International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Quai d'Orsay Bridge

Quai d'Orsay Bridge at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

An incline which starts from the circular alley of the lighthouse, and reaches the bank of the Seine, connects the Park of the Universal Exhibition with the quays of arrival of the steamships.

As nothing is useless at an Exhibition, care was taken to use the bridge, which does not interrupt traffic on the Quai d'Orsay, for the special exhibition of a new system.

We are a long way from the primitive footbridges made of a tree trunk thrown over a river; and if the construction of bridges has made immense progress in recent times, either from the mechanical point of view or from the point of view of economy, it is to the multiplication of railways that we owe the achievement.

The heaviest loads, the most daring arches, the greatest distances, are supported, thrown, crossed, with an ease which astonishes our mind if only observation and calculation make us meditate for a moment on the difficulties to be overcome. The gigantic strides of these metallic arches thrown over space, with a boldness that must not exclude solidity, form a whole scientific poem whose solution belongs to engineers and builders.

It is impossible to imagine the precautions and prudence that govern the experiments to which a newly built bridge is subjected.

When the Quai d'Orsay bridge was completed, the engineers of the Ponts et Chaussées, Messrs Buffet and Foulard, with the assistance of Mr Cheysson, themselves presided over the following experiments: A first load of 500 kilograms per square metre of the deck forming the surface of the bridge was imposed; this constituted a total weight of 200,000 kilograms.

The calculations predicted a regular and predictable deflection, and the experiment justified the predictions.

After this first test, two single-axle cars with a load of 12,000 kilograms and five horses were driven over the bridge.
No deformation occurred. The bridge was crossed abreast, in the opposite direction, crosswise and in a straight line, by this same team, and the thirty devices placed to measure the lowering and raising of the bridge did not indicate a variation of more than seven millimetres at each of the points observed.
Everything was favourable to solidity, and from that moment on the bridge was given over to the circulation of cars of all loads and all types of carriages.

These kinds of experiments have something solemn about them, when one thinks that on their deductions depends the life of a certain number of men who will cross this daily crowded passage, and one cannot help admiring without reserve, the intelligent solicitude which watches over the safety of public roads in the name of science.

It is not enough to build a bridge in the desirable conditions of permanence and solidity; the multiplication of transport routes, and the enormous expenses with which they burden the budgets of companies, cities, and States, demanded an economic solution of indisputable importance.

Here we enter into the details of the special merits of the exposed bridge.

Cast iron and iron have hitherto been used almost alone, either in competition with stone or in competition with wood, to build bridges for different purposes.

A new metal is being used here for the first time: Bessmer steel.

The use of this metal has a higher safety factor than iron and cast iron. The ratio between the breaking loads of these two metals is as high as six to ten; long-span structures are therefore possible, and the reduction or elimination of support points in the middle of the obstacles to be crossed is already a significant saving.

The span of the exposed bridge is 25 metres over a width of 21 metres between railings.
All the truss arches are made of Bessmer metal; the bridge itself is made of the arch type with lattice spandrels, which have considerable advantages from a construction point of view.

They provide the possibility of distributing the load due to the deck on all points of the span arches with proportional and mathematical equality. One does not need to be an engineer to understand that the weight of a load, concentrated by a constructional defect on any one point, presents a serious danger, whereas a distribution on all the supporting points reduces the general weight and divides the effects of deflection.

In mechanics as in politics, the motto adopted by Catherine of Russia is true: Divide ut impera: Divide if you want to win.

Simplifying the construction elements, and reducing the loads to a span of proven solidity guaranteed by the nature of the metal itself, in addition to obtaining a notable economy in the execution, such is the intrinsic merit of the Quai d'Orsay bridge.

Science in positive calculations always aims more at the useful than the pleasant. For us, who would like art to be fraternally and in all circumstances allied to science, we have examined this bridge, whose mechanical qualities are now known to us, from the point of view of form.

We would perhaps have wished that the monotony of the straight line which exclusively composes the top of the triangles with curvilinear bases situated on the vertical facades of the right and left of the bridge, had been broken up a little by some ornaments, intended to render its general aspect less severe and less acute to the eye.

However, the latticed spandrels are less harsh in design than some of the fittings used, for example the T-irons, and in the end give an almost original character to the whole construction itself. Finally, if the artistic charm is not the dominant point of this remarkable bridge, we hasten to add that its serious and practical qualities have earned it our full attention and that we make it our duty to acknowledge them by pointing them out.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pont du Quai d'Orsay

Pont du Quai d'Orsay à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Un vallonnement qui part de l’allée circulaire du phare, et va atteindre la berge de la Seine, met en communication le Parc de l’Exposition universelle avec les quais d’arrivages des bateaux à vapeur.

Comme rien n’est inutile dans une Exposition, on a eu soin de faire servir le pont qui permet de ne pas interrompre la circulation sur le quai d’Orsay à l’exhibition spéciale d’un système nouveau.

Nous sommes bien loin aujourd’hui des passerelles primitives faites d’un tronc d’arbre jeté sur une rivière; et si la construction des ponts a fait dans ce dernier temps, soit au point de vue mécanique, soit au point de vue de l’économie, d’immenses progrès, c’est à la multiplication de voies ferrées que nous en devons la réalisation.

Les charges les plus lourdes, les arches les plus hardies, les distances les plus grandes, sont supportées, jetées, franchies, avec une aisance qui étonne notre esprit pour peu que l’observation et le calcul nous fassent méditer un moment sur les difficultés à vaincre. Les enjambées gigantesques de ces arcs métalliques jetés sur l’espace, avec une hardiesse qui ne doit en rien exclure la solidité, forment tout un poème scientifique dont la solution appartient aux ingénieurs et aux constructeurs.

On ne saurait se faire une idée des précautions et de la prudence qui président aux expériences, auxquelles est soumis un pont nouvellement construit.

Quand le pont du quai d’Orsay a été terminé, les ingénieurs des ponts et chaussées, MM. Buffet et Foulard avec le concours de M. Cheysson, ont présidé eux-mêmes aux expériences suivantes : Une première charge de 500 kilogrammes par mètre carré du tablier formant la surface du pont a été imposée; elle constituait un poids total de 200 000 kilogrammes.

Les calculs faisaient prévoir un fléchissement régulier et apprécié d’avance, l’expérience a justifié les prévisions.

Après cette première épreuve, on a fait passer sur le pont deux voitures à un seul essieu, portant une charge de 12 000 kilogrammes et attelées de cinq chevaux.
Aucune déformation ne s’est produite. Le pont a été franchi de front, en sens contraire, en travers et en ligne droite, par ce même attelage, et les trente appareils placés pour mesurer les abaissements et les relèvements n’ont pas indiqué sur chacun des points observés une variation supérieure à sept millimètres.
Tout était favorable à la solidité, et dès ce moment le pont fut livré à la circulation des voitures de toutes charges et de tout attelage.

Ces genres d’expériences ont quelque chose de solennel, quand on pense que de leurs déductions dépend la vie d’un certain nombre d'hommes qui franchiront ce passage journellement encombré, et on ne peut s’empêcher d'admirer sans réserve, l’intelligente sollicitude qui veille au nom de la science à la sécurité des voies publiques.

Ce n’est pas tout que de construire un pont dans les conditions de permanence et de solidité désirable; la multiplication de voies de transport, et les dépenses énormes dont elles chargent les budgets des compagnies, des villes, des États, réclamaient une solution économique d’une importance indiscutable.

Ici nous entrons dans le détail des mérites spéciaux du pont exposé.

La fonte et le fer avaient été jusqu’à présent employés presque seuls, soit en concours avec la pierre, soit en concours avec le bois pour construire les ponts destinés à différents usages.

Un métal nouveau est ici appliqué pour la première fois ; c’est l'acier de Bessmer.

L’emploi de ce métal présente un coefficient de sécurité plus élevé que celui du fer et de la fonte. En effet, le rapport entre les charges de rupture de ces deux métaux est comme six est à dix ; les ouvrages à longue portée deviennent dès lors possibles et la réduction ou la suppression des points d’appui au milieu des obstacles à franchir réalise déjà une notable économie.

La portée du pont exposé est de 25 mètres sur une largeur de 21 mètres entre garde-corps.
Tous les arcs de ferme sont en métal de Bessmer; le pont lui-même est composé dans le type en arc avec des tympans en treillis, dont les avantages sont considérables au point de vue de la construction.

Ils fournissent la possibilité de répartir avec une égalité proportionnelle et mathématique la charge due au tablier sur tous les points des arcs de portée. Il n’est pas besoin d’être ingénieur pour comprendre que le poids d’une charge, concentré par un vice de construction sur un point quelconque, présente un danger sérieux, tandis qu’une répartition sur tous les points de soutènement diminue d’autant le poids général et divise les effets de fléchissement.

En mécanique comme en politique, la devise adoptée par Catherine de Russie est vraie : Divide ut impera : Divise si tu veux vaincre.

Simplifier les éléments de construction, et ramener les charges sur une portée d’une solidité éprouvée et garantie par la nature du métal lui-même, en outre, obtenir une économie notable dans l’exécution, tel est le mérite intrinsèque du pont du quai d’Orsay.

La science dans les calculs positifs vise toujours plus à l’utile qu’à l’agréable. Pour nous, qui voudrions que l’art fût fraternellement et en toute circonstance allié à la science, nous avons examiné au point de vue de la forme ce pont dont les qualités mécaniques nous sont maintenant connues.

Nous aurions peut-être désiré que la monotonie de la ligne droite qui compose exclusivement le sommet des triangles à bases curvilignes situés sur les façades verticales de droite et de gauche du pont, fût un peu rompue par quelques ornements, destinés à rendre moins sévère et moins aigu à l’œil son aspect général.

Cependant les tympans à treillis sont moins rudes de dessin que certains modes d’ajustage employés, par exemple les fers à T, et finissent en somme par donner un caractère presque original à toute la construction elle-même. Enfin, si le charme artistique n’est pas le point dominant de ce pont remarquable, nous nous hâtons d’ajouter que ses qualités sérieuses et pratiques lui ont mérité toute notre attention et que nous nous faisons un devoir de les reconnaître en les signalant.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée