Chemical Industries - Expo Brussels 1935

Chemical Industries at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1935
© E. Sergysels
Architect(s) : J. Hendrickx

The chemical industries were grouped in two pavilions facing each other.
The first, designed by the architect Jean Hendrickx, was located on the Boulevard d'u Centenaire and the Avenue Coloniale and had an entrance façade on each of these roads, as well as a large lateral façade in the form of an eccedron, along which water mirrors were developed, decorated with aquatic plants.

Two monumental statues by the sculptors Dolf Ledel and Vander Meersche and two large stained glass windows, executed from cartoons by Mr. Yvan Obozinsky by the firms Spruyt-Smets, of Mechelen and Anny d'Hondt, of Bruges, completed the exterior decoration.

The second, reserved for the Collectivité des Industries du Cuir, the work of architect Jacques Obozinsky, covered an area of 950 m2 at the corner of Avenue du Centenaire and Avenue des Belges. It was preceded by a small esplanade accessible by stairs with very low steps, one of which was flanked by an enormous bison by the chisel of Mr. De Meester de Betzenbroeck. The main entrance was adorned with a decorative panel depicting the lives of St. Crespin and St. Crespinien, the patron saints of the bakers, painted by Mr. Rodolphe Strebelle.

In the first of these pavilions, the public could admire the stand of the matchmaking industry containing eight paintings by the painter Jean Dratz telling the story of fire through the ages; those of the pharmacy, photographic products, various rubber industries, chemical fertilisers, soap, perfumery, etc.

The interior of the second one evoked all the stages of manufacturing, from the tanning of the raw material to the finished product. It reflected all the technical improvements in the manufacture of leather goods as well as the evolution of fashion in this field. Machines allowed the layman to see the progress made in speed and improvement of production.

Showcases displayed collections of selected items: luxury items as well as utility items.

There was a place for specialised vocational schools and manufacturers of shoe-making machines.

Importers of skins, tanners, manufacturers of shoes, travel goods, leather goods and manufacturing equipment had their stands.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Industries Chimiques


Industries Chimiques à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© E. Sergysels
Architecte(s) : J. Hendrickx

Les industries chimiques étaient groupées dans deux Pavillons se faisant vis-à-vis.
Le premier, œuvre de l'architecte Jean Hendrickx s'élevait a u Boulevard d u Centenaire et à l'Avenue Coloniale et présentait une façade d'entrée sur chacune de ces artères, ainsi qu'une grande façade latérale en excèdre le long de laquelle se développaient des miroirs d'eau, fleuris de plantes aquatiques.

Deux statues monumentales dues aux sculpteurs Dolf Ledel et Vander Meersche et deux grandes verrières, exécutées d'après les cartons de M. Yvan Obozinsky par les Maisons Spruyt-Smets, de Malines et Anny d'Hondt, de Bruges, complétaient la décoration extérieure.

Le second, réservé à la Collectivité des Industries du Cuir, œuvre de l'architecte Jacques Obozinsky, couvrait une superficie de 950 m2 à l'angle de l'Avenue du Centenaire et de l'Avenue des Belges. Il était précédé d'une petite esplanade accessible par des escaliers aux degrés très bas, dont l'un était flanqué d'un énorme bison en arrêt dû au ciseau de M. De Meester de Betzenbroeck. L'entrée principale était ornée d'un panneau décoratif représentant la vie de saint Crespin et de saint Crespinien, patrons des savetiers, peint par M. Rodolphe Strebelle.

Dans le premier de ces Pavillons, le public pouvait admirer le stand de l'industrie allumettière contenant huit tableaux du peintre Jean Dratz contant l'histoire du feu à travers les âges; ceux de la Pharmacie, des produits photographiques, des diverses industries du caoutchouc, des engrais chimiques, du savon, de la parfumerie, etc.

L'intérieur du second évoquait tous les stades de la fabrication, depuis le tannage de la matière brute jusqu'au produit fini. On y trouvait le reflet de tous les perfectionnements techniques apportés à la confection des articles de cuir en même temps que de l'évolution de la mode dans ce domaine. Des machines permettaient au profane de se rendre compte des progrès enregistrés tant dans la rapidité que dans l'amélioration de la production.

Des vitrines exposaient des collections d'articles sélectionnés : articles de luxe aussi bien que d'usage.

Un emplacement était réservé aux écoles professionnelles spécialisées ainsi qu'aux fabricants de machines de cordonnerie.

Importateurs de peaux, tanneurs, fabricants de chaussures, d'articles de voyage, de maroquinerie, de matériel de fabrication y possédaient leurs stands.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935