Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Denmark

Denmark at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1935

© L'Epi

Architect(s) : Tyge Hvass

The Danish National Pavilion, the largest that Denmark has ever built at a World Fair, stood on Avenue du Gros Tilleul between those of Sweden and Switzerland. It covered an area of 7,000 square metres, half of which was reserved for the main building. The other half was occupied by a flowerbed of Poulsen's famous roses, and included a restaurant where the public could taste beer and the Danish specialities, "snaps" and "smerrebreds", which were a great success.

Outside was a monument with the three lions of the national coat of arms; the walls were covered with paintings of rural and maritime life by Danish artists and a huge map of Denmark, illuminated at night.

The main entrance, with its large hall, led to a 375-seat cinema where a film about Denmark was shown. The Pavilion was visited by 2,000,000 people; the cinema received 350,000 spectators. In the hall, the heart of the Danish concession, there was information about the country's agricultural and social life, schools, the capital and the most important cities, railways, shipping and tourism. Greenland was represented in the most picturesque way. Following the main hall was a room devoted to the art industries, the rest of the building being reserved for agricultural and industrial life.

The pavilion itself was designed in a very modern style by its author, the famous architect Tyge Hvass.

A further section was dedicated to the Faroe Islands, the northernmost part of Denmark, where the results of the magnificent research carried out by national expeditions were displayed, as well as an exhibition of engines for fishing boats.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs had set up a commercial information office at the entrance to the Pavilion, next to a tourist information office. The Greenlandic section attracted particular attention, as did the art industries: glassware, bookbindings, silverware and the famous Copenhagen earthenware. Danish art and architecture were represented at the Salon de l'Art Moderne.

Numerous receptions were organised at the Danish Pavilion; the Commissioner General, Mr. Helge Wamberg, received in particular the artists and craftsmen who collaborated in the construction of the pavilion; the staff of the section and that of the Swedish section on the occasion of the marriage of the Crown Prince of Denmark and Princess Ingrid of Sweden on 24 May 1935; the Association of Engineers who graduated from the Ecole Polytechnique de Bruxelles. During a farewell ceremony, the Commissioner General offered Mr. Adolphe Max, as a sign of his country's friendship for Belgium, the 10,000 Poulsen rosebushes which flowered the beds of his section.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Danemark


Danemark à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© L'Epi
Architecte(s) : Tyge Hvass

Le Pavillon National Danois, le plus grand que le Danemark ait édifié dans une Exposition Universelle, s'élevait Avenue du Gros Tilleul entre ceux de la Suède et de la Suisse. Il couvrait une superficie de 7,000 mètres carrés, dont la moitié réservée au bâtiment principal. L'autre moitié, occupée par un parterre des fameuses roses de Poulsen, comprenait également un restaurant où le public dégustait la bière et les spécialités danoises, les « snaps » et les « smerrebreds » qui connurent un grand succès.

Au dehors s'élevait un monument orné des trois lions des armoiries nationales; les murs étaient couverts de peintures, scènes de la vie rurale et maritime dues à des artistes danois, ainsi que d'une immense carte du Danemark, éclairée le soir.

L'entrée principale, avec son vaste hall, conduisait à un cinéma de 375 places où l'on donnait un film sur le Danemark. Le Pavillon fut visité par 2,000,000 de personnes; le cinéma reçut 350,000 spectateurs. Dans le hall, coeur de la concession danoise, on trouvait toutes les informations concernant la vie agricole et sociale du pays, les écoles, la capitale et les villes les plus importantes, les chemins de fer, la navigation, le tourisme. Le Groenland était représenté de la façon la plus pittoresque. On trouvait, faisant suite au grand hall, une salle consacrée aux industries d'art, tout le reste du bâtiment étant réservé à la vie agricole et industrielle.

Le Pavillon lui-même avait été conçu en un style très moderne par son auteur, le fameux architecte Tyge Hvass.

Une dépendance encore était dédiée aux îles Féroë, la partie la plus septentrionale du Danemark; on y trouvait les résultats des magnifiques recherches faites par des expéditions nationales ainsi qu'une exposition de moteurs pour bateaux de pêche.

Le Ministère des Affaires Etrangères avait installé un bureau de renseignements commerciaux, à l'entrée du Pavillon, à deux pas d'un bureau de renseignements touristiques. La section groenlandaise retint particulièrement l'attention des visiteurs, aussi, celle des industries d'art : verreries, reliures, argenteries, célèbres faïences de Copenhague. L'art et l'architecture du Danemark étaient représentés au Salon de l'Art Moderne.

De nombreuses réceptions furent organisées au Pavillon danois; le Commissaire général, M. Helge Wamberg, y reçut notamment les artistes et les artisans qui collaborèrent à l'édification du pavillon; le personnel de la section et celui de la section suédoise à l'occasion du mariage du Prince Héritier de Danemark et de la Princesse Ingrid de Suède le 24 mai 1935; l'Association des Ingénieurs sortis de l'Ecole Polytechnique de Bruxelles. Au cours d'une cérémonie d'adieu, le Commissaire général offrit à M. Adolphe Max, en signe d'amitié de son pays pour la Belgique, les 10,000 rosiers de Poulsen qui fleurissaient les parterres de sa section.