Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Iran

Iran at the Exhibition Brussels 1935

© L'Epi

Architect(s) : M. Frankignoul

The Palace of Iran stood in a charming corner of the Exhibition, in the centre of the dahlia garden, near the International Hall, and the pavilions of Palestine and Egypt, completing with them a synthesis of the legendary and modern Orient. The building was inspired by one of the most famous monuments of antiquity: the palace of Darius in Persepolis. At the top of a wide perron, columns supported a sober peristyle, decorated with winged lions with human faces. Mr. Frankignoul, the architect in charge of the construction of this palace, studied the plans in our museums; his collaborator was Mr. René Burgraeve.

From the moment one entered, one was struck by an atmosphere of delicate art and luxury; on the walls and on the floor were carpets, replicas of the most justly famous Persian rugs. Among them was a copy of the painting "The Hunt", one of the oriental wonders of the Louvre Museum. Visitors admired the finesse, the melting, the velvety texture of these amazingly fine fabrics; one, of pure silk, was the wonder of this section.
In recent years, the Department of Industry has multiplied the number of professional schools in Iran where the art of reproducing ancient Persian carpets is taught.

In this pavilion, one could also see fine silverware from Shiraz and Isfahan: vases, bowls, trinkets, hand-chased with meticulous art; the same qualities distinguished the numerous and beautiful embossed copperware. The Iranian craftsmen have indeed taken over the traditions of the old oriental engravers. Huge copper plates evoked the great Persian poets, the ancient kings of Iran; then there were hunting scenes, reproductions of famous paintings and tapestries. Artists had painted flowers, animals, hieratic faces on light candelabras and wooden candlesticks. Others had combined painting and gilding to create splendid book or album covers, bindings of the most refined taste. Still others, working with bone and ivory with a perfection inherited from long generations of artists, had made belts, bracelets, objects illustrated with miniatures.

The silks and printed cottons, the hangings, the curtains, the embroideries from Isfahan and Recht, the carpets, the style of the pavilion, the clear decoration of the walls, all contributed to give the Persian section the appearance of a palace from the Arabian Nights. But, on the other hand, one could see, by studying with the attention that each of them deserved, the compartments occupied by the main industries of Iran today: dried fruits, Astrakhan wools, cotton, skins, etc., that this very ancient country, is walking with a determined step in the way of progress.

This was the opinion of all the visitors and that of His Majesty King Leopold III, who in the last days of July 1935, stopped for a long time at the Persian Pavilion.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Iran


Iran à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© L'Epi
Architecte(s) : M. Frankignoul

Le Palais de l'Iran s'élevait dans un coin charmant de l'Exposition, au centre du jardin des dahlias, près du Hall International, et des pavillon de la Palestine et de l'Egypte, complétant avec eux une synthèse de l'Orient légendaire et moderne à la fois. Cet édifice s'inspirait d'un des monuments les plus célèbres de l'antiquité : le palais de Darius à Persépolis. Au haut d'un large perron, des colonnes portaient un sobre péristyle, décoré de lions ailés à face humaine. M. Frankignoul, l'architecte chargé de la construction de ce palais, en étudia les plans dans nos musées; il eut pour collaborateur M. René Burgraeve.

Dès l'entrée on était saisi par une atmosphère d'art et de luxe délicats; aux murs et sur le sol, des tapis, répliques des tapis de Perse les plus justement fameux. Parmi eux, une copie du tableau « la Chasse », une des merveilles orientales du Musée du Louvre. Les visiteurs admiraient la finesse, le fondu, le velouté de ces tissus d'une étonnante finesse; l'un, de pure soie, était la merveille de cette section.
Le Département de l'Industrie, en ces dernières années, a multiplié en Iran les écoles professionnelles où l'on enseigne l'art de reproduire les anciens tapis persans.

On voyait aussi dans ce pavillon des argenteries fines de Chiraz et d'Ispahan : vases, coupes, bibelots, ciselés à la main avec un art minutieux; les mêmes qualités distinguaient les cuivres repoussés, très nombreux et très beaux. Les artisans iraniens ont repris en effet, les traditions des vieux graveurs orientaux. D'immenses plateaux de cuivre évoquaient les grands poètes persans, les anciens rois de l'Iran; puis, c'étaient des scènes de chasse, des reproductions de tableaux célèbres, de tapisseries. Des artistes avaient peint des fleurs, des animaux, des visages hiératiques sur de légers candélabres et des chandeliers de bois. D'autres avaient combiné la peinture et la dorure pour créer de splendides couvertures de livres ou d'albums, des reliures du goût le plus raffiné. D'autres encore, travaillant l'os et l'ivoire avec une perfection héritée de longues générations d'artistes, en avaient fait des ceintures, des bracelets, des objets illustrés de miniatures.

Les soies et les cotons imprimés, les tentures, les rideaux, les broderies d'Ispahan et de Recht, les tapis, le style du pavillon, la claire décoration des murailles, tout concourait à donner à la section persane, l'aspect d'un palais des Mille et une Nuits. Mais, d'autre part, on pouvait constater, en étudiant avec l'attention que méritait chacun d'eux, les compartiments occupés par les industries principales de l'Iran d'aujourd'hui : fruits secs, laines d'Astrakan, coton, peaux, etc., que ce pays très ancien, marche d'un pas résolu dans la voie du progrès.

Tel fut l'avis de tous les visiteurs et celui de S. M. le Roi Léopold III, qui aux derniers jours de juillet 1935, s'arrêta longuement au Pavillon de la Perse.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935