International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Little Temple of Philoe

Little Temple of Philoe at the Exhibition Paris 1867

In front of the temple, a monumental gate decorated with the winged globe can be seen at each of its upper entablatures. It faithfully reproduces, in reduced proportions, one of the gates of Thebes, the City of a Hundred Gates, where the most important ruins of Egypt are found today and from which the obelisk that adorns the Place de la Concorde was extracted. Behind the door, an alley of granite sphinxes moulded on the original and obtained by a brand new process of plastic cement due to M. Chevaillier, gives an idea of what must have been these majestic avenues whose ruins have been found.

The one that existed at Thei or Thebes was more than 2000 metres long. It was not located behind the gate, but in front of it. The space between the gate of the enclosure and the steps of the temple was decorated with magnificent trees.

The location did not allow the Egyptian Commission to reproduce this layout. The one it adopted, however, gives an idea of these splendid monuments of antiquity.

This temple is a study of Egyptian archaeology, rather than the reproduction of a given building. However, as a plan, as a general arrangement, as a harmony of proportions, if not as details of sculpture, it reproduces the Kiosk of Philoe closely enough to be called with sufficient accuracy an imitation of that famous monument.

An external vestibule, formed by magnificent columns, reigns all around the sanctuary, in which some of the wonders of the Boulac Museum will be placed.

The columns of this temple are faithfully reproduced. They represent lotus stems whose very composed capitals recall the flower, with research and complications of form and colour which attest to a most advanced art.

In the blossoming of this first capital, a four-sided figure forms a second capital of an extremely original effect, it is the head of the goddess Athor who presided over joy and happiness, wife or sister of Phtah; she is part of the Egyptian trinilee. It is repeated four times on each column, topped by a piece of cloth rolled in a coil around the figure, which it frames completely, leaving only two cow ears, which recall one of the forms in which the goddess is most often represented in the temples. On these heads a third capital decorated with a tiny symbolic snake supports the I lines of the entablature, on which it projects slightly.

The columns are embedded up to the height of the capital in a wall that forms the first enclosure of the sacred monument.

The general slightly pyramidal shape gives the whole construction a simple, solid and grandiose character, which is impossible not to be struck.

All the outer walls of the temple, all the inner walls of the corridor and the sanctuary itself are covered with admirable hieroglyphic paintings. They are mostly applied on bas-reliefs in the Egyptian manner, protruding slightly from a hollow background. All the inscriptions, cartouches or figures which are thus made have been moulded on nature under the high and skilful direction of M. Mariette Bey, the great Egyptologist, whose discoveries enlarge every day the field of archaeology and world history. The other figures, which are only painted without relief or incision, were traced with the greatest care under his eyes.
Nothing is therefore more faithful than these mysterious figures which retrace most of the religious, military, industrial and gymnastic gestures and deeds of these ancient peoples.

The paintings on the outer walls are made on the overmoulds of the Ptolemaic period contemporary with the Roman Republic. All the subjects are religious, symbolic and mysterious; royal figures offer lotus flowers artistically grouped in slender palms, or ringed crosses, a sign of happiness, or brilliantly coloured jewels or other offerings to symbolic divinities in the most noble and imposing hieratic poses imaginable: small cartouches skilfully distributed as ornaments indicate the name of the sovereign or the personage making the offering.

The walls of the corridor are also covered with paintings. Those that are applied to the temple itself are painted according to the original tracings; those that decorate the wall on the side of the columns are applied on overmoulds.

Here, the paintings of the monuments of the Pharaonic period, contemporary with Moses, have been reproduced. As in the others, the subjects are purely religious; however, the character is more elevated, less elaborate and more ecstatic. One feels that at the time of these creations, art and faith shone equally. On the walls that frame the entrance door of the sanctuary or Naos, two admirable steles have been reproduced that represent on one side the departure of a distant expedition, with its warriors armed with axes, its means of transport, its boats loaded with all sorts of parcels.

On the other side, the queen receives the general on his return: the boats depicted are the pleasure and war ships that brought the queen to the expedition. The army follows with its booty and prisoners.

One could stay indefinitely contemplating these paintings: one always discovers some surprising detail, and in all of them an elevated sense of the art of painting translated with an unheard-of knowledge of drawing, sometimes faithfully observed, other times voluntarily transgressed to obey mystical conventions whose meaning we cannot grasp. Let us enter the sanctuary or Naos.

Here all the ornamentation goes back to the highest known antiquity.
In front of the entrance and in the middle of the walls on each side, there are doors made of oriental alabaster of a singular shape and complicated workmanship. The ceilings, doorframes and pillars that support the open sky are decorated in a prismatic style in which the lotus flower is the principle. But one remains confused when one sees what refined art presided over these ornaments. The interlacing of complicated lines and varied colours attest to a profound science, free from any naivety or simplicity bordering on ignorance: it is incredible!

In the midst of these ornaments, two names are incessantly repeated in two cartouches, similar however. They are the names of Ti and Phtah-hotep, officials of Memphis, to whose tomb belong almost all the subjects reproduced on the steles. Nothing here is symbolic or religious. They are admirable reproductions of scenes of human life of that time. Fishing, hunting, arts and crafts, animals of all kinds, birds, fish, oxen, horses, dogs, donkeys admirably studied, with a deep feeling for art and a great conscience; the smallest details, gymnastic games, tricks, boats, nets, are faithfully reproduced; finally it is a complete reproduction of the life of the Egyptians of the most remote antiquity.

One never tires of looking at these admirable steles. They are authentic, since they are moulded on the monuments themselves and painted under the eyes of Mr. Mariette Bey by a historical painter, whose name we record with the greatest pleasure, to pay tribute to the enlightened zeal with which he directed the crowd of talented young artists whom he employed to execute these remarkable paintings.

Mr. Bin, a history painter, grand prix of Home and several times medallist, has done a very fine job on the inner and outer walls of the temple of Philoe; what a pity that it should all last so short a time!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Petit Temple de Philoé

Petit Temple de Philoé à l'exposition de Paris 1867

En avant du temple on aperçoit une porte, monumentale ornée du globe ailé, à chacun de ses entablements supérieurs. Elle reproduit fidèlement, dans des proportions réduites, l’une des portes de Thèbes, la Ville aux Cent Portes, où se retrouvent aujourd’hui les ruines les plus considérables de l’Égypte et d’où fut extraite l’obélisque qui orne la place de la Concorde. Derrière la porte, une allée de sphinx en granit moulés sur l’original et obtenus par un procédé tout nouveau de ciment plastique dû à M. Chevaillier, donne une idée de ce que devaient être ces majestueuses avenues dont on a retrouvé les ruines.

Celle qui existait à Thi ou Thèbes avait plus de 2000 mètres de long. Elle n’était point située en arrière de la porte, mais en avant. L’espace compris entre la porte de l’enceinte et les marches du temple était orné d'arbres magnifiques.

L’emplacement n’a pas permis à la Commission égyptienne de reproduire cette disposition. Celle qu’elle a adoptée donne pourtant une idée de ces splendides monuments de l’antiquité.

Ce temple est une étude d’archéologie égyptienne, plutôt que la reproduction d’un édifice donné. Cependant, comme plan, comme disposition générale, comme harmonie de proportions, sinon comme détails de sculpture, il reproduit le Kiosque de Philoé d’assez près pour qu’on puisse l’appeler avec une suffisante exactitude une imitation de ce célèbre monument.

Un vestibule extérieur, formé par des colonnes magnifiques, règne tout autour du sanctuaire, dans lequel seront placées quelques-unes des merveilles du Musée de Boulac.

Les colonnes de ce temple sont fidèlement reproduites. Elles représentent des tiges de lotus dont les chapiteaux très-composés rappellent la fleur, avec des recherches et des complications de forme et de couleur qui attestent un art des plus avancés.

Dans l’épanouissement de ce premier chapiteau, une figure à quatre faces forme un second chapiteau d’un effet extrêmement original, c'est la tête de la déesse Athor qui présidait à la joie, au bonheur, femme ou sœur de Phtah; elle fait partie de la trinilé égyptienne. Elle est répétée quatre fois sur chaque colonne, coiffée d’une pièce d’étoffe roulée en boudin autour de la figure qu’elle encadre complètement en ne laissant passer que deux oreilles de vaches, qui rappellent l’une des formes sous laquelle la déesse est le plus souvent représentée dans les temples. Sur ces têtes un troisième chapiteau orné d’un tout petit serpent symbolique supporte les lignes I de l'entablement, sur lequel il fait une légère saillie.

Les colonnes sont noyées jusqu’à la hauteur du chapiteau dans un mur qui forme la première enceinte du monument sacré.

La forme générale légèrement pyramidale, j donne à l’ensemble de cette construction un caractère simple, solide et grandiose, dont il est impossible de ne pas être frappé.

Tous les murs extérieurs du temple, tous les murs intérieurs du couloir et du sanctuaire même sont recouverts de peintures hiéroglyphiques admirables. Elles sont pour la plupart appliquées sur des bas-reliefs à la manière égyptienne, faisant une faible saillie sur un fond creux. Toutes les inscriptions, cartouches ou figures qui sont ainsi faites ont été moulées sur nature sous la haute et habile direction de M. Mariette Bey, le grand égyptologue, dont les découvertes élargissent tous les jours le domaine de l’archéologie et de l’histoire du monde. Les autres figures, qui sont seulement peintes sans relief ni incise, ont été calquées avec le plus grand soin sous ses yeux.
Rien n’est donc plus fidèle que ces mystérieuses figures qui retracent la plupart défaits et gestes religieux, militaires, industriels et gymnastiques de ces peuples si anciens.

Les peintures des murs extérieurs sont faites sur les surmoulés de l’époque ptolémaïque contemporaine de la république romaine. Tous les sujets sont religieux, symboliques et mystérieux; des personnages royaux offrent des fleurs de lotus artistiquement groupées en palmes élancées, ou des croix ansées, signe de bonheur, ou des bijoux aux brillantes couleurs ou d’autres offrandes à des divinités symboliques dans les poses hiératiques les plus nobles et les plus imposantes qu’on puisse imaginer : des petits cartouches habilement distribués en matière d’ornement indiquent le nom du souverain ou du personnage qui accomplit son offrande.

Les murs du couloir sont aussi recouverts de peintures. Celles qui sont appliquées contre le temple même sont peintes d’après les calques originaux; celles qui ornent le mur du côté des colonnes sont appliquées sur des surmoulés.

Ici ce sont les peintures des monuments de l’époque pharaonique, contemporaine de Moïse, qui ont été reproduites. Comme dans les autres, les sujets sont purement religieux ; cependant le caractère en est plus élevé, moins recherché et plus extatique. On sent qu’à l’époque de ces créations, l’art et la foi brillaient également. Sur les murs qui encadrent la porte d’entrée du sanctuaire ou Naos, on a reproduit deux admirables stèles qui représentent d’un côté le départ , d’une expédition lointaine, avec ses guerriers armés de haches, ses moyens de transport, ses barques chargées de toute sorte de colis.

De l’autre côté, la reine reçoit le général à son retour: les barques qui sont figurées sont des bâtiments de plaisance et de guerre qui ont amené la reine au-devant de l’expédition. L’armée traîne à sa suite son butin et ses prisonniers.

On pourrait rester indéfiniment à contempler ces peintures : on y découvre toujours quelque détail surprenant, et dans toutes un sentiment élevé de l’art de peindre traduit avec une connaissance inouïe du dessin, quelquefois fidèlement observé, d’autres fois volontairement transgressé pour obéir à des conventions mystiques dont nous ne pouvons saisir le sens. Pénétrons dans le sanctuaire ou Naos.

Ici toute l’ornementation remonte à la plus haute antiquité connue.
En face de l’entrée et sur le milieu des murs de chaque face, on a figuré des portes en albâtre oriental d’une forme singulière et d’un travail compliqué. Les plafonds, les chambranles et les piliers qui supportent le ciel ouvert sont ornés en style prismatique dont la fleur du lotus est le principe. Mais on reste confondu en voyant quel art raffiné a présidé à ces ornementations. Les enlacements des traits compliqués et des couleurs variées attestent une science profonde, exempte de toute naïveté ou de toute simplicité voisine de l’ignorance : c’est incroyable!

Au milieu de ces ornements, deux noms sont incessamment répétés dans deux cartouches, semblables pourtant. Ce sont les noms de Ti et de Phtah-hotep, fonctionnaires de Memphis, au tombeau desquels appartiennent presque tous les sujets reproduits sur les stèles. Ici, rien n’est symbolique ou religieux. Ce sont d’admirables reproductions des scènes de la vie humaine de cette époque. Pêche, chasse, arts et métiers, animaux de toute sorte, oiseaux, poissons, bœufs, chevaux, chiens, ânes admirablement étudiés, avec un sentiment profond de l'art et une grande conscience; les moindres détails, des jeux gymnastiques, tours de force, bateaux, filets, y sont fidèlement retracés; enfin c’est une reproduction complète de la vie des Égyptiens de l’antiquité la plus reculée.

On ne se lasse pas de regarder ces admirables stèles. Elles sont authentiques, puisqu’elles sont surmoulées sur les monuments mêmes et peintes sous les yeux de M. Mariette Bey par un peintre d'histoire, dont nous enregistrons le nom avec le plus grand plaisir, pour rendre hommage au zèle éclairé avec lequel il a dirigé la foule des jeunes artistes de talent qu’il a employés à exécuter ces remarquables peintures.

M. Bin, peintre d’histoire, grand prix de Home et plusieurs fois médaillé, a accompli un très-beau travail sur les murs intérieurs et extérieurs du temple de Philoé; quel dommage que tout cela doive durer si peu !

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée