années, son frère le remplace dans la direction de ces immenses et magnifiques travaux, dont la mosaïque exposée faisait partie, et qui sont destinés à l’ornementation de Saint-Isaac.

Des deux côtés de la grande mosaïque, et comme pour lui faire honneur et l’éclairer au besoin, se trouvent les gigantesques candélabres en rhodonite rose qui ne le cèdent par la beauté de la matière et le fini du travail à aucune des magnificences que les palais princiers peuvent renfermer.

La fabrique impériale d’Ekaterinbourg, sur le versant de l’Oural, qui met en œuvre les pierres rares de ces montagnes, a envoyé ces pièces énormes faites en trois morceaux avec une matière dont le commerce ne peut se procurer que des fragments; celle de Kolivansk, en Sibérie, les vases de jaspe et de porphyre, et leurs produits ne sont pas un des moindres étonnements que nous réserve cette partie de l’exposition russe où la richesse est unie au goût le plus délicat et souvent le plus original.

Plus loin les orfèvres justifient leur vieille réputation. Il est impossible de passer auprès des vitrines de Basile Semonoff, d’Ovt-chinikoff et d’Ignace Sasikoff sans admirer la beauté et la variété pleine de fantaisie du travail. Semonoff nous montre des objets d’art en argent et des pièces d’orfèvrerie religieuse remarquable; Ovtchinikoff un calice en vermeil et en argent oxydé dont le dessin a beaucoup de caractère et dont la ciselure est très-fine. Le groupe commémoratif de l’abolition du servage par l’empereur Alexandre, et le livre des Évangiles, relié avec des plaques de vermeil ciselé sont aussi fort beaux, et méritent l’attention et l’éloge des personnes de goût. Mais l’exposition de Sasikoff, la plus riche et la plus complète, contient les objets les plus curieux à tous les points de vue et renferme des pièces hors ligne. La plus belle sans contredit tant pour la beauté de la composition que pour la manière remarquable dont l’œuvre a été exécutée au repoussé, d’après le dessin du professeur Vitali, par le ciseleur Loskoutnikoff, est un bas-relief d’une hauteur de quarante-quatre pouces, représentant l’adoration des Mages et offrant, par la dimension des figures, des difficultés d’exécution presque insurmontables.

Les pièces d’orfèvrerie destinées à nos usages de chaque jour ne sont pas moins intéressantes. Le style est plein de mouvement et de vie. Chaque objet a un cachet qui lui est particulier, parfaitement adapté au but qu’il doit remplir et marqué au coin d’une originalité pleine de grâce. Un service à thé, où le travail de l’orfèvre égale l’élégance du dessin de l’architecte Monighetti, a été acheté par le marquis de Hartford, et méritait ce choix flatteur. — Rien n’est plus gracieux que ces larges rubans de couleur sombre qui s’entrelacent d’une façon charmante avec les rubans d’or.

Sur le couvercle, imitant une toile blanche nouée avec une corde d’or, des paysans sont ingénieusement groupés. Il y a là une série de petites merveilles, et l’on admire le fini et la recherche du travail, la variété des sujets depuis la gourde destinée à être donnée en prix par une société de chasseurs et de lutteurs, jusqu’à la tête de ce cheval qui fait plier l’eau et semble nager si vigoureusement vers la rive. Rien n’est charmant comme ce grand pot à lait en argent avec la paysanne, sa vache et ses sapins de couleurs d’or, et ce petit verre d’eau de style byzantin que toutes nos élégantes voudront avoir. L’argent niellé tient aussi une large place dans le travail de Sasikoff, empreint et marqué de ce double courant qui lui vient à la fois de l’Europe et de l’Orient. A la dernière exposition de Londres, cette grande maison qui n’occupe pas moins de quatre cents ouvriers à Moscou et à Saint-Pétersbourg, a obtenu une médaille de première classe, et, en signalant à l’examen attentif de nos maîtres les différents modèles envoyés à l’exposition russe, nous rendons hommage à un mérite incontestable, et nous espérons que nos ouvriers, si prompts à tirer parti du moindre enseignement, mettront à profit ces richesses que leur goût et leur habileté saura modifier, pour s’ouvrir une voie nouvelle qui leur assurera bientôt des débouchés importants.