International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

English cottage

English cottage at the Exhibition Paris 1867

On arriving by the Jena bridge, under the magnificent green drapery velum, one encounters, opposite the elegant imperial pavilion, a model of an English cottage which, in our opinion, deserves to be designated under this title: Museum of sample cottages.

It is not, in fact, like the Russian Izba, a complete dwelling of an original and entirely local character, responding to the particular requirements of the climate of a region; it is the more or less bizarre combination of various types of construction and ornamentation in a single house.

Why be surprised? Wouldn't the model of a French country house be difficult enough to offer, since we have neither a particular type for its form, nor rules for its size? But the cottage is the country house of our neighbours; the nest in which every citizen whose business keeps him in town during the day comes to meet his family each evening. Each one chooses this nest according to the requirements of his position, or builds it according to the whims of his fancy.

The English, the hardened and positive traders, - are, however, very much in love with the beauties of nature; they have invented the poetry of lakes and keepseake vignettes; as soon as they have acquired sufficient fortune to live as very embarrassed people in London, they proclaim themselves tourists and go to the ends of the earth to seek subjects for vignettes; they especially seek out picturesque countries, that is to say, those which most resemble English parks and gardens. If Albion's sun is as pale as the moon, the parks of its great lords are the most magnificent in the world: nothing equals the spirit and brilliance of their fox hunts, the richness of their greenhouses, the sumptuous comfort of their castle life. So all Englishmen aspire to this privileged existence; so they all dream of the luxurious countryside with its vast lawns and dense shades.

Only those workers who want to realise this dream in their lifetime replace it with the acquisition of a modest cottage.

It is especially in the vicinity of London that these cheerful cottages abound, scattered in the greenery, like the daisy in our meadows when May comes to powder them with its charming snow. What could be more natural! It is sweet to run away from these long streets, at the same time animated like beehives and silent like tombs, where the busy, indifferent crowd rushes between two rows of sad black houses constantly misted with the dark vapour of coal. What a joy it is then to rest, during the hours of leisure, under a roof which the sun has the right to visit at dawn, to see at dawn the green carpet which surrounds the dwelling, and to breathe in the perfumes of its elegant flowerbed!

Every merchant in the city has his cottage as every peer in England has his castle. From the moral point of view, the English, as our friend Francis Wey so aptly puts it, divide London into two parts: the West End and the City.

The West-End, literally the western end, embraces the whole of the decently habitable districts exclusively inhabited by the aristocratic, intelligent, artistic and financial world. Any man living on his income or exercising a liberal career, resides in the West End, at the risk of a kind of moral decay. No one would dare admit to living anywhere else, and above all no one would be able to accommodate the well-born anywhere else.

The heart of the City is called The Borough, beginning at London Bridge, extending to the Tower of London, and containing a separate population: - The mercantile bohemia and the kingdom of Drugs. From St. Paul's there is a labyrinth of narrow, clean streets, paved like churches and lined with narrow, tightly closed brick houses. This is where the counters, the business agencies, the warehouses, the trade offices, the private banks, in a word, all the offices are located. The monastic-looking district, devoted to the canons of the Stock Exchange and the Bank, adds the author of the English at home, ferments and works like the interior of an anthill. Each door, painted in island wood, is decorated with a gleaming copper hammer, a peephole and a metal plate bearing the name of the head of the house. There is nothing external here; no eye-catching. The little counters of the City, where millions are discounted, have had their clientele assured for centuries; millionaire sons succeed fathers richer than nabobs, and the heirs of these dynasties no more give up their trade than the eldest sons of lords give up the peerage. This district is busy until five o'clock in the evening, after which it remains deserted, for no one makes his home there.

When the day is over, the bourgeois Crèsus return with a modest and paternal air to their splendid hotels in Portland Square, Regent Street, or Grosvenor Square; there are others who go to the outskirts of London to rest in villas or cottages, only to reappear the next day with the humble exterior of a small merchant in the City. As much as people here indulge in the affectation of appearances, so much over there they try to disappear into the common mediocrity. This kind of hypocrisy has its maniacs. Big bankers are quoted as going in person to the butcher's shop every morning to bargain for chops, which they ostentatiously carry to some tavern in Cheapside or Fleet-street, where they insist on grilling them themselves. Then they buy three pence's worth of rye bread and nibble a Spartan lunch in public, while giving their first audiences there. And the good shopkeepers admire in them the simplicity of ancient manners!

On the frieze of a bank house, Mr. Wey read an inscription which summarizes the religious doctrine of the country. Here is the translation: "Lord, direct our operations. Fortune to me, honour to God. ".

After the hard work of the day, therefore, the cottage is an absolute necessity for the English trader; if the one at the Exhibition is not surrounded by the de rigueur garden, it is at least placed in an admirable situation and allows the visitor to embrace the whole park at a glance. The view stretches out into the distance on the right bank of the Seine, whose capricious meanders you follow. Opposite, the heights of the Trocadero are flattened by the explosions of the mine; to the right, in the distance, the houses of the quays, the bridges, the trees of the Champs-Elysées and the Tuileries flee.

The cottage is square in shape; its square windows are simply surrounded by wooden frames; two elegant doors open onto the façade which looks out onto the imperial pavilion and whose wall is formed of mosaics framed in large black wooden lozenges. Each side wall is pierced by a door surmounted by a canopy, and built in greyish rockwork. On this dull background stand out admirably the white statues placed below the windows, where one notices, with the name of the exhibitor, the initials Y. R., which are repeated several times.

As for the roof, it offers all the variety of a real sample card; its slates and bricks of all shapes and colours are arranged in arabesques and whimsical designs, an iron lace surmounts it and surrounds it with its garland, and triple brick chimneys rise like elephant trunks at the end and on the two side façades.

We were very surprised to see that the cottage consisted of only one floor and two rooms. No basement, therefore no kitchen; no nursery, no master and servant's rooms, no toilets! There is nothing to give the visitor the slightest idea of this famous English mfort.

On the other hand, we were able to admire in the interior decoration of these two rooms all the imaginable specimens of the beautiful English faience, forming capricious mosaics enclosed in fake marble frames. And they are so beautiful, so polished, so brilliant, these marbles, that they cannot be considered as simple compositions of English cement. You would certainly believe them to be cut from the richest quarries in Italy or Greece.

At the present time the workmen are still engaged in decorating the walls of the cottage, so that we have not been able to describe it in any definite way; but, we repeat, it looks less like a specimen of a British holiday than the advertisement office of a marble and porcelain manufacturer. Such misdirections are quite common among the English. In London, the famous tunnel is much less a passage than a subterranean and icy bazaar; it does not give access to cars, and it remains consequently useless, this hypogeum which distils drop by drop a water which piles up in black and viscous faques: but between each pillar it spreads out shops, guarded by very young girls buried alive; smiling and pale! They offer glassware, enchanted spectacles, panoramas of London, a quantity of small haberdashery and fairground trinkets. They show puppets, play the accordion and the serinette in this subterranean passage, they live and shiver in this home of rheumatism, but they do not pass through it.

Well, we shall make the same reproach of the cottage of the Exhibition; it does not represent the sweet leisure, the idleness of spring, the unchanging cup of tea and the reading of the Bible, but it hides under its charming exterior the bitter Genius of commerce and gain which is the true God of England.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Cottage anglais

Cottage anglais à l'exposition de Paris 1867

En arrivant par le pont d’Iéna, sous le magnifique vélum de drap vert, on rencontre, en face de l’élégant pavillon impérial, un modèle de cottage anglais qui mériterait, à notre avis, d’être désigné sous ce titre : Musée d’échantillons de cottages.

En effet, ce n’est point, comme l’Izba russe, une habitation complète, d’un caractère original et tout à fait local, répondant aux exigences particulières du climat d’une contrée; c’est la réunion plus ou moins bizarre de divers genres de construction et d’ornementation en une maison unique.

Pourquoi s’en étonner? le modèle d’une maison de campagne française ne serait-il pas assez difficile à offrir, puisque nous n’avons ni type particulier pour sa forme, ni règle pour sa dimension ? Or, le cottage, c’est la maisonnette champêtre de nos voisins; le nid dans lequel tout citoyen que ses affaires retiennent à la ville durant le jour vient retrouver chaque soir sa famille. Ce nid, chacun le choisit en rapport avec les exigences de sa position, ou le bâtit suivant les caprices de sa fantaisie.

Les Anglais, les commerçants forcenés et positifs, — sont cependant fort amoureux des beautés de la nature ; ils ont inventé la poésie des lacs et des vignettes de keepseake ; dès qu’ils ont acquis une fortune suffisante pour vivre comme des gens très gênés à Londres, ils se proclament touristes et vont chercher des sujets de vignettes jusqu’aux extrémités de la terre ; ils recherchent surtout les pays pittoresques, c’est-à-dire ceux qui ressemblent le plus aux parcs et jardins à l’anglaise. Si le soleil d’Albion est pâle comme la lune, en revanche les parcs de ses grands seigneurs sont les plus magnifiques du monde: rien n’égale l’entrain et l’éclat de leurs chasses au renard, la richesse de leurs serres, le somptueux confort de leur vie de château. Aussi tous les Anglais aspirent-ils à cette existence privilégiée; aussi rêvent-ils tous la campagne de luxe avec ses vastes pelouses et ses ombrages touffus.

Seulement les travailleurs voulant réaliser ce rêve de leur vivant, le remplacent-ils par l’acquisition d’un modeste-cottage.

C’est surtout aux environs de Londres qu’abondent ces riantes maisonnettes éparpillées dans la verdure; comme la pâquerette dans nos prés, quand mai vient les poudrer de sa neige charmante. Quoi de plus naturel ! Il est doux de s’enfuir loin de ces longues rues, à la fois animées comme des ruches et silencieuses comme des tombes, où la foule affairée, indifférente se presse en courant entre deux rangées de tristes maisons noires constamment embrumées de la sombre vapeur de la houille. Quelle joie alors de reposer, pendant les heures de loisir, sous un toit que le soleil a le droit de visiter dès le malin, de voir au réveil le tapis verdoyant qui entoure le logis, et de respirer les parfums de son élégant parterre!

Tout négociant de la cité a son cottage comme tout pair d’Angleterre a son château. Au point de vue moral, les Anglais, comme le dit fort bien notre ami Francis Wey, divisent Londres en deux portions : le West-End et la Cité.

Le West-End, littéralement le bout de l'ouest, embrasse l’ensemble des quartiers décemment habitables et exclusivement habités par le monde aristocratique, intelligent, artiste et financier. Tout homme vivant de ses rentes ou exerçant une carrière libérale, réside dans le West-End, à peine d’une sorte de déchéance morale. Nul n’oserait avouer qu’il demeure ailleurs et surtout nul ne parviendrait ailleurs à recevoir les gens bien nés.

Le cœur de la Cité se nomme The Borough, le Bourg, commence à London-Bridge, s’étend jusqu’à la Tour de Londres et contient une population à part : — La bohème mercantile et le royaume des Drogues. Depuis Saint-Paul, on trouve un labyrinthe de petites rues étroites, proprettes, dallées comme des églises et bordées d’étroites maisons de brique hermétiquement closes. C’est là que sont établis les comptoirs, les agences d’affaires, les dépôts de marchandises, les bureaux du commerce, les banques particulières, en un mot tous les offices. Le quartier, d’un aspect monacal, dévolu aux chanoines de la Bourse et de la Banque, ajoute l’auteur des Anglais chez eux, fermente et travaille comme l’intérieur d’une fourmilière. Chaque porte peinte en bois des îles, est ornée d’un marteau de cuivre luisant, d’un judas et dame plaque de métal portant le nom du chef de la maison. Là, rien d’extérieur; point d’amorces pour les yeux. Les petits comptoirs de la,Cité, où l’on escompte des millions, ont leur clientèle assurée depuis des siècles; les fils millionnaires succèdent à des pères plus riches que des nababs, et les héritiers de ces dynasties n’abandonnent pas plus leur commerce que les fils aînés des lords ne renoncent à la pairie. Ce quartier s’agite jusqu’à cinq heures du soir, après quoi il reste désert, car on n’y fixe pas sa demeure.

La journée finie, les Crèsus bourgeois regagnent d’un air modeste et paterne leurs splendides hôtels de Portland-place, de Regent-street ou de Grosvenor-square : il en est d’autres qui vont se reposer aux environs de Londres dans les villas ou les cottages, pour reparaître le lendemain avec leur humble extérieur de petit marchand de la Cité. Autant chez nous on s’adonne à l’affectation de paraître, autant là-bas on s’ingénie à disparaître dans la médiocrité commune. Ce genre d’hypocrisie a des maniaques. On cite de gros banquiers qui, chaque matin, vont en personne marchander à la boucherie des côtelettes, qu’ils portent ostensiblement dans quelque taverne de Cheapside ou de Fleet-street, où ils tiendront à les faire griller eux-mêmes. Puis ils achètent pour trois pences de pain de seigle et grignotent en public un déjeuner de Spartiates, tout en donnant là leurs premières audiences. Et le bon peuple boutiquier d’admirer en eux la simplicité des antiques mœurs !

Sur la frise d’une maison de banque, M. Wey a lu une inscription qui résume la doctrine religieuse du pays. En voici la traduction : « Seigneur, dirigez nos opérations. La fortune pour moi, l’honneur à Dieu. ».

Après le travail acharné du jour, le cottage est donc une nécessité absolue pour le négociant anglais; si celui de l’Exposition n’est pas entouré du jardin de rigueur, il est du moins placé dans une situation admirable et permet au visiteur d’embrasser d’un coup d’œil le parc tout entier. La vue s’étend au loin sur la rive droite de la Seine, dont vous suivez les capricieux méandres. En face, les hauteurs du Trocadéro s’aplanissent sous les explosions de la mine; à droite, dans le lointain, fuient les maisons des quais, les ponts, les arbres des Champs-Elysées et des Tuileries.

Le cottage est de forme carrée; ses fenêtres carrées sont simplement entourées de cadres de bois; deux portes élégantes s’ouvrent sur la façade qui regarde le pavillon impérial et dont le mur est formé de mosaïques encadrées dans de grands losanges de bois noir. Chaque muraille latérale est percée d’une porte surmontée d’une marquise, et construite en rocaille grisâtre. Sur ce fond terne se détachent admirablement de blanches statues placées au-dessous des fenêtres, où l’on remarque, avec le nom de l’exposant, les initiales Y. R. plusieurs fois répétées.

Quant à la toiture, elle offre toute la variété d’une véritable carte d’échantillons; ses ardoises et ses briques de toute forme et de toute couleur sont disposées en arabesques et en dessins fantasques, une dentelle de fer la surmonte et l’entoure de sa guirlande, et de triples cheminées en brique s’érigent comme des trompes d’éléphants à l’extrémité et sur les deux façades latérales.

Nous avons été fort surpris de voir que le cottage ne se composait que d’un seul étage et de deux pièces. Point de sous-sol, partant point de cuisine; pas de nursery, pas de ehambres de maîtres et de domestiques, pas de cabinets de toilette! Rien ne saurait donc donner au visiteur la moindre idée de ce mfort anglais si célèbre.

En revanche, nous avons pu admirer dans la décoration intérieure de ces deux chambres tous les spécimens imaginables de la belle faïence anglaise , formant de capricieuses mosaïques renfermées dans des encadrements de marbres factices. Et ils sont si beaux, si polis, si brillants, ces marbres, qu’on ne saurait les regarder comme de simples compositions de ciment anglais. Vous les croiriez assurément taillés daus lés plus riches carrières de l’Italie ou de la Grèce.

A l'heure présente, les ouvriers travaillent encore à l'ornementation des murailles du cottage; nous n’avons donc pu le décrire l’une façon définitive; mais, nous le répétons, il ressemble moins à un spécimen de a villégiature britannique qu’à l’office d’annonces d’un fabricant de marbres et de porcelaines. Ces contre-sens sont assez fréquents chez les Anglais. A Londres, le fameux tunnel est beaucoup moins un passage qu'un bazar souterrain et glacial; il ne donne pas accès aux voitures et il reste conséquemment inutile, cet hypogée qui distille goutte à goutte une eau qui s’amoncelle dans des faques noires et visqueuses : mais entre chaque pilier il étale des boutiques, gardées par de toutes jeunes filles ensevelies vivantes; souriantes et pâles! elles offrent de la verroterie, des lunettes enchantées, des panoramas de Londres, quantité de menue mercerie et le babioles foraines. On montre des marionnettes, on joue de l’accordéon et de la serinette dans ce passage souterrain, on vit et on grelotte dans ce foyer de rhumatismes, mais on n’y passe pas.

Eh bien! nous ferons le même reproche au cottage de l’Exposition; il ne représente pas le doux loisir, le farniente du printemps, la tasse de thé immuable et la lecture de la Bible, mais il cache sous son extérieur charmant le Génie âpre du commerce et du gain qui est le vrai Dieu de l’Angleterre.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée