International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Electric lighthouses

Electric lighthouses at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Electricity, as I have already said in this book, is a power which has scarcely been revealed and not yet subdued, and which is destined, not only to give us light and the instantaneous transmission of signs, but also to serve as a motor, in place of the depleted coal, but already aided by compressed air. All experiments in electricity are of the greatest interest to the public, for it is felt that this is where the genius of discovery must be exercised today.

Up to now, we city dwellers have hardly seen electric light except in opera sets, where its use is limited to representing moonlight or apotheosis effects. We will see it at the Champ de Mars in charge of illuminating the entire basin of the Seine, with projections that would be visible at sea over 46 kilometres away.

The French electric lighthouses are installed in this building decorated in the antique style, which is found in the English quarter, near the great gate of Iéna, and which our drawing represents faithfully.

Electric light is a modern discovery, and its application to lighthouse lighting is quite recent. It was only about thirty years ago that the means of making the electric light effects continuous were studied; several devices were devised, and in 1848 practical experiments on this new agent began at the central lighthouse workshop in Paris. These tests, attempted with batteries, gave excellent results, as to the luminous intensity; but the inconveniences arising from these sources of electricity made one conclude that the light obtained was not applicable to lighthouses. At the beginning of 1860, a new system, based on the induction currents discovered by Faraday, was tried; the experiments were continued, and the results were sufficiently satisfactory for its provisional application to a first-rate lighthouse in the Channel to be ordered at the end of 1863. One of the most frequented points of our coastline was chosen for experimentation, the Cap de la Hève, near Le Havre, which is marked by two first-rate lighthouses with fixed lights, distant from each other.
The southern lighthouse was illuminated with the light of the sun, and the southern one with the light of the sun. The southern lighthouse was illuminated with electric light, and the northern lighthouse remained lit with rapeseed oil as in the past. The observations of nearly two years showed, in terms of range, the great superiority of the southern lighthouse over the northern one: for, whatever the state of transparency of the atmosphere, the sailors always saw the electric light before the oil light. Practice had thus justified the hopes inspired by electric lighting; and on 1st November 1865, this new system was definitively applied to the two lighthouses of La Hève.

The organisation of the electric lighthouses at the Exhibition is the same as that of the Hève lighthouses.

The machines intended for the production of electric current are the magneto-electric machines of the Alliance company, designed by Noblet and perfected by Joseph Van Malderen; - they are set in motion by a locomobile, Rouffec aîné system, with a nominal force of six horses.

The currents developed by the magneto-electric machines and which are due to the rapid rotation of the metal wire coils between the poles of powerful magnets, are conducted in a regulator which carries the two coals at the tip of which the light is produced; the purpose of this regulator is to bring the coals closer together as they burn. Two of these regulators are exhibited: one, the most experienced, is by M. Serrin; the second is by M. Foucault; in both, it is the power of an electromagnet that is used to stop either a clockwork movement or an oscillating system that brings the coals together.

The intensity supplied by a magneto-electric machine can be estimated at an average of 200 Carcel's spouts. The intensity of a Carcel lamp consuming 40 grams of rapeseed oil per hour is 80 times that of a candle burning 10 grams per hour (the intensity of a 1st order rapeseed oil lamp is only 23 spouts). This high intensity of the electric flame is obtained under a very small volume, which is eight times less than that of a first-order 4-metre lamp flame. Hence, it is conceivable that the dimensions of the optical apparatus for emitting the rays have been greatly reduced. In fact, the enormous lenses of 1 m. 84 in diameter have been replaced by lenses of 0 m. 30 in diameter.

The two devices, installed one above the other in a small projecting lantern applied to one of the faces of the octagonal tower of the building of the electric lighthouses of the Exhibition, are: the first, a device for a scintillating light whose flashes follow one another from 2 seconds to 2 seconds, and the second, a device for a fixed light varying in flashes from minute to minute - These devices, executed by Mr. Sautter, are the first electric lights that have been used.
The question of expenses is interesting to know, and we will give some comparative figures of oil lighting and electric lighting. They relate to fixed lights, the only ones that are nowadays observed with electric light.

The initial costs of setting up the equipment for an oil lamp can be estimated at 47,000 francs, while those for an electric lamp are only 4,500 francs.

The annual maintenance costs are approximately 7860 fr. for oil lighting and 10130 fr. for electric lighting. Since the number of lighting hours useful for navigation is 3900 per year, the price per hour of the unit of light sent to the horizon can be deduced from these figures. For a lighthouse with an oil-fed light, whose intensity is 630 Carcel's beaks, it is 0 c. 32; and for an electric light, whose intensity is 5400 Carcel's beaks, it is 0 c. 047, from which it follows that the unit of light costs nearly 7 times less when magneto-electric machines are used than when oil is used.

It would be incorrect to conclude from the merit of a lighthouse by its intensity: - its real utility is in its range; and it is when this element of appreciation is brought into play that the advantages of electric lighting are greatly reduced. It is well known that when the opacity of the air becomes greater, that for a notable increase in light intensity, the range is increased only in a very small proportion. In clear weather the range of an electric lighthouse giving 5400 beaks is approximately 28 nautical miles (that of an oil lighthouse giving 630 beaks is 20 miles); in foggy weather this range is only 13 miles (that of an oil lighthouse would be 10 miles), i.e. the increase in range given by the electric light is only 33 per cent.

However small this advantage may be in comparison with what the considerable intensity of electric light seems to promise, the new method of lighting is nevertheless of great importance, as is everything that tends to increase the safety of navigation.

It is especially for foggy weather that electric lights are recommended; and, as it is necessary for the safety of the lighting to have a double set of machines, it is possible to double the intensity of the devices during fog by operating the two magneto-electric machines together.

- Electric lighting will certainly develop on our maritime coastline:
But what will oppose its extension, as for the present, is that it is not economically applicable to the lights of weak range which are the most numerous, and that, because of the chances of accidents that the machines employed present, it cannot be used on isolated points where the resources lack and where the communications are not assured.

The old oil lighting has for him the merit of safety which electric lighting still lacks a little; but time will certainly bring this precious complement to it, and the application of Faraday's discovery will mark a progress in maritime lighting
the invention of parabolic reflectors (Teulère, 7783) and lenticular lighthouses (Fresnel, 1819). - The authors of the project of the electric lighthouses of the Exhibition are the engineers to whom the honour of the innovation of the new lighting system belongs: they are Messrs Reynaud, general inspector, and Allard, chief engineer of the bridges and roads.

M. Colin, who took an active part in the establishment of the electric lighthouses of La Hève, was also the conductor of the works at the Champ de Mars.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Phares électriques

Phares électriques à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’électricité, je l’ai déjà dit dans ce livre, est une puissance à peine révélée et non encore soumise, et qui est destinée, non-seulement à nous donner la lumière et la transmission instantanée des signes, mais encore à nous servir de moteur, à la place de la houille appauvrie mais déjà secourue par l’air comprimé. Tout ce qui est expériences d’électricité intéresse au plus haut point la curiosité publique; caron sent que c’est là que doit surtout s’exercer aujourd’hui le génie des découvertes.

Jusqu’ici, nous, citadins, nous n’avons guère vu la lumière électrique que dans des décors d’opéra, où son emploi est borné à représenter des effets de clair de lune ou d’apothéose. Nous la verrons au Champ de Mars chargée d’illuminer tout le bassin de la Seine, avec des projections qui seraient visibles en mer à plus de 46 kilomètres.

Les phares électriques français sont installés dans ce bâtiment décoré à l’antique que l’on trouve dans le quartier anglais, près de la grande porte d'Iéna, et que notre dessin représente fidèlement.

La lumière électrique est une découverte moderne, et son application à l’éclairage des phares est toute récente. Il n’y a guère qu’une trentaine d’années que l’on étudia les moyens de rendre continus les effets lumineux électriques; plusieurs appareils furent imaginés, et, en 1848, on commença à l’atelier central des phares, à Paris, les expériences pratiques sur ce nouvel agent. Ces essais, tentés avec des piles, donnèrent d’excellents résultats, quant à l’intensité lumineuse; mais les inconvénients provenant de ces sources d’électricité firent conclure que la lumière obtenue n’était pas applicable aux phares. Au commencement de 1860, un système nouveau, basé sur les courants d’induction découverts par Faraday, fut essayé ; les expériences se poursuivirent, et les résultats furent assez satisfaisants pour que l’application, à titre provisoire, à un phare de premier ordre de la Manche, en fût ordonnée à la fin de 1863. On choisit pour lieu d’expérimentation un des points les plus fréquentés de notre littoral, le cap de la Hève, près du Havre, qui est signalé par deux phares de
premier ordre à feu fixe, éloignés l’un de l’autre d’à peu près 100 mètres. Le phare sud fut éclairé à la lumière électrique, et. le phare nord resta éclairé à l’huile de colza comme par le passé. Les observations de près de deux années montrèrent, sous le rapport de la portée, la grande supériorité du phare sud sur le phare nord : car, quel qu’ait été l’état de transparence de l'atmosphère, les marins aperçurent toujours le feu électrique avant le feu à l’huile. La pratique avait donc justifié les espérances inspirées par l’éclairage électrique; et le 1er novembre 1865, ce nouveau système fut appliqué d’une façon définitive aux deux phares de la Hève.

L’organisation des phares électriques de l’Exposition est la même que celle des phares de la Hève.

Les machines destinées à la production du courant électrique sont les machines magnéto-électriques de la compagnie l’Alliance, conçues par Noblet et perfectionnées par Joseph Van Malderen; — elles sont mises en mouvement par une locomobile, système Rouffec aîné, de la force nominale de six chevaux.

Les courants développés par les machines magnéto-électriques et qui sont dus à la rotation rapide des bobines de fils métalliques entre les pôles de puissants aimants, sont conduits dans un régulateur qui porte les deux charbons à la pointe desquels se produit la lumière ; ce régulateur a pour objet de rapprocher convenablement les charbons à mesure qu’ils se consument. Deux de ces régulateurs sont exposés : l’un, le plus expérimenté, est de M. Serrin; le second est de M. Foucault; dans les deux, c’est la puissance d’un électro-aimant qui est utilisée pour arrêter soit un mouvement d’horlogerie, soit un système oscillant qui rapproche les charbons.

L’intensité fournie par une machine magnéto-électrique peut être évaluée en moyenne à 200 becs de Carcel. L’intensité d’une lampe Carcel consommant 40 grammes d’huile de colza à l’heure équivaut à 80 fois celle d’une bougie brûlant 10 grammes par heure (l’intensité d’une lampe de 1er ordre à huile de colza n’est que de 23 becs). Cette intensité si grande de la flamme électrique est obtenue sous un volume très-restreint qui est huit fois moindre que celui d’une flamme de lampe à 4 mètres de 1er ordre. De là, on conçoit qu’on a pu diminuer de beaucoup les dimensions des appareils optiques propres à l’émission des rayons. En effet, aux énormes lentilles de 1 m. 84 de diamètre on a substitué des lentilles de 0 m. 30 de diamètre.

Les deux appareils, installés l’un au-dessus de l’autre dans une petite lanterne en saillie appliquée contre l’une des faces de la tour octogonale du bâtiment des phares électriques de l’Exposition, sont : le premier, un appareil pour feu scintillant dont les éclats se succèdent de 2 secondes en 2 secondes, et le deuxième, un appareil pour feu fixe varie par des éclats de minute en minute.— Ces appareils, exécutés par M. Sautter, sont les premiers feux électriques qui aient été pratiqués.
La question de dépenses est intéressante à connaître, et nous allons donner quelques chiffres comparatifs de l’éclairage à l’huile et de l’éclairage électrique. Ils se rapportent â des feux fixes, les seuls constatés aujourd’hui par la lumière électrique.

Les frais de premier établissement du matériel d’un feu à l’huile peuvent être évalués à 47 000 fr., ceux du feu électrique ne sont que de 42500 fr.

Les dépenses annuelles d’entretien sont approximativement pour l’éclairage à l’huile de 7860 fr. et pour l’éclairage électrique de 10130 fr. Le nombre d’heures d’allumage utile à la navigation étant de 3900 par an, on peut déduire de ces chiffres le prix par heure de l’unité de lumière envoyée à l’horizon. Pour un phare à feu alimenté à l'huile, dont l’intensité est de 630 becs de Carcel, il est de 0 c. 32; et pour un feu électrique, dont l’intensité est de 5400 becs carcel, il est de 0 c. 047, d’où il ressort que l’unité de lumière coûte près de 7 fois moins, quand on emploie les machines magnéto-électriques que quand on a recours à l’huile.

Il serait inexact de conclure du mérite d’un phare d’après son intensité : — son utilité réelle est dans sa portée; et c’est alors qu’on fait intervenir cet élément d’appréciation que les avantages de l’éclairage électrique se réduisent beaucoup. On sait surtout quand l’opacité de l’air devient plus grande, que pour un accroissement notable d’intensité lumineuse, la portée n’est augmentée que dans une bien faible proportion. Par un temps clair la portée d’un phare électrique donnant 5400 becs est approximativement de 28 milles marins (celle d’un phare à l’huile donnant 630 becs est de 20 milles); par un temps brumeux, cette portée n’est plus que de 13 milles (celle d’un phare à l’huile serait de 10 milles), c’est-à-dire qu’alors l’augmentation de portée, donnée par la lumière électrique, n’est que de 33 pour 100.

Quelque réduit que soit cet avantage en comparaison de ce que paraît promettre l’intensité considérable de la lumière électrique, le nouveau mode d’éclairage n’en est pas moins d’une grande importance, comme tout ce qui tend à accroître la sécurité de la navigation.

C'est surtout pour les temps brumeux que se recommandent les feux électriques ; et, comme il est nécessaire pour assurer la sécurité de l’éclairage d’avoir un double jeu de machines, on possède la faculté de doubler pendant la brume les intensités des appareils en faisant fonctionner ensemble les deux machines magnéto électriques.

— L’éclairage électrique va certainement se développer sur notre littoral maritime :
Mais ce qui s’opposera à son extension, quant à présent qu’il n’est pas applicable économiquement aux feux de faible portée qui sont les plus nombreux, et, qu'à cause des chances d'accidents que présentent les machines employées, il ne peut être utilisé sur des points isolés où les ressources manquent et où les communications ne sont pas assurées.

L'ancien éclairage à l’huile a pour lui le mérite de la sécurité qui manque encore un peu à l'éclairage électrique; mais le temps lui apportera certainement ce complément précieux, et l'application de la découverte de Faraday marquera un progrès dans l’éclairage
maritime comme l’invention des réflecteurs paraboliques (Teulère, 7783) et celle des phares lenticulaires (Fresnel, 1819). — Les auteurs du projet des phares électriques de l'Exposition sont les ingénieurs à qui revient l'honneur de l’innovation du nouveau système éclairage : ce sont MM. Reynaud, inspecteur général, et Allard, ingénieur en chef des ponts et chaussées.

M. Colin, qui a pris une part active à établissement des phares électriques de la Hève, a été aussi le conducteur des travaux au Champ de Mars.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée