International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Printing

manque image

The equipment and processes of the spinning mill were followed by those of dyeing and printing of all kinds. It is with the help of these beautiful copper rollers that fabrics are printed; these are used to print postage stamps, and here are the machines with which all these cylinders are engraved: some with the wheel, others by guilloche, others with the pantograph, etc., because the processes are varied. This elegant little machine, which looks more like a physics apparatus than an industrial tool, reproduces on four steel plates and at four different scales the engraved plate that was given to it as a model; it is powered by electricity. Here are the machines used for printing wallpaper, a fine industry that has made much progress; there, those used for printing par excellence: typographic printing, intaglio printing, lithographic printing.

Among the former is the compositor of Mr. Flamm, which is based on a completely new principle; the latter show us the solution, so long sought after, of the mechanical printing of lithographic stones: this solution has put the invention of Senefelder in a position to compete, for the cheapness of the products, with that of the immortal Gutenberg. This is the machine that prints railway tickets; here are the instruments now adopted by commerce and industry for the automatic stamping and numbering of registers, shares, bills, letters, etc. Finally, here is the much more recent machine with the help of which anyone can, at a moment's notice, have his visiting card printed; an invention which can be of real service at a moment's notice, but whose products cannot compete, in terms of elegance, with those of engraving.

Typography and stationery are sisters. It is here that you can study the material of paper making. Once the paper is made, it is with the help of these numerous devices that it is shaped, prepared, embossed, adjusted, folded and cut, and there is a powerful knife that descends obliquely, cutting several superimposed reams at once, as clearly and as easily as the archal wire of the dairy cuts a lump of butter.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Impression

manque image

Au matériel et aux procédés de la filature ont succédé ceux delà teinture et de l’impression en tous genres. C’est à l’aide de ces beaux rouleaux en cuivre qu’on imprime les étoffes; ceux-ci servent à l’impression des timbres-poste, et voici les machines à l’aide desquelles on grave tous ces cylindres: les uns à la molette, d’autres par guillochage, d’autres au pantographe, etc., caries procédés sont variés. Cette élégante petite machine, qui a plutôt l’air d’un appareil de physique que d’un outil industriel reproduit sur quatre planches d’acier et à quatre échelles différentes la planche gravée qu’on lui a donnée pour modèle ; elle a l’électricité pour moteur. Ici sont les machines qui servent à l’impression des papiers peints, belle industrie qui a réalisé bien des progrès; là, celles qui servent à l’impression par excellence : impression typographique, impression en taille douce, impression lithographique.

Parmi les premiers, est le compositeur de M. Flamm, qui repose sur un principe tout nouveau ; les derniers nous montrent la solution, si longtemps cherchée, du tirage mécanique des pierres lithographiques: cette solution a mis l’invention de Senefelder en mesure de lutter, pour le bon marché des produits, avec celle de l’immortel Gutenberg. Ceci est la machine qui imprime les billets de chemins de fer; là, sont les instruments aujourd’hui adoptés par le commerce et par l’industrie pour le timbrage et le numérotage automatique, des registres, des actions, des factures, des lettres, etc... Voici enfin la machine beaucoup plus récente à laide de laquelle chacun peut, séance tenante, faire imprimer sa carte de visite ; invention qui peut rendre de véritables services dans un moment de presse, mais dont les produits ne sauraient lutter, pour l’élégance, avec ceux de la gravure.

Typographie et papeterie sont sœurs. C’est ici que vous pourrez étudier le matériel de la fabrication du papier. Le papier une fois fait, c’est à l’aide de ces nombreux appareils qu’on le façonne, qu’on l’apprête, qu’on le gaufre, qu’on le règle, qu’on le plie et qu’on le coupe, et il y a là un puissant couteau qui descendant obliquement, tranche à la fois plusieurs rames superposées, aussi nettement et aussi aisément que le fil d’archal de la fruitière coupe une motte de beurre.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée