Back - List of Pavilions

Salemlik -

Salemlik at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

The Salemlik of H. H. the Viceroy of Egypt has been prepared by the Egyptian Commission in the hope that His Highness will come to Paris this summer, so that she can rest from her visits to the Exhibition and receive the people who will have the honour of being admitted to her.

This hope will be fulfilled. The next trip of His Highness the Viceroy of Egypt is announced as very positive. He will probably be here during the month of May. This is the brightest time in Paris, and if, as is said, several crowned heads are to meet at the Universal Exhibition at the same time, it promises a springtime like no other.

The Viceroy of Egypt is a very young and very amiable prince; he was educated in Paris; his studies have been taken very far, since he attended our Polytechnic School as a foreign student. He speaks French and most European languages admirably; he highly appreciates our arts and sciences, whose benefits he is spreading in the beautiful country he governs.

His Highness could not let slip this unique opportunity to see, in a single point of the globe, the meeting of all that is most interesting or most beautiful in the world. There she will find the sweet happiness of seeing again the places where the most beautiful years of her early youth were spent, free from the worries and grave responsibilities of supreme power.

The Salemlik of Her Highness is a charming pavilion surmounted by a dome of the purest Arabian style, as are the doors and ornaments which adorn the ceilings, the doorframes and the pediments.

On the doorway, whose workmanship is quite remarkable, there is a beautiful inscription in Arabic script borrowed from the Koran. It is an invocation to God which means:
"O you who open the doors, open to us the door of good.

This inscription is frequently put on the house of the Mohammedans.

The Arab artists did not have great resources to decorate their monuments because their religion absolutely forbids the reproduction of any living being. This prohibition of the prophet was a response to a great thought. Wishing to bring his followers back to the purest belief in the one God, and to prevent the worship of the faithful from turning away from the Supreme Being or creating new idols, he forbade the reproduction of any living being. He achieved his aim perfectly; nothing can give a fair idea of the imposing simplicity of a mosque where, as in the heart of a Muslim, there is only one object of worship and adoration, Allah!

At first glance, it would seem that this prohibition was intended to prevent the development of taste and art in general: this was not the case, however. The artists, reduced to a few fleurons or geometrical lines, were able to make marvellous use of it; they even took advantage of the beauty of the Arabic script to include it in all their friezes, thus combining respect for the sacred texts and the charm of poetry with the effect of their monuments. They imagined interlacing and entanglements that were marked by the greatest inventive genius and the most refined taste. Their works are admired by our ornamental painters and often serve as models for them. What could be more beautiful than the drawings and sculptures of the Alhambra!

This art, which is now very degenerate, has remained the heritage of a few Arab workers who are not without a certain talent. We saw before our eyes Tunisian artists, unplastered cutters, working in the park of the palace of the bey of Tunis with great skill.

Wherever the Muslim religion has extended its empire, furniture, fabrics, paintings, carpets, shawls, weapons, harnessing, everything in a word obeys the same law which forbids the reproduction of any living being, and it must be acknowledged that in the art of grouping embroidery and harmonising colours, Oriental artists have not been surpassed. The magnificent samples of the Exhibition are there to attest it.

The ornaments of the Salemlik of the Viceroy of Egypt, sculpted by the French artists of the house of Bernard and Mallet, are very remarkable specimens of this particular art, which they have reproduced in a very fine style.

By a delicate attention of the Egyptian Commission, the interior of the Salemlik recalls the room in which His Highness was born. Nothing could give a more exact idea of the actual oriental life. The furniture, the hangings, the carvings and paintings on the ceiling, the marble floor, the fountain set in the middle in a shallow basin, the two graceful terraces which give access to the garden, and the rich accessories gathered in this pavilion are a faithful image of Oriental luxury as it exists today. Around the main room, illuminated by a beautiful dome and by the large windows of the balconies, are four cabinets in which S. A. can retire to work or to relax. A. can retire to work or to rest. The doors which close this pavilion are made in Cairo by Arab artists; they are decorated with locks and cut metal appliques, truly ancient; the wood only has been rebuilt but copied exactly. The outer walls are painted with large white and blue stripes in the oriental fashion.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salemlik

Salemlik à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Le Salemlik de S. A. le vice-roi d’Égypte a été préparé par la Commission égyptienne dans l’espoir que Son Altesse viendrait cet été à Paris, afin qu’elle put s’y reposer de ses visites à l’Exposition et y recevoir les personnes qui auront l’honneur d’être admises auprès d’elle.

Cet espoir sera réalisé. On annonce comme très-positif le prochain voyage de S. A. le vice-roi d’Egypte. Il sera probablement ici pendant le mois de mai. C’est le moment le plus brillant de Paris, et si, comme on le dit, plusieurs têtes couronnées se donnent rendez-vous à l’Exposition universelle pour la même époque, cela nous promet un printemps à nul autre pareil.

Le vice-roi d’Égypte est un prince très-jeune et très-aimable; il a fait son éducation à Paris; ses études ont été poussées très-loin, puisqu'il a suivi les cours de notre École polytechnique à titre d’élève étranger. Il parle admirablement le français et la plupart des langues européennes; il apprécie hautement nos arts et nos sciences, dont il propage les bienfaits dans le beau pays qu’il gouverne.

Son Altesse ne pouvait laisser échapper cette occasion unique de voir, en un seul point du globe, la réunion de tout ce qu’il y a de plus intéressant ou de plus beau dans le monde. Elle y trouvera le bonheur si doux de revoir les lieux où s’écoulèrent les plus belles années de sa première jeunesse, exempte des soucis et des graves responsabilités du pouvoir suprême.

Le Salemlik de Son Altesse est un charmant pavillon surmonté d’une coupole du style arabe le plus pur, ainsi que les porte et les ornements qui ornent les plafonds, les chambranles et les frontons.

Sur celui de la porte d’entrée, dont le travail est fort remarquable, on voit une belle inscription en écriture arabe empruntée au Koran. C’est une invocation à Dieu qui signifie :
« O vous qui ouvrez les portes, ouvrez nous la porte du Bien. »

Cette inscription est mise fréquemment sur la demeure des Mahométans.

Les artistes arabes n’ont pas eu de grandes ressources pour orner leurs monuments parce que leur religion interdit absolument la reproduction de tout être vivant. Cette interdiction du prophète répondait à une grande pensée. Voulant ramener ses adeptes à la croyance la plus pure d’un Dieu seul et unique, et éviter que sous aucun prétexte l’adoration des fidèles ne pût se détourner de l’Être suprême ni créer de nouvelles idole, il proscrivit la reproduction d’aucun être vivant. Il atteignit parfaitement son but; ca-rien ne peut donner une juste idée de la simplicité imposante d’une mosquée où, comme dans le cœur d'un musulman, il n’y a qu’un seul objet de culte et d adoration, Allah !

Il semblerait au premier abord que cette interdiction devait empêcher le développement du goût et de l’art en général : il n’en fut rien pourtant. Les artistes, réduits à quelques fleurons ou à quelques lignes géométriques ont su en tirer un parti merveilleux; ils ont même profité de la beauté de l’écriture arabe pour la faire figurer dans toutes leurs frises, mêlant ainsi le respect des textes sacré et le charme de la poésie à l’effet de leurs monuments. Ils ont imaginé des enlacements et des enchevêtrements empreints du plus grand génie inventif et du goût le plus raffiné. Leurs œuvres font l’admiration de nos peintres d’ornements et leur servent souvent de modèle. Quoi de plus beau que les dessins et les sculptures de l’Alhambra!

Cet art, aujourd’hui très-dégénéré, est resté le patrimoine de quelques ouvriers arabes qui ne sont pas dépourvus d’un certain talent. Nous avons vu sous nos yeux des artistes tunisiens, découpeurs déplâtré, travailler dans le parc du palais du bey de Tunis avec une grande habileté.

Partout où la religion musulmane a étendu son empire, les meubles, les étoffes, les peintures, les tapis, les châles, les armes, les harnachements, tout en un mot obéit à la même loi qui interdit la reproduction de tout être vivant, et l’on doit reconnaître que dans art de grouper les enlacements et d'harmoniser les couleurs, les artistes orientaux n’ont pas été dépassés. Les magnifiques échantillons de l’Exposition sont là pour l’attester.

Les ornementations du Salemlik du vice-roi d’Égypte, sculptées par les artistes français de la maison Bernard et Mallet, sont des spécimens fort remarquables de cet art particulier qu’ils ont reproduit dans un très-beau style.

Par une délicate attention de la Commission égyptienne, l’intérieur du Salemlik rappelle la chambre dans laquelle Son Altesse est née. Rien ne pouvait donner une idée plus exacte de la vie orientale actuelle. Les meubles, les tentures, les sculptures et peintures du plafond, le parquet de marbre, la fontaine établie au milieu dans une vasque peu profonde, les deux gracieuses terrasses qui donnent accès sur le jardin et les riches accessoires réunis dans ce pavillon sont une image fidèle du luxe oriental, tel qu'il existe aujourd’hui. Autour de la pièce principale, éclairée par un joli dôme et par les larges fenêtres des balcons, règnent quatre cabinets dans lesquels S. A. pourra se retirer pour travailler ou pour se reposer. Les portes qui ferment ce pavillon sont faites au Caire par des artistes arabes; elles sont ornées de serrureries et d’appliques en métal découpé, véritablement anciennes; les bois seuls ont été refaits mais copiés exactement. Les murs extérieurs sont peints de grandes bandes blanches et bleues a la mode orientale.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée