International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

The whole

The whole at the Exhibition Paris 1867

One must have known the Champ de Mars from the time when the Emperor spent reviews there, to appreciate the miracle that has taken place in this little corner. Imagine a stretch of natural tarmac, muddy in winter, powdery in summer, and calculate how much time, work and money it took to bring about such a transformation. But there was no time; as for money, the Imperial Commission, which disdains neither great nor small savings, did not care to bury millions in a garden that must live six months. And yet the soil has been transformed, the valleys have been dug, the hills have been raised, the water runs in the streams and rests in the lake; more than forty buildings, some of them masterpieces, have sprung up at once; the most beautiful and precious plants in the world have come to form harmonious groups. Great old trees, including a gigantic plane tree and a chestnut tree, have travelled here without accident.

The author of this fairy tale is a very modest and gentle man, like all superior talents. His name is M. Barillet, and he is the head of the city's plantations. M. Alphand, chief engineer, had, as it should be, the direction of the whole, but this illustrious president of the Consultative Commission had scarcely to sanction the plans of M. Barillet.

I do not believe that it was possible to do better and more cheaply. M. Barillet brought together the various exhibitors whose industry is carried on in the gardens, the greenhouse builders, the kiosk makers, the makers of rustic bridges, the horticulturists, nurserymen, etc., etc., etc., and he made an agreement with each of them to have them contribute to the decoration of his work. Except for the earthwork and a few minor details, everything is on display in the reserved garden. The bed of molten lava that stretches across the bottom of the lake and river is the exhibit of a French industrialist; the gate that closes the garden is the collective exhibit of several metallurgical factories; each basket of flowers is the work and property of an exhibitor.

Each one finds its account in this ingenious combination. The expense is shared among the interested parties; the various works are mutually beneficial; the garden embellishes the cottages and aviaries which adorn the garden; the various industries which had arranged to meet as in a tournament cooperate fraternally in the common work and merge, as it were, in a vast solidarity. The whole garden is the result of an association between workers of all kinds, who lend their products in public and pay each other in advertising, without prejudice to other rewards.

But Mr Barillet had to have a strong head for the pressure of so many and so diverse worries not to have burst him. The garden has been open for a month now; and one still meets at every step people who ask:
"Do you know where M. Barillet is? I need to talk to him right away.
- And I'm looking for him too, by Jove! "Everyone is looking for him and everyone finds him, and it is impossible to find a more patient, more obliging, more tireless man, more devoted to this impossible work which, in eight days, will be brought to a successful conclusion.

His office, always open, is occupied by five employees of rare complacency; so true is it that the stay in the gardens softens the man's morals by relaxing his nerves! They are named, in hierarchical order, Messrs Lavialle, Quénat, Lemichez, Viollet and Morel.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

L'ensemble

L'ensemble à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Il faut avoir connu le Champ de Mars du temps que l’Empereur y passait des revues, pour apprécier le miracle qui s’est fait dans ce petit coin. Figurez-vous une étendue de macadam naturel, fangeux en hiver, poudreux en été, et calculez ce qu’il a fallu de temps, de travail et d’argent, pour opérer une telle transformation. Or le temps manquait; quant à l’argent, la Commission Impériale, qui ne dédaigne ni les grandes ni les petites économies, ne se souciait pas d’enterrer des millions dans un jardin qui doit vivre six mois. Et pourtant le sol s’est transformé, les vallées se sont creusées, les collines se sont élevées, l’eau court dans les ruisseaux et se repose dans le lac; plus de quarante constructions, dont quelques-unes sont des chefs-d’œuvre, sont sorties de terre à la fois ; les plantes les plus belles et les plus précieuses du monde sont accourues pour former des groupes harmonieux. De grands vieux arbres, et entre autres un platane et un marronnier gigantesques, ont voyagé sans accident jusqu’ici.

L’auteur de cette féerie est un homme très-modeste et très-doux, comme tous les talents supérieurs. Il se nomme M. Barillet, et il est le grand chef des plantations de la ville. M. Alphand, ingénieur en chef, avait, comme il convient, la direction de l’ensemble, mais cet illustre président de la Commission consultative n’a guère eu qu’à sanctionner les plans de M. Barillet.

Je ne crois pas qu’il fût possible de mieux faire et à meilleur marché. M. Barillet a réuni les divers exposants dont l’industrie s’exerce sur le sol des jardins, les constructeurs de serres, les fabricants de kiosques, les faiseurs de ponts rustiques, les horticulteurs, pépiniéristes, etc., etc. ; et il s’est entendu avec chacun d’eux pour les faire contribuer à la décoration de son œuvre. Sauf le terrassement et quelques menus détails, tout est exposition dans le jardin réservé. Le lit de lave fusible qui s’étend au fond du lac et de la rivière est l’exposition d un industriel français ; la grille qui ferme le jardin est l’exposition collective de plusieurs usines métallurgiques; chaque corbeille de fleurs est l’œuvre et la propriété d un exposant.

Chacun trouve son compte à cette ingénieuse combinaison. La dépense se répartie sur les intéressés; les ouvrages divers se font valoir l’un l’autre; le jardin embellit les chalets et les volières qui font l'ornement du jardin; les diverses industries qui s’étaient donné rendez-vous comme dans un tournoi coopèrent fraternellement à l’œuvre commune et se fondent pour ainsi dire dans une vaste solidarité. Le jardin tout entier est le résultat d'une association entre des travailleurs en tous genres, qui prêtent leurs produits en public et se payent en publicité, sans préjudice des autres récompenses.

Mais il fallait que M. Barillet eût la tête solide pour que la pression de tracas si multiples et si divers ne l’ait pas fait éclater. Le jardin est ouvert depuis tantôt un mois; et l’on rencontre encore à chaque pas des gens qui se demandent :
« Savez-vous où est M. Barillet? J’ai besoin de lui parler tout de suite.
— Et moi aussi, je le cherche, parbleu! » Tout le monde le cherche et tout le monde le trouve, et il est impossible de trouver un homme plus patient, plus obligeant, plus infatigable, plus dévoué à cette œuvre impossible qui, dans huit jours, sera conduite à bonne fin.

Son bureau, toujours ouvert, est occupé par cinq employés d’une rare complaisance; tant il est vrai que le séjour des jardins adoucit les mœurs de l'homme en détendant ses nerfs! Ils se nomment, par ordre hiérarchique, MM. Lavialle, Quénat, Lemichez, Viollet et Morel.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée