International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Plans

manque image

The pavilion as it is by M. Duvillers can be of great service, if one knows how to take advantage of it.

The art of designing gardens is very advanced in some cities, and everywhere else in its infancy. After abandoning the old style of priest's gardens, the bourgeois of the provinces and suburbs have thrown themselves headlong into unknown roads. I know many who claim to make their own plans, and what plans they are!

The great school of municipal plantations works wonders every day, but at a crazy price: it is Paris that pays. And Paris is so rich, so rich! It can be said without hyperbole that it does not know the figure of its fortune, for every measure is taken to hide its assets and its debit.

For simple individuals, who count the expense, the Vilmorin house has published a good book decorated with a few well-made plans, but it is not much. It would be necessary for a powerful publisher of architecture, such as M. Morel of the rue des Beaux-arts, to take it into his head to engrave a hundred plates, graduated according to the price and the extent of the land. A garden of five hundred square metres, such as many are made in Paris and the suburbs, would be perfectly ridiculous if it copied the Buttes Chaumont park. The plan for Ventimiglia Square would be no less ridiculous if you were to spread it out over a hectare. There is an education to be created for medium and small purses, perhaps even for large ones; and if some man of spirit were to take advantage of this opportunity to undertake the thing, I boldly predict that he would not ruin himself.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Plans

manque image

Le pavillon tel quel de M. Duvillers peut rendre de grands services, si l’on sait en tirer parti.

L’art de dessiner les jardins est très-avancé dans quelques villes, et partout ailleurs dans l'enfance. Après avoir abandonné le vieux style aux jardins de curé, les bourgeois de province et de banlieue se sont jetés à corps perdu dans des routes inconnues. J’en sais beaucoup qui ont la prétention de faire leurs plans eux-mêmes, et quels plans!

La grande école des plantations municipales fait tous les jours des merveilles, mais à prix fou : c’est Paris qui paye. Et Paris est si riche, si riche! On peut dire sans hyperbole qu’il ne connaît pas le chiffre de sa fortune, car toutes les mesures sont prises pour lui cacher son avoir et son débit.

Pour les simples particuliers, qui comptent la dépense, la maison Vilmorin a publié un bon livre orné de quelques plans biens faits, mais c’est peu. Il faudrait qu’un puissant éditeur d’architecture, comme M. Morel de la rue des Beaux-arts, se mît en tête de graver une centaine de planches, graduées selon les prix et selon l’étendue des terrains. Un jardin de cinq cents mètres carrés, comme on en fait beaucoup à Paris et dans la banlieue, serait parfaitement ridicule s’il copiait le parc des Buttes Chaumont. Le plan du square Vintimille ne le serait pas moins s’il vous plaisait de l'étaler sur un hectare. Il y a un enseignement à créer pour les moyennes et petites bourses, peut-être même pour les grandes; et si quelque homme d’esprit profitait de cette occasion pour entreprendre la chose, je lui prédis hardiment qu’il ne s’y ruinerait pas.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée