Back - List of Pavilions

Navigation, Aeronautics and Automotive - Expo Brussels 1935

Missing picture

One of the most interesting pavilions was the shipping pavilion, whose silhouette was designed by the architect Zappa and inspired by the ships.

The most important Italian shipping companies were represented as a whole. Next to the entrance there was a large metal board with a modern Italian ship in the background. Next, a frescoed panel summarised, in a few eloquent figures, the great stature taken by the Italian merchant navy during these thirteen years.

On the left, the wall, decorated with photomontages, highlighted the advantages of the "Southern Way" and the luxury of the magnificent ships of the main group of Italian shipowners: "Italia-Cosulich-Lloyd Triestino-Adria". Opposite the entrance, the wall of the pavilion was covered by a complete picture of the lines that link Italy to all the continents.

At the base was a series of small, stylised models of the most modern Italian ships. Further on, three panels showed "Tirena, Libera, Triestino, Adriatica", which have special services for the Mediterranean and Africa, with cruises for tourists. An original reminder was a long illuminated glass wall, which depicted the meeting of the ship "Rex" with the "Comte di Savoia" in the Strait of Gibraltar, with a huge flock of seagulls chasing them in the foreground. Next to this glass wall, comfortable deckchairs made one think of restful journeys, and the large photomontages showed the amenities and distractions that await the passengers of these great transatlantic ships.

A pavilion with the lines of a sloping plane united under its wings the car and the plane. At the top, under the flags, were figures: the world record for altitude: 14,433 metres; for speed: 709 km. 202 per hour; the distance record: 4,131 kilometres (the latter, beaten by France, went to Italy with Stoppani's plane).

The interior of the Aeronautics and Automobile Pavilion was divided in two; in the smaller hall, cars with magnificent bodies represented the most recent types of Italian automobile construction. In the next large hall, the red car with which Angelo broke his world record at the impressive speed of 709 kilometres per hour, was in the centre. Around it, engines and model aircraft. The walls soberly decorated with great effect, recalled the accomplished stages. This harmonious ensemble had been the object of assiduous care on the part of Colonel Coutry of the Italian Ministry of Aviation.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Navigation, Aéronautique et automobile



Un des pavillons les plus intéressants était celui de la navigation, dont l'architecte Zappa créa la silhouette en s'inspirant de celle des navires.

Les plus grandes compagnies de navigation italiennes se présentaient réunies en bloc. A côté de l'entrée était placé un grand tableau en métal, où, sur les continents du fond, se dessinait un navire italien des plus modernes. Ensuite, un panneau à fresque synthétisait, en peu de chiffres éloquents, la grande envergure prise par la marine marchande italienne durant ces treize années.

A gauche, la paroi, décorée de photomontages, mettait en évidence les avantages de la « Voie du Sud » et le luxe des magnifiques navires du groupe principal des armateurs italiens : 1' « Italia-Cosulich-Lloyd Triestino-Adria ». Vis-à-vis de l'entrée, la paroi du pavillon était couverte par un tableau complet des lignes qui unissent l'Italie à tous les continents.

A la base, on voyait une série de petits modèles stylisés, aux formes caractéristiques, des navires italiens les plus modernes. Plus loin, trois panneaux montraient « Tirena, Libéra, Triestino, Adriatica », qui ont des services spéciaux pour la Méditerranée et l'Afrique, avec des croisières pour les touristes. Un rappel original était constitué par une longue paroi lumineuse en verre, qui figurait en pleine mer : la rencontre du navire « Rex » avec le « Comte di Savoia » au détroit de Gibraltar, et au premier plan, un vol énorme de mouettes les poursuivant. A côté, tout contre ce mur de verre, de confortables chaises longues faisaient penser à de reposants voyages, et les grands photomontages montraient les commodités et les distractions qui attendent les passagers de ces grands transatlantiques.

Un pavillon aux lignes d'avion incliné réunissait sous ses ailes l'auto et l'avion. Tout en haut, sous les drapeaux, des chiffres : le record mondial d'altitude : 14,433 mètres; celui de vitesse : 709 km. 202 à l'heure; celui de distance : 4,131 kilomètres (ce dernier battu par la France, est revenu à l'Italie avec l'avion de Stoppani).

L'intérieur du Pavillon de l'Aéronautique et de l'Automobile était divisé en deux; dans le salon de moindres dimensions, des voitures aux carrosseries magnifiques représentaient les types les plus récents de la construction automobile italienne. Dans le grand salon suivant, le bolide rouge avec lequel Angelo battit son record mondial à la vitesse impressionnante de 709 kilomètres à l'heure,,était au centre. Autour de lui, moteurs et avions modèles. Les parois sobrement ornées de décorations d'un grand effet, rappelaient les étapes accomplies. Cet ensemble harmonieux, avait été l'objet de soins assidus de la part du colonel Coutry, du Ministère Italien de l'Aviation.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935