International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Romanian Church

Romanian Church at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The monument that rises in the Park, between the Brousse mosque and the Mexican temple, is the diminutive of a Romanian cathedral. These three low domes, which will be painted like those of the trophy of the machine nave, represent an architecture that is no longer Byzantium and not yet Moscow. We know that the Romanians belong to the united Greek cult. Strange destinies of peoples! Their beliefs are most often what events make them. Why did the Romanians lean towards the Greek Church, while they kept in use the traditions of the Latin language, which they still speak today as a natural gift? Why schismatic Romanians, between Catholic Poland and unbelieving Turkey? Why did the Danube, which did not serve as a border upstream, on the Pesth side, break the unity of beliefs downstream, on the Bucharest side?

This would be an even more historical than theological thesis to develop, and one that has no place here. Let us take the Romanian church for what it is, a transition between Byzantine and Oriental art. This triple dome lacks a magnet needle like the temple in Mecca. Once again, there is something of the mosque and the Kremlin in this architecture, half imported, half imposed; it is a middle art, if I may so speak, which seeks its middle and does not find it, like the country it represents.

Ah! the milieu! that is what most often decides the life of a people and the destiny of individuals. Such a way of being, which one believes to be inherent in the spirit of a man or a country, depends on the position he occupies or the latitude in which he moves.

What do you think of the Romanian church on the Champ de Mars? It is curious to see as a specimen; but no matter how much you extend its proportions, it will never be large.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Église roumaine

Église roumaine à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Le monument qui s’élève dans le Parc, entre la mosquée de Brousse et le temple mexicain, est le diminutif d’une cathédrale roumaine. Ces trois coupoles surbaissées, qui seront peintes comme celles du trophée de la nef des machines, nous représentent une architecture qui n’est plus Byzance et qui n’est pas encore Moscou. On sait que les Roumains relèvent du culte grec-uni. Étranges destinées des peuples ! leurs croyances sont le plus souvent ce que les font les événements. Pourquoi les Roumains ont-ils penché vers l’Église grecque, pendant qu’ils conservaient dans l’usage les traditions de la langue latine, qu’ils parlent encore aujourd’hui comme par un don naturel? Pourquoi des Roumains schismatiques, entre la Pologne catholique et la Turquie mécréante? Pourquoi le Danube, qui n’a pas servi de frontière en amont, du côté de Pesth, a-t-il rompu l’unité des croyances en aval, du côté de Bucharest?

Ce serait une thèse plus historique encore que théologique à développer, et dont la place n’est pas ici. Prenons l’église roumaine pour ce qu’elle est, une transition entre l’art byzantin et l’art oriental. Il manque à cette triple coupole une aiguille à aimant comme au temple de la Mecque. Encore une fois, il y a de la mosquée et du Kremlin dans cette architecture, mi-partie importée, mi-partie imposée; c’est un art mitoyen, si je puis ainsi parler, qui cherche son milieu et ne le trouve pas, comme le pays qu’il représente.

Ah ! le milieu! c’est là ce qui décide le plus souvent de la vie d’un peuple et de la destinée des individus. Telle manière d’être, qu’on croit inhérente à l’esprit d’un homme ou d’un pays, dépend de la position qu’il occupe ou de la latitude où il se meut.

Que vous semble de l’église roumaine di: Champ de Mars? C’est curieux à voir comme spécimen ; mais vous aurez beau en étendre les proportions, cela ne sera jamais grand.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée