International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Russian facilities

Russian facilities at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Russia, according to geographers, occupies fourteen thousand kilometres of the earth from east to west; - five thousand six hundred from north to south; - seventeen thousand diagonally from southwest to northeast. Its borders touch Prussia and North America. China and Austria, Turkey and Persia are her neighbours, and these immense expanses, subject to the all-powerful will of the Emperor, contain nearly eighty millions of inhabitants.

At the Exhibition, Sweden and Italy limit her territory by six thousand meters, and thirteen hundred and ninety-two exhibitors represent her. The whole world, it is true, in meeting at the Champ de Mars, was content with one hundred and fifty thousand square metres, and man is so small when he measures himself against the greatness of nature, that to create a shelter of this size against the rain and the sun, and to succeed in bringing together in this place all the products of the universe, is rightly looked upon as a prodigious work which strikes one with astonishment: the realisation of the dream of the Tower of Babel. This time the eye has become the instrument of the universal language.

When we see these diverse testimonies of intelligence and work, and when we contemplate these personifications of the life, and so to speak, of the soul of each people, our thoughts awaken, a new emotion seizes our spirit, an interior tremor gives way to I don't know what fluid makes us understand those whose works we are looking at, and brings us closer or further away by a double current similar to the movements of electricity, to which we surrender without even trying to give it a name. Ask the crowds at the Russian Exhibition.
Russian Exhibition.

The very particular character of the architecture, the originality of the installation and arrangements which so well suits this empire, placed between Europe and Asia as the new link between the two worlds, the variety of productions, the extreme civilisation: the extreme barbarism, a sort of wild strangeness, the East with all its astonishments, the arts with a very particular flavour, and the products of the earth and of the flocks, gathered together as in the time of the patriarchs, attract and retain by turns. Gold and precious stones from the rivers and mountains, which by their remoteness take on a kind of fantastic character, are mixed and reunited there; furs and pelts from the North, silks from the South, ceramics from the Caucasus and pottery from the Tartars of the Crimea, brocades with brilliant reflections and these bright red cotton fabrics, these Koumatch so sought after by the peasants, the cloths which the trade carries across the deserts to China, the ordinary market of these special manufactures; the candles of the monastery of Kief, covered with gold and ornaments. Other monasteries in great numbers also make them; and burned devoutly before the protective image of the domestic hearth, they testify to the strange and violent faith of this people. The preparations made from reindeer horn in the government of Arkangel and the dried lampreys used for lighting in Baku in the Caucasus; the marvellous furniture in hard stone and the wealth of goldsmiths' work of such original taste all near the axe of the Kirgiz sent by Djanghyr, Kirgliiz sultan of the district of Kopotinia. - Then all these ores, woods, hides, hemp, wool; grains of all kinds: wheat, barley, oats, buckwheat, millet, rice, corn, all those products of the earth which in our years of suffering and famine the merchants of Marseilles bring in from Russia, agricultural machinery, resins and ropes, works of iron, and steel,-those cannons and models of battleships all beside a column, The most curious, perhaps, because it is composed solely of the wooden or matted utensils that the peasants make themselves, provoke attentive curiosity and give rise on the part of the many visitors, and especially the French, to expressions of lively sympathy.

Everyone, moreover, pays tribute to the method, the good taste, the artistic feeling which has governed the arrangement of the products and the elegance of the constructions. This is a great honour for the Russian Commission presided over by His Highness the Duke of Leuchtenberg, and Messrs Boutovski, Thaï, Grigorovitch and Tcherniaef, members of this Commission, have worthily fulfilled the mandate entrusted to them. With the exception of the colonnade and the arches in fir wood which border the large passage common to Italy and Russia, a colonnade executed in Paris by the care and under the direction of M. Bénard, all the installations of the Russian section, cupboards, showcases, shelves, tables in fir wood of such a coquettish and varied form come from Petersburg, where Charles Briggen established them, and were assembled in Paris by Russian workmen.

Russia is therefore very much at home in the Palais de l'Exposition, and its work belongs entirely to it. It can justly claim credit for it, for it is difficult to choose a happy layout which, by better bringing out the whole of the products, allows the air and the daylight to come in profusion on those which, by their elegant nature, demanded a special environment, a sort of salon where they can be lifted up by each other.

Further on, the arches cease, and the large display windows established in the same style, are furnished with magnificent gold and silk fabrics, to give way, as we approach the machinery nave, to a wall of leathers in various colours.

We do not propose to study the Russian Exhibition today and summarise the lessons it contains. - In the midst of these glorifications of practical life, there is sometimes an extreme satisfaction in giving oneself up to the pleasure of the view, without thinking of the serious results. - It is a lure, no doubt, an illusion perhaps, for in the century in which we live, in the midst of the feverish life to which our generation is condemned, no one can long avoid the useful. In order to exist, we must bear the weight of it, and very quickly we must return to it. - At the Russian Exhibition the harvest will be plentiful, and it is important to realise the greatness and weaknesses, the instructions and warnings gathered in this narrow space, which seems to have been made so coquettish and charming in order to better captivate and seduce us. Let us therefore quickly follow the main path leading to the Suffren Gate from the central garden, and indicate the main objects that the visitor will encounter on his way.

In the room devoted to the fine arts, there are works worthy of attention, and Lieberich's bronzes of fine workmanship; but from the first moment you enter a strange world. It is far from the impressions of the West, and the mind has to get used to it. The curious room devoted to the history of work, reminding us of the starting point and the course followed, is of great interest for discerning the trends and the results obtained. Nearby is the room containing the drawings of the Moscow Technical School, the only professional school in Russia, and statuettes representing the costumes of the different provinces of this empire where thirty different languages are spoken, reductions of various animal models and paper samples. The corridor between this room and the main hall is lined with photographs, containing the works that are most likely to attract the attention of idlers and the interest of people of taste.

If one glances at this room through the original wooden arches which close it on the side of the large passage leading to the Suffren Gate, and sees the magnificent mosaic executed by Michel Chmiliewski at the Imperial establishment in St. Petersburg after the originals of Professor Neff, one will immediately try to enter this room with its consolations and elegant display cases, which contains true masterpieces of goldsmithing.
When you are tired of duty and admiration, the weapons, the carpets, the clothes and the marvellous embroideries of the Caucasus and Georgia will come to revive your attention. On the other side you will find warriors covered with their national clothes and the skin suits of the Siberian natives sent by M. Sidoroff; you will thus go from astonishment to astonishment, from curiosity to curiosity, always sustained by the unknown, passing through all these products of a thousand kinds, passing the block of malachite weighing 2176 kilos, a fortune coming from M. Paul Demidoff's mines, stopping to look at it. Paul Demidoff's mines, stopping for a moment in front of the graceful assembly of Siberian wooden vases containing the grains and sheaves of the Empire, and admiring all these productions which we have barely indicated, without being able to say enough about the extent to which the classification, the clarity and the taste with which the smallest object is arranged, are a credit to the organisers of the Russian exhibition, and make it easy for the visitor to examine and search. - Supported in this way and carried by your curiosity, you will easily reach the borders, where the Russian restaurant invites you to stop.

The installation has all the local colour that the most difficult person must seek. - The boys are dressed in the silk shirts used in Moscow and a Russian woman in national costume presides over the distribution of the special dishes found there. After having crossed the Russian territory, we will certainly have great pleasure in living, if only for a moment, in the lives of those whose work and products have aroused our curiosity and interest.

Let us ask the beautiful Russian woman for a cup of the fragrant tea that the caravans have brought directly from China, and since the table, as the old saying goes, is the matchmaker of friendship, let us indulge in all the joys and singular surprises that the dishes in honour in Moscow and Petersburg offer us. The Russians and the French are made to get along, and the Crimean war seems to have retreated into a mutual esteem, which this noble and peaceful struggle of the arts and industry will further strengthen.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Installations russes

Installations russes à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La Russie, si l’on en croit les géographes, occupe sur la terre quatorze mille kilomètres de l’est à l'ouest; — cinq mille six cents du nord au sud ; — dix-sept mille diagonalement du sud-ouest au nord-est. Ses frontières touchent à la Prusse et à l’Amérique du Nord. La Chine et l’Autriche, la Turquie et la Perse sont ses voisines, et ces étendues immenses, soumises à la volonté toute-puissante de l’Empereur, comptent près de quatre-vingts millions d’habitants.

A l’Exposition, la Suède et l’Italie limitent son territoire de six mille mètres, et treize cent quatre-vingt-douze exposants la représentent. Le monde entier, il est vrai, en se donnant rendez-vous au Champ de Mars, s'est contenté de cent cinquante mille mètres carrés, et l’homme est tellement petit quand il se mesure avec les grandeurs de la nature, que créer un abri de cette dimension contre la pluie et le soleil et parvenir à rassembler en ce lieu tous les produits de l’univers, est regardé à juste titre comme une œuvre prodigieuse qui frappe d’étonnement : la réalisation du rêve de la tour de Babel. Le regard, cette fois, est devenu l’instrument de la langue universelle.

Lorsque l’on voit en effet ces témoignages si divers de l’intelligence et du travail et que l’on contemple ces personnifications de la vie, et pour ainsi dire, de l’âme de chaque peuple, la pensée se réveille, une émotion nouvelle s’empare de notre esprit, une secousse intérieure donne passage à je ne sais quel fluide qui nous fait comprendre ceux dont nous regardons les œuvres, et nous rapproche ou nous éloigne par un double courant semblable aux mouvements de l’électricité, auquel on s’abandonne sans même essayer de lui donner un nom. Demandez plutôt à la foule qui se presse à l’Exposition
russe.

Le caractère tout particulier de l’architecture, l’originalité de l’installation et des arrangements qui convient si bien à cet empire, placé entre l’Europe et l’Asie comme le lien nouveau des deux mondes, la variété des productions, l’extrême civilisation : l’extrême barbarie, une sorte d’étrangeté sauvage, l’Orient avec tous ses étonnements, les arts avec une saveur toute particulière, et les produits de la terre et des troupeaux, rassemblés comme au temps des patriarches, attirent et retiennent tour à tour. On trouve là mêlés et réunis l’or et les pierres précieuses arrachées à ces fleuves et à ces montagnes qui prennent par leur éloignement une sorte caractère fantastique, les pelleteries et les fourrures du Nord, les soies du Midi, les céramiques du Caucase et les poteries des Tartares de la Crimée, des brocards aux brillants reflets et ces cotonnades d'un rouge éclatant, ces Koumatch si recherchés par les paysans, les draps que le commerce emporte à travers les déserts jusqu’en Chine, marché ordinaire de ces manufactures spéciales; les cierges du monastère de Kief, couverts d'or et d’ornements. D’autres monastères en grand nombre les fabriquent également; et brûlés dévotement devant l'image protectrice du foyer domestique, ils témoignent de la foi étrange et violente de ce peuple. Les préparations faites avec la corne de rennes dans le gouvernement d’Arkangel et les lamproies séchées employées pour l’éclairage à Bakou dans le Caucase; les meubles merveilleux en pierre dure et les richesses d orfèvrerie d’un goût si original tout auprès de la hache du Kirgiz envoyé par Djanghyr, sultan Kirgliiz du district de Kopotinie. — Puis tous ces minerais, ces bois, ces cuirs, ces chanvres, ces laines; les grains de toute sortes : le froment, l’orge, l’avoine, le sarrasin, le millet, le riz, le maïs, tous ces produits de la terre qu’en nos années de souffrance et de disette les négociants de Marseille font arriver de Russie, les machines agricoles, les résines et les cordages, les ouvrages de fer, et d’acier,-ces canons et ces modèles de navires cuirassés tout à côté d’une colonne, la plus curieuse, peut-être, car elle est composée uniquement avec les ustensiles en bois ou en nattes que les paysans fabriquent eux-mêmes, provoquent une curiosité attentive et donnent lieu de la part des nombreux visiteurs, et surtout des Français, aux témoignages d’une vive sympathie.

Tout le monde, au reste, rend hommage à la méthode, au bon goût, au sentiment artistique qui a présidé à l’arrangement des produits et à l’élégance des constructions. Il y a là un grand honneur pour la Commission russe présidée par Son Altesse le duc de Leuchtenberg, et MM. Boutovski, Thaï, Grigorovitch et Tcherniaef, membres de cette Commission se sont dignement acquittés du mandat qui leur avait été confié. A l’exception de la colonnade et des arceaux en bois de sapin qui bordent le grand passage commun à l’Italie et à la Russie, colonnade exécutée à Paris par les soins et sous la direction de M. Bénard, toutes les installations de la section russe, armoires, vitrines, étagères, tables en sapin d’une forme si coquette et si variée viennent de Pétersbourg, où Charles Briggen les a établies, et ont été montées à Paris par des ouvriers russes.

La Russie est donc bien chez elle au Palais de l'Exposition, et son œuvre lui appartient tout entière. Elle peut ajuste titre en réclamer le mérite, car, il est difficile de choisir une disposition pins heureuse, qui, en faisant mieux ressortir l’ensemble des produits laisse l’air et le jour arriver à profusion sur ceux qui par leur nature élégante réclamaient un milieu spécial, une sorte de salon où ils se relèvent les uns les autres.

Plus loin les arceaux cessent, et les grandes vitrines établies dans le même style, sont garnies de magnifiques étoffes d’or et de soie, pour faire place ensuite en approchant vers la nef des machines à une muraille de cuirs aux couleurs variées.

Nous ne nous proposons pas d’étudier aujourd’hui l’Exposition russe et de résumer les enseignements qu’elle renferme. — Au milieu de ces glorifications de la vie pratique, on a parfois une satisfaction extrême à s’abandonner au plaisir que donne la vue, sans songer aux résultats sérieux. — C’est un appât sans doute, une illusion peut-être, car dans le siècle où nous sommes, au milieu de la vie enfiévrée à laquelle notre génération est condamnée, nul ne peut longtemps se soustraire à l'utile. Pour exister nous devons en porterie poids, et bien vite il nous faut y revenir. — A l’Exposition russe la moisson sera abondante, et il importe de se rendre compte des grandeurs et des faiblesses, des instructions et des avertissements réunis dans cet étroit espace, qui semble s être fait si coquet et si charmant afin de mieux nous captiver et nous séduire. Suivons donc rapidement la grande voie qui mène à la porte Suffren, en partant du jardin central, et indiquons les principaux objets que le visiteur rencontrera sur ses pas.

Dans la salle consacrée aux beaux-arts, se trouvent réunies des œuvres dignes d’attention, et des bronzes de Lieberich d’unbeau travail; mais dès le premier moment vous pénétrez dans un monde étrange. On est loin des impressions de l’Occident et l’esprit doit s’y accoutumer. La salle si curieuse consacrée à l’histoire du travail, en nous rappelant le point de départ et la marche suivie est d’un grand intérêt pour discerner les tendances et les résultats obtenus. Tout auprès se trouve celle qui contient les dessins de l’école technique de Moscou, la seule école professionnelle de la Russie, et les statuettes représentant les costumes des différentes provinces de cet empire où l’on parle trente langues différentes, des réductions de divers modèles d’animaux et des échantillons de papier». Des photographies garnissent le couloir qui sépare cette pièce de la grande salle, renfermant les ouvrages destinés certainement à fixer le plus l’attention des oisifs et l’intérêt des gens de goût.

Si l’on jette un coup d’œil sur cette salle à travers les arceaux de bois si originaux qui la ferment du côté du grand passage conduisant à la porte Suffren, eu apercevant la magnifique mosaïque exécutée par Michel Chmiliewski à l’établissement impérial de Saint-Pétersbourg d après les originaux du professeur Neff, ou essayera aussitôt de pénétrer dans cette pièce aux consolés et aux vitrines élégantes qui renferme de véritables chefs-
d’œuvres d’orfèvrerie de Sasikoff, les pierres précieuses et les produits spéciaux, les émaux pour les mosaïques, composées par Léopold Bonafède, et les armoires en lapis-lazuli et la table en mosaïque florentine provenant de la manufacture impériale de Pétheroff, dirigée par M. Tafimovitch, et quand vous serez fatigués devoir et d’admirer, les armes les tapis, les vêtements et les broderies merveilleuses du Caucase et de la Géorgie viendront ranimer votre attention. De l’autre côte, vous trouverez des guerriers couverts de leurs vêtements nationaux et les costumes de peaux des indigènes de la Sibérie envoyées par M. Sidoroff; vous vous en irez ainsi d’étonnement en étonnement, de curiosité en curiosité, toujours soutenu par l’inconnu, traversant tous ces produits de mille sortes, côtoyant le bloc de malachite de 2176 kilos, une fortune provenant des mines de M. Paul Demidoff, vous arrêtant à coup sûr un instant devant l’assemblage si gracieux des vases en bois de Sibérie, renfermant les grains et les gerbes de l’Empire, et admirant toutes ces productions que nous avons à peine indiquées, sans pouvoir dire assez à quel point le classement, la clarté et le goût avec lequel le moindre objet est disposé, font honneur aux organisateurs de l’exposition russe, et rendent facile l’examen et les recherches du visiteur. — Soutenu ainsi et porté par votre curiosité, vous arriverez sans peine jusqu’aux frontières, où le restaurant russe vous invite à la halte.

L’installation a toute la couleur locale que le plus difficile doit rechercher. — Les garçons sont revêtus de la chemise de soie en usage à Moscou et une femme russe en costume national préside à la distribution des mets spéciaux qu’on y trouve. Après avoir traversé le territoire russe, nous aurons à coup sûr grand plaisir à vivre, ne serait-ce qu’un moment, de la vie de ceux dont les travaux et les produits ont éveillé notre curiosité et notre intérêt.

Demandons à la belle Russe une tasse de ce thé parfumé que les caravanes ont apporté directement de la Chine, et puisque la table, dit un vieux dicton, est l’entremetteuse de l’amitié, laissons-nous aller à toutes ces joies et aux surprises singulières que nous ménagent les mets en honneur à Moscou et à Pétersbourg. Les Russes et les Français sont faits pour s’entendre, et la guerre de Crimée semble avoir retrempé dans une mutuelle estime leur union, que cette noble et pacifique lutte des arts et de l'industrie viendra resserrer encore.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée