International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Russian Houses

manque image

The Izba, being only the peasant's thatch, gives no idea of the dwelling of the merchants and the nobility. A single room usually makes up the dwelling of the muggik and his family, as they all gather to sleep on the huge stove that heats the house.

In the home of the great lord, on the other hand, the number of rooms is singularly multiplied; and one has to pass through a score of salons to reach the chamber of the lady chatelaine. It is true to say that beds are considered in Russia to be quite eccentric furniture: almost always these salons are furnished and even cluttered with sofas and couches, so that they can serve as bedrooms for friends, relatives, neighbours and family guests.

However, the largest of these rooms is the one where the daily receptions take place, and it is distributed in various very distinct parts that are called establishments.

Here, it is an elegant mahogany cradle, all tangle of ivy, honeysuckle and other climbing plants, whose roots plunge and snake in small boxes filled with carefully watered vegetable earth. It is illuminated by a lamp hanging over a table around which several people are having tea or playing either cards or lotto, for the Russians love gambling as much as dancing, that is, to fury.

Further on, a Chinese screen envelops and hides a group of conversationalists lying in soft armchairs. In the middle of the salon, other visitors are sprawled out on a mountain of down cushions called the pâté.

In one corner, a few girls laugh, embroider and whisper to each other, munching on sweets. The other corner is abandoned; it is the one where the Russian stove rises, this architectural monument of earthenware bricks, which from the floor rises to the ceiling and spreads a gentle heat, equally delicious in the interior of these houses which are enveloped by a cold of 25 to 30 degrees.

The rigidity of the atmosphere is forgotten, thanks to the regulated temperature of the flat. There are no closed doors: the warm air must circulate everywhere and you can move from one room to another without any painful transition.

Also see all these women walking in summer finery among the flowers, which are fresh and fragrant, as if the Naples sun were caressing their corollas. Flowers! flowers! they are the supreme luxury, they are the passion, they are the charm of these icy regions! by dint of roubles and industry, they succeed in overcoming nature. Every hotel has a greenhouse; some even have a real flowerbed, luxuriant with plants, in the middle of which stretch and curve flowery paths bristling with artificial rocks from which water cascades in an ever-gushing stream.

The Russians who created these marvellous winter gardens are therefore right to say that they see the cold, because they do not feel it.

A Frenchman, M. Brochay, who established a wallpaper factory in the vicinity of Pefersburg about forty years ago, introduced the fashion for this kind of decoration, which is becoming more and more widespread among people of average means.

However, many old families, especially in the provinces, have remained faithful to the old custom of covering the walls of each room with a layer of red, blue, green, or yellow, and of having a garland of flowers and fruits of the imagination run across this plain background; these arabesques form a border which at least has the merit of originality, for the models for them cannot be found in nature.

Let us not forget, before leaving Russia, the Orthodox emblem which is everywhere the Palladium of the home, for rich and poor alike.

Only the image, coloured in the Byzantine style, is nowadays relegated by the people of the world to the back of a rarely visited room. The Panaggia (the Virgin) no longer has the honours of the living room transformed into a chapel, as in the past, while she still occupies the first place in the home of the mougik.

But everywhere, in the lordly house as well as in the Izba, a small crystal lamp, suspended by a metal chain, shines day and night before the Holy Virgin. It is to her that the mougik naively turns, not only before starting his work and his meal, but also before or after all the acts of his life. His faith and tenderness for the Panaggia, whose smiling and gentle eyes watch over him incessantly, can only be compared to the devotion of the southern Italians for the Madonna.

The mougik will not cough or sneeze in front of the image without greeting it with a sign. If he beats his wife, you can be sure that he has asked or will ask permission from the Panaggia, who is too merciful to ever think of upsetting him in his tastes and habits.

Let us hope, however, that one day she will forbid him to get drunk during the seven days of the week with the most execrable brandy in the world!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maisons Russes

manque image

L’Izba n’étant que la chaumière du paysan,, ne donne aucune idée de l’habitation des marchands et de la noblesse. Une seule pièce compose d’ordinaire le logis du mougik et de sa famille, car ils se rassemblent tous pour dormir sur l’immense poêle qui échauffe le logis.

Chez le grand seigneur, au contraire, le nombre des pièces se multiplie singulièrement; et il faut traverser une vingtaine de salons pour arriver à la chambre de la dame châtelaine. Il est vrai de dire que les lits passent en Russie pour des meubles tout à fait excentriques : presque toujours ces salons sont meublés et même encombrés de canapés, divans et sofas, afin de pouvoir servir de chambres à coucher aux amis, parents, voisins et hôtes de la famille.

Toutefois le plus grand de ces salons est celui où ont lieu les réceptions quotidiennes, et il est distribué en diverses parties très distinctes qu’on nomme des établissements.

Ici, c’est un élégant berceau d’acajou, tout enguirlandé de lierre, de chèvrefeuille et d’autres plantes grimpantes, dont les racines plongent et serpentent dans de petites caisses remplies de terre végétale soigneusement arrosée. Il est éclairé par une lampe suspendue au-dessus d’une table autour de laquelle plusieurs personnes prennent le thé ou jouent soit aux cartes, soit au loto, car les Russes aiment le jeu autant que la danse, c’est-à-dire à la fureur.

Plus loin, un paravent chinois enveloppe et cache un groupe de causeurs étendus dans de moelleux fauteuils. Au milieu du salon, d’autres visiteurs se tassent sur une montagne de coussins de duvets qu’on nomme le pâté.

Dans un coin, quelques jeunes filles rient, brodent et chuchotent entre elles, en croquant des bonbons. L’autre coin est abandonné; c’est celui où s’élève le poêle russe, ce monument architectural de briques de faïence, qui du parquet monte au plafond et répand une chaleur douce, égale délicieuse dans l'intérieur de ces maisons qu’enveloppe un froid de 25 à 30 degrés.

La rigidité de l’atmosphère est oubliée, grâce à la température réglée de l’appartement. Point de portes fermées: il faut que l’air tiède circule partout et qu’on passe sans transition pénible d’une pièce à l’autre.

Aussi voyez toutes ces femmes se promener en parures d’été au milieu des fleurs qui sont fraîches et parfumées, comme si le soleil de Naples caressait leurs corolles. Les fleurs! les fleurs! c’est le luxe suprême, c’est la passion, c’est le charme de ces contrées glaciales! à force de roubles et d’industrie, on parvient à vaincre la nature. Chaque hôtel possède une serre; il en est même qui jouissent d’un parterre véritable, luxuriant de plantes au milieu desquelles s’allongent et se contournent des sentiers fleuris et hérissés de roches factices d’où ruisselle en cascade une eau toujours jaillissante.

Les Russes qui ont créé ces merveilleux jardins d’hiver ont donc raison de dire qu’ils voient le froid, car ils ne le sentent pas.

Un Français, M. Brochay, qui a établi, il y a environ quarante ans, une manufacture de papiers peints dans les environs de Péfersbourg, a introduit la mode de ce genre de décoration qui se répand de plus en plus chez les gens de moyenne fortune.

Cependant beaucoup de vieilles familles, surtout dans les provinces, sont restées fidèles à l’ancien usage qui consiste à revêtir les murs de chaque chambre d’une couche de couleur rouge, bleue, verte, jaune, et à faire courir sur ce fond uni une guirlande de fleurs et de fruits de fantaisie; ces arabesques forment une bordure qui a du moins le mérite de l’originalité, car les modèles en sont introuvables dans la nature.

N’oublions pas, avant de quitter la Russie, l’emblème orthodoxe qui est partout le Palladium du logis, chez le riche comme chez le pauvre.

Seulement l’image, coloriée suivant le style byzantin, est aujourd’hui reléguée par les gens du monde au fond d’une chambré peu fréquentée. La Panaggia (la Vierge) n’a plus comme autrefois les honneurs du salon transformé en chapelle, tandis qu’elle occupe toujours la première place chez le mougik.

Mais partout, dans la maison seigneuriale comme dans l’Izba, brille jour et nuit devant la sainte Vierge une petite lampe de cristal, suspendue par une chaîne de métal. C’est vers elle que se tourne naïvement le mougik, non seulement avant de commencer sa besogne et son repas, mais encore avant ou après tous les actes de sa vie. Sa foi et sa tendresse pour la Panaggia, dont les yeux souriants et doux veillent incessamment sur lui, ne peuvent se comparer qu’à la dévotion des Italiens méridionaux pour la Madone.

Le mougik ne toussera pas ou n’éternuera pas devant l’image sans la saluer en se signant. S’il bat sa femme, soyez sûr qu’il en a demandé ou en demandera la permission à la Panaggia, trop miséricordieuse pour jamais s’aviser de le contrarier dans ses goûts et ses habitudes.

Espérons cependant qu’elle lui défendra un jour de s’enivrer pendant les sept jours de la semaine avec la plus exécrable eau-de-vie du monde!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée