International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Plants

manque image

No more than yesterday morning, while I was admiring a lot of conifers (pines, firs, etc.) exhibited by M. Deseine of Bougival, a very well dressed young man stopped behind me and said to his companion:
"Trees in an industrial exhibition, why is that? What do plants and industry have in common? When by chance a flower is chic, it is the good Lord who should be decorated; I wonder. "

Discretion forbade me to answer this pretty little man; but as he is perhaps not alone in his opinion, I will say what there is in common between plants and industry.

Nature has given each country only a small number of plants. Our trees, our vegetables, our flowers, ninety-nine hundredths of the French flora represent ancient or recent imports. I am not sure that Lucullus brought the first cherry pits to Borne, but everyone knows how the acacia vulgaris and the horse chestnut came to us; if we had woken up earlier, we would have witnessed the importation of the dahlia and the camellia by Dahl and Camelli. But isn't importing industry?

Another matter. The workman who turns a copper disc into a hunting button with a swing of the pendulum is acting as an industry. And the gardener who transforms a hedge rose into General Jacqueminot's rose?

In his native country, fishing was hardly skin deep, although it had probably been cultivated there for a long time. The industry of the gardeners of Montreuil has made of it the beautiful and tasty fruit that you know. Is it industry or not?

The processes that turn a single flower into a double one, the ingenious manoeuvres that multiply the varieties of flowers and fruits ad infinitum, are industry in the first place, and even the most useful and the most pleasant of industries.

But is not the mere fact of transforming an exotic seed into a beautiful and vigorous tree like the wellingtonia, with no other aids than sun, soil and water, as remarkable as the transformation of a kilogram of wool into a cod-tail suit?

So our horticulturists are industrialists of the most distinguished and deserving class.

I say our... I am wrong, it should be horticulturists. The time has passed, unfortunately, when we were the first in the world in this respect. Is it because our distant colonies have been reduced to almost nothing? Or is it because the spirit of adventure is not as strong among us as among others? Or that the incentives are less extensive? It is too positive that Belgium, Holland, Germany and especially England exceed us in the importation of exotic plants.

If by chance you notice in a corner, three or four collections of small, delicate, green trees, suffering in appearance, do not despise them: they are new plants, newly imported, and introduced into Europe by the English. Who knows if one of these runts does not have an immense future?
Our culture is beautiful, ingenious and skilful; but it is no longer out of line as it was in the last century; it may well redeem the poverty of our imports.

Does this mean that we lack eminent horticulturists? No, of course not: we have not gone backwards, we have even made good progress; but our competitors were galloping behind us, and we let ourselves be caught up. Absolutely, we are making progress. In relation to the neighbouring peoples, it is easy to see that we could have kept our distance a little better.

But melancholic reflections are not in order in such a cheerful and beautiful place.

In addition to M. Deseine from Bougival, Messrs Croux, Moreau, Defresne and Oudin exhibited beautiful collections of conifers. The holly trees of M. Saunier, the rhododendrons of M. Morlet and Cauchois are also remarkable. M. Louis Leroy has sent from Angers a group of splendid magnolias; M. Denis from the Var has generously donated to the garden his date palms, his dwarf palms, his agace trees, and the gigantic cereus (candle cactus) which lean against the two aquariums. All of these were born and bred on the islands of Hyères. We should also mention a basket of araucaria imbricata and some beautiful araucaria excelsa.

As isolated subjects, we have the abies pinsapo of M. Cochet, the abies normanniana of M. Krelage, the pinsapo of M. Oudin, the thuya gigantea and the icellingtonia, or sequoia, or eucalyptus of M. Cochet, the last two outside of the islands. Cochet's icellingtonia, or sequoia, or eucalyptus, the last two of which are offline.

About wellingtoma gigantea, I ask to speak. Our economists and politicians will take advantage of the Exhibition to invite all Europeans to agree once and for all on currencies, weights and measures. I would like the botanists who have been drawn in droves to the Champ de Mars to come to some sort of agreement, at the same time, on the nomenclature of plants. We give them Latin names, because Latin is a universal language for educated minds. But what is the point of speaking Latin if the Americans call sequoia what the English call wellingtonia and the French call eucalyptus? I could mention several hundred plants, each of which has three or four different names in Latin. Let's agree, what the hell! Latin nomenclature has a thousand disadvantages and only one advantage, which is being lost day by day. If we do not want to agree and give each plant a unique name, we will have every advantage in using the old popular, familiar and picturesque names: wolf's mouth, larkspur, bear's ear!

It was Mr. Lechevalier, the manager of the large plantations, who brought the large plane tree here. The tree is as remarkable for its shape as for its size; certainly Xerxes would give it the golden necklace. An eloquent orator, who is himself named after a tree, recently told us in a soulful speech that the kings of Persia used to decorate the veterans of the vegetable kingdom. Let me reform this ingenious but erroneous interpretation of history. Xerxes was a big kid, a jaded sultan and a fool. A young, blue plane tree met him on his way: the king of Persia fell in love with it; he kissed it, he gave it jewels, he treated it like a mistress. The human heart was subject to all sorts of aberrations among the Persians, and among the Greeks too: Xerxes' caprice for a tree has been noted by historians, because it went a little beyond measure. The Greeks did not tell us this anecdote to make us esteem their enemy; on the contrary.

I apologise for the digression; I will not digress any further.

M. Lechevalier, already named, is the author of a fruit garden that I recommend to you. You will see there the most beautiful specimens of an admirable art: it is precision arboriculture. The gardener guides the sap through the branches like a skilled smelter directs the casting of metal; he can fix in advance the exact place where each fruit will be moulded.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Plantes

manque image

Pas plus lard qu’hier matin, tandis que j’admirais un lot de conifères (pins, sapins, etc.) exposé par M. Deseine de Bougival, un jeune homme très-bien mis s’arrêta derrière moi et dit à sa compagne :
« Des arbres dans une exposition de l'industrie, pourquoi ça? Qu’est-ce qu’il y a de commun entre les plantes et l’industrie? Quand par hasard une fleur a du chic, c’est le bon Dieu qu’il faudrait décorer; je me le demande. »

La discrétion m’interdisait de répondre à ce joli petit homme; mais comme il n’est peut-être pas seul de son avis, je vais dire ce qu’il y a de commun entre les plantes et l’industrie.

La nature n’a donné à chaque pays qu’un petit nombre de plantes. Nos arbres, nos légumes, nos fleurs, les quatre-vingt-dix-neuf centièmes de la flore française représentent des importations anciennes ou récentes. Je ne suis pas certain que Lucullus ait apporté à Borne les premiers noyaux de cerise, mais tout le monde sait comment l’acacia vulgaire et le marronnier d’Inde sont arrivés chez nous; si nous nous étions levés plus matin, nous aurions assisté à l’importation du dahlia et du camélia par Dahl et Camelli. Or, l’importation n’est-elle pas de l'industrie?

Autre affaire. L’ouvrier qui d’un coup de balancier transforme une rondelle de cuivre en bouton de chasse fait acte d’industrie. Et le jardinier qui transforme une églantine des haies en rose du général Jacqueminot?

La pêche, à son pays natal, n’avait guère que la peau sur les os, quoiqu’elle y fût sans doute cultivée de longue date. L’industrie des jardiniers de Montreuil en a fait le beau fruit savoureux que vous savez. Est-ce de l’industrie ou non ?

Les procédés qui d’une fleur simple en font une double, les manœuvres ingénieuses qui multiplient à l’infini les variétés des fleurs et des fruits, sont de l'industrie au premier chef et même la plus utile et la plus aimable des industries.

Mais le seul fait de transformer une graine exotique en un bel arbre vigoureux comme le wellingtonia, sans autres auxiliaires que le soleil, la terre et l’eau, n'est-il pas aussi remarquable que la transformation d’un kilogramme de laine en habit à queue de morue?

Donc nos horticulteurs sont des industriels de la classe la plus distinguée et la plus méritante.

Je dis nos... je me trompe, il faut dire les horticulteurs. Le temps n’est plus, malheureusement, où nous étions en ceci les premiers du monde. Est-ce parce que nos colonies lointaines se sont réduites à presque rien? Ou que l’esprit d’aventure est moins vif chez nous que chez d’autres? Ou que les encouragements sont moins larges? Il est trop positif que la Belgique, la Hollande, l’Allemagne et surtout l’Angleterre nous dépassent dans l’importation des végétaux exotiques.

Si par hasard vous remarquez dans un coin, trois ou quatre collections de petits arbres verts chétifs, délicats, souffreteux en apparence, ne les méprisez pas : ce sont des plantes inédites, d'importation nouvelle, et introduites en Europe par les Anglais. Qui sait si l’un de ces avortons n’a pas un avenir immense ?
Notre culture est belle, ingénieuse, savante; mais elle n’est plus hors ligne comme au siècle dernier ; il s’en faut qu’elle rachète la pauvreté de nos importations.

Est-ce à dire que nous manquions d’horticulteurs éminents? Non certes: nous n’avons pas rétrogradé, nous avons même marché d’un bon pas; mais nos concurrents galopaient derrière nous, et nous nous sommes laissé rejoindre. Absolument, nous sommes en progrès. Relativement aux peuples voisins, il est facile de constater que nous aurions pu garder un peu mieux notre distance.

Mais les réflexions mélancoliques ne sont pas de saison dans un lieu si riant et si beau.

Outre M. Deseine de Bougival, MM.Croux, Moreau, Defresne et Oudin ont exposé de belles collections de conifères. Les houx de M. Saunier, les rhododendrons de MM. Morlet et Cauchois sont également remarquables M. Louis Leroy a envoyé d’Angers un groupe de magnolias splendides; M. Denis du Var a donne généreusement au jardin ses dattiers, ses palmiers nains, ses agacés, et les gigantesques cereus (cactus cierges) qui s’adossent aux deux aquariums. Tout cela est né et élevé aux îles d'Hyères. Il faut citer encore une corbeille d’araucaria imbricata et quelques beaux araucaria excelsa.

Comme sujets isolés, nous avons l’abies pinsapo de M. Cochet, l’abies normanniana de M. Krelage, le pinsapo de M. Oudin, le thuya gigantea et le icellingtonia, ou séquoia, ou eucalyptus deM. Cochet, les deux derniers hors ligne.

A propos de wellingtoma gigantea, je demande la parole. Nos économistes et nos politiques vont profiter de l’Exposition pour inviter tous les Européens a s’entendre une bonne fois sur les monnaies, les poids et les mesures. Je voudrais que les botanistes attirés en foule au Champ de Mars s’entendissent un peu, par la même occasion, sur la nomenclature des plantes. On leur donne des noms latins, parce que le latin est poulies esprits cultivés une langue universelle. Mais à quoi bon parler latin, si les Américains appellent séquoia ce que l’Anglais nomme wellingtonia et le Français eucalyptus ? Je pourrais vous citer quelques centaines de plantes dont chacune, en latin, est affublée de trois ou quatre noms différents. Accordons-nous, que diable ! La nomenclature latine a mille inconvénients et un seul avantage qui va se perdant de jour en jour Si l’on ne veut pas s’entendre et donner à chaque plante une dénomination unique, nous aurons tout profit à reprendre les vieux noms populaires, familiers, pittoresques : gueule de loup, pied d’alouette, oreille d’ours !

C’est M. Lechevalier, conducteur des grosses plantations, qui a transporté ici le grand platane. L’arbre est aussi remarquable par ses formes que par sa grandeur; assurément Xerxès lui donnerait le collier d’or. Un éloquent orateur, qui porte lui-même un nom d’arbre, nous a dit récemment dans un discours plein d’âme, que les rois de Perse avaient l’habitude de décorer les vétérans du règne végétal. Permettez-moi de réformer cette interprétation ingénieuse mais erronée de l’histoire. Xerxès était un grand enfant, un sultan blasé et un fou. Un platane jeune et bleu fait se rencontre sur son passage : le roi de Perse en devient amoureux; il l’embrasse, il lui donne des bijoux, il le traite comme une maîtresse. Le cœur humain était sujet à des aberrations en tout genre chez les Perses, et chez les Grecs aussi : le caprice de Xerxès pour un arbre a été signalé par les historiens, parce qu'il dépassait un peu la mesure. Les Grecs ne nous ont pas conté cette anecdote pour nous faire estimer leur ennemi; au contraire.

Pardon de la digression ; je n’en ferai plus.

M. Lechevalier, déjà nommé, est l’auteur d’un jardin fruitier que je vous recommande. Vous y verrez les plus beaux spécimens d’un art admirable : c’est l’arboriculture de précision. Le jardinier conduit la sève à travers les branches comme un fondeur habile dirige la coulée du métal; il peut fixer à l’avance la place exacte où se moulera chaque fruit.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée