International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Russian Post

Russian Post at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

In the many provinces not served by the railway, the Russians travel quite willingly by sleigh during the winter. There are, however, excellent post coaches, well furnished with furs, in which one is all the more comfortably seated as the mail admits only two travellers in the compartments which follow one another and communicate with one another through small windows.

But in order to run on the snow, the carriages must, like sledges, rest on a runner which replaces the wheels and gives the vehicle a swing proportionate to its length. The result for travellers is a discomfort, a close cousin of seasickness, which not everyone can bear.

In summer the variety of carriages is infinite: the round Drojki, a sort of cabriolet without a bonnet; the long Drojki, with wheels, which consists of a padded bench, on which three or four men can sit in line and astride the narrow seat of the coachman; the Kibitka, a sort of cart without springs, covered in canvas which forms a tent, etc. etc., are constantly crossing each other, etc., are constantly crossing each other with the private crews which brighten up all the roads, for the Russians during the fine season have the fever of the sun and of travelling.

Often one travels, without encountering the slightest village, distances of two or three hundred versts, but everywhere one very regularly finds the post house which supplies you with horses, tea, sometimes a little milk, and even, when it is superbly mounted, some lean and tough poultry.

Moreover, it contains, as you can see by visiting the Russian Post Office in the Park, a large room in which leather-covered sofas offer the weary traveller the most comfortable bed in a country where beds are unknown. Don't ask for a private room! When you have slept side by side on a bench, you can sleep well for a few hours on sofas next to each other. This is the surest way to avoid the invasion of insects that a blanket used by many occupants would attract.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Poste Russe

Poste Russe à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Dans les nombreuses provinces que ne dessert pas la voie ferrée, les Russes voyagent assez volontiers en traîneau pendant l’hiver. Il existe pourtant chez eux d’excellentes voitures de poste, bien garnies de fourrures : on y est d’autant plus commodément assis que le courrier n’admet que deux voyageurs dans les compartiments qui se suivent et communiquent entre eux par de petits vasistas.

Mais pour courir sur la neige, les voitures doivent, à l’instar des traîneaux, reposer sur un patin qui remplace les roues et imprimer au véhicule un balancement proportionné à sa longueur. Il en. résulte pour les voyageurs un malaise, cousin germain du mal de mer et que tout le monde ne saurait supporter.

En été la variété des voitures est infinie : le Drojki rond, sorte de cabriolet sans capote ; le Drojki long, à roues, qui consiste en une banquette rembourrée, sur laquelle trois ou quatre hommes peuvent s’asseoir à la file et à califourchon, en arrière du siège étroit du cocher; la Kibitka, espèce de charrette sans ressort, couverte en toile qui forme tente, etc., etc., se croisent sans cesse avec les équipages particuliers qui égayent toutes les routes, car les Russes durant la belle saison ont la fièvre du soleil et du voyage.

Souvent on parcourt, sans rencontrer le moindre village, des distances de deux à trois cents verstes, mais partout on trouve très régulièrement la maison de Poste qui vous fournit des chevaux, du thé, parfois un peu de lait, et même, lorsqu’elle est supérieurement montée, quelque volaille maigre et dure.

De plus elle contient, ainsi que vous pouvez vous en assurer en visitant la Poste russe du Parc, une grande salle dans laquelle des canapés recouverts de cuir offrent aux voyageurs fatigués le lit le plus confortable d’un pays où les lits sont inconnus. De chambre particulière, n’en demandez pas ! quand on a sommeillé côte à côte sur une banquette, on peut bien dormir quelques heures sur des canapés voisins les uns des autres. C’est du reste le plus sûr moyen d’éviter l’invasion d’insectes que vous attirerait une couverture à l’usage de beaucoup d’occupants.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée