International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Hummingbird Pavilion

Hummingbird Pavilion at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The Hummingbird Pavilion is a kiosk glazed with beautiful and strong glass. The shape seems pleasant enough, but the dome of red glass is perhaps too German in taste. As for the guests of this aviary, we are still waiting for them, and I hope (let's be honest) that they never come. Have you ever closed a window and accidentally trapped a garden bird? It's a tragedy that hurts to watch. The poor little animal throws itself headlong into the glass. Fooled by the transparency of the glass, it thinks it's getting free, it collides and falls down in a daze, sometimes dead, before you can give it back the key to the field.

This is why I hope that the expected and promised hummingbirds do not arrive. Mr. Chamouillet's ice cream is of such beautiful water that it looks like sliced air.

I do not pretend to exhaust the list of curiosities and beauties scattered throughout the enclosure. Why bother? If I were complete today, I would not be tomorrow. Every day one thing is completed and another is begun; this place, to borrow a Platonic expression, is in a perpetual state of becoming.
We have not yet said anything about the fruit and vegetable gallery, very well understood by Mr. Tronchon, nor about the horticultural industry gallery, very ingeniously arranged by Mr. Arneither; nor about the Meissonnier and Marville diorama, where the most beautiful exotic plants should be shown in their natural form, size and colour; nor about the garden plans gallery (less happy); nor about the pretty Gousset cafe, a gem. There is nothing fresher, more cheerful, more rural in the latest Parisian fashion. The architect, M. Hochereau, has done many others: the grand salon d'honneur, the orchestra pavilion, M. Barillet's office. All this is of a charming taste, of a great lightness and of a very bearable expense.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon des colibris

Pavillon des colibris à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Le pavillon des Colibris est un kiosque vitré de belles et fortes glaces. La forme en paraît assez agréable, mais la coupole en verres de couleur rouge, est peut-être d’un goût trop allemand. Quant aux hôtes de cette volière, on les attend encore, et je fais (soit dit entre nous) des vœux pour qu’ils ne viennent jamais. Vous est-il jamais arrivé, en fermant une fenêtre, d’emprisonner par mégarde un oiseau du jardin ? C’est un drame qui fait mal à voir. Le pauvre petit animal se jette tête baissée dans le vitrage. Abusé par la transparence du verre, il croit se rendre libre, il se heurte et il tombe étourdi, quelquefois mort, avant que vous ayez pu lui rendre la clef des champs.

Voilà pourquoi je souhaite que les colibris attendus et promis n’arrivent pas. Les glaces de M. Chamouillet sont d’une si belle eau que l’on dirait de l’air en tranches.

Je n’ai pas la prétention d’épuiser la liste des curiosités et des beautés éparses dans l’enceinte. A quoi bon? Fussé-je complet aujourd’hui, je ne le serais plus demain. Tous les jours on achève une chose et l’on en commence une autre; ce lieu, pour emprunter une locution platonique, est dans un perpétuel devenir.
Nous n’avons encore rien dit de la galerie des fruits et des légumes, fort bien comprise par M. Tronchon, ni de la galerie de l’industrie horticole, très-ingénieusement disposée par M. Arneither;ni du diorama Meissonnier et Marville, où l’on doit vous montrer les plus belles plantes exotiques sous leur forme, leur grandeur et leur couleur naturelle : ni de la galerie des plans de jardin (moins heureuse) ; ni du joli café Gousset, un bijou. Rien de plus frais, de plus riant, de plus champêtre à la dernière mode de Paris. L’architecte, M. Hochereau, en a fait bien d’autres : le grand salon d’honneur, le pavillon de l’orchestre, le bureau de M. Barillet. Tout cela est d’un goût charmant, d’une grande légèreté et d’une dépense très-supportable.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée