International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Bosphorus Kiosk

Bosphorus Kiosk at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

To be appreciated in its true light, this elegant pavilion, an exact copy of the old pleasure houses situated along the Bosphorus on the coast of Asia, would only need to be surrounded by jasmines, sycamores or carob trees in front of the blue sea, criss-crossed by long-sailed kaics. Its external decoration, whose details of painting, stained glass, enamelled bricks and gilded arabesques excite general curiosity, is an exclusive specimen of Turkish art.

Ah, we Westerners, who think we know everything about luxury refinements, have much to learn from the Orientals, not only in the art of bathing, but also in the art of interior decorations. And if we were to listen to M. Léon Parvillée, assistant architect to the Ottoman Imperial Commission, who has brought us such beautiful things from his long explorations as far as Persia, he would tell us a lot about this.

See this salon which holds the middle of the kiosk, leaving four separate retreats in the corners of the building. A wide couch surrounds it, covered with its beautiful red curly woolen cloths. In the centre is a basin that shoots small jasmine-scented jets of water. It is here that the contemplative Muslim makes the kief, letting the hours pass while smoking the chibouque or the narghiléh and taking coffee, walking his dreamy glance of the vault decorated with arabesques, with the gilded panellings and the brilliant stained glasses.

We owe to M. Léon Parvillée the importation into France of these beautiful enamelled bricks, the secret of which had hitherto remained in the East, and which will end up supplanting the stucco of which we have so much abused. From Persia, which had probably taken them from China, the glazed bricks had passed to Turkey, where the Venetians, in their age-old wars, had taken them in their turn. If we are to believe the attraction they exert on visitors to the Bosphorus kiosk, it is likely that France will henceforth inherit the ancient factories of the Orient for glazed bricks.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Kiosque du Bosphore

Kiosque du Bosphore à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Pour être apprécié sous son vrai jour, il ne faudrait à ce pavillon élégant, copie exacte des anciennes maisons de plaisance, situées le long du Bosphore sur la côte d’Asie, que son entourage de jasmins, de sycomores ou de caroubiers en face de la mer bleue, sillonnée par des kaïcs à longues voiles. Sa décoration extérieure, dont les détails de peinture, les vitraux, les briques émaillées et les arabesques dorées excitent la curiosité générale, est un spécimen exclusif de l’art turc.

Ah ! nous, Occidentaux, qui croyons tout savoir en fait de raffinements de luxe, il nous reste beaucoup à apprendre des Orientaux, non-seulement dans l’art balnéaire, mais aussi dans l’art des décorations intérieures. Et si nous voulions écouter M. Léon Parvillée, architecte adjoint de la Commission impériale ottomane, qui nous a l’apporté de si belles choses de ses longues explorations jusqu’en Perse, il nous en apprendrait long là-dessus.

Voyez ce salon qui tient le milieu du kiosque, laissant aux coins de l’édifice quatre retraites séparées. Un large divan l’entoure, couvert de ses belles étoffes de laine frisée d’un rouge éclatant. Au centre, est un bassin qui lance de petits jets d’eau parfumés au jasmin. C’est là que le musulman contemplatif fait le kief, laissant passer les heures en fumant le chibouque ou le narghiléh et prenant du café, promenant son regard rêveur de la voûte ornée d’arabesques, aux lambris dorés et aux vitraux éclatants.

Nous devons à M. Léon Parvillée l’importation en France de ces belles briques émaillées dont le secret était jusqu’ici resté en Orient, et qui finiront par supplanter le stuc dont nous avons tant abusé. De la Perse, qui probablement les avait prises à la Chine, les briques émaillées étaient passées en Turquie, où les Vénitiens, dans leurs guerres séculaires, les avaient prises à leur tour. Si nous nous en rapportons à l’attrait qu’elles exercent sur les visiteurs du kiosque du Bosphore, il est probable que la France héritera désormais des anciennes fabriques de l’Orient pour les briques émaillées.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée