International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Camel stables

Camel stables at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

What does this camel stable want from us? Do the camels have a shelter? They live in the open air, under the sun and under the stars, accustomed to all kinds of fatigue, carrying all kinds of burdens, stocking up on water in their goitre to cross the great anhydrous deserts, grazing on a few tough shoots of dwarf palm, or a few tufts of even tougher esparto grass.

Sober and indefatigable, the camel carries on the longest journeys without fail. It has been compared to a ship on a sea of sand. More useful than the mule, it has the same qualities and defects. Like the mule, it is hard to walk and to bear burdens, and it is annoying like the mule. It seems to protest eternally against the domination of man. He obeys by always resisting. He grunts to lie down: he grunts when he is unloaded, as well as when he is loaded. When he has protested in his own way, his conscience is clear, and he loves patience, his great virtue along with sobriety, to go where his driver leads him.

Stables! It is good for horses, these friends of man. The Arab horse lives in the tent, pampered by the family. His flanks sometimes bleed under the sharp spur of his rider, brutal even in his affections. But at least he has the tasty barley and the soft woolen blankets to quench the sweat of his long runs. As for the camel, it has nothing but ill-treatment; it was born, like the donkey and the mule, for an opposite destiny.

It is true that the constant bad temper of the camel is truly impatient and ends up annoying your nerves, I have seen, in a hot sun, and after a long walk, drivers, irritated by its persistent grumbling, pick up a handful of burning sand and throw it with fury into the gaping and beastly mouths of these poor exhausted animals. Nothing has ever made me more indignant and revolted. But what do you want? The camels themselves protested against me when I took their side.

It definitely took the Champ de Mars to improve the sociability of man and camel a little.

It has been said that the sounds of music have the power to calm the camel and make it obedient. I do not deny that the melancholy sounds of the Arabian chanter, purified by the wind, have a gentle and softening effect. But Arabic music, strictly speaking, has never calmed anyone, not even the camel; its monotonous rhythm, but irresistible in the long run, is rather made to kindle furious intoxication.

"Give barley and abuse" says the Arab in speaking of the horse, the Arab abuses the camel, and gives him nothing.

It is not so at the Champ de Mars, and for the vengeful affection that I bear for the victims, I am quite happy to see the camels take their revenge here, by monopolising for themselves all the honours of the reception.

Do not think, moreover, that the camel does not have certain compensations with regard to man, even in the desert: the first is to tire the mahout enormously who rides and oppresses him. Nothing is harder than the trot of a camel; to resist it, one needs more than a habit, - a grace of state. After having made the rough but short experience of it, I sincerely pitied the women who are hoisted on their backs in a sort of closed canopy, and who thus accompany in the longest races their master and lord, mounted on his horse. The horse, in Africa, is the privilege of the man; the camel, in the absence of a mule, is good enough to carry the woman.

The camel, properly speaking, has two humps: when it has only one, it is a dromedary. There are even two kinds of dromedaries, the carrying dromedary and the running dromedary; the latter is called mahari: it is recognised by its white coat. It is of the latter species that the hosts of the Champ de Mars and the Jardin d'Acclimatation are.

There are falcons in Algeria; and it is even for an Arab chief, as it was for a former Christian baron, a luxury to which he is very attached. But the messenger pigeon, of which the Chinese have made a living telegram, is unknown. In the absence of a pigeon, the mahari is used for messages. If you have an important order or secret to pass on at a long distance, or even a love affair, you need a messenger on camelback! The mahari sets off at its infernal trot, and does not stop until it has reached the end of its journey, sometimes fifty leagues from its starting point. I leave you to think in what state the one who rides him returns!

This is how camels take revenge for the services they are forced to render. In a word, they are always intractable; but they become quite unruly at the time of their love affairs.

I imagine, I don't know why, that the mahari of the Champ de Mars will always miss their native land, if they can no longer martyrize or enrage their drivers. Besides, in the midst of civilisation, as in the Sahara, they will continue to protest against the domination of man.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Écuries de chameaux

Écuries de chameaux à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Que nous veut cette écurie de chameaux? Est-ce que les chameaux ont un abri? Ils vivent en plein air, sous le soleil et sous les étoiles, habitués à toutes les fatigues, portant tous les fardeaux, faisant provision d’eau dans leur goitre pour traverser les grands déserts anhydres, broutant au passage quelques pousses coriaces de palmier nain, ou quelques touffes d'alfa plus coriaces encore.

Sobre et infatigable, le chameau fournit sans défaillance les plus longues courses. On l'a comparé à un navire sur une mer de sable. Plus utile que le mulet, il en a les qualités et les défauts. Comme lui, dur à la marche et aux fardeaux, il est contrariant comme lui. Il a l’air de protester éternellement contre la domination de l’homme. Il obéit en résistant toujours. Est-il debout? il grogne pour se coucher : il grogne quand on le décharge, aussi bien que quand on le charge. Quand il a protesté à sa manière, sa conscience est tranquille, et il s’aime de patience, sa grande vertu avec la sobriété, pour aller où son conducteur le guide.

Des écuries! c’est bon pour les chevaux, ces amis de l'homme. Le cheval arabe vit sous la tente, choyé par la famille. Ses flancs saignent parfois sous l’éperon aigu de son cavalier, brutal jusque dans ses affections. Mais du moins il a l’orge savoureuse et les souples couvertures de laine pour étancher les sueurs de ses longues courses. Quant au chameau, il n’a rien que les mauvais traitements; il est né, comme l’âne et le mulet, pour un destin contraire.

Il est vrai que la constante mauvaise humeur du chameau est véritablement impatientante et finit par vous agacer les nerfs, J'ai vu, par un soleil brûlant, et à la suite d'une longue marche, des conducteurs, irrités par ses grognements persistants, ramasser une poignée de sable brûlant et la jeter avec fureur dans la gueule béante et bête de ces pauvres animaux exténués. Rien ne m’a jamais plus indigné et révolté. Mais que voulez-vous? Les chameaux eux-mêmes protestaient contre moi, quand je prenais leur parti.

Il a décidément fallu le Champ de Mars pour amiéliorer un peu la sociabilité de l’homme et du chameau.

On a dit que les sons de la musique avaient le pouvoir de calmer le chameau et de le rendre obéissant. Je ne nie pas que les sons mélancoliques du chalumeau arabe, épurés par le vent, n’aient un effet doux et amollissant. Mais la musique arabe, proprement dite, n’a jamais calmé personne, même le chameau ; son rythme monotone, mais irrésistible à la longue, est plutôt fait pour allumer les ivresses furieuses.

« Donne de l’orge et abuse » dit l’Arabe en parlant du cheval, L’Arabe abuse du chameau, et ne lui donne rien.

Il n’en est pas ainsi au Champ de Mars et pour l’affection vengeresse que je porte aux victimes, je suis bien aise de voir ici les chameaux prendre leur revanche, en accaparant pour eux tous les honneurs de la réception.

Ne croyez pas, d’ailleurs, que le chameau n'ait pas, vis-à-vis de l’homme, certaines compensations, même au désert : la première, c’est de fatiguer énormément le cornac qui le monte et l’opprime. Rien n’est plus dur que le trot d’un chameau; il faut, pour y résister, plus qu’une habitude, — une grâce d’état. Après en avoir fait la rude mais courte expérience, je plaignais sincèrement les femmes qu’on huche sur son dos dans une sorte de baldaquin fermé, et qui accompagnent ainsi dans les plus longues courses leur maître et seigneur, monté sur son cheval. Le cheval, en Afrique, est le privilège de l'homme; le chameau, à défaut de mulet, est assez bon pour porter la femme.

Lee chameau, proprement dit, a deux bosses : lorsqu’il n’en a qu’une, c’est un dromadaire. Il y a même deux sortes de dromadaires , le dromadaire porteur et le dromadaire coureur; celui-ci se nomme mahari: on le reconnaît à son pelage blanc. C’est de cette dernière espèce que sont les hôtes du Champ de Mars et du Jardin d’acclimatation.

On a des faucons en Algérie; et c’est même pour un chef arabe, comme c’était pour un ancien baron chrétien, un luxe auquel il tient beaucoup. Mais on n’y connaît pas le pigeon messager, dont les Chinois ont fait un télégramme vivant. A défaut de pigeon, on se sert du mahari pour les messages. A-t-on un ordre ou un secret d’importance à transmettre à longue distance, ou même une confidence amoureuse : vite un messager à dos de chameau! Le mahari part de son trot infernal, et ne s’arrête plus qu’il ne soit arrivé à la fin de sa course, quelquefois à cinquante lieues de son point de départ. Je vous laisse à penser dans quel état revient celui qui le monte !

C’est ainsi que les chameaux se vengent des services qu’on les oblige à rendre. En un mot, ils sont toujours intraitables; mais ils deviennent tout à fait indisciplinables au temps de leurs amours.

Je me figure, je ne sais pourquoi, que les mahari du Champ de Mars, regretteront toujours le pays natal, s’ils ne peuvent plus martyriser ou faire enrager leurs conducteurs. Du reste, en pleine civilisation, comme dans le Sahara, ils continueront à protester contre la domination de l’homme.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée