Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Overseas France

Overseas France at the Exhibition Brussels 1935

© L'Epi

The unity of the French Empire seems to have been the dominant thought of the organisers of the Colonial Section of the French participation. For the first time perhaps, all the colonies of the Republic were united in a vast palace, under the guard of the tricolour flag. Some have regretted that this fact did not allow the representation of one or other colony to be developed as they would have wished; on the contrary, one can believe that the visitor left the Palais de la France d'Outre-Mer with a harmonious synthesis of the vast colonial domain of France in his mind; he was not dazed by figures, stunned by statistics or blinded by diagrams. Each colony had its own room around a flowery patio, summarising in an artistic setting its characteristics from the point of view of tourism and indigenous arts, too often sacrificed to the commercial side. The latter should not be underestimated, but it lends itself less to an original presentation.

The Overseas France Section was created by Governor Géraud, the French Government's Commissioner General for the Colonies, Jean Schwob d'Héricourt and Constant Teffri; the architects Olivier and Lambert, who had already built the French East Africa Pavilion in Vincennes.

The Palais de la France d'Outre-Mer stood in white at the edge of the Parc Forestier, which formed a green and flowery peristyle; in the lawn, an azure map of the world showed passers-by the space occupied on the world map by France's colonial possessions. And immediately, at the top of a few steps, the vestibule of honour opened onto a Moorish-style courtyard, flooded with flowers and sunlight.

Fetishes, in their own way, smiled from the pediment; the photographs of MM. Laval and Rollin, Ministers of the Colonies, were the only ornament of this hall, with two coloured panels by Charles de Fouqueray, representing exotic scenes, medals of colonial inspiration, struck at the Mint and the names of the great colonisers, attesting to the continuity of the French colonial policy: From Richelieu to Lyautey, via Montcalm, Bugeaud, Faidherbe, Brazza, Ferry, Galliéni, Lavigerie, Courbet, Doumer, Marchand, but so many glorious names would have to be mentioned. ..

A. O. F.

On the right, the room of French West Africa opened, decorated in red tones. A painting by the painter Henry Cayon, completed on the spot, showed the landing in Dakar of Mr Albert Lebrun and Mr André Maginot, who had come to inaugurate the Sotuba dam. A diorama by the same artist presented the Sansadiry dam, under construction on the Niger; its completion will allow the irrigation of a million hectares. And already, like a bright promise, indigenous farmers in the foreground were sorting the cotton their baskets are full of. Charts, plans, models framed the walls; on a vast luminous map, set in the centre of the floor, various indications were inscribed. Wood from the Ivory Coast, specimens of skins, some art objects inspired by landscapes

TERRITORIES UNDER COLONIAL MANDATE
The neighbouring compartment was that of the African colonies under mandate: TOGO and CAMEROON, evoked in large decorative panels, luminous photographs, dioramas representing their main productions: coffee and wood.
Numerous documents on social, political and economic activity were displayed on shelves along the walls, as well as on a large table, in containers made by the natives of these countries.

Mr. Léon Truittard had found in two architect-decorators, Mr. Durand Jean and Mr. Hatton
Henri, a collaboration of quality. The decoration of this group was in bistre tones; the walls were covered with tapestries inspired by African motifs; frescoes by Jeanne Thill, a very beautiful series of photos of landscapes and types, some soberly presented products, composing a perfect outfit.

THE AUTONOMOUS COLONIES
The "Old Colonies", as they are known, include Martinique, Guadeloupe with its dependencies: the Saintes, Marie-Galante, Saint-Barthélémy, and two thirds of the island of Saint-Martin, the other third being in the Netherlands. These are the remnants of an Equatorial France, which flourished in the 17th and 18th centuries, but which the treaties of Paris of 1763 and 1815 amputated in favour of Great Britain.

At the end of 1935, the tri-centenary of the French West Indies was celebrated. Christopher Columbus had discovered them during his voyages; in 1635, Richelieu founded the "Compagnie des Isles d'Amérique", and 35u Frenchmen landed in Guadeloupe.

The Exhibition of the Autonomous Colonies, with the appearance of an elegant salon, evoked these three hundred years of attachment to France; decorative motifs, representing the first caravels that anchored in their bays, surrounded a planispheric map. The economic information, gathered in a few documents, did not detract from the artistic aspect that M. Truittard, with the help of the architect-decorators Durand and Hatton, had arranged in Empire style, in honour of an illustrious Creole, the Empress Losephine. Paintings by Anne Hervé, watercolours by Ménardeau, furniture with simple lines, indirect lighting highlighting flasks filled with famous liqueurs, beautiful woods presented in the form of books; in the centre, an engraved glass orientation table. And large panels in muted colours, recalling the first encounters between France and the old colonies: Reunion, Tahiti, Martinique, Guyana...



THE STATES OF THE LEVANT
The States of the Levant, although territories under the first category of mandate, insisted on coming to Brussels. Their Exhibition was intended to draw attention to the facilities for tourism and to the natural and architectural beauties of these countries.

Some beautiful silks from Damascus and modern furniture gave an idea of their artistic development.

Finally, the commercial documentation included samples and graphics. In other words, Syria, in an oriental salon, sumptuously decorated with carpets and fabrics, showed, under the direction of Mr. Berthelot, silverware, porcelain, embroidery, Damascus glass, and samples of agricultural products. A large photo showed the houses of Baalbek, assembled around the Roman columns, and as if under their guard. And the memory of the Crusades joined these witnesses to the majesty of Rome - the pictures of the Frankish castles attest to the presence of Frenchmen among the knights armed for the reconquest of the Sepulchre of Christ...

EQUATORIAL AFRICA
Splendid panels of precious wood evoked one of the main riches of this Colony.
A large tourist map indicated the attractions of these regions for travellers, and a large panorama of the Congo-Ocean Railway illustrated the edges.

Near the entrance, a photograph was adorned with a tricolour ribbon and in front of it, on the day of his official visit, Mr. Rollin, at the time Minister of the Colonies, bowed: this portrait was that of Mr. Renard, Governor of French Equatorial Africa, who "died on duty" in a terrible aeroplane accident. Around this moving image, the stand was decorated with beautiful precious woods, polished like dark mirrors; busts symbolised the dominant races in this province of the French colonial empire; showcases contained samples of the main products; cotton, coffee, wax, rubber. There were also curious specimens of indigenous arts, devoted for the most part to the satisfaction of feminine coquetries; headdresses and headgear made of pearls, blush containers, kohl styli, pearls, feather loincloths...
In their glass frames, butterflies with outstretched wings competed with the shimmering colours of the frescoes by Perrault, Hardy, Henry Séné, A. Herviault...

MADAGASCAR
The Exhibition of Madagascar, particularly instructive, included geographical, ethnographic, economic and social documentation, and a sampling of the various raw materials provided by the big island, from the most common raw products to precious stones.
Madagascar is one of the last to be born in the French Colonial Empire," wrote Mr. Charles Dumont, Honorary Governor of the Colonies, Commissioner for Madagascar at the Brussels Exhibition.

Having then explained the economic development of the island, he concluded:
Thus, in spite of the economic difficulties, the tooling programme is being carried out, which will complete the task of making Madagascar a very beautiful and very large colony. It will allow the island, once the crisis is over, to further increase the active exchanges maintained during the period of prosperity with France and other countries.
It is to be hoped that Belgium will take a large part in this movement. In 1933, Belgian goods bought by Madagascar represented more than 3 million 180,000 francs, while Malagasy products sold to Belgium amounted to only 382 thousand francs.
The Red Island is therefore a serious customer for Belgian trade; and it comes to the Brussels Exhibition with the conviction that this splendid demonstration will contribute in a large measure to tightening the links which have already been so happily established between the two countries.
At the back of the Malagasy compartment, fabrics stretched a brightly coloured curtain, serving as a background for a bust of Governor General Cayla, as well as for some bronzes by Anna Quinquaud and Pierre Christophe. (The participation of artists in this exhibition of Overseas France was abundant and remarkable). "The products were very diverse: coffee, rice, cocoa, tapioca, precious stones, sparkling in the windows, where they were next to jewellery of a new and refined taste. Woven straws were also works of art in their own way; on the walls, photos and images informed the visitor of all the progress made in Madagascar, in terms of town planning, education, hygiene and assistance; Horn silhouettes, sculpted by students of the Madagascan applied art workshops in Tananarive, were displayed next to paintings by Heidmann, Supparo, Gaboriaud, and etchings printed on paper from the island, pastels, statuettes; the commissioners of the section, MM. Dumont and Bruand, had, as we can see, made the most of the limited space at their disposal.

INDOCHINA

The Indo-China stand at the Brussels World Fair occupied about 200 square metres. From the entrance, one could see lacquered columns, crowned with golden capitals and arranged in a circular movement, delimiting the central part on which an ochre cloth canopy was displayed.

The frescoes were signed by renowned Indochinese painters: Fouqueray, Lièvre, Virac, Rollet... Representations of gestures and attitudes of the indigenous worker in the landscapes where his work is accomplished, on the delta lands, on the banks of rivers, on the mountains.

And to complete this luminous evocation, the paintings of the Hanoi School of Fine Arts, so poetically realistic, were lined up along the picture rail.

Between the columns, showcases presented the products of Indo-China: rice, tea, rubber, gums and resins, textiles, ores, and handicrafts: basketry, sparterie, tablets, silks...
In the central rotunda, under the subdued light of the canopy, a few masterpieces of traditional Annamese cabinet making, renewed by French teaching, stood out on a sumptuous carpet from a Tonkin factory.

The visitor who wished to learn about Indo-China could find there all the books on the subject.
This architectural and decorative ensemble had been created by M. Prévôt according to the model and the indications of the master Fouqueray.


ALGERIA
Because of the resources of all kinds at its disposal, Algeria was to have an important participation in the Brussels International Exhibition.

The Algerian curators, understanding the interest of the Exhibition, did not hesitate to make a special effort to present, as completely as possible, the work accomplished by France on the other side of the Mediterranean. In an impressive presentation, this participation of the new France was divided into two parts: one showing the public the achievements made by the Administration in the field of public works and colonisation, the other highlighting the economic and tourist life of Algeria, this latter participation being organised by the Algerian Office of Economic and Tourist Action. Each of these sections occupied a vast room, linked to the other by an imposing hall in which the organisers presented casts of some of the most characteristic masterpieces in the museums of Cherchell: "Isis" and "Apollo" and Djemila's "Draped Woman", as well as works by students of the Algiers Academy. One saw there famous mosaics: those of Timgad, Djemileh, old engravings coming from the Museum of Algiers.

It can be said that Algeria's participation was essentially artistic. Moreover, great artists such as the painters Charles Brouty, Grand Prix of Algeria, and Paul Elie Dubois, Grand Prix National, had been chosen to decorate the rooms. P.-E. Dubois, in particular, had painted majestic, disturbing Tuaregs...

The general ornamentation had been entrusted to one of the most important specialised firms in Paris and the organisers called upon the most modern procedures to present in a practical and pleasant way, in the form of dioramas, pictorial maps, luminous and animated graphics, the productions of Algeria or the works carried out by the Administration. There is no doubt that the Algerian section was among the most original and lively of the French participation.

This concern for art had not made us forget the economic and commercial activities of the great colony: Messrs Falck and Geiser had summarised the work accomplished for the equipment of the country, the protection and training of the indigenous population; and on the other hand, the results of this fruitful action. The official Algerian organisations had collaborated extensively in the documentation and presentation of this very complete exhibition. Wines, oils, cereals and carpets were on display. And tourists were invited to visit not only Algeria, but also the Sahara, which had become a route, not a barrier.

Algeria was also represented in the soukhs where, in the street reserved for this country, about twenty craftsmen sold carpets, lace, jewellery, embroidered leather or chiselled copper of their own making; on the other hand, in a pavilion near the Algerian section, one could taste free of charge the wines of great vintages produced by the vineyards of the Tell, and an Algerian restaurant introduced the public to local dishes, such as couscous and mechoui.

The participation of Algeria, very complete and varied, showed in an objective way what exactly this new France is, which maintains important economic relations with Belgium.



MOROCCO
The Moroccan exhibition aimed to show the work done by the French Protectorate.

Apart from graphics showing the progress made in the field of town planning and social policy, a place was reserved for Agriculture and in particular for the standardisation of agricultural products.


Finally, visitors were particularly interested in the development of tourism and the exhibition of products exported abroad. Like Messrs Cottret and Le Guyader, for the A.E.F., Messrs Nacivet and Roussel had to limit themselves to a synthetic presentation: the material was too rich. In a setting of luxurious carpets, superb arms, engraved or inlaid with mother-of-pearl, and artfully decorated vases, the organisers of this section had brought together samples of wines and cereals; eloquent graphics and fortunately chosen photographs attested to the colonising efforts of the Republic, and to the marvellous things accomplished over there by the genius of General Lyautey. Agriculture, animal husbandry, education, hygiene, forestry or railways, the visitor immediately received clear and precise notions; several maps, one of which was in relief, showed travellers the many attractions of the Cherifian empire; a diorama exposed the various activities of the Commercial Office in Morocco; another, due to the brush of M. Belliot, retraced the picturesque Draa region - the last one to be pacified. The Commissariat des Arts Indigènes, directed by Mr. Prosper Ricard, had brought together various objects from this province and mannequins wearing the very varied and sometimes very rich costumes worn by the women of the Draa.

The organisation of the country and the methodical exploitation of its riches have not excluded the preservation, in all their beauty, of the artistic treasures that the Moghreb still conceals - testimonies of a thousand-year-old civilisation, which took on its decisive physiognomy in the medieval period.

The visitors to the Moroccan section were able to see, once again, the colonizing efforts of France, respectful of the customs and original culture of the peoples it guides or administers.


TUNISIA

The proximity of Europe had developed tourism in Tunisia since before the war. The Tunisian section of the exhibition featured dioramas of the most interesting characteristic sites. The main products: olive oil and wine were particularly well represented, and the elements of the balance of trade were established by clear and precise statistics and graphs.

There was, moreover, an air of kinship between this compartment and the neighbouring Algerian one; the products of the soil are similar; also in this Tunisian stand, harmoniously arranged by the care of M. Rougé, the visitor was attracted to the Tunisian stand. In this Tunisian stand, harmoniously arranged by Mr. Rougé, the visitor would prefer to linger in front of the works of native craftsmen: lace, Nabeul pottery, ceramics, jewellery worked like lace, filigree as light as a breath, as well as in front of a diorama by the painter Vergeaud and frescoes by Mrs. Jeanne Thill, summarizing the various aspects of the country, its mining industry, its resources and the attractions that it offers to the traveller.

Incomparable beauty of the landscapes, moving ruins of the Mediterranean coast evocative of the Roman and Punic wars, poignant charm of the deserts populated by legends: Tunisia brought us all this, in a limited but synthetic participation, very happily conceived and arranged.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France d'Outremer


France d'Outremer à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© L'Epi

L'unité de l'Empire Français, telle semble bien avoir été, en effet, la pensée dominante des orga-sateurs de la Section Coloniale de la participation française. Pour la première fois peut-être, toutes les colonies de la République se trouvèrent réunies dans un vaste palais, sous la garde du drapeau tricolore. Certains ont regretté que ce fait n'ait pas permis de développer, comme ils le souhaitaient, la représentation de l'une ou l'autre colonie; on peut croire au contraire que le visiteur sortait du Palais de la France d'Outre-Mer avec, dans l'esprit, l'harmonieuse synthèse du vaste domaine colonial dé la France; on ne l'avait pas étourdi de chiffres, abasourdi de statistiques, aveuglé de diagrammes. Chaque colonie avait sa salle autour d'un patio fleuri, résumant dans un cadre artistique, ses caractéristiques au point de vue du tourisme et des arts indigènes, trop souvent sacrifiés à la partie commerciale. Il ne faut pas sans doute sous-estimer celle-ci, mais elle se prête moins à une présentation originale.

La Section de la France d'Outre-Mer fut réalisée par les soins de MM. le Gouverneur Géraud, commissaire général du Gouvernement Français pour les Colonies, Jean Schwob d'Héricourt et Constant Teffri; les architectes Olivier et Lambert qui déjà, à Vincennes, avaient construit le Pavillon de l'Afrique Orientale française.

Le Palais de la France d'Outre-Mer s'élevait tout blanc, à l'orée du Parc Forestier, qui lui faisait un péristyle verdoyant et fleuri; dans la pelouse, une mappemonde azurée montrait au passant quel espace occupent, sur la carte du monde, les possessions coloniales de la France. Et tout de suite, au haut de quelques degrés, le vestibule d'honneur s'ouvrait sur une cour à la mauresque, inondée de fleurs et de soleil.

Des fétiches, à leur manière souriaient au fronton; les photographies de MM. Laval et Rollin, Ministres des Colonies, étaient le seul ornement de ce hall, avec deux panneaux colorés de Charles de Fouqueray, représentant des scènes exotiques, des médailles d'inspiration coloniale, frappées à la Monnaie et les noms des grands colonisateurs, attestant la continuité de la politique coloniale française : de Richelieu à Lyautey, en passant par Montcalm, Bugeaud, Faidherbe, Brazza, Ferry, Galliéni, Lavigerie, Courbet, Doumer, Marchand, mais il faudrait citer tant de noms glorieux...

A. O. F.

A droite, s'ouvrait la salle de l'Afrique Occidentale Française, décorée dans les tons rouges. Une toile du peintre Henry Cayon, achevée sur place, montrait le débarquement à Dakar de M. Albert Lebrun, et de M. André Maginot, venus inaugurer le barrage de Sotuba. Un diorama du même artiste présentait le barrage de Sansadiry, en construction sur le Niger; son achèvement permettra d'irriguer un million d'hectares. Et déjà, comme une promesse riante, des paysans indigènes faisaient au premier plan le triage du coton dont leurs paniers sont pleins. Des graphiques, des plans, des maquettes, encadraient les murailles; sur une vaste carte lumineuse, enchâssée au centre du plancher, des indications diverses venaient s'inscrire. Des bois de la Côte d'Ivoire, des spécimens de peaux, quelques objets d'art inspirés de paysages

LES TERRITOIRES SOUS MANDAT COLONIAL
Le compartiment voisin était celui des Colonies Africaines sous mandat : le TOGO et le CAMEROUN, évoqués dans de grands panneaux décoratifs, des photographies lumineuses, des dioramas représentant leurs principales productions : cafés et bois.
De nombreux documents sur l'activité sociale, politique et économique étaient disposés sur des étagères, le long des murs, ainsi que sur une grande table, dans des récipients fabriqués par les indigènes de ces pays.

M. Léon Truittard avait trouvé en deux architectes-décorateurs, MM. Durand Jean et Hatton
Henri, une collaboration de qualité. La décoration de ce groupe se tenait dans les tons bistres; les murs étaient couverts de tapisseries inspirées de motifs africains; des fresques de Jeanne Thill, une fort belle série de photos de paysages et de types, quelques produits sobrement présentés, composant un ensemble d'une tenue parfaite.

LES COLONIES AUTONOMES
Les « Vieilles Colonies », suivant le terme consacré, comprennent la Martinique, la Guadeloupe avec ses dépendances : les Saintes, Marie-Galante, Saint-Barthélémy, et les deux tiers de l'Ile Saint-Martin, l'autre tiers apportenant aux Pays-Bas. Ce sont les débris d'une France Equatoriale, qui vit son plein essor aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, mais que les traités de Paris de 1763 et de 1815 ont amputée au profit de la Grande-Bretagne.

On a fêté, à la fin de 1935, le tri-centenaire des Antilles françaises. Christophe Colomb les avait découvertes au cours de ses voyages; en 1635, Richelieu fondait la « Compagnie des Isles d'Amérique », et 35u Français débarquaient à la Guadeloupe.

L'Exposition des Colonies autonomes, à l'aspect d'un élégant salon, évoquait ces trois cents ans de rattachement à la France; des motifs décoratifs, représentant les premières caravelles qui ont mouillé dans leurs baies, entouraient une carte planisphère. Les renseignements économiques, réunis en quelques documents, ne nuisaient pas à l'aspect artistique que M. Truittard aidé des architectes-décorateurs Durand et Hatton, avait disposé en style Empire, en l'honneur d'une créole illustre, l'Impératrice loséphine. Des toiles d'Anne Hervé, des aquarelles de Ménardeau, des meubles aux lignes simples, un éclairage indirect mettant en pleine valeur des flacons emplis de liqueurs fameuses, de beaux bois présentés sous la forme de livres; au centre, une table d'orientation en verre gravé. Et de grands panneaux aux teintes amorties, rappelant les premières rencontres de la France et des vieilles colonies : la Réunion, Tahiti, la Martinique, la Guyane...



LES ETATS DU LEVANT
Les Etats du Levant, bien que Territoires sous mandat de la première catégorie, tinrent à venir à Bruxelles. Leur Exposition devait attirer l'attention sur les facilités du tourisme, sur les beautés naturelles et architecturales de ces pays.

Quelques belles soieries de Damas, des meubles modernes donnaient une idée de leur développement artistique.

Enfin, la documentation commerciale comportait des échantillons et des graphiques. C'est-à-dire que la Syrie, dans un salon oriental, somptueusement orné de tapis et d'étoffes, montrait sous la direction de M. Berthelot, des argenteries, des porcelaines, des broderies, des verres de Damas, des échantillons des produits agricoles. Une photo de belle dimension faisait voir les maisons de Baalbek, assemblées autour des colonnes romaines, et comme sous leur garde. Et le souvenir des Croisades rejoignait ces témoins de la majesté de Rome — les images des châteaux francs attestent de la présence de Français parmi les chevaliers armés pour la reconquête du Sépulcre du Christ...

L'AFRIQUE EQUATORIALE
De splendides panneaux de bois précieux évoquaient une des principales richesses de cette Colonie.
Une carte touristique de grande taille indiquait les attraits de ces régions pour les amateurs de voyages, un grand panorama du chemin de fer Congo-Océan en illustrait les bords.

Proche de l'entrée, une photographie était ornée d'un ruban tricolore et devant elle s'inclinait, ,au jour de sa visite officielle, M. Rollin, pour lors Ministre des Colonies : ce portrait était celui de M. Renard, Gouverneur de l'Afrique Equatoriale Française, « mort en service commandé » dans un terrible accident d'avion. Autour de cette émouvante image, le stand était orné de beaux bois précieux, polis comme des miroirs sombres; des bustes symbolisaient les races dominantes dans cette province de l'empire colonial français; des vitrines enfermaient des échantillons des produits principaux; le coton, le café, la cire, le caoutchouc. On y voyait aussi de curieux spécimens des arts indigènes, consacrés pour la bonne part à satisfaire des coquetteries féminines; coiffures et cache-sexe de perles, récipients à fard, stylets à kohl, perles, pagnes de plumes...
Dans leurs cadres de verre, des papillons aux ailes éployées rivalisaient avec les couleurs chatoyantes des fresques de Perrault, Hardy, d'Henry Séné, de A. Herviault...

MADAGASCAR
L'Exposition de Madagascar, particulièrement instructive, comportait une documentation géographique, ethnographique, économique et sociale, et un échantillonnage des diverses matières premières que fournit la grande île, depuis les produits bruts les plus courants jusqu'aux pierres précieuses.
Madagascar est une des dernières nées dans l'Empire Colonial français, écrivait M. Charles Dumont, gouverneur honoraire des Colonies, commissaire de Madagascar à l'Exposition de Bruxelles.

Ayant exposé ensuite le développement économique de l'île, il concluait :
Ainsi s'exécute, malgré les difficultés économiques, le programme d'outillage qui achèvera de faire de Madagascar une très belle et très grande colonie. Il permettra à la grande Ile, lorsque la crise sera passée, d'accroître encore les échanges actifs entretenus dans la période de prospérité avec la France et avec les autres pays.
Il est à souhaiter que la Belgique prenne une large part à ce mouvement. En 1933, les marchandises belges achetées par Madagascar ont représenté plus de 3 millions 180,000 francs, tandis que les produits malgaches vendus à la Belgique ne se sont chiffrés qua 382 mille francs.
L'Ile Rouge est donc une cliente sérieuse pour le commerce belge; et elle se présente à l'Exposition de Bruxelles avec la conviction que cette splendide manifestation contribuera dans une large mesure à resserrer les liens qui se sont déjà si heureusement noués entre les deux pays.
Au fond du compartiment malgache, des étoffes tendaient un rideau vivement coloré, servant de fond à un buste du gouverneur général Cayla, comme à quelques bronzes d'Anna Quinquaud et de Pierre Christophe. (La participation des artistes à cette exposition de la France d'Outre-Mer était abondante et remarquée.) "Les produits étaient très divers : café, riz, cacao, tapioca, pierres précieuses, étincelantes dans les vitrines, où elles voisinaient avec des bijoux d'un goût neuf et raffiné. Des pailles tressées étaient elles aussi à leur manière des œuvres d'art; aux murailles, des photos, des images instruisaient le visiteur de tous les progrès réalisés à Madagascar, en matière d'urbanisme, d'enseignement, d'hygiène, d'assistance; des silhouettes en corne, sculptées parties élèves des ateliers d'art appliqué malgache de Tananarive, avaient été disposées près des peintures de Heidmann, de Supparo, de Gaboriaud, et d'eaux-fortes, imprimées sur papier de l'Ile, de pastels, de statuettes; les commissaires de la section, MM. Dumont et Bruand, avaient, on le voit, tiré le meilleur parti de l'espace cependant restreint qui était mis à leur disposition.

L'INDOCHINE

Le stand-de l'Indo-Chine, à l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles occupait 200 mètres carrés environ. De l'entrée, on voyait se profiler des colonnes revêtues de laques, couronnées de chapitaux dorés et qui se rangeaient suivant un mouvement circulaire, délimitant la partie centrale sur laquelle se déployait un vélum en toile ocrée.

Des fresques se déroulaient signées de noms de peintres indochinois renommés : Fouqueray, Lièvre, Virac,.Rollet... Représentations de gestes, d'attitudes du travailleur indigène dans les paysages où son labeur s'accomplit, sur les terres des deltas, au bord des fleuves, à même les montagnes.

Et pour compléter cette lumineuse évocation, le long de la cimaise s'alignaient les peintures de l'Ecole des Beaux-Arts d'Hanoï d'un réalisme si poétique.

Entre les colonnes, des vitrines présentaient les produits de l'Indo-Chine : riz, thé, caoutchouc, gommes et résines, textiles, minerais, et les ouvrages de l'artisanat : vannerie, sparterie, tablettes, soieries...
Dans la rotonde centrale, sous la clarté tamisée du vélum, se détachaient, sur un somptueux tapis d'une manufacture du Tonkin, quelques chefs - d'oeuvre d e 1'ébénisterie traditionnelle annamite renouvelée par l'enseignement français.

Le visiteur désireux de s'instruire trouvait là tous les ouvrages parlant des choses de l'Indo-Chine .
Cet ensemble architectural et décoratif avait été réalisé par M. Prévôt d'après la maquette et les indications du maître Fouqueray.


L'ALGERIE
De par les ressources de tous ordres dont elle dispose, l'Algérie devait avoir à l'Exposition Internationale de Bruxelles une participation importante.

Le commissariat de l'Algérie, comprenant tout l'intérêt de l'Exposition n'hésita pas à faire un effort particulier pour présenter d'une façon aussi complète que possible, l'oeuvre accomplie par la France de l'autre côté de la Méditerranée. Dans une présentation impressionnante cette participation de la nouvelle France était scindée en deux parties : l'une montrant au public les réalisations effectuées par l'Administration dans le domaine des travaux publics, de la colonisation, l'autre mettant en valeur la vie économique et touristique de l'Algérie, cette dernière participation étant organisée par l'Office algérien d'action économique et touristique, chacune de ces sections occupait une vaste salle, reliée à l'autre par un hall imposant dans lequel les organisateurs présentèrent des moulages de quelques-uns des chefs-d'œuvre les plus caractéristiques figurant aux musées de Cherchell : « l'Isis » et « l'Apollon » et de Djemila « la Femme drapée », ainsi que des travaux des élèves de l'Académie d'Alger. On y voyait des mosaïques célèbres : celles de Timgad, de Djemileh, de vieilles gravures venues du Musée d'Alger.

On peut dire que la participation de l'Algérie eut un caractère essentiellement artistique. D'ailleurs de grands artistes comme les peintres Charles Brouty, Grand Prix de l'Algérie et Paul Elie Dubois, Grand Prix national avaient été choisis pour décorer les salles. P.-E. Dubois, notamment avait peint des Touaregs majestueux, inquiétants...

L'ornementation générale avait été confiée à l'une des maisons spécialisées les plus importantes de Paris et les organisateurs firent appel aux procédés les plus modernes pour présenter d'une façon pratique et agréable, sous forme de dioramas, de cartes imagées, de graphiques lumineux et animés, les productions de l'Algérie ou les oeuvres réalisées par l'Administration. Il n'est pas douteux que la section algérienne fut parmi les plus originales et les plus vivantes de la participation française.

Ce souci d'art n'avait pas fait oublier les activités économiques et commerciales de la grande Colonie : MM. Falck et Geiser y avaient résumé l'oeuvre accomplie pour l'équipement du pays, la protection, la formation de la population indigène; et d'autre part, les résultats de cette action féconde. Les organismes officiels algériens avaient apporté une large collaboration à la documentation, à la présentation de cette exposition fort complète. On y voyait des vins, des huiles, des céréales, des tapis. Et les touristes étaient invités à visiter non seulement l'Algérie, mais encore le Sahara, devenu une route, non plus une barrière.

L'Algérie fut également représentée dans les soukhs où travaillaient, dans la rue réservée à ce pays, une vingtaine d'artisans vendant des tapis, des dentelles, des bijoux, des cuirs brodés ou des cuivres ciselés de leur fabrication; d'autre part, dans un pavillon, à proximité de la section algérienne, on put déguster gratuitement les vins de grands crûs produits par les vignobles du Tell et un restaurant algérien fit connaître au public les mets locaux, tels que le couscous et le méchoui.

La participation de l'Algérie, très complète, très variée, montrait d'une façon objective ce qu'est exactement cette France nouvelle qui entretient avec la Belgique des relations économiques importantes.



LE MAROC
L'exposition du Maroc eut pour but de montrer l'oeuvre réalisée par le Protectorat Français.

En dehors de graphiques indiquant les progrès réalisés dans le domaine de l'urbanisme et celui de la politique sociale, une place était réservée à l'Agriculture et notamment à la standardisation des produits agricoles.


Enfin, les visiteurs furent intéressés particulièrement par le développement du tourisme et l'exposition des produits exportés à l'étranger. Comme MM. Cottret et le Guyader, pour l'A. E. F., MM. Nacivet et Roussel avaient dû se borner à une présentation synthétique : la matière était trop riche. Dans un cadre de tapis luxueux, d'armes superbes, gravées ou incrustées de nacre, de vases décorés avec art, les organisateurs de cette section avaient réuni des échantillons de vins, de céréales; d'éloquents graphiques, des photographies heureusement choisies attestaient de l'effort colonisateur de la République, des merveilles accomplies là-bas par le génie du Général Lyautey. Agriculture, élevage, enseignement, hygiène, exploitation des forêts ou des chemins de fer, le visiteur en recevait immédiatement de claires et précises notions; plusieurs cartes, dont une en relief, montraient aux voyageurs les multiples attraits de l'empire chérifien; un diorama exposait les diverses activités de l'Office commercial au Maroc; un autre, dû au pinceau de M. Belliot, retraçait la pittoresque région du Draa — la dernière pacifiée. Le Commissariat des Arts Indigènes, dirigé par M. Prosper Ricard, avait réuni des objets divers, provenant de cette province et des mannequins portant des costumes très variés, très riches parfois, que portent les femmes du Draa.

L'organisation du pays et l'exploitation méthodique de ses richesses n'ont pas exclu le maintien, dans toute leur beauté, des trésors artistiques que recèle encore le Moghreb — témoignages d'une civilisation millénaire, qui prit sa physionomie décisive dans la période médiévale.

Les visiteurs de la section marocaine se rendaient compte, ici encore, de l'effort colonisateur de la France, respectueuse des coutumes et de la culture originale des peuples qu'elle guide ou administre.


LA TUNISIE

A proximité de l'Europe avait développé dès avant la guerre le tourisme en Tunisie. Aussi des dioramas reproduisaient-ils dans la section tunisienne les sites caractéristiques 1 e s plus dignes d'intérêt. Les principaux produits : l'huile d'olive et le vin étaient particulièrement bien représentés, et les éléments de la balance commerciale étaient établis par des statistiques et des graphiques clairs et précis.

Il y avait, par ailleurs, un air de parenté entre ce compartiment et celui, voisin, de l'Algérie; les produits du sol se ressemblent; aussi dans ce stand tunisien, harmonieusement disposé par les soins de M. Rougé, le visiteur s'attardait-il de préférence devant les œuvres des artisans indigènes : dentelles, poteries de Nabeul, céramiques, bijoux travaillés comme des dentelles, filigranes légers comme un souffle, ainsi que devant un diorama du peintre Vergeaud et des fresques de Mme Jeanne Thill, résumant les divers aspects du pays, de son industrie minière, des ressources et des attraits qu'il offre au voyageur.

Incomparable beauté des paysages, ruines émouvantes de la côte méditerranéenne évocatrices des guerres romaines et puniques, charme poignant des déserts peuplés de légendes : la Tunisie nous apportait tout cela, dans une participation restreinte, mais synthétique, très heureusement conçue et aménagée.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935