International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Bell pavilion

Bell pavilion at the Exhibition Paris 1867

This pavilion of bells, which fills the whole of the French quarter with its joyful vibrations, is one of the great curiosities of the Champ de Mars.
Let's follow the crowd that goes this way, and perform our variations on the motif of the bells.

The art of chimes goes back a long way. It was perfected a long time ago by a bell founder from Aalst, named Barthélemy Koeck, who spread it throughout Flanders and made a great fortune in his trade. The art of carillons consists in uniting the sounds of several bells of different timbres in a combination of harmony or melody.

The only carillon known to the Parisians was in the Samaritaine; they destroyed it. It is therefore not surprising that they are curious about the improved carillon of the Champ de Mars, as if it were something unknown and striking because of its almost magical effects.

To tell the truth, carillons have never gone beyond the region of Flanders, where they abound, and of some parts of Northern Germany, where the science of ringing is less perfected.

Everyone has heard of the Dunkirk carillon, but who has ever been to hear it? The Antwerp carillon consists of ninety-nine bells. Those who
have been to Antwerp to see the Sailors' Café, the Descent from the Cross and the Botanical Gardens, probably do not know what the carillon is. Even today, Ghent would support a siege to defend its bells, prouder than another city in Flanders that let Dijon take theirs.

There is something sweet and grand about the sound of bells, especially when combined for musical effect, that captures the imagination as well as the ear. This music, which seems to fall from the sky like manna from heaven, seizes the soul of a whole people; it vibrates in all hearts at once, even in the heart of the prisoner in his dungeon.
even in the heart of the prisoner in his dungeon. It is like the bread of life of which the poet said:
"Each one has his share of it, and all have all of it. "

I can therefore explain very well the love of the Flemings for their bells, which are the voice of joy or sorrow for a whole people: what I can explain less is that this passion of the Flemings has never been shared by us.

"It is a silly music that of bells," says J. J. Rousseau in the article Carillon in his Dictionary of Music. I fear that the great writer wrote this with his nerves. Nothing is more unbearable, indeed, than the long, monotonous hum of bells shaken at random. In the towns of Savoy and Switzerland, where J. J. Rousseau came from, bells are rung at all hours. Ringing the bells is a luxury that every private individual gives himself at the slightest event that occurs in his private life, happy or unhappy. How many bathers have not been driven away from Aix en Savoie by the perpetual sound of the agitated bells! It is by the memory I myself have kept that I can explain the annoyed sentence of the philosopher and music lover of Geneva.

But we must not let the confused hum of the bells make us unjust towards a well-ordered chime.

Let us approach, then, without apprehension of nerves, the pavilion of the bells of the Champ de Mars, and forget the loud rumours made by the Prussian bells under the nave of the machines, which have more than once prevented the members of the jury from getting along during their tour of classes. Let us also forget the Austrian bells which seem to have been placed on the edge of an alley so that every mischievous walker can set them off as they pass, which will eventually cause the German quarter to desert altogether.

The first thing that strikes us about M. Bollée's pavilion is the small difference in the calibre of the bells that make up the carillon. There are 43 bells forming four full octaves. In the rules laid down so far to the founder, the measures of each bell are determined on the string theory, according to which all ascending octaves are reduced, as measures, to half the bases of the preceding octave. Thus, let us see what the string theory applied to vibrations would have produced in the present case: - Given a first bell with a diameter of 1.50 m., the smallest, arriving after four octaves, would be only 0.085 m. and would weigh only 800 g., i.e. it would be reduced to about the size of a table bell.

The great difficulty for the founders, in following the old bases, was to give a whole set of bells a relative equality of sound intensity, to make the small bells, for example, be heard on a par with the large ones. It was hardly possible to achieve this relative unity of pitch except for the extent of an octave.

In order to obtain four harmonic octaves without too great a disproportion in calibre, it was therefore necessary to modify the old theory and to calculate the vibrations on a new basis.

The tuning of the timbres is adjusted by means of vibration-counting instruments; the number of vibrations of each timbre is calculated by means of a quotient progression, and in such a way as to give all semitones absolutely equal intervals.

By combining the vibrations with these new data, the founder of the Champ de Mars carillon succeeded in giving his smallest bell a weight of sixteen kilograms, instead of the 800 grams that this bell would have weighed with the old system. This means that the 43 bells compete at the same pitch, with no appreciable difference in the loudness of each.

I could tell you exactly how many vibrations each key of this metal keyboard makes. But what is the point? Would I be sure to explain clearly to the reader what I am not sure I have fully understood myself? Our designers put us to a cruel test. Depending on the whim of their pencil, we are obliged to follow them around the world, or else around science and industry. But let them go! They will not tire us.

Establishing the ringing of bells on a more perfect proportionality of vibrations was the important thing. But it was also necessary to find a striking system that would allow all music written for percussion instruments to be struck on the cylinder with greater speed: for, whether it is a question of touching the piano, the organ or the carillon, the system of striking is the same. The cylinder, which is moved by a machine armed with a double counter-wheel, is provided with holes where the cams corresponding to the hammers are fixed, and whose position is precisely determined on the cylinder. To form a tune on the cylinder, the operation is therefore reduced to knowing how to read the music, and to fixing the cams in the holes of the cylinder, according to the rules of musical writing. This operation is very fast and quite easy to use. The cylinder is arranged so as to receive either a large tune or a number of small tunes at will: for it has a counting wheel which allows stops to be made wherever they are necessary.

This improvement in the playing of bells is of particular interest to carillonneurs. One cannot imagine what violent exercise the unfortunate ones condemned to this art had to engage in
condemned to this art. Feet and hands were not too much at the same time, - hands for the high bells, feet for the low bells. The keys were large pegs, which the play of the muscles, in all its development, was barely sufficient to bring to percussion.

In the old Flanders chimes, which were equipped with mechanical devices, it took considerable expense and time to change the pointing of the cylinder, so that the good Flemings got used to hearing the same tune for several years on their complicated chimes. This has not helped to turn their mood towards appeasement and resignation. I therefore propose to the Academy I Ghent, the former revolutionary city, to put the following question to the competition: "What has been the influence of carillons on the public spirit in Flanders? "

If this question had been cleared up academically, the difficulty I found in explaining the carillon at the Champ de Mars would have been partly overcome for me.

This carillon was commissioned for the cathedral in Buffalo, USA. I assume that the funds were raised by public subscription. Only the subscription of all can impose an enjoyment or an easement, common to all.

We congratulate the city of Buffalo, famous for its salted meats, on its municipal taste for bell music, all the more sincerely because it provides us with one more export article.

If the Parisians regain their taste for carillons, they need only re-establish that of the Samaritaine, according to the new system.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon des cloches

Pavillon des cloches à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Ce pavillon des cloches, qui remplit tout le quart français de ses vibrations joyeuses, est une des grandes curiosités du Champ de Mars.
Suivons la foule qui se porte de ce côté, et exécutons nos variations sur le motif des cloches.

L’art des carillons date de loin. Il fut, il y a déjà longtemps, perfectionné par un fondeur de cloches d’Alost , nommé Barthélemy Koeck, qui le répandit dans toutes les Flandres et fit dans son état une grande fortune. L’art des carillons consiste à unir les sons de plusieurs cloches de timbres différents dans une combinaison soit d’harmonie, soit de mélodie.

Le seul carillon que les Parisiens aient connu était à la Samaritaine; ils Font détruit. Il n’est donc pas étonnant qu’ils se portent avec curiosité vers le carillon perfectionné du Champ de Mars, comme vers une chose inconnue et qui frappe par ses effets presque magiques.

A vrai dire, les carillons n’ont guère jamais dépassé la région des Flandres, où ils abondent, et de quelques parties de l’Allemagne du Nord, où la science des sonneries est moins perfectionnée.

Tout le monde a entendu parler du carillon de Dunkerque; mais qui donc est allé l’entendre? Le carillon d’Anvers est composé de quatre-vingt-dix-neuf cloches. Ceux qui
sont allés voir à Anvers le café des marins, la Descente de croix et le Jardin botanique, ignorent probablement ce que c’est que son carillon. Encore aujourd’hui, Gand soutiendrait un siège pour défendre ses cloches, plus fière qu’une autre ville des Flandres qui s’est laissé enlever les siennes par Dijon.

Il y a dans le son des cloches, surtout lorsqu’il est combiné pour un effet musical, quelque chose de suave et de grandiose qui saisit l’imagination autant que l’oreille. Cette musique qui semble tomber des nues, comme une manne sonore, s’empare de l’âme de tout un peuple; elle vibre dans tous les cœurs à la fois, même dans le cœur du
prisonnier au fond de son cachot. Elle est comme le pain de vie dont le poète a dit :
"Chacun en a sa part, et tous l’ont tout entier. "

Je m’explique donc très-bien l'amour des Flamands pour leurs cloches qui sont la voix de l’allégresse ou de la douleur pour tout un peuple : ce que je m'explique moins, c’est que cette passion des Flamands n’ait jamais été partagée par nous.

« C’est une sotte musique que celle des cloches, » dit J. J. Rousseau dans l'article Carillon de son Dictionnaire de Musique. Je crains bien que le grand écrivain n’ait écrit cela avec ses nerfs. Rien n’est plus insupportable, en effet, que le monotone et long bourdonnement des cloches ébranlées au hasard. Dans les villes de la Savoie et de la Suisse, d’où venait J. J. Rousseau, à toute heure on sonne les cloches. Faire sonner les cloches est un luxe que tout particulier se donne au moindre événement qui survient dans sa vie privée, heureux ou malheureux. Combien de baigneurs le son perpétuel des cloches agitées n’a-t-il pas chassés d’Aix en Savoie! C'est par le souvenir que j’en ai gardé moi-même, que je m’explique la phrase agacée du philosophe mélomane de Genève.

Mais il ne faut pas que le bourdonnement confus des cloches nous rende injuste envers un carillon bien ordonné.

Approchons-nous donc, sans appréhension de nerfs, du pavillon des cloches du Champ de de Mars, et oublions les grosses rumeurs que font les cloches prussiennes sous la nef des machines, et qui ont empêché plus d’une fois les membres du jury de s’entendre pendant leur tournée de classes. Oublions également les cloches autrichiennes qu’on, semble avoir posées tout exprès au bord d’une allée afin que chaque promeneur espiègle puisse les mettre en branle en passant, ce qui finira par faire déserter tout à fait le quart allemand.

Ce qui nous frappe tout d’abord dans le pavillon de M. Bollée, c’est le peu de différence dans le calibre des cloches qui composent le carillon. Il y a 43 cloches formant quatre octaves pleines. Dans les règles posées jusqu’ici au fondeur, les mesures de chaque cloche sont déterminées sur la théorie des cordes, d’après laquelle toutes les octaves ascendantes sont réduites, comme mesures, à la moitié des bases de l'octave précédente. Ainsi, voyons ce qu’aurait produit dans le cas présent la théorie des cordes appliquée aux vibrations : — Étant donnée pour base une première cloche de 1 m. 50 de diamètre, la plus petite, arrivant après quatre octaves d’intervalle, n’aurait que 0 m. 085, et ne pèserait plus que 800 gr., c’est-à-dire qu’elle serait réduite à peu près à la grosseur d’une sonnette de table.

La grande difficulté pour les fondeurs, en suivant les anciennes bases, était de donner à tout un jeu de cloches une égalité relative d’intensité sonore, de faire entendre, par exemple, les petites cloches à l’égal des grandes. Il n’était guère possible d’arriver à cette unité relative de diapason que pour l’étendue d’une octave.

Il a donc fallu, pour obtenir quatre octaves harmoniques sans une trop grande disproportions de calibre, modifier l’ancienne théorie et calculer les vibrations sur une base nouvelle.

L’accord des timbres est ajusté au moyen d’instruments compteurs de vibrations ; le nombre de vibrations de chaque timbre est calculé au moyen d’une progression par quotient, et de façon à donner à tous les demi-tons des intervalles absolument égaux.

En combinant les vibrations sur ces données nouvelles, le fondeur du carillon du Champ de Mars, est parvenu à donner à sa plus petite cloche un poids de seize kilogrammes, au lieu de 800 grammes que cette cloche aurait pesé avec l’ancien système. Cela fait que les 43 cloches concourent au même diapason, sans différence bien sensible dans l’intensité sonore de chacune.

Je pourrais vous dire exactement le nombre de vibrations de chaque touche de ce clavier métallique. Mais à quoi bon? serais-je bien sûr d’expliquer clairement au lecteur, ce que je ne suis pas bien sûr d’avoir parfaitement compris moi-même? Nos dessinateurs nous mettent à une cruelle épreuve. Suivant le caprice de leur crayon, nous sommes obligés de faire à leur suite le tour du monde, ou bien le tour de la science et de l’industrie. Qu’ils aillent cependant! Ils ne nous lasseront pas.

Établir la sonnerie des cloches sur une plus parfaite proportionnalité de vibrations, c’était l’important. Mais il fallait de plus, trouver un système de frappement, qui permît de pointer sur le cylindre, avec une plus grande promptitude, toute musique écrite pour instruments de percussion : car, qu’il s’agisse de toucher du piano, de l’orgue ou du carillon, le système de pointage est le même. Le cylindre, qu’une machine armée d’une double roue-compteur fait mouvoir, est muni de trous où l’on fixe les cames qui correspondent aux marteaux, et dont la position est déterminée avec précision sur le cylindre. Pour former un air sur le cylindre, l’opération se réduit donc à savoir lire la musique, et à fixer les cames dans les trous du cylindre, suivant les règles de l’écriture musicale. Cette opération est très-rapide et d’une assez grande facilité à l’usage. Le cylindre est disposé de façon à recevoir, soit un grand air ou une quantité de petits airs, à volonté : car, il porte une roue de compte qui permet de faire les arrêts partout où ils sont nécessaires.

Ce perfectionnement apporté au jeu des cloches, intéresse surtout les carillonneurs. On ne se figure pas à quel exercice violent devaient se livrer autrefois les malheureux
condamnés à cet art. Les pieds et les mains n’étaient pas de trop à la fois, — les mains pour les cloches aiguës, les pieds pour les cloches basses. Les touches étaient de grosses chevilles, que le jeu des muscles, dans tout son développement, suffisait à peine à amener à percussion.

Dans les anciens carillons des Flandres, munis de mécaniques, il faut des frais assez considérables et beaucoup de temps, pour changer le pointage du cylindre, ce qui fait que les bons Flamands se sont habitués à entendre le même air pendant plusieurs années sur leurs carillons compliqués. Cela n’a pas peu contribué peut-être à tourner leur humeur à l’apaisement et à la résignation. Je propose donc à l’Académie Je Gand, l’ancienne ville révolutionnaire, de mettre au concours la question suivante : « Quelle a été l’influence des carillons sur l’esprit public dans les Flandres? »

Si cette question avait été éclaircie académiquement, la difficulté que j’ai trouvée à vous expliquer le carillon au Champ de Mars, aurait été en partie surmontée pour moi.

Ce carillon a été commandé pour la cathédrale de Buffalo, aux États-Unis. Je suppose que les fonds ont été réunis par souscription publique. Il n’y a que la souscription de tous qui puisse imposer une jouissance ou une servitude, commune à tous.

Nous félicitons la ville de Buffalo, fameuse par ses salaisons, de son goût municipal pour la musique des cloches, d’autant plus sincèrement que cela nous procure un article d’exportation de plus.

Si les Parisiens reprennent le goût des carillons, ils n’ont qu’à rétablir celui de la Samaritaine, d’après le nouveau système.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée