International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Agricultural mechanics

manque image

This lift, once behind us, a platform, located on our left, shows us beautiful agricultural machines. Locomobiles, horse-drawn seeders, harvesters. Steam and great mechanics introduced into the work of the fields, what an immense innovation! It has been accomplished entirely in our time.

I will not let this opportunity slip to claim, for our ancestors the Gauls, the priority of harvesting machines. A text by Palladius, a fifth-century writer, proves that this priority belongs to them. A drawing that faithfully translates the text in question shows us a small carriage consisting of a box open at the top and mounted on two wheels. This carriage is pushed by an ox tied to a barrier by its yoke between two short stretchers, its head turned towards the box. Behind the ox, a Gaul holding a lever longer than the stretchers in each hand, varies the inclination of the box, which is hinged to the train, as he wishes. The four sides of this box slope outwards, and the front one, which is lower than the others, is provided at its upper edge with a row of iron teeth which, at their end, curve backwards in a horizontal plane.

Such was the machine. Its operation is understandable. Under the impulse of the ox, the reaper entered the fields, the herdsman adjusting the inclination of the box to the height of the wheat; first the ears of corn would engage between the teeth, then, as the cart continued to move forward, they would be packed into the concavity of the hooks, and finally, detached from the straw, they would fall and pile up in the cart.

Palladius tells us that this machine was in use in that part of Gaul which is on the plain. ". It saves, he said, the work of men, and by its means a single ox can do the whole harvest. In a few hours, with a few comings and goings, the harvest is finished. "

May I be forgiven for this archaeology, I recognise moreover that if we had something to ask of our first fathers of heroic and philosophical memory, it would not be to put us on the path of mechanical improvements; what we should take from them is their indomitable spirit of freedom, it is that feeling so profound and so clear of immortality and eternal perfectibility which inspired in them that sovereign contempt for death, of which the Greeks and Romans were astonished.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mécanique agricole

manque image

Cet ascenseur, une fois derrière nous, une plate-forme, située sur notre gauche, nous montre de belles machines agricoles. Des locomobiles, des semoirs à cheval, des moissonneuses. La vapeur et la grande mécanique introduites dans le travail des champs, quelle innovation immense! elle s’est tout entière accomplie de notre temps.

Je ne laisserai pas échapper cette occasion de revendiquer, pour nos ancêtres les Gaulois, la priorité des machines à moissonner. Un texte de Palladius, écrivain du cinquième siècle, prouve que cette priorité leur appartient. Un dessin qui traduit fidèlement le texte en question, nous montre une petite voiture formée d’une caisse ouverte par le haut et montée sur deux roues. Cette voiture est poussée par un bœuf attaché à barrière par son joug entre deux courts brancards, la tête tournée vers la caisse. A la suite du bœuf un Gaulois tenant de chaque main un levier plus long que ces brancards, fait varier à son gré l’inclinaison de la caisse qui à cet effet est montée à charnière sur le train. Les quatre côtés de cette caisse s’inclinent dehors, et celui de devant, moins élevé que les autres, est muni à son bord supérieur d’une rangée de dents en fer qui, à leur extrémité, se recourbent en arrière dans un plan horizontal.

Telle était la machine. Son fonctionnement se comprend. Sous l’impulsion du bœuf la moissonneuse pénétrait dans les champs, le bouvier réglant l’inclinaison de la caisse sur la hauteur du blé; d'abord les épis s’engageaient entre les dents, puis, le char continuant de s’avancer, ils se tassaient dans la concavité des crochets, et finalement détachés de là paille, ils tombaient et s’amoncelaient dans la voiture.

Palladius nous apprend que cette machine était en usage dans la partie des Gaules qui se trouve en plaine. «. Elle économise, disait-il, le travail des hommes, et par son moyen un seul bœuf en peut faire toute la moisson. En quelques heures, par quelques allées et venues la moisson est terminée. »

Qu’on me pardonne cette archéologie, je reconnais d’ailleurs que si nous avions quelque chose à demander à nos premiers pères d’héroïque et philosophique mémoire, ce ne serait pas de nous mettre sur la voie de perfectionnements mécaniques ; ce qu’il faudrait prendre d eux, c’est leur indomptable esprit de liberté, c’est ce sentiment si profond et si clair de l’immortalité et de la perfectibilité éternelle qui leur inspirait ce mépris souverain de la mort, dont les Grecs et les Romains s’étonnaient.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée