International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Windmills

Windmills at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

There is everything at the Champ de Mars, even landscapes that nature has not exactly taken care of, where you can see water cascading through rocks topped by ruined towers, and where windmills turn their changing wings.

Wind is a motor that costs nothing, and is taken from the atmosphere like electricity. There is only this difference between these two natural agents, that one is docile, though unequal; while the other, though inexhaustible and constant, resists the domination of man. To store electricity as a motive force, it is necessary to spend more than it yields. The day when science will have found the way to tame this rebellious agent, steam, so costly and threatened with exhaustion, will be replaced as a motor, as it is already by compressed air in the piercing of the Alps.

The wind, as I have said, is a more docile agent. The principle which turns the wheel of a windmill is the same as that which directs a sail on the sea. The science of currents is found on the land and on the water; it must be sought in the air by mechanical aviation.

It is to this double conquest of atmospheric currents and electricity that science is now applied.

A windmill! Do not imagine these round towers perched on the heights and moving their great arms on the horizon, which the Knight of La Mancha took for giant swords. Windmills are hardly ever used today for grinding grain, for which they cannot compete with the economic power of hydraulic motors. But by changing their use, they have become all the more useful. Today, they have no other function than to raise water. They are responsible for cleaning up the submerged coastline of Holland. Along the Dutch dykes, there is an endless line of wheeled turrets, built of iron, low enough and strong enough to resist the strongest winds. They are responsible for the sanitation and fertility of almost the entire Dutch coastline.

In some parts of France, mainly in the Nivernais region, windmills are used to irrigate meadows, and their good results have made them multiply everywhere.

But it is above all in parks and gardens that their use is spreading and that their usefulness becomes apparent. They are placed at the edge of wells; and at the slightest call of the wind, and without the gardener's interference, the water rises in the watering basins.

The two windmills on display in the Champ de Mars are a fairly accurate representation of the picturesque effect that can be achieved in parks with such constructions.

The most apparent is also the most elegant. The device is also more complicated, more finished: it is a real clockwork. The motor is double. The two wheels of which it is composed are fitted with small wings or propeller sections. A double rudder forces the machine to always come to leeward. The movement is transmitted by means of bevel gears. A hinged bucket chain is used to raise the water sucked in by the device. The buckets, which are small, receive their movement from two drums, one at the top, the other at the bottom of the turret, and are wound onto these drums. The water thus raised is poured into an upper tank from which, by means of tubes and pipes, it is distributed at will and according to need.

The useful effect is of the force of a horsepower. This system, because of its very complications, lends itself to decorative motifs. Its price, moreover, 25000 francs, if I am not mistaken, makes it applicable only as an object of pleasure.

The other mill, more modest, achieves the same useful effects with fewer complications and above all less expense, which is essential for industrial popularisation. Its simplicity attracts attention: one grasps the mechanism at a glance. It can be oriented and adjusted by itself, according to the wind.

The first model of this machine was in operation on the Champs-Elysées in 1860, during the Universal Agricultural Competition, between the Palais de l'Industrie and the Seine.

Since then, 150 mills have been installed on this model in France and Europe, as well as in Africa and even in America, where they operate with remarkable success.

The great advantage of this system, I repeat, is its low cost.

The establishment of the whole mechanism does not exceed 600 francs.

The main part of the mechanism is an ordinary suction pump, as in all windmills. The end of the rod, which is a real connecting rod, is mobile around its axis of rotation, independently of the back and forth movement of the apparatus which carries the wings. This device can therefore turn according to the wind and always obey its direction. Each of the six wings of which the device is composed is equipped with an automatic steel sheet, a real spring which measures its action against the force of the wind. The canvas tilts like a sail, according to the intensity of the wind, so as to turn in the same plane of its direction, during the great hurricanes, which makes it almost impossible to damage the apparatus.

As for maintenance, it is almost non-existent: it is sufficient to grease the mechanism from time to time. In the countryside, and for agricultural use, it is sufficient to set up the engine on four posts, or inclined posts connected at the top by a platform. In parks and gardens, where more luxury is required, it is sufficient to partition the space between the four posts; and thus one has a kiosk or arbour, whose balcony is formed by the platform.

With 600 francs of expenditure as with 25,000 francs, the output of a windmill is the same; with an average wind, the force is about one horsepower. The output per hour varies from 10 to 20 cubic metres up to a height of 6 metres; - from 3 to 10 cubic metres, from 6 to 25 metres in height. At a height of 60 metres, 600 litres of water are obtained per hour.

As I have already said, windmills are not docile engines like steam engines: they do not obey the will of man, but the whim of the currents. But if industry, which needs constant and fixed-time forces, cannot accommodate the service of windmills, it is certain that agriculture can derive great advantages from these capricious but economical engines for the sanitation of submerged lands, as in Holland, for the irrigation of dry lands, as in the Nivernais, and above all for the supply of water to houses, farms, courtyards and gardens.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Moulins à vent

Moulins à vent à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Il y a de tout au Champ de Mars, même des paysages dont la nature n’a pas précisément fait les frais, où l’on voit l’eau tomber en cascades à travers des rochers que surmontent des tours en ruine, et où des moulins à vent tournent leurs ailes changeantes.

Le vent est un moteur qui ne coûte rien, et qu’ on prend dans l’atmosphère comme l’électricité. Il y a seulement cette différence entre ces deux agents naturels, que l’un est docile, quoique inégal; tandis que l’autre, quoique inépuisable et constant, résiste à la domination de l’homme. Pour emmagasiner l’électricité comme force motrice, il faut dépenser plus qu’elle ne rapporte. Le jour où la science aura trouvé le moyen de dompter cet agent rebelle, la vapeur si coûteuse, et menacée d’épuisement, sera remplacée comme moteur, comme elle l’est déjà par l’air comprimé dans le percement des Alpes.

Le vent, je l’ai dit, est un agent plus docile. Le principe qui fait tourner la roue d'un moulin à vent est le même que celui qui dirige une voile sur la mer. La science des courants est trouvée sur la terre et sur les eaux; il faut la chercher dans les airs par l’aviation mécanique.

C’est à cette double conquête des courants atmosphériques et de l’électricité que la science est appliquée en ce moment.

Un moulin à vent! Ne vous imaginez pas ces tours rondes perchées sur les hauteurs et faisant mouvoir à l’horizon leurs grands bras que le chevalier de la Manche prenait pour des épées de géant. Les moulins à vent ne sont plus guère employés aujourd’hui à la mouture des grains, pour laquelle ils ne peuvent lutter contre la puissance économique des moteurs hydrauliques. Mais en changeant d’emploi, ils n’en sont devenus que plus utiles. Aujourd’hui, ils n’ont d’autre fonction que de servir à l’élévation des eaux. On leur doit l’assainissement des côtes immergées de la Hollande. Le long des digues néerlandaises on voit se succéder une interminable file de tourelles à roues, construites en fer, assez basses et assez solides pour résister aux plus grands vents. On leur doit l'assainissement et la fécondité de presque tout le littoral des Pays-Bas.

Dans quelques parties de la France, dans le Nivernais principalement, on se sert des moulins à vent pour l’irrigation des prairies et leur bon résultat les fait partout se multiplier.

Mais c’est surtout dans les parcs et les jardins que leur emploi se propage et que leur utilité se manifeste. On les pose au bord des puits; et au moindre appel du vent, et sans que le jardinier s’en mêle, l’eau monte dans les bassins d’arrosage.

Les deux moulins à vent exposés dans le Champ de Mars représentent assez fidèlement l’effet pittoresque qu’on peut obtenir dans les parcs avec de pareilles constructions.

Le plus apparent est aussi le plus élégant. L’appareil en est également plus compliqué, plus fini : c’est une véritable horlogerie. Le moteur est double. Les deux roues dont il se compose sont garnies de petites ailes ou portions d’hélice. Un double gouvernail force l’appareil à toujours venir sous le vent. Le mouvement se transmet au moyen d’engrenages coniques. Une chaîne à godets articulée sert à faire monter l’eau aspirée par l’appareil. Les godets, de petite dimension, reçoivent eux-mêmes leur mouvement de deux tambours, l’un en haut, l’autre en bas de la tourelle, en s’enroulant sur ces tambours. L’eau ainsi élevée se déverse dans un réservoir supérieur d'où, au moyen de tubes et conduites, elle est distribuée à volonté et suivant les besoins.

L’effet utile est de la force d’un cheval-vapeur. Ce système, à cause de ses complications même, se prête, aux motifs de décoration. Son prix, du reste, 25000 francs, si je ne me trompe, ne le rend applicable que comme objet d’agrément.

L’autre moulin, plus modeste, arrive aux mêmes effets utiles avec moins de complications et surtout moins de dépenses, ce qui est l’essentiel pour la vulgarisation industrielle. Sa simplicité attire l’attention : on en saisit le mécanisme du premier coup d’œil. Il s’oriente et se règle seul, suivant le vent.

Le premier modèle de cette machine a fonctionné aux Champs-Elysées en 1860, lors du concours universel agricole, entre le Palais de l’Industrie et la Seine.

Depuis lors 150 moulins ont été installés sur ce modèle tant en France et en Europe qu’en Afrique, et même en Amérique, où ils fonctionnent avec un succès remarqué.

Le grand avantage de ce système, je le répète, est dans son bon marché.

L’établissement de tout le mécanisme ne dépasse pas 600 francs.

Le principal organe du mécanisme est une pompe ordinaire aspirante, comme dans tous les moulins à vent. L’extrémité de la tige, qui est une véritable bielle, est mobile autour de son axe de rotation, indépendamment du mouvement de va-et-vient de l’appareil qui porte les ailes. Cet appareil peut donc tourner suivant le vent et obéir toujours à sa direction. Chacune des six ailes dont se compose l'appareil est munie d’un écoute automatique en acier, véritable ressort qui mesure son action à la force du vent. La toile s’incline comme une voile, suivant l’intensité du vent, de façon à se tourner dans le plan même de sa direction, pendant les grands ouragans, ce qui rend presque impossibles les détériorations de l’appareil.

Quant à l’entretien, il est presque nul : il suffit de graisser de temps à autre le mécanisme. Dans les campagnes, et pour le service de l’agriculture, on peut se contenter d’établir l’appareil moteur sur quatre poteaux, ou montants inclinés reliés à leur sommet par une plate-forme. Dans les parcs et jardins, où plus de luxe est exigé, il suffit de cloisonner l’espace compris entre les quatre poteaux; et on a ainsi un kiosque ou tonnelle, dont le balcon est formé par la plate-forme.

Avec 600 francs de dépense comme avec 25 000 francs, le rendement d’un moulin à-vent est le même; par un vent moyen, la force est d’environ un cheval-vapeur. Le rendement par heure varie de 10 à 20 mètres cubes jusqu’à 6 mètres de hauteur; — de 3 à 10 mètres cubes, depuis 6 à 25 mètres de hauteur. On obtient encore 600 litres d’eau par heure, à 60 mètres de hauteur.

Les moulins à vent, je l’ai déjà dit, ne sont pas des moteurs dociles comme les machines à vapeur : ce n’est pas à la volonté de l’homme qu’ils obéissent; c’est au caprice des courants. Mais si l’industrie, qui a besoin de forces constantes et à heure fixe, ne peut s’accommoder du service des moulins à vent, il est certain que l’agriculture peut retirer de grands avantages de ces moteurs capricieux mais économiques pour l’assainissement des terres submersibles comme en Hollande, pour l’irrigation des terres sèches comme dans le Nivernais, et surtout pour l’alimentation des maisons, fermes, cours et jardins.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée