International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Palace of the Bey

Palace of the Bey at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Architect(s) : Alfred Chapon

To reproduce in its truest and most curious particularities the customs, arts and industry of Tunisia, such was the aim that seems to have been achieved in this building erected at the right angle of the Park and which is designated under the name of the Bey's Palace.

Oriental life, with all its graceful artistic memories of the Alhambra, is here caught in the act; and I have no doubt that these Moors, who for several centuries have made the south of Spain prosperous, are the direct and natural ancestors of the inhabitants of Tunisia. It is not that here and there the Christian way, as they themselves say, has not penetrated into the native industry and art; but if an educated and intelligent man asks them for a faithful reproduction of the great Moorish art, the artist immediately sets to work and has only to remember.

A man came along who knew the artistic tendencies of the Tunisian workers; he knew how to invigorate them, how to train them and how to obtain their help in putting the finishing touches to the Bey's Palace.

It was Mr. J. de Lesseps who was the intelligent and active organizer of this brilliant installation; and naming such a name dispenses us from extending our praise.

The Bey's Palace is in facade the very exact reproduction of the palace built in Tunis and which is called the Bardo.

Six lions are staggered to the right and left of the main staircase, which leads under an elegant peristyle supported by slender and graceful columns whose scrolls are cut out in the open. From the peristyle one reaches a vestibule on the same level, to the right of which is the bey's chamber of justice.

This chamber, designed in the purest Moorish style, is raised in the form of a dome decorated with gilding enhanced by striking red and blue tones.

To the left of the vestibule is the guard room; and next to it is the salon of the Prime Minister, Sidi-Mustapha-Khaznadar, who for thirty years has held the same position under three different reigns. A rare thing, is it not, and one which reveals a superior merit and ability to overcome the fluctuations inherent in all dynastic changes.

The prime minister's room leads into the bey's room of honour, known as Beit-el-Bacha. This room is decorated with moucharnbi, a kind of window cut out in the open, and closed in such a way that one can see from inside without being seen from outside.

It also has the following characteristic feature of oriental customs:
The moucharabi is located in a recess which allows a wide and convenient couch to be installed where the bey stands, always surrounded by his court. If the bey wants to be alone with a visitor, he only has to make a sign and the assistants withdraw. The moucharabi then forms a separate room within the salon, and at the slightest desire of the sovereign, the assistants, invisible for a moment, reappear as if by magic and surround him again.

In the centre of the Palace is the summer salon, called the Patio. This room has no other gilded or silvered ceiling than the celestial vault: a basin equipped with a jet of water occupies the centre, and on each side two shelters in the form of divans allow the bey to breathe at ease the beneficial coolness of the evening.

I recommend to ceramists the decorated earthenware which decorates these two shelters, and which are original works, although frustrated, sent directly from Tunisia.

From the patio, one enters directly into the bey's room.

It is a vast room decorated with unprecedented taste and luxury. A central window, which is situated opposite the patio, is surmounted by a rose window with coloured glasses of dazzling brilliance.

By a singular coincidence, which is certainly due to the gracious attention of the eminent man I have already named, a maxim from the Koran appears at the bottom of the multi-coloured rose window.

Translated into French, it means:
Happy is the country that is governed by the sadeck!
The sadeck, in French, is the righteous.
And do you know what the current bey is called?
Sidi Sadeck bey.

To the right of the patio, there is a gallery which will serve as a dining room.

This gallery is devoted to a museum of extremely rare value, a museum currently installed in the Tunisian gallery of the inner palace of the Exhibition, and whose classification is directed by our learned compatriot, M. de Longpérier.

The antiquities of Roman and Phoenician Carthage sent by Prince Mohammed, the eldest son of the Prime Minister Sidi Khaz-nadar, will be installed there with the greatest care.

Never has such an exhibition been made, and it will be a unique opportunity to study the ancient processes which are still only very imperfectly known to us.

For my part, I shall be delighted to have a clear picture of the Carthaginian antiquities.

I was, like many others, driven by the desire to visit the ruins of Carthage.

Great was my disappointment, when I saw myself in front of an immense plain of very sparsely rolled and very sharp stones. A few shapeless heaps of stone represent the temple of Astarte and the palace of Dido, that inconsolable lover of Aeneas.

All that has resisted the ravages of time and people are the cisterns, which are still in a relatively surprising state of preservation today.

What the ruins of Carthage can offer us, Prince Mohammed obligingly places before our eyes; may our most sincere thanksgiving follow him to his palaces in La Goulette and Tunis!

To return from our little excursion to Africa, let us pass into the gallery-museum, cross the patio and examine to the left of the bey's room another room which His Highness reserves for noble visitors who would like to rest in the Palace.

If the interior of this delightful edifice offers the exact and conscientious specimen of Tunisian civilisation in its highest type, the exterior of the palace also offers the spectacle of the various native industries and functions.

To the right and left of the main staircase are two guardhouses, and two grated caves intended to contain ferocious beasts. - Local custom. On the side facing the great avenue of the velum is an immense Arab café, the ceiling of which is decorated with hand-made cut-outs of admirable workmanship; we shall no doubt be allowed to drink in this establishment, faithfully modelled on the native establishments, this unique coffee, in which the grounds are not separated from the liquid, and which has a flavour that amateurs know how to appreciate.

Following this café and on the side that runs along the quay promenade, there is an Arab barber's shop with its back room, equipped with a huge couch where the customers come to lie down and rest.

The barber's shop is a meeting place for oriental talkers. The barber is the obligatory gazetteer of all the gossip. - Chatting like a barber" - must have been invented by the Orientals. The barber and the adjoining café alone represent three quarters of Tunisian life. This is the real circle; this is where the stories of the day are told, those of the day before and often those of the day after. Happy barber, happy people who do not need to invoke the right of assembly!

To complete the physiognomy of this faithful and entirely new picture for us, a series of Arab bazaars has been installed on the façade along the station's promenade. Nothing is as pretty and graceful as this series of small stalls with their colourful displays of red and blue, gold and silver, and the boxes containing the most curious fabrics and knick-knacks.

The bazaar shop is small, the merchant placed in the centre has everything within reach and without disturbing himself. He is there, calm, dignified, smoking his long pipe, his schibouk, and deigning from time to time to extend his arm to receive the piastres in exchange for his goods. The Oriental merchant preserves in his trade the indolence which the heat of the climate commands.

Now that we have taken a tour of the Palace, let me pay tribute to the remarkable talent of the architect who inspired so many marvels.

Mr. Alfred Chapon, whose work we shall have occasion to return to often, has succeeded in an exceptional way in reproducing for us the genius of this simple and complicated architecture, which captures the eye and rests on it, embarrassing it with its innumerable festoons, and satisfying it with its strange and varied character.

The highest praise of Mr Alfred Chapon's talent came from the mouths of some of the natives called by Mr de Lesseps to help decorate this Tunisian work.

After explaining to them that the purpose of their assistance was to give an exact sample of Tunisian art and industry, and when they saw Mr. Chapon's plans, they exclaimed:
"What are we doing here? Nothing is missing! "

Yes, everything was admirably designed and remarkably rendered; but what no one could render was the bold and striking way in which these artists work and sculpt their plaster.

Two iron scissors, of unequal size, do the trick and are their only tools. No hammers, knives or compasses - just thumb and chisel. No drawing is drawn in advance, the artist goes by inspiration, and executes with a dexterity and regularity to confound the observer, the most complicated and delicate rosettes and cut-outs. The rosettes with daylight, whose most beautiful effect consists in transmitting into the flats rays of light resplendent with the richest colours, skilfully and harmoniously combined, are executed by these singular artists with the help of a process as simple as it is ingenious and which astonishes the spectator.

Here, as in the case of the sculpture, there is no prior drawing. A vast layer of plaster is spread over a flat surface; pieces of glass of different colours, artfully broken rather than cut by the artist, are placed on this white layer. In a moment, the rhombuses, squares, hexagons are arranged, chosen, ordered; the capricious child who executes bizarre figures on a marble table with dominoes is no faster, no more lively than the Tunisian artist. When the whimsical drawing is finished, a layer of plaster is applied to this game of patience. The scraper soon removes the useless layers; suddenly appear, gently illuminated by the white depth of the plaster cuts, and crossed by the rays of daylight, these coloured rosettes of an infinite softness and a resplendent whole.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais du Bey

Palais du Bey à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Architecte(s) : Alfred Chapon

Reproduire dans ses particularités les plus vraies et les plus curieuses à la fois, les mœurs, les arts et l’industrie tunisienne, tel a été le but qu’on semble avoir voulu réaliser dans cette construction élevée à l’angle droit du Parc et qui est désignée sous le nom de Palais du Bey.

La vie orientale avec tous ses gracieux souvenirs artistiques de l’Alhambra, est ici prise sur le fait ; et il est pour moi hors de doute que ces Maures, qui pendant plusieurs siècles ont fait la prospérité du midi de l’Espagne; sont bien les aïeuls directs et naturels des habitants de la Tunisie. Ce n’est pas que çà et là la manière chrétienne, ainsi qu’ils le disent eux-mêmes, n’ait pénétré dans l’industrie et l’art indigènes ; mais pour peu qu’un homme instruit et intelligent leur demande une reproduction fidèle du grand art mauresque, l’artiste se met aussitôt à l’œuvre et n’a plus qu’à se souvenir.

Un homme est venu qui savait les tendances artistiques des travailleurs tunisiens ; il a su les vivifier, les entraîner et obtenir enfin leur concours pour mettre la dernière main au Palais du Bey.

C’est M. J. de Lesseps qui a été l’ordonnateur intelligent et actif de cette brillante installation; et nommer un pareil nom nous dispense de nous étendre en éloges.

Le Palais du Bey est-en façade la reproduction très-exacte du palais construit à Tunis et qui est nommé le Bardo.

Six lions sont échelonnés à droite et à gauche de l’escalier d’honneur qui conduit sous un élégant péristyle soutenu par des colonnettes sveltes et gracieuses dont les rinceaux sont découpés à jour. Du péristyle on arrive de plain-pied dans un vestibule à droite duquel se trouve la chambre de justice du bey.

Cette chambre, conçue dans le plus pur style mauresque, est surélevée en forme de dôme ornementé de dorures rehaussées de tons rouge et bleu d’un effet saisissant.

A gauche du vestibule, est la salle des gardes; et à côté de celle-ci, le salon du premier ministre, Sidi-Mustapha-Khaznadar, qui depuis trente ans occupe le même poste sous trois règnes différents. Chose rare, n’est-ce pas, et qui révèle un mérite supérieur et capable de dominer les fluctuations inhérentes à tous les changements dynastiques.

La chambre du premier ministre donne accès dans la chambre d’honneur du bey, dite Beit-el-Bacha. Cette chambre est ornée de moucharnbi, sortes de fenêtres découpées à jour, et closes de telle façon que du dedans on puisse voir sans être vu du dehors.

Elle présente en outre la particularité suivante et caractéristique des mœurs orientales:
Le moucharabi se trouve dans un enfoncement qui permet d’y installer un divan large et commode où se tient le bey, toujours entouré de sa cour. Si le bey veut être seul avec un visiteur, il n’a qu’un signe à faire et les assistants se retirent. Le moucharabi forme alors un salon séparé dans le salon, et au moindre désir du souverain, les assistants, invisibles un moment, reparaissent comme par enchantement et l’entourent de nouveau.

Au centre du Palais se trouve le salon d’été, appelé le Patio. Ce salon n’a d’autre plafond doré ou argenté que la voûte céleste : un bassin muni d’un jet d’eau en occupe le centre, et de chaque côté deux abris en forme de divans permettent au bey de respirer à l’aise la bienfaisante fraîcheur du soir.

Je recommande aux céramistes les faïences décorées qui ornent ces deux abris, et qui sont des œuvres originales bien que frustes directement envoyées de Tunisie.

Du patio, on pénètre directement dans la chambre du bey.

C’est une vaste pièce décorée avec un goût et un luxe inouïs. Une fenêtre centrale, qui est située en face du patio, est surmontée d’une rosace à verres de couleurs d’un éclat éblouissant.

Par une singulière coïncidence qui est due certainement à une gracieuse attention de l'homme éminent que j'ai déjà nommé, une maxime tirée du Coran apparaît au bas de la rosace multicolore.

Traduite en français, elle signifie:
Heureux le pays qui est gouverné par le sadeck!
Le sadeck, en français, c’est le juste.
Et savez-vous comment se nomme le bey actuel ?
Sidi Sadeck bey.

A droite du patio, se trouve une galerie qui servira de salle à manger.

Cette galerie est, consacrée à un musée d’une valeur extrêmement rare, musée installé en ce moment dans la galerie, tunisienne du palais intérieur de l'Exposition; et dont le classement est dirigé par notre savant compatriote, M. de Longpérier.

Les antiquités de la Carthage romaine et phénicienne envoyées par le prince Mohammed, fils aîné du premier ministre Sidi Khaz-nadar, y seront installées avec le plus grand soin.

Jamais une pareille exhibition n’aura été faite, et ce sera une occasion unique d’étudier les procédés anciens qui ne nous sont encore que très-imparfaitement connus.

Pour ma part, je serai charmé d’avoir le cœur net au sujet des antiquités carthaginoises.

J’ai été, comme bien d’autres, poussé par le désir de visiter les ruines de Carthage.

Grande a été ma déception, quand jeme suis vu en face d’une immense plaine de cailloux très-peu roulés et fort pointus. Quelques amas de pierre informes représentent le temple d’Astarté et le palais de Didon, cette inconsolable amante d’Énée.

Tout ce qui a résisté aux ravages du temps et des peuples, ce sont les citernes, qui se trouvent aujourd’hui encore dans un état de conservation relativement surprenant.

Ce que les ruines de Carthage peuvent nous offrir, le prince Mohammed le place obligeamment sous nos yeux; que nos plus sincères actions de grâce le suivent jusque dans ses palais de la Goulette et de Tunis!

Pour revenir de notre petite excursion en Afrique, passons dans la galerie-musée, traversons le patio et examinons à gauche de la chambre du bey une autre pièce que Son Altesse réserve aux nobles visiteurs qui voudraient se reposer dans le Palais.

Si l’intérieur de ce ravissant édifice offre le spécimen exact et consciencieux de la civilisation tunisienne dans son type le plus élevé, l’extérieur du palais offre aussi le spectacle des diverses industries et des diverses fonctions indigènes.

A droite et à gauche de l’escalier d’honneur se trouvent deux corps de garde, et deux cavernes grillées destinées à contenir des bêtes féroces. — Coutume locale. Sur la face qui regarde la grande avenue du vélum, se trouve un immense café arabe dont le plafond est ornementé de découpures faites à la main et d’un travail admirable; il nous sera sans doute permis de boire dans cet établissement, fidèlement calqué sur les établissements indigènes, ce café unique, où le marc n’est pas séparé du liquide, et qui présente une saveur que les amateurs savent apprécier.

A la suite de ce café et sur la face qui longe le promenoir du quai, se trouve une échoppe de barbier arabe avec son arrière-boutique, munie d’un immense divan où viennent s’étendre et se reposer les clients.

La boutique du barbier est le rendez-vous des causeurs orientaux. Le barbier est la gazette obligée de tous les on-dit. — « Bavard comme un barbier » — a dû être inventé par les Orientaux. Le barbier et le café attenant représentent à eux seuls les trois quarts de la vie tunisienne. Là est le véritable cercle; là se racontent les histoires du jour, celles de la veille et souvent celles du lendemain. Heureux barbier, heureux peuple qui n’ont pas besoin d’invoquer le droit de réunion!

Pour compléter la physionomie de ce tableau fidèle et entièrement nouveau pour nous, on a installé sur la façade qui longe le promenoir de la gare une série de bazars arabes. Rien n est coquet et gracieux comme cette suite de petites échoppes avec leur étalage bariolé de rouge et de bleu, doré, argenté, et les cases renfermant les étoffes et les bimbeloteries les plus curieuses.

La boutique des bazars est petite, le marchand placé au centre y a tout à la portée de sa main et sans se déranger. Il est là, calme, digne, fumant sa longue pipe, son schibouk, et daignant de temps en temps allonger le bras pour recevoir les piastres en échange de sa marchandise. Le marchand oriental conserve dans son négoce l’indolence que lui commande la chaleur du climat.

Maintenant que nous avons fait le tour du Palais, qu’il me soit permis de rendre hommage au talent remarquable de l'architecte inspirateur de tant de merveilles.

M. Alfred Chapon, sur les travaux de qui nous aurons l’occasion de revenir souvent, a réussi d’une façon exceptionnelle à reproduire à nos yeux le génie de cette architecture simple et compliquée à la fois, qui saisit l’œil et le repose, l’embarrasse de ses innombrables festons, et le satisfait par son caractère étrange et varié.

Le plus bel éloge que l’on puisse faire du talent de M. Alfred Chapon, est sorti de la bouche même de certains indigènes appelés par M. de Lesseps à collaborer à l’ornementation de cette œuvre tunisienne.

Après leur avoir expliqué que le but de leur concours était de donner un échantillon exact de l’art et de l’industrie tunisiennes, et quand ils ont vu les plans de M. Chapon, ils se sont écriés :
« Que venons-nous faire ici? Rien ne manque! »

Oui, tout était admirablement conçu et remarquablement rendu; mais ce que nul ne pouvait rendre, c’est la manière hardie et saisissante dont ces artistes travaillent et sculptent leur plâtre.

Deux ciseaux en fer, d’inégale dimension, font toute l’affaire et sont leurs seuls outils. Pas de marteaux, de couteaux ni de compas, — le pouce et le ciseau. Aucun dessin n’est tracé d’avance, l'artiste va d’inspiration, et exécute avec une prestesse et une régularité à confondre l’observateur, les rosaces et les découpures les plus compliquées et les plus délicates. Les rosaces à jour, dont le plus bel effet consiste à transmettre dans les appartements des rayons de lumière resplendissant des plus riches couleurs, savamment et harmonieusement combinées entre elles, sont exécutées par ces artistes singuliers à l’aide d’un procédé aussi simple qu’ingénieux et qui étonne le spectateur.

Ici comme pour la sculpture, pas de dessin préalable Une vaste couche de plâtre est étendue sur une surface plane; des morceaux de verre de différentes couleurs, cassés avec art plutôt que taillés par l’artiste, sont disposés sur cette couche blanche. En un moment, les losanges, les carrés, les hexagones sont disposés, choisis, ordonnés; l’enfant capricieux qui exécute sur une table de marbre, à l’aide de dominos, des figures bizarres, n’est pas plus rapide, plus vif que l’artiste tunisien. Quand le dessin fantasque est terminé, une couche de plâtre est jetée sur ce jeu de patience. Le grattoir enlève bientôt les épaisseurs inutiles ; soudain apparaissent, doucement éclairées par la profondeur blanche des entailles du plâtre, et traversées par les rayons du jour, ces rosaces colorées d’une douceur infinie et d’un ensemble resplendissant.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée