International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Gustav Vasa House

Gustav Vasa House at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Not far from the Izba, we notice another house almost as original, but much less elegant.

My guide stops me and says:
"This is the house of Gustav Vasa. "
Doesn't this name alone form the whole preface of Swedish history?
Very few of us know what it was like before him. Among his successors, there are only two truly famous names, that of Gustavus Adolphus, the modest conqueror, and that of the victor of Narva, Charles XII.

These two kings made of the small Swedish nation a great army of heroes; but the result of so much glory was the exhaustion and ruin of this noble Sweden transformed into barracks.

Charles XII was only a great soldier. Gustavus Vasa conquered his kingdom like our popular Henry IV, gave it laws and created the nation. His name is not only glorious in Sweden, the whole world knows it, except perhaps for the workmen who built the humble dwelling of the fugitive prince in the Park. Did not one of them answer us:
"I do not know Mr. Vasa. "

This house is the one he lived in at Fahlun, a simple mining worker; it is distinguished only by the extreme simplicity of a real peasant's hut.

Like the Russian Izba, it is built with beams, but square beams covered with planks cut like fish scales.

The gallery that adorns the first floor completely surrounds it and is reached by a winding staircase placed outside; the roof does not pretend to rival the dome of the Invalides, for it is modestly armoured with moss and lichen.

Gustavus Vasa had been pursued for several years by the tireless emissaries of the king-bishop Christian II. He had wandered without shelter or bread, sometimes sleeping in a woodcutter's abandoned hut, sometimes spending three days and three nights in the Siberian cold under a bridge, to escape the hunters of men who hunted him like a bandit or rather like a wild beast.

The young outlaw, who was later to make his name immortal, finally found in Fahlun, the black city of the miners, an asylum where he could, if not rest like a sybarite, at least stop to catch his breath.

It was in this poor wooden house that, after sixteen hours of arduous underground work, the wages of which enabled him not to die of hunger, Gustave dreamed in the evening of the means of emancipating his country and restoring to it a glorious independence.

It was there that he learned the horrible details of the infamous tragedy known as the Bloodbath, the execution of his generous father, the imprisonment of his mother and sister, and later their appalling torture. It is known that these noble women were thrown into the sea in sacks which they had been forced to sew themselves.

It was from this window, no doubt, that the miner of Fahlun wrote, in an attempt to awaken their patriotism, to all those courtiers of his childhood, who did not even deign to answer him. He was thus learning the hard science of the human heart.

It was there, at last, that Peterson, an old officer retired to Fahlun, recognised the young prince who had more than once led the victorious charges of the Swedish cavalry, - it was there that, hiding under the mask of the loyal soldier the joy of the traitor who is going to sell his friend, he conjured Gustavus to accept the hospitality of his lodgings.

King Christian's hawks would indeed have seized their prey, thanks to this wretch, if his wife Drina Peterson had not warned the prince of her husband's bargain and saved by an admirable stratagem this heroic head promised to the executioner.

There is no stain on the face of Gustavus Vasa; He is not a hero of secret memoirs, - and in order to know some intimate and personal details of his life, it was necessary to interrogate the scattered but still vivid memories of the simple men with whom he spent in obscurity the most beautiful years of his serious youth, - those miners of Fahlun, so proud to have counted this great man among their companions, - those Dalecarlian peasants who have lovingly preserved the old house which was his refuge and where they claim that his soul still comes to wander during certain nights.

Gustavus' thoughts must often have turned to the farmhouse, when the heavy cares of royalty were joined by the sorrows of his sad union with Princess Catherine of Saxe-Lauenbourg, and later by those caused by the disharmony of his four sons, none of whom was worthy of this great heritage of glory.

As brilliant as Gustav Vasa's public life was, his private life has remained a mystery. Although a writer and poet, he revealed nothing of the secrets of his heart to the world. Sweden was incarnated in him, and the man's personality was absorbed in this avatar.

There is not the slightest trace in his writings of an amorous correspondence, such as that of his descendant Gustavus Adolphus with the beautiful Ebba Brahe. He did not leave in his verses a single line marked by that passionate tenderness which inspired the protector of the reformation to write this famous stanza:
I love and I want to love, I want to wait again
The look I crave, the happiness I implore.
By praying to you always, I hope to move you.
It is from you that the evil that devours me comes,
Only you can help me and heal me.

Gustavus Vasa's poetry does not melt away into elegiac mollowness; it bursts forth like a fanfare.

Swedish people," he says in an exhortation in verse addressed to his subjects, "put your trust in God! walk according to his laws! invoke him in your heart.... Love and honour your country. Be firm like the mountain that resists the waves of the sea. If your enemies threaten you, be strong like the rock that nothing can shake.... The God who separated the land and the waters has put a barrier between Sweden and Denmark: it is enough. Let us remain within our limits on both sides, without asking for anything more. "

These verses paint the character of the hero well.

In the next song, entitled Gustavus I and the Dalecarlians, the relationship between the king and his subjects is expressed with ancient simplicity.

Gustavus goes to Delcarlia, and says to the peasants:
"The Christian king is in front of Srockolm castle, drinking beer and wine.

- Listen, my Delcarlians, to what I propose! Will you follow me to Stockholm and beat the Danes with me? "

The Dalecarlians reply, "We have fought before; we remember it well." But Gustavus says to them, "We will call upon God the Father who is in heaven, and all will be well. "

The Dalecarlians immediately change their minds.

They say to Gustav: "If you want to be our leader, young and old, we will follow you. The arrow hits the squirrel and the grouse on the trees. The same will happen to Christian the executioner.

- I will gladly be your leader," replies King Gustav, "if you will faithfully rally under my blue banner. "

Let us therefore greet with respect the old little wooden house from which this sublime call for national independence came. We prefer it to those triumphant porticoes, bloodied by political tragedies. It has been the asylum of male virtues and of noble martyrdom. It has kept the life of an honest, patriotic and disinterested prince. It can look with a smile at the most magnificent palaces in the world.


The interior of Gustave Wasa's house.

In the first pages of this publication, we described this historic thatched cottage, which the peasants of Dalarna still surround with their veneration, and which sheltered, in the hours of exile and proscription, one of the brilliant figures of modern times. It was under this humble roof of moss and lichen that Wasa dreamed of the independence of his country; it was from this miner's hut that he was soon to rise up and drive out the executioner Christian II, to give Sweden its freedom and its franchises, and to engrave his glorious name in the great book of history.

You already know the exterior of this famous house. It is similar in every way to the house that is still standing in Falhun today.

The same cannot be said for the interior. The Swedish commission thought of using the two rooms that form the ground floor. The main room is below the landing. You enter through an entrance that is all decked out with flags, whose fantastic animals are reminiscent of times of barbarism. You go down a few steps and you find yourself in the middle of a world of objects of all shapes and natures, grouped together in no apparent order, and whose variety at first catches the eye.

After a moment of astonishment, the eyes become accustomed to this chaos and each part of this varied exhibition regains its value and interest.

The walls are lined with huge fishing nets woven with rope, the extreme fineness of which in no way detracts from their solidity. From far and wide, these thousand fishing gears stand as trophies, the use of which Parisian fishermen do not even know. Sweden has managed to make an important industry and a considerable resource out of what is in some countries only a hobby or a luxury.

Alongside this fishing gear, one should notice the beautiful furs that are found in the Palace, on the backs of Dalarna's peasants. Here, they are topped with reindeer antlers, and recall this vigorous and beautiful animal, so sober, so fast, so useful in these regions where winter makes the maintenance of horses difficult and expensive.

Around the room are arranged numerous farming implements, ploughs, straw-axes, sowers, harrows, sieves, etc., etc. Sweden, too intelligent not to understand the need to develop its agriculture, struggles energetically against a cold climate, a soil that is not very fertile, hard, dry, and which it must enrich by dint of natural fertilisers, salts, etc., before asking it for any production. The exhibition of agricultural instruments bears witness to unceasing efforts that have already been crowned with success. Among the ploughs, several have won awards. One of them, a three-irons plough, very light, easy to drive, and which seems to be intended for shallow and sloping grounds, received a silver medal. All this would perhaps seem quite modest next to the powerful machines of Billancourt. But these few instruments, placed in the house of the founder of Sweden, indicate the progressive march of this nation and are like a tribute to the sovereign who first made of these so barren, so threatened regions an independent and industrious country.

Agricultural products are few and far between. An agronomist displays a few cereals harvested on ungrateful land, but which a continuous cultivation has gradually transformed. The land is about two hundred metres above sea level. The grain is small, tight, hard, but it is very full and the flour is tasty. Sweden owes its naval ropes to agriculture. It exhibits a rich collection of ropes woven with great skill, from the whip as big as a pin to the cable that supports anchors. Several awards have been given to the ropes, bronze medals and honourable mentions. A silver medal was awarded to a model of a gymnasium, which, with its expensive wooden portico, ropes, ladders, etc., and its red velvet-covered trestles, makes a rather singular effect amidst the ploughs, fishing utensils and pottery.

Sweden exhibits pottery which, in terms of fineness of paste and execution, can compete with ours. One of its terracottas and its brown and yellow earthenware were awarded a prize. With the help of triangular terracotta tiles, alternately black and white, which are intended to make a mosaic tile, a sort of broad base has been formed on which a number of somewhat disparate objects have been arranged. Such as a model of a fisherman's house, household utensils, models of boats, clay column shafts, etc.

The products of the mines should not be forgotten. The soil of Sweden, so resistant to the efforts of agriculture, so poor in cereals and fodder plants or vegetables, is rich in copper and coal mines mainly. At the door of this house, blocks of copper ore testify to the considerable resources that Sweden can find in its soil. In the interior, some samples of slag have been arranged in such a way as to enable the public to appreciate this material, which the progress of industry is making so valuable every day.

On the pedestal of bricks and tiles stands a statue which I had at first taken to be a representation of some Scandinavian deity. But the more I look, the more I am convinced that this god sitting on a block of rock, and holding the famous trident, is simply a Neptune of some kind.

In the absence of the god Thor or some other of his colleagues, I would have liked, instead of this banal statue, that of Gustave Wasa.

Was it not an act of gratitude to represent him as the genius of Sweden, and to gather at his feet the products of agriculture, of industry, of human labour, as a tribute to his devotion to this country which he wanted to make so great?

I have walked through the large room of Gustave Wasa's house, and it would seem that there is nothing left to do but to follow the public through the door that opens onto the Park. But alongside these rather modest products, Sweden has reserved a room for a more interesting exhibition perhaps.

As you walk towards the house, instead of climbing the few steps that lead to the entrance, stop in front of a door that is level with the grounds. A single word above the door tells you the purpose of this room. This is a primary school.

Sweden has understood the importance of education in developing the intelligence and faculties of the working classes. It is thanks to reading, to the notions spread by the teachers, that old prejudices, routine and false ideas must disappear.

The workers will learn to use the machines entrusted to them, the farmers will apply to their work the knowledge they will acquire in special courses. It is under the influence of this modest but sufficient light that the manual professions will rise and take on a more modern and scientific appearance.

Primary education has not yet acquired in Sweden the extent that it has in Germany. This is a matter of time. It is sufficient today that it be so organised as to prepare good pupils. The sight of educated young people, the superiority which their knowledge gives them over their comrades in the workshops and factories, is this not the most powerful motive for emulation? Is it not also the best mode of popularisation?

Primary education in Sweden includes reading, writing, arithmetic, religious instruction, drawing and singing. In some schools, practical agronomy is also taught during the winter.

The model school room is laid out like the rooms that the government has created in several provinces. At the back, a table on a platform is for the teacher. Along the walls are maps and charts for demonstration and reading. Spheres and various similar instruments, compass boxes, etc., are placed on shelves for the use of the teacher or the pupils. Finally, on other shelves are placed dictionaries and books of frequent use, drawing models, albums, etc.
Each pupil has a separate table and bench. The table, arranged in the form of a desk, contains a drawer and a shelf for the pupil's books and notebooks. Each child is thus isolated, and supervision is easier. The seats are given according to the ability or the work of the pupils. The places closest to the teacher are considered the best. This classification varies every fortnight, and the pupils find it a powerful source of emulation.

In some provinces, in addition to the schools founded by the government, the towns have created new ones which they subsidise to a sufficient extent to ensure that the fee charged to each pupil is insignificant.

Primary education is thus progressing in Sweden. Supported by the government on the one hand, and by the dedication of the people on the other, it is gradually penetrating the most backward regions; two or three generations will come, and Ton will perhaps no longer have any illiterate Swedes.

The school house exhibited by Sweden won a gold medal. Will Sweden see, in this high award given to this interesting exhibition, the importance which minds attach today to everything that tends to improve the moral condition of man? Will she also see that education must be, in her hands, the powerful lever by means of which she will be able to take, in the councils of Europe, the place which the extent of her territory, her mineral and forestry wealth, and her maritime situation seem to destine her?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison de Gustave Vasa

Maison de Gustave Vasa à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Non loin de l'Izba, nous remarquons une autre maison presque aussi originale, mais beaucoup moins élégante.

Mon guide m’arrête et me dit :
« Ceci est la maison de Gustave Vasa. »
Vasa ! ce nom ne forme-t-il pas à lui seul toute la préface de l’histoire de la Suède?
Bien peu d’entre nous savent ce qu’elle fut avant lui. Parmi ses successeurs, il n’est guère que deux noms véritablement célèbres, celui de Gustave-Adolphe, le modeste conquérant, et celui du vainqueur de Narva, Charles XII.

Ces deux rois firent de la petite nation suédoise une grande armée de héros; mais le résultat de tant de gloire fut l’épuisement et la ruine de cette noble Suède transformée en casernes.

Charles XII ne fut qu’un grand soldat. Gustave Vasa conquit son royaume comme notre populaire Henri IV, lui donna des lois et créa la nation. Son nom n’est pas glorieux seulement en Suède, le monde entier le connaît, à l’exception peut-être des ouvriers chargés d’édifier dans le Parc l’humble logis du prince fugitif. L’un d’eux ne nous a-t-il pas répondu :
« Je ne connais pas M. Vasa. »

Cette maison est celle qu’il habitait à Fahlun, simple ouvrier mineur; elle ne se distingue que par l’extrême simplicité d’une vraie cabane de paysan.

Ainsi que l’Izba russe, elle est construite avec des poutres, mais des poutres carrées et recouvertes de planchettes découpées comme des écailles de poisson.

La galerie qui orne le premier étage l’entoure complètement et l’on y monte par un escalier tournant placé à l’extérieur; le toit n’a pas la prétention de rivaliser avec le dôme des Invalides, car il est modestement cuirassé de mousse et de lichen.

Gustave Vasa avait été poursuivi pendant plusieurs années par les infatigables émissaires du roi-bourreau Christian II. Il avait erré sans abri et sans pain, tantôt dormant dans la hutte abandonnée d’un bûcheron, tantôt passant trois jours et trois nuits d’un froid sibérien sous un pont, pour échapper aux chasseurs d’hommes qui le traquaient comme un bandit ou plutôt comme une bête fauve.

Le jeune proscrit qui devait rendre plus tard son nom immortel, trouva enfin à Fahlun, la noire cité des mineurs, un asile où il put sinon se reposer en sybarite, du moins s’arrêter pour reprendre haleine.

C’est dans cette pauvre maison de bois qu’après seize heures d’un pénible travail souterrain, dont le salaire lui permettait de ne pas mourir de faim, Gustave rêvait le soir au moyen d’affranchir sa patrie et de lui rendre une glorieuse indépendance.

C’est là qu’il apprit les horribles détails de cette tragédie infâme qu’on appela Bain de sang, l’exécution de son généreux père, l’emprisonnement de sa mère et de sa sœur, et plus tard leur épouvantable supplice. On sait que ces nobles femmes furent jetées à la mer dans des sacs qu’on les avait forcées de coudre elles-mêmes.

C’est près de cette fenêtre sans doute que le mineur de Fahlun écrivait, pour tenter dé réveiller leur patriotisme, à tous ces courtisans de son enfance, qui ne daignèrent pas même lui répondre. Il faisait ainsi le dur apprentissage de la science du cœur humain.

C’est là enfin que Peterson, ancien officier retiré à Fahlun, reconnut le jeune prince qui plus d’une fois avait dirigé les charges victorieuses de la cavalerie suédoise, — c’est là que cachant sous le masque du loyal soldat la joie du traître qui va vendre son ami, il conjura Gustave d’accepter l’hospitalité de son logis.

Les faucons du roi Christian eussent en effet saisi leur proie, grâce à ce misérable, si sa femme Drina Peterson n’eût averti le prince du marché conclu par son mari et n’eût sauvé par un admirable stratagème cette tête héroïque promise au bourreau.

Aucune tache n’assombrit la figure de Gustave Vasa ; ce n’est point un héros de mémoires secrets, — et pour connaître quelques détails intimes et personnels sur sa vie, il a fallu interroger les souvenirs épars, mais toujours vivants des hommes simples, chez lesquels il passa dans l’obscurité les plus belles années de sa grave jeunesse, — ces mineurs de Fahlun, si fiers d’avoir compté ce grand homme au nombre de leurs compagnons, — ces paysans Dalécarliens qui onj conservé avec amour la vieille maison qui fut son refuge et où ils prétendent que son âme vient encore errer pendant certaines nuits.

La pensée de Gustave ne dut-elle pas en effet se reporter souvent sur l’agreste logis, lorsqu’aux pesants soucis de la royauté se joignirent les chagrins de sa triste union avec la princesse Catherine de Saxe-Lauenbourg, et plus tard ceux que lui causa le désaccord de ses quatre fils, dont aucun ne fut digne de ce grand héritage de gloire?

Autant la vie publique de Gustave Vasa a jeté d’éclat, autant sa vie privée est restée mystérieuse. Quoique écrivain et poète, il n’a rien révélé au monde des secrets de son cœur, La Suède s’était incarnée en lui, et la personnalité de l’homme s’est absorbée dans cet avatar.

On ne trouve pas dans ses écrits la moindre trace d’une correspondance amoureuse, comme celle de son descendant Gustave-Adolphe avec la belle Ebba Brahé. Il n’a pas laissé dans ses vers une seule ligne empreinte de cette tendresse passionnée qui a inspiré au protecteur de la réforme cette stance si célèbre :
J’aime et je veux aimer, je veux attendre encore
Le regard dont j’ai soif, le bonheur que j’implore.
En te priant toujours, j’espère t’attendrir.
C’est de toi que me vient le mal qui me dévore,
C’est toi seule qui peut m’aider et me guérir.

La poésie de Gustave Vasa ne se fond point ainsi en mollesses élégiaques; elle éclate comme une fanfare.

« Peuple suédois, dit-il dans une exhortation en vers adressée à ses sujets, —mets ta confiance en Dieu ! marche selon ses lois! invoque-le dans ton cœur.... Aime, honore ta patrie. Sois ferme comme la montagne qui résiste aux vagues de la mer. Si tes ennemis e menacent, sois fort comme le roc que rien e peut ébranler.... Le Dieu qui a séparé la terre et les eaux, a mis une barrière entre la Suède et le Danemark : il suffit. Restons dans nos limites de part et d’autre, sans rien demander de plus. »

Ces vers peignent bien le caractère du héros.

Dans le chant suivant intitulé : Gustave Ier et les Dalécarliens, les rapports du roi et de ses sujets sont exprimés avec une simplicité antique.

Gustave va en Délécarlie, et dit aux paysans :
« Le roi chrétien est devant le château de Srockolm, buvant de la bière et du vin.

— Écoutez, mes Dalécarliens, ce que je vous propose ! Voulez-vous me suivre à Stockholm et battre avec moi les Danois? »

Les Dalécarliens répondent: "Nous nous sommes battus déjà; nous nous en souvenons bien." Mais Gustave leur dit : « Nous invoquerons Dieu le Père qui est dans le ciel, et tout ira mieux. »

Les Dalécarliens changent aussitôt d’idée.

Ils disent à Gustave : « Si tu veux être notre chef, jeunes et vieux nous te suivrons. La flèche atteint sur les arbres l’écureuil et la gélinotte. Il en sera de même de Christian le bourreau.

— Je serai volontiers votre chef, répond le roi Gustave, si vous voulez vous rallier fidèlement sous ma bannière bleue. »

Saluons donc avec respect la vieille petite maison de bois d’où est sorti ce sublime appel à l’indépendance nationale. Nous la préférons à ces portiques triomphants, ensanglantés par les tragédies politiques. Elle a été l’asile des mâles vertus et d’un noble martyre. Elle a gardé la vie d’un prince honnête homme, patriote et désintéressé. Elle peut regarder en souriant les plus magnifiques palais du monde.


L’intérieur de la maison de Gustave Wasa.

Dans les premières pages de cette publication , on a décrit cette chaumière historique que les paysans dalécarliens entourent encore de leur vénération, et qui abrita, aux heures d’exil et de proscription, une des brillantes figures des temps modernes. C’est sous cet humble toit de mousse et de lichen que Wasa rêvait l’indépendance de son pays; c’est de cette cabane de mineur qu’il devait s’élancer bientôt pour chasser le bourreau Christian II, rendre à la Suède sa liberté, ses franchises et graver en lettres ineffaçables son nom glorieux au grand-livre de l’Histoire.

Vous connaissez déjà l’extérieur de cette maison célèbre. Il est en tout semblable à l’aspect qu’offre encore aujourd’hui la maison qui est restée debout à Falhun.

Il n’en est pas de même pour l’intérieur. La commission suédoise a pensé à utiliser les deux pièces qui forment le rez-de-chaussée. La salle principale est en contre-bas du palier. On y pénètre par une entrée toute pavoisée de drapeaux dont les animaux fantastiques rappellent les époques de barbarie. On descend quelques marches et l’on se trouve au milieu d’un monde d’objets de toute forme, de toute nature, groupés sans ordre apparent, et dont la variété saisit tout d’abord le regard.

Après un instant donné à l’étonnement, les yeux se font à ce chaos et chaque partie de cette exposition si variée reprend sa valeur et son intérêt.

Les murs sont tapissés de ces immenses filets de pêche tressés avec une corde dont l’extrême finesse ne nuit en rien à la solidité. De loin en loin, se dressent en trophées ces mille engins de pêche dont les pêcheurs parisiens ignorent même l’emploi. La Suède a su faire une industrie importante et une ressource considérable de ce qui n’est dans certains pays qu’un passe-temps ou une chose de luxe.

A côté de ces engins de pêche, il faut remarquer ces belles fourrures que l’on retrouve dans le Palais, sur le dos des paysans dalécarliens. Ici, elles sont surmontées de bois de renne, et rappellent ce vigoureux et bel animal si sobre, si rapide, si utile dans ces contrées où l'hiver rend l’entretien des chevaux difficile et coûteux.

Autour de la salle sont disposés de nombreux instruments aratoires, des charrues, des hache-paille, des semeuses, des herses, des blutoirs, etc., etc. La Suède, trop intelligente pour ne pas comprendre la nécessité de développer son agriculture, lutte énergiquement contre un climat froid, un sol peu fécond, dur, sec, et qu’elle doit enrichir à force d’engrais naturels, de sels, etc., avant de lui demander aucune production. L’exposition d’instruments agricoles témoigne d’efforts incessants et que le succès couronne déjà. Parmi les charrues, plusieurs ont obtenu des récompenses. Une entre autres, à trois fers, très-légère, facile à conduire, et qui semble destinée aux terrains peu profonds et en pente, a reçu une médaille d’argent. Tout cela semblerait peut-être bien modeste à côté des puissantes machines de Billancourt. Mais ces quelques instruments, placés dans la maison du fondateur de la Suède, indiquent la marche progressive de cette nation et sont comme un hommage rendu au souverain qui, le premier, fit de ces contrées si stériles, si menacées, un pays indépendant et laborieux.

Les produits agricoles sont peu nombreux. Un agronome expose quelques céréales récoltées sur des terrains ingrats, mais qu’une culture suivie a peu à peu transformés. Ces terrains sont élevés d’environ deux cents mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Le grain est petit, serré, dur, mais il est très-plein et la farine en est savoureuse. C’est à l’agriculture encore que la Suède doit ses cordages pour la marine. Elle expose une riche collection de cordes tressées avec une grande habileté, depuis le fouet gros comme une épingle, jusqu’au câble qui soutient les ancres. Plusieurs récompenses ont été données aux cordages, des médailles de bronze et des mentions honorables. Une médaille d’argent a été accordée à un modèle de gymnase qui, avec son portique en bois de prix, ses cordages, ses échelles, etc., ses chevalets couverts en velours rouge, fait un assez singulier effet au milieu des charrues, des ustensiles de pêche et des poteries.

La Suède expose en effet des poteries qui, pour la finesse de la pâte et l’exécution, peuvent lutter avec les nôtres. Une de ses terres cuites et ses faïences brunes et jaunes ont été récompensées. A l’aide de carreaux en terre cuite, de forme triangulaire, alternativement noirs et blancs, et qui sont destinés à faire un carrelage mosaïque, on a formé une espèce de large assise sur laquelle on a disposé des objets assez nombreux et un peu disparates. Tel un modèle de maison de pêcheur, des ustensiles de ménage, des modèles de bateaux, des fûts de colonnes en terre cuite, etc.

Il ne faut pas oublier les produits des mines. Le sol de la Suède, si résistant aux efforts de l’agriculture, si pauvre en céréales et en plantes fourragères ou potagères, est riche en mines de cuivre et de houille principalement. A la porte de cette maison, des blocs de minerai de cuivre témoignent des ressources considérables que la Suède peut trouver dans son sol. Dans l’intérieur, quelques échantillons de bouille ont été disposés de manière à permettre au public d’apprécier cette matière, que les progrès de l’industrie font chaque jour si précieuse.

Sur le piédestal de briques et de carreaux, s’élève une statue que j’avais prise d’abord pour la représentation de quelque divinité Scandinave. Mais, plus je regarde, et plus je me persuade que ce dieu assis sur un bloc de rochers, et tenant le célèbre trident, est tout simplement un Neptune quelconque.

A défaut du dieu Thor ou de quelque autre de ses collègues, j’aurais voulu, à la place de cette statue banale, celle de Gustave Wasa.

N’était-ce pas faire acte de gratitude que de le représenter comme le génie de la Suède, et de réunir à ses pieds les produits de l’agriculture, de l’industrie, du labeur humain, comme un hommage à son dévouement pour ce pays qu’il voulait faire si grand?

J’ai parcouru la grande salle de la maison de Gustave Wasa; et il semblerait qu’il n’y eût plus qu’à suivre le public, à franchir la porte qui ouvre sur le Parc. Mais, à côté de ces divers produits assez modestes, la Suède a réservé une salle pour une exposition plus intéressante peut-être.

Quand vous vous dirigez vers la maison, au lieu de monter les quelques marches qui conduisent à l’entrée, arrêtez-vous devant une porte de plain-pied avec le terrain. Un seul mot, au-dessus de la porte, vous indique la destination de cette salle. C’est une école primaire.

La Suède a compris l’importance de l’instruction pour développer l’intelligence et les facultés des classes laborieuses. C’est grâce à la lecture, aux notions que répandent les instituteurs, que les vieux préjugés, la routine, les idées fausses doivent disparaître.

Les ouvriers apprendront à se servir des machines qui leur sont confiées, les agriculteurs appliqueront à leurs travaux les connaissances qu’ils acquerront dans des cours spéciaux. C’est sous l’influence de cette lumière modeste, mais suffisante, que les professions manuelles s’élèveront et prendront une allure plus moderne et plus scientifique.

L’instruction primaire n’a pas encore acquis, en Suède, l’extension qu’elle a prise en Allemagne. Ceci est une affaire de temps. Il suffit aujourd’hui qu’elle soit organisée de façon à préparer de bons élèves. La vue de jeunes gens instruits, la supériorité que leurs connaissances leurs donnent sur leurs camarades, dans les ateliers et les usines, n’est-ce pas là le plus puissant motif d’émulation ? N’est-ce pas aussi le meilleur mode de vulgarisation ?

L’instruction primaire, en Suède, embrasse la lecture, l’écriture, l’arithmétique, l’instruction religieuse, le dessin, le chant. Dans quelques établissements, on fait, de plus, pendant l’hiver, des cours d’agronomie pratique.

La salle d’école-modèle est disposée comme le sont les salles que le gouvernement a créées dans plusieurs provinces. Au fond, une table élevée sur une estrade est destinée au professeur. Le long des murs, sont disposés des cartes et des tableaux servant aux démonstrations et à la lecture. Des sphères et divers instruments analogues, des boîtes de compas, etc., sont disposés sur des rayons, à là disposition du maître ou des élèves. Enfin, sur d autres rayons sont disposés des dictionnaires et les livres d’un usage fréquent, des modèles de dessin, des albums, etc.
Chaque élève a une table et un banc isolés. La table, disposée en forme de pupitre, contient un tiroir, et un rayon pour recevoir les livres et les cahiers de l’élève. Chaque enfant est ainsi isolé, et la surveillance est plus facile. Les places sont données suivant l’aptitude ou le travail dès élèves. Les places les plus rapprochées du maître sont considérées comme les meilleures. Ce classement varie par quinzaine, et les élèves y puisent un puissant motif d’émulation.

Dans quelques provinces, à côté des écoles fondées par le gouvernement, les villes en ont créé de nouvelles qu’elles subventionnent assez largement pour.que la rétribution demandée à chaque élève soit insignifiante.

L’instruction primaire progresse donc en Suède. Soutenue par le gouvernement d’une part, par le dévouement des populations de l'autre, elle pénètre peu à peu dans les contrées les plus arriérées ; viennent deux ou trois générations, et Ton ne comptera plus peut-être de Suédois illettrés.

La maison d’école exposée par la Suède a obtenu une médaille d’or. La Suède verra-t-elle, dans cette haute récompense accordée à cette intéressante exposition, l’importance que les esprits accordent aujourd’hui à tout ce qui tend à améliorer la condition morale de l'homme? Verra-t-elle aussi que l’instruction doit être, entre ses mains, le levier puissant à l’aide duquel elle pourra prendre, dans les conseils de l’Europe, la place que l’étendue de son territoire, ses richesses minières et forestières, sa situation maritime semblent lui destiner?


©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée