Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Latvia

Latvia at the Exhibition Brussels 1935

© L'Epi

Architect(s) : Antonof

Mr Pierre Lacoste's speech described in a few colourful words the charming Latvia Pavilion. This picturesque building stood at the corner of the Avenue du Gros Tilleul and the Boulevard Emile Bockstael, between the Palais de l'Italie and the Palais de la Grande Bretagne. At the top of a grassy slope, a series of wide steps led to a vast villa, entirely built of wood, with large windows, and whose elegant silhouette was outlined against a green background. All around, a garden of 4,500 square metres recalled the gardens of the Latvian country.

The objects displayed inside evoked the main products: butter, wood and linen. Colourful frescoes by the painters Tidemans and Paka showed the port of Riga in the distant days of the caravels, and the Latvian capital today, as seen from the river Duna; the pavilion had been built to the plans of the architect Antonof, in Riga itself, then dismantled and shipped to Antwerp; no less than twenty wagons had been needed to bring it from the port of Antwerp to the Exhibition's building sites.

The back of the slightly raised pavilion, lined with tapestries, showed the portraits of Messrs Kviesis, President of the Republic, and Ulmanis, President of the Council of Ministers, below the country's coat of arms: a golden shield supported by a lion Gules and a griffin. Showcases contained remarkable samples of fabrics and carpets, linen towels with original designs, and many brightly coloured objects made by students of the Riga School of Applied Arts. Photographs contrasted Latvia's ancient monuments with modern buildings, model farms, fashionable beaches and sports fields. And many amber objects recalled one of the country's most characteristic industries. Agricultural industries were also vividly and widely represented, and a picturesque stand featured tasty sweets, candies, chocolates, gingerbread, and newly shaped, colourful porcelain: cups, plates, tumblers, and solid, elegant trinkets all in one. A selection of smoked meats, biscuits, and beverages attracted and held the attention of gourmets; while manufacturers of leather, chemicals, textiles, paper - even telephone accessories and phonograph records - demonstrated to visitors the number and complexity of Latvia's industries.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Lettonie


Lettonie à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© L'Epi
Architecte(s) : Antonof

Le discours de M. Pierre Lacoste décrivait en quelques mots imagés, le charmant Pavillon de la Lettonie. Ce pittoresque édifice se trouvait à l'angle de l'avenue du Gros Tilleul et du boulevard Emile Bockstael, entre les Palais de l'Italie et la Grande Bretagne. Au haut d'un talus herbeux, une série de larges degrés menait à une vaste villa, entièrement construite en bois, percée de larges verrières, et dont l'élégante silhouette se dessinait sur un fond de verdure. Tout autour un jardin de 4,500 mètres carrés rappelait les jardins du pays letton.

Les objets exposés à l'intérieur évoquaient les principales productions : le beurre, le bois, le lin. Des fresques hautes en couleurs des peintres Tidemans et Paka montraient l'une, le port de Riga au temps lointain des caravelles, l'autre la capitale lettonne d'aujourd'hui, vue du fleuve Duna; le pavillon avait été bâti sur les plans de l'architecte Antonof, à Riga même, puis démonté et expédié par mer à destination d'Anvers; il n'avait pas fallu moins de vingt wagons pour l'amener du port d'Anvers aux chantiers de l'Exposition.

Le fond du pavillon légèrement surélevé, garni de tapisseries, présentait les portraits de MM. Kviesis, Président de la République et Ulmanis, président du Conseil des Ministres, en dessous des armes du pays : un écu doré soutenu par un lion de gueules et un griffon. Des vitrines enfermaient de remarquables échantillons d'étoffes et de tapis, des serviettes de lin aux dessins originaux, de multiples objets aux tons vifs, confectionnés par les élèves de l'Ecole des Arts Appliqués de Riga. Des photographies opposaient les monuments très anciens de la Lettonie aux édifices modernes, aux fermes modèles, aux plages en vogue, aux terrains de sport. Et de nombreux objets d'ambre rappelaient une des industries les plus caractéristiques du pays. Les industries agricoles étaient aussi représentées largement et de façon très vivante; enfin, un stand pittoresque assemblait des friandises savoureuses, bonbons, chocolats, pains d'épices et des porcelaines à la forme neuve, au coloris bariolé : tasses, assiettes, gobelets, bibelots solides et élégants tout ensemble. Un choix de viandes fumées, de biscuits, de boissons attirait et retenait l'attention des gourmets; tandis que les fabricants des industries du cuir, des produits chimiques, des textiles, du papier — voire des accessoires de T. S. F. et des disques de phonographe, démontraient aux visiteurs le nombre et la complexité des industries en Lettonie.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935