International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Norwegian house

Norwegian house at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Next to Gustave Wasa's house, exhibited by Sweden, Norway, in its own part of the park, offers us a specimen of its houses, whose graceful, all-wood construction captivates and fixes the attention. The model on display should not be taken to mean that all houses in Norway are so luxurious, for many are far from matching it in elegance and comfort.

Although Norway's forests produce a great deal of much sought-after timber for building, it is easy to see from the quantity that had to be used, and in spite of its primitive cheapness, that the construction of the Norwegian house is still expensive enough not to be within the reach of all classes.

In Norway every man generally lives in his own house; it is more or less substantial, according to the fortune of the man who built it: and there are many which have had to be kept within more restricted limits, but all perfectly constructed to make them impenetrable to the air. The Norwegian house, while giving us the exact style of wooden constructions, serves as an annex for the products that could not find a place in the palace and which are still quite numerous.

Thus we find here fishing equipment, gear, and small-scale samples of houses of various types of construction, but in which wood is still widely used. A certain feeling that animates Norwegian families makes them live isolated and this is why their dwellings are quite far from each other.

Each family lives in isolation, and according to its size has several wooden houses, and it is their combination that is known in the country as a gaard, i.e. a broken-down house.

In one of these houses the whole family, often numerous, sleeps; in another, where the kitchen and dining room are sometimes located, all the members meet at set times to eat together.

Then other constructions, always made of wood, serve as a storehouse, where the fishing utensils are prepared or repaired, and the fish are prepared, in order to be sent to new countries which are looking for them for their food or for a new re-exportation. Thus the village is the meeting of families, the gaard is essentially the family gathered together, cooperating in common in the collective work.

If outside work can occupy them only a few days, it is in these wooden houses that the Norwegian peasants occupy themselves with those small carved wooden objects, so sought after for the delicacy of the design and the particular taste that characterises it, and which they make for various special industries.

Through the Gustave Wasa house and the Norwegian house, the Swedish and Norwegian section will have provided us with two models which will truly have initiated us completely into the mode of construction used in these countries.

We are grateful to the intelligent men who thought of them, and we are happy to be able to say that they have not only enlightened opinion, but have amply satisfied it.

For those who have followed Sweden and Norway since our last exhibitions, they will see with us that these two countries have made serious progress. Moreover, the encouragement given to the arts and industry in Sweden and Norway could not be more numerous, and in such conditions with their own wealth, these two countries will always deserve to be mentioned.

The exclusive use of wood in construction belongs in Europe only to the Indo-Germanic races. Also, in the south of France, in Spain, in Italy, that is to say, in the countries that have long been subject to Roman customs, we almost never see houses built solely with wood.

In the north of Gaul, on the other hand, among the Franks and the Normans, various types of wood were used for several centuries to build houses, both in the towns and in the countryside, and this exclusive use of wood was maintained throughout the Merovingian and Carolingian periods.

The inhabitants of Sweden and Norway used wood almost exclusively to build their field houses.

The house of Gustave Wasa, which we have reproduced above, and the Norwegian house which appears in today's issue, can give us an idea of the art that presides over these constructions, which is not as primitive as one might think.

The Norwegian house is separated from the ground by a stone base which offers two advantages: the first is to isolate the house from the ground itself, which is almost always covered with ice or snow during the winter; the second is to provide a sort of extremely useful cellar in the basement. The walls of the house are made of fir trees, of which only two sides are slightly squared. These fir trees are placed horizontally on top of each other, with the squared sides lying flat and the rounded surfaces facing in and out. The fir trees are mantled at the corners to long iron or wooden rods that reach up to the roof.

Although the model shown is only one storey, in Norway similar houses are divided into two storeys. Usually the staircase is placed outside in an elegant cage. The ground floor, like the ground floor, almost always consists of a single room, the upper one being illuminated by numerous openings leading to a more or less ornate circular gallery: the house at the Exhibition has an elegant gallery with very graceful Byzantine pilasters. The upper floor is used as a bedroom or rather as a dormitory for the whole family; there is always a place for a stranger to stay. In these hospitable parts of the world, this room is often occupied on sunny days, as the imposing Norwegian landscape attracts many tourists. Above the room rises the roof, similar to that of a Swiss chalet, which extends over two sides of the house.

Such is the construction which gives us a very accurate idea of Norwegian dwellings in mountainous countries. It is not, of course, the dwelling of the poor, but that of the farmer, the comfortable farmer. In spite of the many forests of Norway and the relatively low prices of its woods, the poor man could not afford a dwelling as beautiful and as large as the one he saw.
But the rich Norwegian farmer is not content with a single building like the one we see, his dwelling consists, like our large farms, of several houses which serve as sheds, shelters, shops or stables.

The Norwegian house, while introducing us to the construction method used in this country, serves as an annex for Norwegian products that could not be stored in the Palace.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison norvégienne

Maison norvégienne à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Près de la maison de Gustave Wasa, exposée par la Suède, la Norvège, dans la partie du parc qui lui est réservée, nous offre un spécimen de ses maisons, dont la construction complètement en bois et d’une forme gracieuse, séduit et fixe l’attention. En voyant le modèle exposé, il ne faudrait pas croire que toutes les maisons en Norvège sont aussi luxueuses, car beaucoup sont loin de l’égaler en élégance et en confort.

Quoique par ses forêts la Norvège produise beaucoup de bois très-recherchés pour la construction, il est facile de se rendre compte, par la quantité qu’il a fallu employer et malgré son bon marché primitif, que la construction de la maison norvégienne est encore d'un prix assez élevé pour ne pas être à la portée de toutes les classes.

En Norvège, généralement chacun habite sa propre maison ; elle est plus ou moins importante, selon la fortune de celui qui l’a fait construire : aussi en existe-t-il beaucoup qui ont dû rester dans des limites plus restreintes, mais toutes parfaitement construites pour les rendre impénétrables à l'air. La maison norvégienne, tout en nous donnant le style exact des constructions de bois, sert d’annexe aux produits qui n’ont pu trouver place dans le palais et qui sont encore assez nombreux.

C’est ainsi que là nous retrouvons du matériel de pêche , des engins, des échantillons réduits à de petites dimensions d’habitations de différents genres de construction, mais dans lesquelles le bois est toujours largement employé. Un certain sentiment qui anime les familles norvégiennes, les fait vivre isolées et c’est ainsi que leurs habitations sont assez distancées les unes des autres.

Chaque famille vit isolément, et selon son importance possède plusieurs maisons en bois, et c’est leur réunion qu’on désigne dans le pays sous le nom de gaard, c’est-à-dire maison décomposée.

Dans l’une de ces maisons couchera toute la famille, souvent nombreuse ; dans une autre, où se trouveront réunies quelquefois la cuisine et la salle à manger, tous les membres, à des heures déterminées, se réunissent pour prendre leur repas en commun.

Puis d’autres constructions toujours en bois, servent ensuite comme grenier, magasin, où les ustensiles de péche sont apprêtés ou réparés, et les poissons préparés, afin d’être ensuite expédiés aux nouveaux pays qui les recherchent pour leur alimentation ou pour une nouvelle réexportation. Ainsi donc le village est la réunion des familles, le gaard est essentiellement la famille réunie , coopérant en commun à l’œuvre collective.

Si les travaux extérieurs ne peuvent les occuper que peu de jours, est dans ces maisons de bois que les paysans norvégiens s’occupent à ces petits objets en bois sculptés, si recherchés pour la finesse du dessin et le goût particulier qui le caractérise, et qu’ils fabriquent pour diverses industries spéciales.

Par la maison de Gustave Wasa et la maison norvégienne, la section suédoise et norvégienne, nous aura fourni deux modèles qui véritablement nous auront complètement initiés au mode de construction usité dans ces pays.

En sachant gré aux hommes intelligents qui en ont eu la pensée, nous sommes heureux de pouvoir constater qu’ils ont non-seulement éclairé l’opinion, mais qu’ils l’ont amplement satisfaite.

Pour ceux qui auront suivi la Suède et la Norvège depuis nos dernières expositions, ils constateront avec nous, que ces deux pays ont réalisé des progrès sérieux. Du reste, les encouragements donnés aux arts et à l’industrie en Suède et en Norvège ne sauraient être plus nombreux, et dans de telles conditions avec des richesses qui leur sont propres, ces deux pays mériteront toujours d’être signalés.

L’emploi exclusif du bois dans la construction n’appartient en Europe qu’aux races indo-germaniques. Aussi, dans le midi de la France, en Espagne, en Italie, c’est-à-dire dans les pays soumis depuis longtemps aux mœurs romaines, ne voit-on presque jamais de maisons construites uniquement avec du bois.

Dans le nord de la Gaule, au contraire, chez les Francs et chez les Normands, on se servit, pendant plusieurs siècles, de divers bois pour construire les maisons soit dans les villes, soit dans les campagnes, et cet usage exclusif du bois se conserva pendant toute la durée des époques mérovingienne et carlo-vingienne.

Les habitants de la Suède et ceux de la Norwége se servent presque exclusivement de bois pour construire leurs habitations des champs.

La maison de Gustave Wasa, que nous avons reproduite précédemment, et la maison norwégienne qui figure dans le numéro de ce jour, peuvent nous donner une idée de l’art qui préside à ces constructions, qui ne soit pas aussi primitives que l’on pourrait le croire.

La maison norwégienne est séparée du sol par un soubassement de pierre offrant deux avantages: le premier d’isoler la maison du sol lui-même, qui presque toujours pendant l’hiver est recouvert de glace ou de neige; le second, de ménager dans le sous-sol une sorte de cave extrêmement utile. Les parois de la demeure sont composées de sapins, dont deux côtés seulement sont légèrement équarris. Ces sapins sont placés horizontalement les uns sur les autres, les côtés équarris posés à plat et les surfaces arrondies tournées vers le dehors et le dedans. Les sapins sont embrevés sur les angles à de longues tiges soit de fer, soit de bois qui montent jusqu'à la toiture.

Quoique le modèle exposé n’ait qu’un seul étage, en Norwége, les maisons semblables sont divisées en deux étages. D’ordinaire l’escalier est placé en dehors dans une cage élégante. Le premier, comme le rez-de-chaussée, se compose presque toujours d’une seule pièce, celle du haut se trouve éclairée par de nombreuses ouvertures donnant sur une galerie circulaire plus ou moins ornée : la maison de l’Exposition nous offre une galerie élégante formée de pilastres byzantins très-gracieux. L'étage supérieur sert de chambre à coucher ou plutôt de dortoir à toute la famille ; on y réserve toujours un gîte pour l’étranger. Dans ces contrés hospitalières, durant les beaux jours, ce gîte est souvent occupé; car les paysages imposants de la Norwége attirent beaucoup de touristes. Au-dessus de la pièce s’élève le toit, semblable à celui d’un chalet suisse, et qui s’avance en auvent sur deux côtés de la maison.

Telle est cette construction qui nous donne une idée très-exacte des habitations norwégiennes dans les pays montagneux. Ce n’est pas, bien entendu, la demeure du pauvre, mais celle du fermier, du cultivateur à l’aise. Malgré les nombreuses forêts de la Norwége, et les prix relativement modiques de ses bois, le pauvre ne saurait se donner une habitation aussi belle, aussi grande que la ma son exposée.
Mais le riche fermier norwégien ne se contente pas d’un seul bâtiment comme celui que nous voyons, son habitation se compose, comme nos grandes fermes, de plusieurs maisons qui servent de remise, d’abris, de magasins ou d’étables.

La maison de Norwége, tout en nous initiant au mode de construction usité dans ce pays, sert d’annexe aux produits norwégiens qui n’ont pas pu trouver place dans l’enceinte du Palais.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée