International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Waterfall

Waterfall at the Exhibition Paris 1867

No one has to like waterfalls; and not everyone likes artificial rocks.

With these reservations duly established, I dare to confess my weakness for the water that falls in the middle of real or fake rocks. This continuous and yet varied movement animates the gardens and gives them an air of life; the steam of a falling stream spreads a visible and tangible freshness in the air. And then, do you know anything so sweet, so discreet and so harmonious as this song of the little waterfalls? The songs of the modern theatre and its cascades of dubious taste charm me much less.

The rocks were made (that's the word) by M. Combaz. They have varied, pleasant and rather rustic forms. They have been skilfully decorated with green shrubs. The water falls into a small lake where the Fontainebleau carp are due to move in next week. These good old women will get drunk on the first day: they will drink water whipped up by movement and so richly oxygenated that the trout of the torrent will be able to cope with it.

I have seen carpenters building a small raft that the Chinese will disguise as a floating island. If the experiment succeeds, all the owners of ponds will have the luxury of a floating island within six months, and the least bourgeois in Rueil will launch a pocket-sized Delos onto his pond.

The depth of the lake (as it is called) is not the same everywhere. You will notice towards the middle a long bank of bitumen, which extends under the water from end to end. This underwater reef (while we're at it) is in the axis of the Military School. It represents a sewer which it was impossible to destroy, but which M. Barillet has lowered by a very meritorious tour de force, for which no one will be grateful to him, because the public will not guess anything.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Cascade

Cascade à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Nul n’est tenu d’aimer les cascades; et les rochers artificiels ne plaisent pas à tout le monde.

Ces réserves dûment établies, j’ose avouer mon faible pour l’eau qui tombe au milieu des rochers vrais ou faux. Ce mouvement continu et pourtant varié anime les jardins et leur donne un air de vie; la vapeur d’un ruisseau qui se pulvérisé en tombant répand dans l’air une fraîcheur visible et tangible. Et puis, connaissez-vous rien de plus doux, de plus discret et de plus harmonieux que cette chanson des petites cascades? Les chansons du théâtre moderne et ses cascades de goût douteux me charment beaucoup moins, quant à moi.

Les rochers ont été confectionnés (c’est le mot) par M. Combaz. Ils ont des formes variées, agréables et assez rustiques. On les a savamment émaillés d’arbustes verts. L’eau tombe dans un petit lac où les carpes de Fontainebleau doivent emménager la semaine prochaine. Ces bonnes vieilles s’y griseront le premier jour: elles boiront une eau fouettée par le mouvement et si richement oxygénée que des truites de torrent s’en accommoderaient.

J’ai vu des charpentiers construire un petit radeau que les Chinois déguiseront en île flottante. Si l’expérience réussit, tous les propriétaires d’étangs se donneront le luxe d’une île flottante avant six mois, et le moindre bourgeois de Rueil lancera sur sa mare une Délos de poche.

La profondeur du lac (puisqu’on l’appelle ainsi) n’est pas partout la même. Vous remarquerez vers le milieu un long banc de bitume, qui s’étend sous l’eau de bout en bout. Cet écueil sous-marin (pendant que nous y sommes) est dans l’axe de l'École militaire. Il vous représente un égout qu’il était impossible de détruire, mais que M. Barillet a rabaissé par un tour de force très-méritoire, dont personne ne lui saura gré, car le public n'en devinera rien.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée