International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Billancourt Exhibition

Billancourt Exhibition at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The island of Billancourt, whose general appearance we are giving today, was originally intended by the Imperial Commission to serve as an experimental field for the agricultural machines exhibited at the Champ de Mars.

Later, in the presence of complaints from a large number of machine builders and animal breeders who, due to the small space reserved for the agricultural classes, could not be admitted to the Champ de Mars, it was decided that an agricultural annex would be established on the island of Billancourt. This decision was welcomed with eagerness by the public, and, as will be seen from this short description, the number and nature of the requests made it possible to establish a complete agricultural exhibition there.

The island of Billancourt, which covers about 23 hectares, is situated a kilometre and a half downstream from Paris, in a charming situation, and, for the beauty of its site, it can compete advantageously with Saint-Cloud, Saint-Germain and Bougival, which are the rendezvous of the population of Paris during the summer. Its approaches are the easiest, for it is crossed by a road and connected to the mainland by two bridges of remarkable construction.

The agricultural exhibition is thus divided into two parts by the road we have just mentioned; but one can easily communicate from one to the other by passages which have been reserved under the bridges.

On entering through the main gate, one is struck at first by the appearance of the experimental field, a vast area entirely free for the testing of agricultural machinery, and which is made available to the exhibitors so that they can operate their instruments in front of the public. This part of the island will therefore usually be animated by the carriages which will set in motion the ploughs, harrows, rollers, seeders and other machines which give the land all the manners it may require. This part of the exhibition will be of the greatest interest to the serious purchaser who wishes to see an implement in operation before purchasing it, and to the ordinary public who are anxious to see agricultural processes; it will be the application of an idea which has often been put forward, but which has not hitherto been realised in exhibitions of this nature.

Before arriving at the experimental field, and following the road which goes round this part of the island in which we are, we have on the left an exhibition of arboriculture; the shrubs which compose it have been arranged in clumps in the middle of a garden which goes as far as the Seine, which is very well designed and which contains a remarkable collection of statues and cast-iron vases suitable for the ornamentation of parks.

To the right is an exhibition of viticulture, containing specimens of the various methods of vine cultivation in the main wine-producing centres. Next to it, and very close to the place where they are to be used, is a vast collection of implements intended mainly for the preparation of the soil; finally, as we approach the end of the island, we find an area of land devoted to an exhibition of typical crops; these are small fields cultivated according to the most advanced methods. This exhibition can only be appreciated by those who are experts in these matters; but the names of Messrs. Decrombecque, Vallerand, Harry, Brigon, Vilmorin, etc., who have undertaken there a practical demonstration of their systems, are an indication of the interest which will be attached to it.

Before leaving the place we have just described, we must at least mention the interesting processes for growing hops and tobacco, which are installed there, the numerous fencing systems, and some installations of hydraulic apparatus, which have been placed at the water's edge.

We now pass a rustic building which serves as an office, and take the footbridge under the road to the part of the island which is situated above the bridge. Although it is much smaller than the previous one, it is nevertheless of much greater interest, since it contains almost all the agricultural machinery, and the stables in which the animal exhibitions take place.

It can be said that in this place are gathered all the instruments which, in the various regions, can be used for the cultivation of the soil and the exploitation of its products. - With the exception of a small portion of land reserved for a fruit-growing exhibition, and with the exception of that reserved for the alleys, the ground is entirely covered with instruments. Some of them, which do not have to fear bad weather, and which are mainly intended for manoeuvring in the fields, are arranged in the open air; the others, which must be used for the preparation of cattle feed, for threshing grain, etc., and which are usually used on farms, are arranged under sheds of elegant and light construction. This part of the Exhibition is most complete and contains some admirable instruments. The English exhibitors, who occupy a considerable area, have brought here the powerful machines of which English agriculture has so far been the only one to take advantage, and among these are the steam ploughs of Fowler and Howard, the threshing machines of Ransomes, Clayton, etc.

In general, English manufacturers are noted for the precision and care they take in the execution of their machines and in the details of their manufacture. Their machines are polished, painted, varnished, they have a coquettish aspect which pleases the eye, and which one does not find in the machines of French manufacture, which offer a greater appearance of rusticity.

Our aim is not to indicate the superiority of one or the other, but we must say in favour of the French exhibitors that, having brought their machines with the aim of making them work, they did not think it necessary to decorate them as if they had to exhibit them as shelves or trophies, as is generally the case at exhibitions. In short, next to the English exhibitions of Messrs. Howard Clayton and Shuttleworth, Fowler, Garett, Ransomes, etc., the French exhibitions of Messrs. Pinet, Peltier, Gérard, Protte, Paulvé, Millot, etc., are very good.

The viticulture exhibition, which we mentioned earlier, is completed by an exhibition of ploughs, vineyard harrows and, in general, of all the instruments used to cultivate the vine.

A large number of wine presses of different models arranged at the end of the first shed form an interesting ensemble and show the different processes of wine extraction; it can thus be said that viticulture, one of the most important branches of French agriculture, is represented here in all its details.

By the very fact of its location on an island, the Exhibition had to offer convenient sites for the establishment of hydraulic machines and to enable them to function easily. A vast platform on the bank of the great arm of the Seine is covered with norias, irrigation pumps, slurry pumps and in general machines of a specially agricultural character. M. Thiébaut, whose name is famous as a pump manufacturer, stands out in this place by the importance of his exhibition.

If the costs of establishment had not been so considerable, or if, as compensation, the administration had been able to exempt from ordinary duties the spirits, beers and other products which would have been manufactured within the enclosure of the exhibition, a certain number of manufacturers would have willingly established specimens of agricultural factories, such as breweries, distilleries, sugar factories, oil mills, etc., which are now established in such large numbers on even the most mediocre farms. This is now an almost indispensable complement to any well-run agricultural operation, since by starting with flour, beetroot, oilseeds and, in general, foodstuffs intended for animal feed, meat can be produced more cheaply. It is therefore unfortunate that it was not possible to bring together in the agricultural exhibition all the specimens of these very useful industries, and that this part, which would have been so interesting, was limited to a starch factory and a distillery for small farms.

At the end of the exhibition and on the water's edge rise four pretty buildings of rustic construction and picturesque effect; they have a country air which perfectly suits the character of the exhibition. They are well ventilated, a great number of doors have been provided, the clearances are easy, they contain each one about fifty stalls; finally they can be given as models of stables for agricultural competitions; it is the opinion which the Emperor emitted when he saw them for the first time. It is here that the animal exhibitions are held, which must continue until October.

It is here that for six months the most beautiful samples of our different species of domestic animals will follow one another. Dairy or working cattle breeds, meat or wool sheep breeds, luxury and working horses, farmyard animals, dogs, etc., etc., will find their place in turn.

Each exhibition will last ten to twelve days and will end with the sale of a certain number of the animals exhibited.

Thus, crops, instruments, animals, that is to say everything that constitutes agriculture, is more or less widely represented at Billancourt; it is a complete ensemble where everyone can learn and where the most learned can learn. This annex of the Universal Exhibition will certainly be much appreciated when the heat comes, when one feels the need to leave the dust of the tarmac and the radiance of the asphalt for the greenery, the shade and the coolness of the water that one is used to finding in the vicinity of Paris; From this point of view, the Billancourt agricultural exhibition will have a superiority over all the places where the public is accustomed to go, since in addition to the attraction of an interesting exhibition, useful to know and whose composition will be partly renewed every fortnight, it will have the advantage of offering all the types of establishments that the public looks for, as indispensable to the success of a game of pleasure. We would not be complete in our description if we did not speak of the restaurants which are almost completed and of which one in particular, already open to the public, offers from its terrace one of the most beautiful views that can be imagined; On one side, the eye can see the whole of Paris with the magnificent bridge of the Point-du-Jour in the foreground, and on the other side, the Bois de Boulogne, the hills of Bas-Meudon, Sèvres, Saint-Cloud, on which the magnificent villas built there stand out, Diogenes' lantern, the palaces of Saint-Cloud etc. , and finally the entire course of the Seine, which is continually criss-crossed by numerous boats.

The road which crosses the island is lined with two rows of shops where everything useful and amusing will be sold and where games of all kinds will be established which are one of the elements of the success of the country festivals. A large number of other small shops scattered along the main roads will contribute to the gaiety of all parts of the exhibition. Finally, almost every Sunday, regattas will take place in front of the banks, which will then certainly be too small to contain the number of curious people that this spectacle brings, which has from day to day and to a greater degree the gift of interesting the Parisian public.

Lastly, we must mention the installation of a photographic workshop which will give exhibitors the possibility of having their instruments or animals reproduced.

It is not useless, before concluding, to indicate to our readers what are the means of going to Billancourt, it is the best service that we can render them; because one is always embarrassed on this subject when one is not accustomed to go to a point. The most convenient way is to take the ring railway which leaves every half hour and whose station at Point-du-Jour is about 1500 metres from the exhibition. Soon it will even reach the exhibition itself by a branch line which is now being completed. The Meudon station, which overlooks the island of Billancourt, is a second means of accessing it by rail. Then there are the steamers which leave every hour from the Champ de Mars, and which will provide a more frequent service when the season brings a greater number of visitors to Billancourt. Finally, there are the American omnibuses from Sèvres and Saint-Cloud which drop off travellers about 400 metres from the island. These various means of communication are more than sufficient to meet all requirements, and the eagerness of the public to go to the agricultural exhibition will justify the nickname given to Billancourt, the country house of the Exhibition.

We have only wanted to give a general idea of the agricultural exhibition today; we intend to give a detailed description of it one day, and a special issue will be devoted to the examination of the instruments and animals which will have won the main awards.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition de Billancourt

Exposition de Billancourt à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’île de Billancourt dont nous donnons aujourd’hui l’aspect général avait été primitivement destinée par la Commission impériale à servir de champ d’expérience aux machines agricoles exposées au Champ de Mars.

Dans la suite, en présence des réclamations d’un grand nombre de constructeurs de machines et d’éleveurs d’animaux, qui, vu l’exiguïté de l’espace réservé aux classes de l’agriculture n’avaient pu être admis dans le Champ de Mars, il fut décidé qu’une annexe agricole serait établie dans l’île de Billancourt. Cette décision fut accueillie avec empressement par le public, et, ainsi que l’on pourra en juger par cette courte description, le nombre et la nature des demandes permirent d’y établir une exposition d’agriculture complète.

L’île de Billancourt, d’une contenance d’environ 23 hectares, est située à un kilomètre et demi en aval de Paris, dans une situation charmante, et, pour la beauté de son site, elle peut lutter avantageusement avec Saint-Cloud, Saint-Germain, Bougival, qui sont pendant l’été le rendez-vous de la population de Paris. Ses abords sont des plus faciles, car elle est traversée par une route et reliée à la terre ferme par deux ponts d’une construction remarquable.

L’exposition agricole est donc divisée en deux parties par la route dont nous venons de parler; mais on peut facilement communiquer de l’une à l'autre par des passages qui ont été réservés sous les ponts.

En entrant par la porte principale, on est frappé au premier abord par l’aspect du champ d’expérience, vaste surface entièrement libre, destinée aux essais des machines agricoles, et qui est mise à la disposition des exposants afin qu’ils puissent faire fonctionner leurs instruments devant le public. Cet endroit de l’île sera donc ordinairement animé par les attelages qui mettront en mouvement les charrues, herses, rouleaux, semoirs et autres engins qui donnent à la terre toutes les façons qu’elle peut exiger. Cette partie de l’exposition offrira le plus grand intérêt pour les acheteurs sérieux qui désirent voir fonctionner un instrument avant d’en faire l’acquisition, et pour le public ordinaire qui ne demande qu’à se rendre compte des procédés agricoles; ce sera l’application d’une idée qui avait été souvent mise en avant; mais qui n’avait pu être réalisée jusqu’ici dans les expositions de cette nature.

Avant d’arriver au champ d’expérience et en suivant la route qui fait le tour de cette partie de l’île dans laquelle nous nous trouvons, nous avons à gauche une exposition d’arboriculture; les arbustes qui la composent ont été disposés en massifs au milieu d’un jardin qui va jusqu’à la Seine, qui est fort bien dessiné et qui renferme une remarquable collection de statues et de vases en fonte propres à l’ornementation des parcs.

A droite une exposition de viticulture renferme des spécimens des différents procédés de culture de la vigne dans les principaux centres de production du vin. A côté, et tout près de l’endroit où ils doivent fonctionner, se trouve rangée une vaste collection des instruments qui sont surtout destinés à la préparation du sol; enfin, en approchant de l’extrémité de l'île, nous trouvons une surface de terrain consacrée à une exposition de cultures types; ce sont de petits champs cultivés suivant les méthodes les plus perfectionnées. Cette exposition ne pourra être appréciée que par les personnes expertes en ces matières; mais les noms de MM. Decrombecque, Vallerand, Harry, Brigon, Vilmorin, etc., qui ont entrepris là une démonstration pratique de leurs systèmes répondent de l’intérêt qui s’y attachera.

Avant de quitter l’endroit dont nous venons de faire la description, nous devons au moins mentionner les intéressants procédés de culture du houblon, du tabac, qui y sont installés, les nombreux systèmes de clôture, quelques installations d’appareils hydrauliques, qui ont été placés au bord de l’eau.

Passons maintenant devant une construction rustique qui sert de bureau, et arrivons en prenant la passerelle ménagée sous la route dans la partie de l’île qui est située en amont du pont. Bien qu’elle soit beaucoup plus petite que la précédente, elle offre cependant un intérêt beaucoup plus considérable, puisqu’elle renferme presque toutes les machines agricoles, et les étables dans lesquelles ont lieu les expositions d’animaux.

On peut dire qu’en cet endroit sont réunis tous les instruments qui, dans les différentes régions, peuvent servir à la culture du sol et à l’exploitation de ses produits. — Sauf une petite portion de terrain réservée à une exposition d’arboriculture fruitière, et à l’exception de celui qui est réservé aux allées, le sol est entièrement couvert d’instruments. Les uns, qui n’ont pas à craindre les intempéries, et qui sont surtout destinés à manœuvrer dans' les champs, sont rangés en plein air; les autres, qui doivent servir à la préparation des aliments du bétail, au battage des grains, etc., et qui fonctionnent ordinairement dans les fermes, sont disposés sous des hangars d’une construction élégante et légère. Cette partie de l'Exposition est des plus complètes et renferme des instruments admirables. Les exposants anglais, qui occupent une superficie considérable, ont amené là les puissantes machines dont l'agriculture anglaise a pour ainsi dire seule su tirer parti jusqu’à ce jour, et, dans ce nombre, il faut citer les charrues à vapeur de Fowler et de Howard, les machines à battre de Ransomes, de Clayton, etc.

En général, les fabricants anglais se font remarquer par la précision et le soin qu’ils mettent dans l’exécution de leurs machines et dans les détails de leur fabrication. Leurs machines sont polies, peintes, vernies, elles ont un aspect coquet qui réjouit l’œil, et que l’on ne retrouve pas dans les machines de fabrication française, qui offrent une apparence plus grande de rusticité.

Notre but n’est pas d’indiquer la supériorité des unes ou des autres, nous devons cependant dire en faveur des exposants français, qu’ayant amené leurs machines dans le but de les faire fonctionner, ils n’ont pas cru devoir les décorer comme s’ils avaient dû les exposer en étagères ou en trophées comme cela a lieu généralement dans les expositions. En somme, à côté des expositions anglaises de MM. Howard Clayton et Shuttleworth, Fowler, Garett, Ransomes, etc., les expositions françaises de MM. Pinet, Peltier, Gérard, Protte, Paulvé, Millot, etc., font très-bonne figure.

L’exposition de viticulture, dont nous avons parlé tout à l’heure, est complétée par une exposition de charrues, de herses vigneronne, et en général de tous les instruments destinés à cultiver la vigne.

Un grand nombre de pressoirs de différents modèles rangés à l’extrémité du premier hangar forment un ensemble intéressant et montrent les différents procédés d’extraction du vin; on peut donc dire que la viticulture, l’une des branches les plus importantes de l’agriculture française est ici représentée dans tous ses détails.

Par le fait même de sa situation dans une île, l’Exposition devait offrir des emplacements commodes pour l’établissement des machines hydrauliques et propres à leur permettre de fonctionner facilement. Une vaste plate-forte sur la berge du grand bras de la Seine est couverte de norias, de pompes d’irrigation, de pompes à purin et en général de machines qui offrent un caractère spécialement agricole. M. Thiébaut, dont le nom est célèbre comme fabricant de pompes, se fait remarquer en cet endroit par l’importance de son exposition.

Si les frais d’établissement n’avaient été aussi considérables, ou si comme compensation l’administration avait pu dégrever des droits ordinaires, les alcools, bières et autres produits qui auraient été fabriqués dans l’enceinte de l’exposition, un certain nombre de constructeurs eussent volontiers établi des spécimens d'usines agricoles, telles que brasseries, distilleries, sucreries, moulins à huile, etc., que l’on établit aujourd’hui en si grand nombre dans les fermes même de médiocre importance. C’est en effet maintenant un complément presque indispensable de toute exploitations agricole bien dirigée, puisque en commençant par tirer parti de la farine, de la betterave, des graines oléagineuses, et en général des matières alimentaires destinées à nourrir les animaux, on arrive à produire la viande à meilleur marché. Il est donc fâcheux que l’on n’ait pas pu réunir dans l’exposition agricole, tous les spécimens de ces industries si utiles, et que cette partie qui eût été si intéressante se borne à une féculerie et à une distillerie pour petites exploitations.

Au bout de l’exposition et sur le bord de l’eau s’élèvent quatre jolis bâtiments d’une construction rustique et d’un effet pittoresque; ils ont un air champêtre qui s’adapte parfaitement au caractère de l’exposition. Ils sont bien aérés, un grand nombre de portes y ont été ménagées, les dégagements y sont faciles, ils renferment chacun cinquante stalles environ ; enfin ils peuvent être donnés comme des modèles d’étables pour les concours agricoles ; c’est l’opinion que l’Empereur a émise lorsqu’il les a vues pour la première fois. C’est là que se tiennent les expositions d’animaux qui doivent se continuer jusqu’au mois d’octobre.

C’est là que pendant six mois vont se succéder les plus beaux échantillons de nos différentes espèces d’animaux domestiques. Les races bovines laitières ou de travail, les races ovines à viande ou à laine, les chevaux de luxe et de travail, les animaux de basse-cour, les chiens, etc., etc., y trouveront place tour à tour.

Chaque exposition durera dix à douze jours sera terminée par la vente d’un certain ombre des animaux exposés.

Ainsi donc, cultures, instruments, animaux, c’est-à-dire tout ce qui constitue l'agriculture, est plus ou moins largement représenté à Billancourt ; c’est un ensemble complet où tout le monde peut s’instruire et où les plus savants peuvent apprendre. Cette annexe de l’Exposition universelle sera certainement très-appréciée lorsque viendront les chaleurs, lorsque l’on éprouvera le besoin de quitter la poussière du macadam et le rayonnement de l’asphalte pour la verdure, l’ombre et la fraîcheur de l’eau que l’on est habitué à trouver aux environs de Paris ; à ce point de vue l’exposition agricole de Billancourt aura une supériorité sur tous les endroits où le public a l’habitude de se diriger, puisqu’à l’attrait d’une exposition intéressante, utile à connaître et dont la composition se renouvellera en partie chaque quinzaine, elle aura l’avantage d’offrir tous les genres d’établissements que le public recherche, comme indispensables au succès d’une partie de plaisir. Aussi nous ne serions pas complet dans notre description, si nous ne parlions des restaurants qui sont presque achevés et dont un notamment, déjà ouvert au public, offre de sa terrasse une des plus belles vues qui se puissent imaginer; l’œil embrasse d’un côté l’ensemble de Paris avec le magnifique pont du Point-du-Jour au premier plan, et de l’autre côté, le bois de Boulogne, les coteaux du Bas-Meudon, de Sèvres, de Saint-Cloud sur lesquels se détachent les magnifiques villas qui y sont construites, la lanterne de Diogène, les palais de Saint-Cloud etc., et enfin tout le cours de la Seine continuellement sillonnée de nombreuses embarcations.

La route qui traverse l’île est bordée de deux rangées de boutiques où l’on vendra tout ce qui peut être utile et amusant et où seront établis les jeux de toutes sortes qui sont un des éléments du succès des fêtes champêtres. Un grand nombre d’autres petites boutiques éparses le long des chemins principaux contribueront à jeter de la gaieté dans toutes les parties de l’exposition. Enfin, presque tous les dimanches, des régates auront lieu devant les berges, qui seront alors certainement trop petites pour contenir le nombre des curieux qu’amène ce spectacle, qui a de jour en jour et à un plus haut degré le don d'intéresser le public parisien.

Nous devons en dernier lieu signaler l’installation d’un atelier photographique qui donnera aux exposants la faculté de faire reproduire leurs instruments ou leurs animaux.

Il n’est pas inutile, avant de terminer, d’indiquer à nos lecteurs quels sont les moyens de se rendre à Billancourt, c’est le meilleur service que nous puissions leur rendre; car on est toujours embarrassé à ce sujet quand on n’a pas l’habitude de se rendre sur un point. Le moyen le plus commode, est de prendre le chemin de fer de ceinture qui part chaque demi-heure et dont la station du Point-du-Jour est à une distance d’environ 1500 mètres de l’exposition. Bientôt même, il se rendra, par un embranchement que l’on termine en ce moment, jusqu’à l’exposition elle-même. La station de Meudon qui domine l’île de Billancourt est un second moyen d’y accéder par les voies ferrées. Il y a ensuite les bateaux à vapeur qui partent toutes; les heures du Champ de Mars, et qui feront un service plus fréquent quand la saison amènera à Billancourt un plus grand nombre de visiteurs. Il y a enfin les omnibus américains de Sèvres et de Saint-Cloud qui déposent les voyageurs à environ 400 mètres de l’île. Ces différents moyens de communication sont plus que suffisants pour répondre à toutes les exigences, et l’empressement du public à se rendre à l’exposition agricole justifiera le surnom que l’on a donné à Billancourt, de maison de campagne de l’Exposition.

Nous n’avons voulu donner aujourd’hui qu’une idée générale de l'exposition agricole; nous comptons en donner un jour une description détaillée, et une livraison spéciale sera consacrée à l’examen des instruments et des animaux qui auront obtenu les principales récompenses.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée