Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Brazil

Brazil at the Exhibition Brussels 1935

© E. Sergysels

Architect(s) : A. Barrez

The Brazilian Pavilion stood on Avenue du Gros Tilleul opposite the Dutch and Chilean pavilions. It was a large white building, with straight lines dominated by two volumes of walls, built in the form of a tower and on which the Brazilian flag flew.

This pavilion covered an area of 1200 metres; the exterior appearance, completely modern, the interior distribution, the decoration, the layout, indicated that the architect, our compatriot A. Barrez, had designed his work according to its purpose. The dominant colour, white, was nicely contrasted with the green and yellow lozenges of the national colours, which were found in the parquet flooring. Letters, illuminated in the evening with green neon, indicated the "Brasil" pavilion from afar.

The building consisted of five halls; at the entrance, the trend of the Brazilian participation appeared, exclusively dedicated to its national coffee industry, as was recalled by an inscription on the pavilion's pediment.

In this first room, photographs and glass cases showed all the varieties of coffee grown in the great South American Republic. In an adjoining room, a huge machine, operating before the public's eyes, was used to de-stone, de-dust and roast the green coffee. In addition, there was a huge tasting counter, built in a baffle shape.

The light green of the woodwork, the brightness of the walls, the gleam of the steel bars and the huge percolators; the emerald light falling from a large stained-glass window, everything, down to the uniforms of the waitresses, gave this room a modern and inviting appearance. The success of this free tasting was very great, as one can imagine. On certain Sundays, more than fifteen thousand cups were
more than fifteen thousand cups of coffee were poured.

The ten columns which supported the vault of this room were made of high glass cylinders superimposed, and containing roasted coffee. Diffusers concealed in the walls allowed visitors to hear interesting talks. The walls were decorated with photographs and diagrams, showing the worldwide importance of the export of Brazilian coffees.

Another room, furnished with tables and seats, was reserved for consumers who wanted to sit down. For a small fee, coffee was available here, prepared in a variety of machines and according to a dozen recipes. This patio led to a terrace shaded by green and yellow parasols. Sheltered from the heat of the sun, one could enjoy (as King Leopold III did during his visit) an iced coffee while watching the crowds of people milling around the avenues of the World's Fair.

The entrances and exits of this remarkable pavilion were also arranged in the most practical way. There was an office set up by the Coffee Trade Union, as well as an information service run by Mr. Ernest Gdetcke, technical delegate of the Commercial Museum of the National Coffee Department of Rio de Janeiro.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Brésil


Brésil à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© E. Sergysels
Architecte(s) : A. Barrez

Le Pavillon brésilien s'élevait Avenue du Gros Tilleul vis-à-vis des pavillons de la Hollande et du Chili. C'était une grande construction blanche, aux lignes droites que dominaient deux volumes de murailles, construites en forme de tour et sur lesquelles flottait le drapeau brésilien.

Ce pavillon couvrait une superficie de 1200 mètres ; l'aspect extérieur, tout à fait moderne, la distribution intérieure, la décoration, l'aménagement, indiquaient que l'architecte, notre compatriote A. Barrez, avait conçu son œuvre en fonction de sa destination. Au blanc, couleur dominante, s'opposaient joliment les losanges verts et jaunes des couleurs nationales, qu'on retrouvait dans le revêtement des parquets. Des lettres, illuminées le soir au néon vert, signalaient de loin le pavillon du « Brasil ».

Le bâtiment comprenait cinq salles ; dès l'entrée, apparaissait la tendance de la participation brésilienne, exclusivement consacrée à son industrie nationale du café, comme le rappelait une inscription au fronton du pavillon.

Dans cette première salle, des photographies, des casiers vitrés montraient toutes les variétés de café cultivées dans la grande République Sud-Américaine. Dans une salle contiguë, une machine énorme fonctionnant sous les yeux du public, servait à dépierrer, dépoussiérer et torréfier le café vert. Il y avait en outre un énorme comptoir de dégustation, construit en chicane.

Le vert clair des boiseries, la clarté des parois, le luisant des barres d'acier et des énormes percolateurs; la lumière d'émeraude qui tombait d'un large vitrail, tout, jusqu'à l'uniforme des serveuses, donnait à cette salle un aspect moderne et avenant. Le succès de cette dégustation gratuite fut très grand, on s'en doute. A certains dimanches, on y
débita plus de quinze mille tasses de café.

Les dix colonnes qui portaient la voûte de ce local étaient faites de hauts cylindres de verre superposés, et contenant du café torréfié. Des diffuseurs dissimulés dans les parois, permettaient aux visiteurs d'entendre d'intéressantes causeries. Les murailles étaient ornées de photographies et de diagrammes, montrant l'importance mondiale de l'exportation des cafés du Brésil.

Une autre pièce enfin, meublée de tables et de sièges, était réservée aux consommateurs désireux de s'asseoir. A des prix modiques, on trouvait là du café préparé dans les appareils les plus divers et selon une dizaine de recettes. Ce patio donnait accès à une terrasse ombragée de parasols verts et jaunes. A l'abri des ardeurs du soleil, on y pouvait savourer (ainsi le fit le Roi Léopold III lors de sa visite) un café glacé tout en regardant la foule se presser dans les avenues de la World's Fair.

Les entrées et les sorties de ce remarquable pavillon étaient aussi disposées de la façon la plus pratique. On y trouvait un bureau aménagé par l'Union du Commerce des Cafés ; ainsi qu'un service d'informations dirigé par M. Ernest Gdetcke, délégué technique du Musée Commercial du Département National du Café de Rio-de-Janeiro.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935