International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Workers' restaurant

Workers' restaurant at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

In 1862, a happy thought caused some delegates of the workers of Paris and Lyons to be sent to the London Exhibition, appointed by the vote of their comrades. As soon as the programme of the Exhibition of 1867 was known, where a whole group, Group X, was charged with studying everything connected with the material, moral and intellectual improvement of the population, workers from all over Europe thought of taking advantage of this solemn occasion to come and study on the spot the social questions which interested them most.

Already the meeting of the offices of the 10th group had collected the elements of the survey of labour in the principal industrial establishments of Europe, a work to which the author of these lines is pleased to have contributed, when a decree appointed a special high jury for the new order of awards, and a ministerial decree convened a Commission for the encouragement of workers' studies.

This Commission, presided over by the Honourable M. Devinck, was charged with convening a special high jury for the new order of awards. This Commission, presided over by the Honourable M. Devinck, was charged with convening the workers of the whole of France for the election of their delegates to the Exhibition, and with providing for their accommodation and food in the best possible conditions, at the same time as assisting in their studies the delegates who had recourse to its good offices. The remarkable thing about this administratively appointed Commission is that it was taken from outside the administrative staff, and that it is composed solely of notable industrialists and some journalists.

The restaurant shown in one of our drawings is a creation of the Promotion Commission. It has, parallel to the Avenue Lamothe-Piquet, a hundred meters of frontage, forming a long gallery seven meters wide, in which eight hundred consumers can be seated at a time. On the Champ de Mars side, a rotunda has been added to this truly monumental gallery, under which the restaurant's kitchens and cellars are located.

This vast establishment can serve eight thousand meals a day, at an average price of 1.25 francs, including wine. I do not believe that a single complaint has been made so far about the food distributed at this reduced price, so true is it that the law of large numbers exerts its beneficent and miraculous power here as elsewhere.

The agglomeration of the infinitely small, which manages to bring out, from the bosom of the waters, creepers, islands and continents, creates here abundance in the cheap, in a city where the tide of prices is constantly rising.

It is not only an omnibus restaurant that the Incentive Commission has founded, it is also a vast construction where I 200 beds will find place, at the very threshold of the Rapp door. If the salary travellers abound, as is to be believed, the solicitude of the Incentive Commission has provided them with cutlery for 5,000 beds. It has also provided them with eminent professors in each speciality who will lead the delegates through the classes of the Exhibition, as much as through the world, giving them demonstrative and ambulatory lectures.

Ah! what good can be done, by wanting good! Our dear and honoured President, M. Devinck, must know this, as he best sums up in his beautiful soul the virtues of the intelligent bourgeoisie, and the generous and free instincts of democracy in search of progress.

I wish this to be a lasting testimony to the good he has done and continues to do without ever tiring, as much as to the respectful devotion I bear him.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Restaurant des ouvriers

Restaurant des ouvriers à l'exposition de Paris 1867

En 1862, une heureuse pensée fit envoyer à l'Exposition de Londres quelques délégués des ouvriers de Paris et de Lyon, nommés au suffrage de leurs camarades. A peine connut-on le programme de l’Exposition de 1867, où tout un groupe, le groupe X, était chargé d’étudier tout ce qui a rapport à l’amélioration matérielle, morale et intellectuelle de la population, que les ouvriers de toute l’Europe songèrent à profiter de cette occasion solennelle pour venir étudier sur place les questions sociales qui les intéressaient au premier chef.

Déjà la réunion des bureaux du 10e groupe avait réuni les éléments de l’enquête du travail dans les principaux établissements industriels de l'Europe, œuvre à laquelle l’auteur de ces lignes se félicite d’avoir contribué, lorsqu’un décret nomma un haut jury spécial pour le nouvel ordre des récompenses, et qu’un arrêté ministériel convoqua une Commission d'encouragement pour les études des ouvriers.

Cette Commission, présidée par l’honorable M. Devinck, fut chargée de convoquer les ouvriers de toute la France à l’élection de leurs délégués à l’Exposition, et de pourvoir à leur logement et à leur nourriture dans les meilleures conditions possibles, en même temps que d aider dans leurs études les délégués qui auraient recours à ses bons offices. Ce qu’il y a de remarquable dans cette Commission nommée administrativement, c’est qu'elle a été prise en dehors du personnel administratif, et qu’elle est uniquement composée d’industriels notables et de quelques journalistes.

Le restaurant que l’on voit représenté dans un de nos dessins est une création de la Commission d’encouragement. Il a, parallèlement à l’avenue Lamothe-Piquet, cent mètres de façade, formant une longue galerie de sept mètres de large, dans laquelle huit cents consommateurs peuvent trouver place à la fois. Du côté du Champ de Mars, on a juxtaposé à cette galerie, vraiment monumentale, une rotonde, sous laquelle sont situées les cuisines et les caves du restaurant.

Ce vaste établissement peut servir huit mille repas par jour, au prix moyen de 1 fr. 25, vin compris. Je ne crois pas qu’une seule plainte se soit élevée jusqu’ici-sur la nourriture qu’on y distribue à ce prix réduit, tant il est vrai que la loi des grands nombres exerce sa bienfaisante et miraculeuse puissance, ici comme ailleurs.

L’agglomération des infiniment petits, qui arrive à faire sortir, du sein des eaux, des lianes, des îles et des continents, crée ici l’abondance dans le bon marché, au sein d’une ville où la marée des prix monte sans cesse.

Ce n’est pas seulement un restaurant omnibus que la Commission d’encouragement, a fondé, c’est aussi une vaste construction où I 200 lits trouveront place, au seuil même de la porte Rapp. Si les voyageurs du salaire abondent, comme c’est à croire, la sollicitude le la Commission d'encouragement leur a ménagé des couverts pour 5 000 lits. Elle leur a ménagé aussi des professeurs éminents dans chaque spécialité qui conduiront les délégués à travers les classes de l’Exposition, autant vaut dire à travers le monde, leur faisant des conférences démonstratives et ambulatoires.

Ah ! quel bien on peut faire, en voulant le bien ! Notre cher et honoré président, M. Devinck, doit le savoir, lui qui résume le mieux dans sa belle âme les vertus de la bourgeoisie intelligente, et les généreux et libres instincts de la démocratie en quête du progrès.

Je désire que ceci soit un témoignage durable pour le bien qu’il a fait et qu’il poursuit sans jamais se lasser, autant que pour le respectueux dévouement que je lui porte.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée