Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Temporary Exhibitions

Temporary Exhibitions at the Exhibition Brussels 1935

© E. Sergysels

The temporary competition hall was the setting for many events of the country's economic activity and even of the universe. The most important of these were

1° the Spring, Summer and Autumn Horticultural Exhibitions. The first one opened on 28 April and lasted six days. It was inaugurated by Mr. De Schrijver, Minister of Agriculture, who was received by the Exhibition authorities and by Mr. Firmin Lambeau, President of the Organizing Committee. In front of a large audience, Mr. Lambeau underlined the particular merits of the effort made by Belgian horticulturists: "With one exception," he declared, "all the exhibitors are Belgian.
- Mr. De Schrijver responded by assuring national horticulture of the government's concern.
The public then marched past the magnificent floral collections, admiring in particular the calceolaria, azaleas, hydrangeas and lilacs.

The second show took place on 26 July and featured roses, gladioli, sweet peas and begonias. About a hundred Belgian growers and nurserymen, as well as a large number of Dutch growers, took part.

As with the Spring Horticultural Exhibition, the management was entrusted to Mr. F. Lambeau.
By a fortunate initiative, the doors of this Exhibition remained open in the evening and the public took great interest in seeing the thousands of flowers illuminated by artificial light.
At the third one, which opened on October 8, dahlias, chrysanthemums, orchids, cacti, ferns, etc., were exhibited. A particularly rich collection of domestic fruits was a real eye-opener: the selections were presented from the threefold point of view of cultivation, sorting and packing for shipment abroad. Remarkable French and Dutch participants added to the attractiveness of this demonstration, which coincided with the Belgian Fruit Week, inaugurated by the Minister of Agriculture, in the presence of Baron Robert de Kerchove d'Exaerde, Vice-President of the Chamber of Representatives, President of Group VII
Mr. Rubbens, Minister of Colonies, also visited the exhibition and was particularly interested in the colonial fruit stand, which displayed magnificent samples of oranges, bananas, grapefruits and lemons.
The success of this Exhibition was the work of Mr. Firmin Lambeau, Mr. Bottemane, architect, and Mr. Baudewijn, secretary general of the Federation of Belgian Horticultural Societies.

2° On June 2nd the XLVth International Dog Show of all breeds, organised by the Royal Society of Saint-Hubert, presented to the public the most beautiful and varied specimens.
varied specimens.

3° On August 21st, the IVth International Exhibition of cats of all breeds brought together a splendid collection of Siamese, Persians, Angoras and other rare species.

4° From August 21st to 30th there was an Exhibition of Goldsmiths, Sculptors, Bookbinders, Embroiderers, Lacemakers, Engravers, Bimbeloterie, Needlework, organised by the International Women's Professional Group.

5° On 7 September, the International Dahlia Exhibition brought together the most remarkable examples of this autumn flower; due to the national mourning, the inauguration took place without pomp and ceremony. The most beautiful groups were surrounded by crepe and this pious homage brought thoughts back to the august departed.

6° From 15 September to 11 October, the Milk Exhibition, organised by the Ministry of Agriculture under the direction of Mrs Delaive and Mr Cools, and inaugurated by Mr De Schrijver, was an excellent propaganda event. The public was invited to taste various milk preparations.

7° On 16 September, the dairy goat and sheep competition brought together about 200 first-class animals.

8° On 16 September, the 3rd National Competition of Breeding Animals of the pig breeds was attended by 350 carefully selected animals.

9° From 18 to 21 October, the Official International Poultry Show took place, organised by the Provincial Federation of the Brabant Poultry Society, with the participation of the main societies and special clubs in the country and abroad, and under the patronage of the National Federation of Poultry Societies. It coincided with the 7th National Competition of Belgian Breed Rabbits. It included the following sections: 1) Large breed poultry; 2) Dwarf poultry; 3) Other Gallinaceous, Aquatic, Small Birds, etc.; 4) Wire pigeons; 5) Pet and product pigeons; 6) Rabbits.
In each of these categories, the public could admire remarkable specimens of animals. The French, English and Dutch participation was not inferior to the Belgian representation.

The Temporary Exhibition Hall was preceded by a garden planted with fruit trees and decorative beds. Works by the sculptors Sturbelle (Le Bélier), Dufossez, Guyàux, De Bremaeker and Salles (ornamental figures) stood out in the greenery.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Expositions Temporaires


Expositions Temporaires à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© E. Sergysels

Le hall des concours temporaires servit de cadre à de multiples manifestations de l'activité économique du pays et même de l'Univers. Les principales d'entr'elles furent :

1° les Expositions horticoles du printemps, de l'été et de l'automne. La première s'ouvrit le 28 avril et dura six jours. Elle fut inaugurée par M. De Schrijver, ministre de l'Agriculture qui fut reçu par les autorités de l'Exposition et par M. Firmin Lambeau, président du Comité organisateur. Devant une assistance nombreuse, M. Lambeau souligna les mérites particuliers de l'effort accompli par les horticulteurs belges : « A une exception près, déclara-t-il, tous les exposants sont Belges ».
- M. De Schrijver répondit en assurant l'horticulture nationale de la sollicitude du Gouvernement.
Le public défila ensuite devant les magnifiques collections florales, admirant particulièrement les calcéolaires, les azalées, les hortensias et les lilas.

La seconde eut lieu le 26 juillet et réunit les roses, les glaïeuls, les pois de senteur, les bégonias. Une centaine d'horticulteurs et de pépiniéristes belges, ainsi qu'un grand nombre d'horticulteurs néerlandais y participaient.

Comme pour l'Exposition horticole du printemps, la direction en était confiée à M. F. Lambeau.
Par une heureuse initiative, les portes de cette Exposition restèrent ouvertes le soir et le public prit le plus vif intérêt à voir les milliers de fleurs éclairées à la lumière artificielle.
A la troisième, qui s'ouvrit le 8 octobre : des dahlias, des chrysanthèmes, des orchidées, des cactées, des fougères, etc., furent exposés. Une collection, particulièrement riche, de fruits du pays constitua une véritable révélation : les sélections étaient présentées au triple point de vue de la culture, du triage et de l'emballage pour leur expédition à l'étranger. Des participations françaises et hollandaises remarquables ajoutaient à l'attrait de cette démonstration, qui coïncidait avec la Semaine du fruit belge, inaugurée par le ministre de l'Agriculture, en présence de M. le baron Robert de Kerchove d'Exaerde, vice-président de la Chambre des représentants, président du groupe VII
M. Rubbens, ministre des Colonies, lui rendit également visite et s'intéressa particulièrement au stand des fruits coloniaux, qui réunissait de magnifiques échantillons d'oranges, de bananes, de pamplemousses et de citrons.
Le succès de cette Exposition fut l'œuvre de M. Firmin Lambeau, de MM. Bottemane, architecte et Baudewijn, secrétaire général de la Fédération des Sociétés horticoles de Belgique.

2° Le 2 juin la XLVe Exposition internationale de chiens de toutes races, organisée par la Société royale de Saint-Hubert, présentait au public les spécimens les plus beaux et les plus
variés.

3° Le 21 août, la IVe Exposition internationale de chats de toutes races réunissait une collection splendide de siamois, de persans, d'angoras et autres espèces rares.

4° Du 21 au 30 août il y eut une Exposition d'Orfèvrerie, de Sculpture, de Reliure, de Broderie, de Dentelles, de Gravures, de Bimbeloterie, de Travaux à l'aiguille, réunie à l'initiative du Groupement professionnel féminin international.

5° Le 7 septembre, l'Exposition internationale du Dahlia groupait les exemplaires les plus remarquables de cette fleur d'automne; en raison du deuil national, l'inauguration en eut lieu sans apparat. Les plus beaux ensembles étaient entourés de crêpe et ce pieux hommage ramenait la pensée vers l'auguste disparue.

6° Du 15 septembre au 11 octobre, l'Exposition du Lait, organisée par les Services du Ministère de l'Agriculture sous la direction de Mme Delaive et de M. Cools, inaugurée par M. De Schrijver, fit une excellente propagande. Le public y fut admis à déguster diverses préparations au lait.

7° Le 16 septembre, le concours de chèvres et de moutons laitiers réunissait environ 200 animaux de tout premier choix.

8° Le 16 septembre, au 3e Concours national d'Animaux reproducteurs des races porcines, participaient 350 sujets sélectionnés avec soin.

9° Du 18 au 21 octobre, eut lieu l'Exposition internationale Officielle d'Aviculture organisée par la Fédération Provinciale de la Société d'Aviculture du Brabant, avec la participation des principales sociétés et clubs spéciaux du pays et de l'étranger, et sous le patronage de la Fédération nationale des Sociétés d'Aviculture. Elle coïncidait avec le VIIe Concours national de Lapins reproducteurs de races belges. Elle comprenait les sections suivantes : 1) Volailles de grandes races; 2) Volailles naines; 3) autres Gallinacés, Aquatiques, Petits Oiseaux, etc.; 4) Pigeons cravatés; 5) Pigeons d'agrément et de produit; 6) Lapins.
Dans chacune de ces catégories, le public put admirer des spécimens remarquables d'animaux. Les participations française, anglaise et hollandaise ne le cédaient en rien à la représentation belge.

Le Hall des Expositions Temporaires était précédé d'un jardin planté d'arbres fruitiers et de massifs décoratifs. Des oeuvres des sculpteurs Sturbelle (Le Bélier ), Dufossez, Guyàux, De Bremaeker et Salles (figures ornementales) s'y détachaient, dans la verdure.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935