Back - List of Pavilions

Packaging and Display Community - Expo Brussels 1935

Packaging and Display Community at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1935
© L'Epi

Opposite the Horticulture and Agriculture Section, the Packaging Collective occupied a vast pavilion with a frontage of 40 metres. The main companies working in this industrial field had brought together barrels, special tarred and reinforced paper, ropes of all kinds, etc.

On the outside wall, beautiful frescoes showed the diversity of ways of packing, wrapping and transporting packages.

We have reproduced two examples of these paintings, which are the work of the painters Serneels and Remy. As for the objects exhibited, they were all the more interesting because the public does not generally realise the importance and diversity of the packaging industry. There is no trade that does not depend on it in some way. Much progress has been made in this field: it concerns ease, speed, hygienic packaging, solidity and safety required for handling and long-distance transport. What ingenuity, what discoveries, what inventions where the practical sense and the spirit of adaptation of modern technicians compete.

On the other hand, this Pavilion gave a place to the art of setting up, to the shopkeeper, who has become the precious collaborator of the retailer. In this respect, Belgium has a good reputation. Foreigners are pleasantly surprised, when they pass through our cities, even in the provinces, by the sumptuousness, the attractiveness, the authentic art of the displays. Whether it is a question of food shops, clothing shops, pastry shops, delicatessens, tobacco shops, cigar shops, or cigarette shops in particular, our shopkeepers show a perfect understanding of the customer's psychology and create sets of often remarkable taste.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Collectivité des Emballages et des Etalages


Collectivité des Emballages et des Etalages à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© L'Epi

En face de la Section d'horticulture et d'agriculture, la Collectivité des Emballages occupait un vaste pavillon de 40 mètres de façade. Les principales entreprises qui consacrent leur activité à ce domaine industriel y avaient réuni des fûts, des papiers spéciaux goudronnés et armés, des cordes de tout genre, etc.

Sur le mur extérieur, de très belles fresques montraient la diversité des modes d'emballage, d'empaquetage et de transport des colis.

Nous avons reproduit deux spécimens de ces peintures, dues au talent des peintres Serneels et Remy. Quant aux objets exposés, ils présentaient un intérêt d'autant plus certain que le public ne se rend point compte, généralement de l'importance et de la diversité de l'industrie des emballages. Il n'est aucun commerce qui n'en soit à quelque titre, tributaire. De nombreux progrès ont été réalisés dans ce domaine : ils portent sur la facilité, sur la rapidité, sur le conditionnement hygiénique, sur la solidité et sur la sécurité requises par les manutentions et les transports à distance. Que d'ingéniosité déployée, que de trouvailles, que d'invention où rivalisent le sens pratique et l'esprit d'adaptation des techniciens modernes.

D'autre part, ce Pavillon faisait une place à l'art de la mise en marche, à l'étalagiste, devenu le collaborateur précieux du commerçant. La Belgique à cet égard jouit d'une juste réputation. L'étranger est agréablement surpris, lorsqu'il traverse nos villes, même en province, de la somptuosité, de l'attrait, de l'art authentique des étalages. Qu'il s'agisse des « débits » de denrées alimentaires, des « maisons de confection », des pâtisseries, des charcuteries, des magasins de tabac, cigares, cigarettes surtout — nos marchands et marchandes font preuve d'une connaissance-parfaite de la psychologie du client et réalisent des ensembles d'un goût souvent remarquable.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935