International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

House of the Miners of Blanzy

House of the Miners of Blanzy at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The Compagnie des houillères de Blanzy exhibits a miners' house in the park. The door, through which one enters, gives access, on the right, to a rather large room where the samples, the mine lamps and the various mining instruments are gathered; on the left, are two smaller rooms, intended for the family and the household. There is no exit at the back of the house.

The mines of Blanzy produce 5,500,000 kilograms of sludge per year, as an inscription on the walls tells us; the inscription also tells us that there are 679 houses built for the miners in Blanzy, 99 of which were built by the workers themselves. At what cost? That is what the inscription forgot to tell us. And do the houses built by the workers resemble the one we see at the Champ de Mars? I doubt it; for it represents relatively considerable construction costs.

We shall have occasion to return to the subject of workers' houses, in connection with the Mulhouse house and the Paris workers' house, which stand next to the miners' house in Blanzy, whose image we are giving today.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison des Mineurs de Blanzy

Maison des Mineurs de Blanzy à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La Compagnie des houillères de Blanzy expose dans le Parc une maison de mineurs. La porte, par laquelle on entre, donne accès, à droite, dans une assez vaste pièce où sont réunis les échantillons, les lampes de mine et les divers instruments d’exploitation ; à gauche, sont deux pièces plus petites, destinées à la famille et au ménage. Il n’y a pas de sortie sur le derrière de la maison.

Les mines de Blanzy donnent par an 5 500 000 kilogrammes de bouille, comme une inscription affichée sur les murs nous l’apprend; l’inscription nous fait savoir aussi qu’il y a à Blanzy 679 maisons construites pour les mineurs, dont 99 édifiées par les ouvriers eux-mêmes. À quel prix? C’est ce que l’inscription a oublié de nous dire. Et les habitations élevées par les ouvriers ressemblent-elles à celle que nous voyons au Champ de Mars? C’est ce dont je doute; car, elle représente des frais de construction relativement considérables.

Mous aurons occasion de revenir sur les maisons ouvrières, à propos de la maison de Mulhouse et de celle des ouvriers de Paris, qui s’élèvent à côté de la maison des mineurs de Blanzy, dont nous donnons aujourd’hui l’image.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée